DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 10 are currently amended. Claims 1-13 are pending review in this action. The previous objections to the Drawings and the Specification are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendments.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0181415, hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a secondary battery. The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (200). The electrode assembly (200) includes a plurality of electrodes stacked in a first direction (paragraphs [0028, 0029]). The electrode assembly (200) has a long side (201/203) and a short side (202/204) shorter than the long side (201/203) (paragraph [0042] and figure 2).
A pouch case defines an inner space in which the electrode assembly (200) is accommodated. The pouch case includes a first sheet member surrounding an upper portion of the electrode assembly (200) and a second sheet member surrounding a lower portion of the electrode assembly (200) (paragraphs [0032, 0071] and figure 1).
A plurality of electrode tabs (211) are drawn from the plurality of electrodes in a second direction. The second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
An electrode lead (231) is welded to (“combined with”) the plurality of conductive electrode tabs (211). The electrode lead (231) extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction. The electrode lead (231) is partially exposed to an exterior of the pouch case (paragraph [0009] and figure 2).
The first sheet member and the second sheet member are bonded to each other with the electrode lead (231) therebetween to form a sealing portion sealing the inner space (paragraphs [0010, 0071]).
The electrode tabs (211) are drawn out from the long side (201/203) of the electrode assembly (200). The electrode tabs (211) are sized to correspond to the long side (201/203) of the electrode assembly (200) – specifically, each has a width that is a fraction of a length of the long side (201/203) (figure 2).
The electrode lead (231) is provided in a form of a rod having a longitudinal axis direction and extends parallel to the long side (201). The electrode lead (231) is drawn out of the pouch case along the longitudinal axis direction of the rod (paragraphs [0044, 0047] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches in an embodiment that the width of electrode tabs (512) corresponding to the long side (501) of the electrode assembly extends parallel to the longitudinal axis direction of the rod continuously across the long side (501) through a center of the long side (501) of the electrode assembly (figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Oh teaches that a coupling surface between the electrode lead (231) and the plurality of electrode tabs (211) faces a direction intersecting the first direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (211) are stacked with each other to form a coupling portion coupled onto the electrode lead (231). The plurality of electrode tabs (211) are stacked in a direction intersecting the first direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches that the plurality of electrode tabs (211) are wrapped along a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the electrode lead (231) (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches two electrode leads – a positive electrode lead (231) and a negative electrode lead (232). Each has a first end and a second end drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions (paragraphs [0026, 0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches a first group of electrode tabs (211) and a second group of electrode tabs (221) (paragraph [0043] and figure 2).
A first electrode lead (231) is coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (211) and a second electrode lead (232) is coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (221) (paragraph [0045] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Oh teaches that the first electrode lead (231) and the second electrode lead (232) extend in the same direction and are drawn out of the pouch case in the same direction (paragraph [0026] and figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches that the first electrode lead (231) and the second electrode lead (232) extend in the opposite directions and are drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions (paragraph [0026] and figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0181415, hereinafter Oh as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0249741, hereinafter Lepiorz.
Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches an electrode lead (231) in the form of a rod.
Oh to teach that the electrode lead (263) comprises a circular rod.
Lepiorz teaches a pouch-type cell (100) including contact lugs (10, 20, “leads”). Each of the contact lugs (10, 20, “leads”) comprises a connecting element (11/15/21/25) in the shape of a circular rod (paragraphs [0028-0030] and figure 1).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the end of the electrode lead (231) with a connecting element in the shape of a circular rod for the purpose of forming an electrical connection with another secondary battery cell as taught by Lepiorz.
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2003/0054241, hereinafter Yamashita. (A machine translation of Ahn was provided with a prior office action).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches a secondary battery (paragraphs [0074, 0102]). The secondary battery comprises an electrode assembly (120). The electrode assembly (120) includes a plurality of electrodes (220 and 240) stacked in a first direction (paragraph [0046] and figures 2 and 6). The electrode assembly (120) has a long side and a short side shorter than the long side (figures 3-6).
A pouch case (110) defines an inner space (112) in which the electrode assembly (120) is accommodated. The pouch case (110) includes a first sheet member (114) surrounding an upper portion of the electrode assembly (120) and a second sheet member (116) surrounding a lower portion of the electrode assembly (120) (paragraph [0043] and figure 2).
A plurality of electrode tabs (244) are drawn from the plurality of electrodes in a second direction. The second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (paragraph [0058] and figure 6).
An electrode lead (263) is welded to (“combined with”) the plurality of electrode tabs (244). The electrode lead (263) extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction. The electrode lead (263) is partially exposed to an exterior of the pouch case (110) (paragraphs [0042, 0055] and figure 6).
The first sheet member and the second sheet member are bonded to each other with the electrode lead (263) therebetween to form a sealing portion sealing the inner space (paragraph [0044] and figure 2).
The electrode tabs (244) are drawn out from the long side of the electrode assembly (120) (figure 6). The electrode tabs (244) are sized to correspond to the long side of the electrode assembly (120) – specifically, each has a width that is a fraction of a length of the long side (figure 6).
