DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on November 17, 2025. Claims 1, 2 and 8 are currently amended. Claims 1-13 are pending review in this action. The previous objections to the Drawings and the Specification are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendments. The previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Drawings
In the previous office action, the objection below was incorrectly directed to Figure 3. The examiner apologizes for the error in labeling. The incorrect reference character appears in Figure 4, not Figure 3.
Figure 4 is objected to because reference character 123 appears to be used to designate the first sheet member. Reference character 123 is defined as designating the inner space (p. 14, lines 14-15). The correct reference character for the first sheet member is 121 (p. 15, lines 8-10).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. Applicant submitted an amendment to paragraph [0058] of the Specification. The amendment appears to replace the word “1X-direction” with “X-direction”.
Based on the context in the paragraph, it appears that “X-direction” should appear as “-X-direction”.
Specifically, it appears that the relevant sentence should read: “In FIG. 7, the first electrode lead 241 and the second electrode lead 242 are disposed in the +X-direction and the -X-direction of the electrode assembly 110, respectively, are both extended in the Y-direction, and then drawn out in the +Y and -Y-directions of the pouch case 120.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuhashi teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0037]). The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (10). The electrode assembly (10) includes a plurality of electrodes stacked in the z-direction (“first direction”) (paragraph [0038] and figure 2). The electrode assembly (10) has a long side (F1/F2) and a short side (F3/F4) shorter than the long side (F1/F2) (paragraph [0037] and figure 1).
A pouch case (RF) defines an inner space in which the electrode assembly (10) is accommodated. The pouch case (RF) includes a first sheet member (RF1) surrounding an upper portion of the electrode assembly (10) and a second sheet member (RF2) surrounding a lower portion of the electrode assembly (10) (paragraphs [0050, 0051] and figure 5).
A plurality of electrode tabs (12) are drawn from the plurality of electrodes in the y-direction (“second direction”). The y-direction (“second direction”) is perpendicular to the z-direction (“first direction”) (paragraph [0045] and figure 5).
An electrode lead (14) is welded to (“combined with”) the plurality of electrode tabs (12) (paragraph [0047]). The electrode lead (14) extends in the x-direction. The x-direction is perpendicular to the z-direction (“first direction”) and intersects the y-direction (“second direction”) (figure 1). The electrode lead (14) is partially exposed to an exterior of the pouch case (RF) (figure 5).
The first sheet member (RF1) and the second sheet member (RF2) are bonded to each other with the electrode lead (14) therebetween to form a sealing portion sealing the inner space (paragraphs [0048, 0052]).
The electrode tabs (12) are drawn out from the long side (F1) of the electrode assembly (10). The electrode tabs (12) are sized to correspond to the long side (F1) of the electrode assembly (10) – specifically, each has a width that corresponds to the length of the long side (F1) by a defined ratio (paragraph [0065] and figure 1).
The electrode lead (14) has a width (and thus extends) in parallel to the long side (F1) and is drawn out of the pouch case (RF) in the y-direction (“an extending direction”) (figures 1, 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuhashi teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (12) extend out of the electrode assembly (10) in a direction perpendicular to side (F1) of the electrode assembly (10) (figures 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuhashi teaches a first group of electrode tabs (12) and a second group of electrode tabs (11) (paragraph [0045] and figure 1).
A first electrode lead (14) is coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (12) and a second electrode lead (13) is coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (11) (paragraphs [0046, 0047] and figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuhashi teaches that both the first electrode lead (14) and the second electrode lead (13) have a width (and thus extend) in the x-direction. Both the first electrode lead (14) and the second electrode lead (13) are drawn out of the pouch case (RF) in the y-direction (figures 1 and 4).
Claims 1, 2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0181415, hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a secondary battery. The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (200). The electrode assembly (200) includes a plurality of electrodes stacked in a first direction (paragraphs [0028, 0029]). The electrode assembly (200) has a long side (201/203) and a short side (202/204) shorter than the long side (201/203) (paragraph [0042] and figure 2).
