DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed 12/19/2025 in which Claims 21-25, 27-35, 37-46 are pending of which Claims 43-46 are new and Claims 41 and 42 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 12/19/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kim, Park and Qu fail to teach or suggest a WTRU configured to transmit a first report that includes a “CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement”, “generate…a first report [that] comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement” or “transmit…the first report [that] comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement”. Examiner disagrees and points to Park’s teaching that transmitting a non-zero as well as a zero power CSI-RS, which includes a plurality of configurations in a distributed multi-node system (DMNS), to a user equipment (see ¶ 0119); The user equipment performs a channel measurement (or estimation) for at least one node (or antenna) via a non-zero power CSI-RS [first set of CSI-RS] transmitted from the base station (see ¶ 0209); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., at least one selected from the group consisting of a node ID, a cell ID, an antenna port, a CSI-RS configuration [first set of CSI-RS], a CSI-RS subframe configuration, a CSI for a node) for the CSI-RS distinguished by the CSI-RS type indicator to the base station. In other word, the user equipment feedbacks the information on each node to the base station according to a pattern of the CSI-RS (see ¶ 0214); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station [generate and transmit a first report that comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement] (see ¶ 0228). Examiner construes the CSI-RS resource indicator [RSRP] corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources [non-zero power CSI-RS] which is measured, a report generated based on the CSI-RS resource indicator and the report transmitted to indicate the CSI-RS resource indicator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 21-23, 25, 27-33, 35, 37-40, 43-46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,135,541 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0315197 to Park et al (“Park”) in further view of U.S. Patent 9,252,930 to Qu et al (“Qu”).
As to Claim 21, Kim teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to: receive first configuration information associated with a serving cell, wherein the first configuration information indicates a first report to be generated by the WTRU and first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration information associated with the first report (UE should have knowledge of a CSI-RS configuration that has been set for CSI-RS antenna ports in its serving cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-20; the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310). The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 41-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
perform a first measurement using at least the subset of CSI-RS resources based on a first set of CSI-RSs (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first set of CSI-RSs], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
generate the first report based on the first configuration information, wherein the first report indicates a result associated with the first measurement (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first configuration information], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement [first measurement]…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
Kim does not explicitly disclose whether the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources; generate the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement; and transmit the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement.
Park teaches whether the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically (one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of an identical TCSI-RS according to each of the subframes (in particular, an identical duty cycle and a subframe configuration different from each other) [periodic report], see ¶ 0160; Or, one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of TCSI-RS different from each other (in particular, a duty cycle different from each other and a subframe configuration different from each other) [aperiodic report], see ¶ 0161; the base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS to the user equipment to perform a measurement for the aforementioned two things, i.e., 1) or 2). The base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS including a periodicity different from each other according to a type of feedback of the user equipment (or the use of the CSI-RS) to the user equipment, see ¶ 0189).
Park teaches wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources (transmitting a non-zero as well as a zero power CSI-RS, which includes a plurality of configurations in a distributed multi-node system (DMNS), to a user equipment (see ¶ 0119); The user equipment performs a channel measurement (or estimation) for at least one node (or antenna) via a non-zero power CSI-RS [first set of CSI-RS] transmitted from the base station (see ¶ 0209); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., at least one selected from the group consisting of a node ID, a cell ID, an antenna port, a CSI-RS configuration [first set of CSI-RS], a CSI-RS subframe configuration, a CSI for a node) for the CSI-RS distinguished by the CSI-RS type indicator to the base station. In other word, the user equipment feedbacks the information on each node to the base station according to a pattern of the CSI-RS (see ¶ 0214); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources], see ¶ 0228);
generate the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station [generate a first report that comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement] (see ¶ 0228); and
transmit the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station [transmit the first report to a network device that comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement] (see ¶ 0228).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Park to teach the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources; generate the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement; and transmit the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and the CSI-RS to distinguish at least one node in a distributed multi-node system (see ¶ 0010).
Kim and Park do not expressly disclose transmit the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device.
Qu teaches transmit the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device (when UE is configured to feedback CSI, such as CQI, PMI, RI, and/or the like, the feedback reports are linked to the configured CSI-RS patterns. In an embodiment, a feedback may be linked to one of the configured CSI-RS patterns. Multiple feedback measurements may be configured simultaneously. In another embodiment, a feedback may be linked to several of the configured CSI-RS patterns. In yet another embodiment, a feedback may be linked to all the configured CSI-RS patterns. The feedbacks may be of different periodicities or to be aperiodic and triggered by signaling [transmit first report periodically or aperiodically in accordance with configuration information], see Col. 8, lines 25-35).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim and Park with Qu to teach transmit the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive feedback measurements corresponding to the plurality of reference signal configurations (see Col. 2, lines 56-57).