The electrode lead (263) has a longitudinal axis direction and extends parallel to the long side of the electrode assembly. The electrode lead (263) is drawn out of the pouch case along the longitudinal axis of the electrode lead (263) (figure 6).
Ahn fails to teach that the electrode lead (263) is provided in a form of a rod.
It is known in the art to form a lead for a pouch-type battery cell in the form of a bar (“rod”) – see, e.g. Yamashita. Yamashita teaches a pouch-type battery cell having leads (4) in the shape of a bar (paragraphs [0049, 0050, 0052] and figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Ahn’s electrode lead (263) in the shape of a bar (“rod”) as this is a customary shape for a lead of a pouch-type battery.
Regarding claim 3, Ahn teaches that the electrode lead (263) extends and is drawn out of the pouch case (110) in a direction perpendicular to the second direction (figure 6). Therefore, there is a terrace portion surrounding the electrode lead (263) – the terrace portion located in a direction form the electrode assembly that is perpendicular to the second direction.
Regarding claim 9, Ahn teaches a first group of electrode tabs (244) and a second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraphs [0048, 0055] and figure 6).
A first electrode lead (263) is coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (244) and a second electrode lead (253) is coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraph [0058] and figure 6).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2003/0054241, hereinafter Yamashita as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0249741, hereinafter Lepiorz.
Regarding claim 4, Ahn as modified by Yamshita teaches that an electrode lead (263) in the form of a bar (“rod”).
Ahn as modified by Yamshita fails to teach that the electrode lead (263) comprises a circular rod.
Lepiorz teaches a pouch-type cell (100) including contact lugs (10, 20, “leads”). Each of the contact lugs (10, 20, “leads”) comprises a connecting element (11/15/21/25) in the shape of a circular rod (paragraphs [0028-0030] and figure 1).
It would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the end of the electrode lead (263) with a connecting element in the shape of a circular rod for the purpose of forming an electrical connection with another secondary battery cell as taught by Lepiorz.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2003/0054241, hereinafter Yamashita as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Ahn teaches the first electrode lead (263) coupled to the first group of electrode tabs (244) and the second electrode lead (253) coupled to the second group of electrode tabs (223) (paragraph [0058] and figure 6). The first group of electrode tabs (244) is drawn from the long side of the electrode assembly. The second group of tabs (223) is drawn from the short side of the electrode assembly (figure 6).
In a separate embodiment, Ahn teaches a first electrode lead (261) coupled to a first group of electrode tabs (242) and a second electrode lead (250) coupled to a second group of electrode tabs (222) (paragraph [0055] and figure 4). In the separate embodiment, the first electrode lead (261) and the second electrode lead (250) extend in directions opposite to each other and are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case (figure 4). Both groups of tabs are drawn from the same short side of the electrode assembly (figure 4).
Ahn fails to teach that the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode (253) are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Drawing both sets of electrode tabs (223 and 244) out from the same long side of the electrode assembly and drawing the two electrode leads (263 and 253) out of the case in opposite directions would be an obvious modification in Ahn in view of Ahn’s two embodiments shown in figure 4 and figure 6. Moreover, the drawing of two sets of electrode tabs out from the same long side of an electrode assembly is a common configuration in the art – see, e.g. Matsuhashi (figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to draw the second set of electrode tabs (223) from the long side of the electrode assembly for the purpose of simplifying the cell’s construction by having all of the electrode plates with the same shape.
In the combination of Ahn and Matsuhashi, both sets of electrode tabs (223 and 244) would be drawn out from the same long side of the electrode assembly, the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) would be disposed on the same long side of the electrode assembly and the first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) would be drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent Publication No. 2014/0110136, hereinafter Ahn, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2003/0054241, hereinafter Yamashita and Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0218066, hereinafter Matsuhashi as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0200068, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn as modified by Matsuhashi teaches the first group of electrode tabs (244) and the second group of electrode tabs (223) drawn out from the same long side of the electrode assembly (120). First electrode lead (263) and second electrode lead (253) are disposed on the same long side of the electrode assembly (120). The first electrode lead (263) and the second electrode lead (253) extend in directions opposite to each other and are drawn out in opposite directions from the pouch case.
Ahn as modified by Matsuhashi fails to teach a third group of electrode tabs and a fourth group of electrode tabs drawn out from a second side of the electrode assembly (120), the second side being opposite to the first side; and corresponding third electrode lead and fourth electrode lead.
It is well-known in the art to configure electrode assemblies of the type taught by Ahn with four groups of electrode tabs – two groups on one side and two groups on an opposite side. See, e.g. Park, who teaches such a configuration for the purpose of being able to achieve variable output from the battery (paragraphs [0044-0049, 0058] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Ahn’s electrode assembly with a third and fourth group of tabs on a second side of the electrode assembly, opposite the first side, and to provide a third electrode lead and a fourth electrode lead to form an electrical connection with the third and fourth groups of tabs, respectively, for the purpose of being able to allow the battery cell to provide variable output as taught by Park. It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the third and fourth electrode leads in the same manner as the first and second electrode leads, such that the third and fourth electrode leads extend in opposite directions and are drawn out of the pouch case in opposite directions for the purpose of providing the two sets of terminal connections on opposite sides of the electrode assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented Oh reference and the combination of Ahn and Yamashita have been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724