A pouch case defines an inner space in which the electrode assembly (200) is accommodated. The pouch case includes a first sheet member surrounding an upper portion of the electrode assembly (200) and a second sheet member surrounding a lower portion of the electrode assembly (200) (paragraphs [0032, 0071] and figure 1).
A plurality of electrode tabs (211) are drawn from the plurality of electrodes in a second direction. The second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
An electrode lead (231) is welded to (“combined with”) the plurality of conductive electrode tabs (211). The electrode lead (231) extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction. The electrode lead (231) is partially exposed to an exterior of the pouch case (paragraph [0009] and figure 2).
The first sheet member and the second sheet member are bonded to each other with the electrode lead (231) therebetween to form a sealing portion sealing the inner space (paragraphs [0010, 0071]).
The electrode tabs (211) are drawn out from the long side (201/203) of the electrode assembly (200). The electrode tabs (211) are sized to correspond to the long side (201/203) of the electrode assembly (200) – specifically, each has a width that is a fraction of a length of the long side (201/203) (figure 2).
The electrode lead (231) extends in parallel to the long side (201) and is drawn out of the pouch case in an extending direction (paragraphs [0044, 0047] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (211) extend in a direction perpendicular to the long side (201) of the electrode assembly (200) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Oh teaches that a coupling surface between the electrode lead (231) and the plurality of electrode tabs (211) faces a direction intersecting the first direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (211) are stacked with each other to form a coupling portion coupled onto the electrode lead (231). The plurality of electrode tabs (211) are stacked in a direction intersecting the first direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (211) are wrapped along a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the electrode lead (231) (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches two electrode leads – a positive electrode lead (231) and a negative electrode lead (232). Each has a first end and a second end drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions (paragraphs [0026, 0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches a first group of electrode tabs (211) and a second group of electrode tabs (221) (paragraph [0043] and figure 2).
A first electrode lead (231) is coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (211) and a second electrode lead (232) is coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (221) (paragraph [0045] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Oh teaches that the first electrode lead (231) and the second electrode lead (232) extend in the same direction and are drawn out of the pouch case in the same direction (paragraph [0026] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches that the first electrode lead (231) and the second electrode lead (232) extend in the opposite directions and are drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions (paragraph [0026] and figure 5).
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn. (A machine translation of Ahn was provided with a prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches a secondary battery (paragraphs [0074, 0102]). The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (120). The electrode assembly (120) includes a plurality of electrodes (220 and 240) stacked in a first direction (paragraph [0046] and figures 2 and 6). The electrode assembly (120) has a long side and a short side shorter than the long side (figures 3-6).
A pouch case (110) defines an inner space (112) in which the electrode assembly (120) is accommodated. The pouch case (110) includes a first sheet member (114) surrounding an upper portion of the electrode assembly (120) and a second sheet member (116) surrounding a lower portion of the electrode assembly (120) (paragraph [0043] and figure 2).
A plurality of electrode tabs (244) are drawn from the plurality of electrodes in a second direction. The second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (paragraph [0058] and figure 6).
An electrode lead (263) is welded to (“combined with”) the plurality of electrode tabs (244). The electrode lead (263) extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction. The electrode lead (263) is partially exposed to an exterior of the pouch case (110) (paragraphs [0042, 0055] and figure 6).
The first sheet member and the second sheet member are bonded to each other with the electrode lead (263) therebetween to form a sealing portion sealing the inner space (paragraph [0044] and figure 2).
The electrode tabs (244) are drawn out from the long side of the electrode assembly (120) (figure 6). The electrode tabs (244) are sized to correspond to the long side of the electrode assembly (120) – specifically, each has a width that is a fraction of a length of the long side (figure 6).
The electrode lead (263) extends in parallel to the long side and is drawn out of the pouch case in an extending direction of the electrode lead (263) (figure 6).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (244) extend in a direction perpendicular to a side of the electrode assembly (120) (figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn teaches that the electrode lead (263) extends and is drawn out of the pouch case (110) in a direction perpendicular to the second direction (figure 6). Therefore, there is a terrace portion surrounding the electrode lead (263) – the terrace portion located in a direction form the electrode assembly that is perpendicular to the second direction.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn teaches a first group of electrode tabs (244) and a second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraphs [0048, 0055] and figure 6).