As to Claim 22, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 21, Kim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive second configuration information associated with the serving cell, wherein the second configuration information indicates a second report to be generated by the WTRU and second CSI-RS configuration information associated with the second report (UE should have knowledge of a CSI-RS configuration that has been set for CSI-RS antenna ports in its serving cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-20; the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310)…the eNB may transmit to the UE information indicating a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, see Col. 23, lines 41-49; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [second report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
determine a second set of CSI-RSs based on the second CSI-RS configuration information associated with the second report (the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310)…the eNB may transmit to the UE information indicating a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, see Col. 23, lines 41-49; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [second report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
perform a second measurement based on the second set of CSI-RSs; and transmit the second report to the network device (The UE may measure a channel using the received CSI-RS [second set of CSI-RSs] and thus may report such information as a Channel Quality Indicator CQI), a PMI, and/or a Rank Indicator (RI) [second measurement] to the eNB, see Col. 15, lines 8-11).
Park teaches whether the second report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; generate the second report based on the second configuration information, wherein the second report indicates a result associated with the second measurement ( the base station UE-specifically transmits a zero power CSI-RS configuration to the user equipment, [generate second report based on second configuration information] see ¶ 0137; one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of an identical TCSI-RS according to each of the subframes (in particular, an identical duty cycle and a subframe configuration different from each other) [periodic report], see ¶ 0160; Or, one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of TCSI-RS different from each other (in particular, a duty cycle different from each other and a subframe configuration different from each other) [aperiodic report], see ¶ 0161; the base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS to the user equipment to perform a measurement for the aforementioned two things, i.e., 1) or 2). The base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS including a periodicity different from each other according to a type of feedback of the user equipment (or the use of the CSI-RS) to the user equipment, see ¶ 0189; the user equipment feedbacks at least one of a channel state information (CSI) and a node information to the base station [S304] [second report indicates a result of a second measurement], see ¶ 0200; the channel state information (CSI) may correspond to a CQI, a PMI, an RI, or an SINR. And, the node information includes at least one selected from the group consisting of…antenna port information, a CSI-RS configuration [second measurement], see ¶ 0201).
As to Claim 23, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 22, Kim teaches wherein the first CSI-RS configuration information comprises information associated with at least one of a first time periodicity, a first offset, or a number of antennas associated with the first set of CSI-RSs and wherein the second CSI-RS configuration information comprises information associated with at least one of a second time periodicity, a second offset, or a number of antennas associated with the second set of CSI-RSs (CSI-RS transmission period and offset may be set separately for each individual CSI-RS configuration. For example, CSI-RS transmission periods and offsets may be separately set for a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs transmitted with zero transmission power [second set of CSI-RSs] and a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs transmitted with non-zero transmission power [first set of CSI-RSs], see Col. 15, lines 15-21).
As to Claim 25, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 21, Kim teaches wherein the first set of CSI-RSs includes a set of non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RSs (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first set of CSI-RSs], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47).
As to Claim 27, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 26, Kim teaches wherein the first report is generated and transmitted based on downlink control information (DCI) received by the WTRU (a given eNB may use a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and may indicate a CSI-RS configuration selected for use from among the plurality of CSI-RS configurations to a UE (UEs) in its cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-29; aperiodic CSI-RS transmission…subframes carrying CSI-RSs may be indicated in a predetermined pattern…and a 1-bit indicator may be set for each subframe [DCI] to indicate whether the subframe carries a CSI-RS, see Col. 15, lines 22-29).
As to Claim 28, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 27, Kim teaches wherein the first report is generated and transmitted based on a field comprised in the DCI (a given eNB may use a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and may indicate a CSI-RS configuration selected for use from among the plurality of CSI-RS configurations to a UE (UEs) in its cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-29; aperiodic CSI-RS transmission…subframes carrying CSI-RSs may be indicated in a predetermined pattern…and a 1-bit indicator may be set for each subframe [DCI] to indicate whether the subframe carries a CSI-RS, see Col. 15, lines 22-29).
