DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 7/29/2025 cancelled claims 3, 9-11, 13, 15, and 17, and amended Claims 1, 6, 8, and 16. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 12, 14, 16, and 18 are currently pending herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 12, 14, 16, and 18, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments have been addressed below.
On pages 6-7 of the response, Applicant states: “There is no disclosure or teaching in McKelvey of elements that are secured to the rear end of the shopping cart frame. Further, there is no teaching or disclosure in McKelvey of securing the vertical rail elements, which may not be present in McKelvey, with legs (48) appearing as a closest equivalent, to the rear end of the shopping cart frame. Nor are there any fasteners or attachments disclosed which would enable legs (48) to be secured to the shopping cart frame at any position”
Regarding these contentions, the Examiner maintains that the McKelvey reference provides for the disputed claim limitations based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Specifically, as provided above, while the McKelvey reference does not specifically recite that the cited components are "vertical rail portions” and “securing elements” it is clear from the disclosure and cited figures that the cited components are fastened or fixed together in the same manner (See, e.g., McKelvey: Fig.1-7). It is clear from the McKelvy reference that at least a portion of elements 48, 28, and 29 as cited are rails that extend vertically (see above), and are provided with securing elements 35 and 36 to either directly or indirectly connect the vertical rail portion elements to the rear end of the McKelvy shopping cart frame element 2 and 4 at the rear end. One of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily interpret the disputed limitations as the Applicant argues. Applicants are reminded, that [t]he invention disclosed in [a] written description may be outstanding in its field, but the name of the game is the claim. In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ 1523, 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Specifically, if Applicants believe that an invention has differences over the prior art, particularly regarding connection of the elements, Applicants must find a way to convey this argument in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See, e.g., In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of frame securing elements” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claim limitation “a plurality of frame securing elements” (Claim 1, line 11) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the disclosure is limited on the structure that performs the function in the claim, and the structure described in the specification does not perform the entire function of the “securing elements” in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 12, 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKelvey (US 6,575,480 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, McKelvey discloses: A multiple child shopping cart extension (See, e.g., Fig.1-7,10) for attachment to a shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2+4), comprising:
a frame structure (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 10) having a base unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 11+13) at a bottom end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7) and two side rail portions (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 16+18+48+26+29+30+48), affixed to opposing sides of said base unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
each of said side rail portions having a vertical rail portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 48+29+30), located on an outer side of said frame structure (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), extending from said bottom end to a top end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), and having transverse rail portions (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 17+50+26+27+28), said transverse rail portions extending from said outer side to an inner side of said frame structure (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), said transverse rail portions being affixed to said vertical rail portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7); and,
a plurality of frame securing elements (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 35+36+etc.), for securing said multiple child shopping cart extension to said shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), wherein said plurality of frame securing elements attach each of said vertical rail portions to a rear end of said shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, McKelvey discloses: wherein said plurality of frame securing elements are releasable frame securing elements (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 35+36+etc.), for releasably securing said multiple child shopping cart extension to said shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, McKelvey discloses: said side rail portions further comprising a pair of handle members (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 20+54), each handle member being permanently affixed to each of the side rail portions at the top end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), and said pair of handle members extending from said inner side towards said outer side (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, McKelvey discloses: the side rail portions being connected at the top end on the inner side by an upper horizontal rail portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 20+54+17).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, McKelvey discloses: further comprising two wheel members (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 80), affixed to said frame structure at said bottom end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, McKelvey discloses: further comprising a safety strap (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 19+62), said safety strap being releasably or permanently attached to each of the vertical rail portions on the outer side (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, McKelvey discloses: said shopping cart frame comprising a basket portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 3) with a horizontal bottom surface (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, McKelvey discloses: A method of assembling an extended shopping cart with the multiple child shopping cart extension of claim 1, the method comprising: securing, with the frame securing elements, the multiple child shopping cart extension to the shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 14] Regarding Claim 14, McKelvey discloses: wherein the multiple child shopping cart extension is releasably secured to said shopping cart frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 35+36).
[Claim 16] Regarding Claim 16, McKelvey discloses: A kit for assembling an extended shopping cart with the multiple child shopping cart extension of claim 1, the kit comprising: the frame securing elements, the multiple child shopping cart extension, and two wheel members (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 18] Regarding Claim 18, McKelvey discloses: further comprising a safety strap (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 19+62).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618