A first electrode lead (263) is coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (244) and a second electrode lead (253) is coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraph [0058] and figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0072185, hereinafter Cho.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuhashi teaches an electrode lead (14).
Matsuhashi fails to teach that the electrode lead is in a form of a circular rod.
Cho teaches a pouch-type battery cell. The pouch-type battery cell includes a lead (100) partially drawn out of the pouch case (30) (paragraphs [0053, 0058] and figure 4). The lead (100) includes a vent for exhausting gas accumulated within the battery cell (paragraph [0078]). The vent is positioned in the sealing portion of the pouch case (30). Cho teaches forming the vent portion with a circular cross-section for the purpose of improving the sealing between the pouch case (30) and the lead (100) (paragraph [0074] and figure 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the electrode lead with a circular cross-section as taught by Cho for the purpose of allowing the release of gases and ensuring a secure sealing between the pouch case and the electrode lead. The resulting shape can be considered to be of a “circular rod”.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Ahn teaches the first electrode lead (263) coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (244) and the second electrode lead (253) coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraph [0058] and figure 6). The first group of electrode tabs (244) is drawn from the long side of the electrode assembly. The second group of tabs (223) is drawn from the short side of the electrode assembly (figure 6).
In a separate embodiment, Ahn teaches a first electrode lead (261) coupled to a first group of electrode tabs (242) and a second electrode lead (250) coupled to a second group of electrode tabs (222) (paragraph [0055] and figure 4). In the separate embodiment, the first electrode lead (261) and the second electrode lead (250) extend in directions opposite to each other and are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case (figure 4). Both groups of tabs are drawn from the same short side of the electrode assembly (figure 4).
Ahn fails to teach that the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode (253) are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Drawing both sets of electrode tabs (223 and 244) out from the same long side of the electrode assembly and drawing the two electrode leads (263 and 253) out of the case in opposite directions would be an obvious modification in Ahn in view of Ahn’s two embodiments shown in figure 4 and figure 6. Moreover, the drawing of two sets of electrode tabs out from the same long side of an electrode assembly is a common configuration in the art – see, e.g. Matsuhashi (figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to draw the second set of electrode tabs (223) from the long side of the electrode assembly for the purpose of simplifying the cell’s construction by having all of the electrode plates with the same shape.
In the combination of Ahn and Matsuhashi, both sets of electrode tabs (223 and 244) would be drawn out from the same long side of the electrode assembly, the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) would be disposed on the same long side of the electrode assembly and the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) would be drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn and Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0200068, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn as modified by Matsuhashi teaches the first group of electrode tabs (244) and the second group of electrode tabs (223) drawn out from the same long side of the electrode assembly (120). First electrode lead (263) and second electrode lead (253) are disposed on the same long side of the electrode assembly (120). The first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) extend in directions opposite to each other and are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Ahn as modified by Matsuhashi fails to teach a third group of electrode tabs and a fourth group of electrode tabs drawn out from a second side of the electrode assembly (120), the second side being opposite to the first side; and corresponding third electrode lead and fourth electrode lead.
It is well-known in the art to configure electrode assemblies of the type taught by Ahn with four groups of electrode tabs – two groups on one side and two groups on an opposite side. See, e.g. Park, who teaches such a configuration for the purpose of being able to achieve variable output from the battery (paragraphs [0044-0049, 0058] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Ahn’s electrode assembly with a third and fourth group of tabs on a second side of the electrode assembly, opposite the first side, and to provide a third electrode lead and a fourth electrode lead to form an electrical connection with the third and fourth groups of tabs, respectively, for the purpose of being able to allow the battery cell to provide variable output as taught by Park. It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the third and fourth electrode leads in the same manner as the first and second electrode leads, such that the third and fourth electrode leads extend in opposite directions and are drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions for the purpose of providing the two sets of terminal connections on opposite sides of the electrode assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented Matsuhashi, Oh and Ahn references were found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724