As to Claim 29, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 21, Kim teaches wherein the subset of CSI-RS resources are indicated by the first CSI-RS configuration information (a CSI-RS configuration may include a configuration for time, frequency and/or code resources allocated for transmission of CSI-RSs. For instance, CSI-RSs may be transmitted in one of the patterns (i.e. time-frequency positions) illustrated in FIGS. 8(a) to 8(e) according to the CSI-RS configuration. The CSI-RS configuration may specify the positions of REs to which the CSI-RSs are mapped according to the number of antenna ports (e.g. 1, 2, 4 or 8) through which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. One of the one or more CSI-RS configurations available to the eNB may indicate the positions of REs carrying CSI-RSs for channel measurement at a UE, that is, the positions of REs carrying CSI-RSs with non-zero transmission power, see Col. 23, lines 21-34; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, an PMI, a CQI, etc.) based on the downlink channel measurement and the CSI-RS configuration, see Col. 24, lines 17-20).
As to Claim 30, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 29, Kim teaches wherein the first measurement includes a measurement of a received signal strength (The strength of the received signal, S may be measured using CSI-RSs in a subframe carrying the CSI-RSs as well as a signal for the UE, see Col. 17, lines 8-10).
As to Claim 31, Kim teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving first configuration information associated with a serving cell, wherein the first configuration information indicates a first report to be generated by the WTRU and first channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration information associated with the first report (UE should have knowledge of a CSI-RS configuration that has been set for CSI-RS antenna ports in its serving cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-20; the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310). The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 41-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
performing a first measurement using at least the subset of CSI-RS resources based on a first set of CSI-RSs (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first set of CSI-RSs], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
generating the first report based on the first configuration information, wherein the first report indicates a result associated with the first measurement (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first configuration information], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement [first measurement]…UE may report the CSI [first report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
Kim does not explicitly disclose whether the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources; generating the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement; and transmitting the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement.
Park teaches whether the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically (one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of an identical TCSI-RS according to each of the subframes (in particular, an identical duty cycle and a subframe configuration different from each other) [periodic report], see ¶ 0160; Or, one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of TCSI-RS different from each other (in particular, a duty cycle different from each other and a subframe configuration different from each other) [aperiodic report], see ¶ 0161; the base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS to the user equipment to perform a measurement for the aforementioned two things, i.e., 1) or 2). The base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS including a periodicity different from each other according to a type of feedback of the user equipment (or the use of the CSI-RS) to the user equipment, see ¶ 0189).
Park teaches wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources (transmitting a non-zero as well as a zero power CSI-RS, which includes a plurality of configurations in a distributed multi-node system (DMNS), to a user equipment (see ¶ 0119); The user equipment performs a channel measurement (or estimation) for at least one node (or antenna) via a non-zero power CSI-RS [first set of CSI-RS] transmitted from the base station (see ¶ 0209); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., at least one selected from the group consisting of a node ID, a cell ID, an antenna port, a CSI-RS configuration [first set of CSI-RS], a CSI-RS subframe configuration, a CSI for a node) for the CSI-RS distinguished by the CSI-RS type indicator to the base station. In other word, the user equipment feedbacks the information on each node to the base station according to a pattern of the CSI-RS (see ¶ 0214); the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources], see ¶ 0228);
generating the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station [generate a first report that comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement] (see ¶ 0228); and
transmitting the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station [transmit the first report to a network device that comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement] (see ¶ 0228).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Park to teach the first report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; wherein the first configuration information indicates a CSI-RS resource indicator corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources; generating the first report based on the first configuration information, and wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly indicates the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement; and transmitting the first report, to a network device, wherein the first report comprises the CSI-RS resource indicator that explicitly identifies the subset of CSI-RS resources that were used to perform the first measurement. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to transmit a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and the CSI-RS to distinguish at least one node in a distributed multi-node system (see ¶ 0010).
Kim and Park do not expressly disclose transmitting the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device.
Qu teaches transmitting the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device (when UE is configured to feedback CSI, such as CQI, PMI, RI, and/or the like, the feedback reports are linked to the configured CSI-RS patterns. In an embodiment, a feedback may be linked to one of the configured CSI-RS patterns. Multiple feedback measurements may be configured simultaneously. In another embodiment, a feedback may be linked to several of the configured CSI-RS patterns. In yet another embodiment, a feedback may be linked to all the configured CSI-RS patterns. The feedbacks may be of different periodicities or to be aperiodic and triggered by signaling, see Col. 8, lines 25-35).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim and Park with Qu to teach transmit the first report, periodically or aperiodically in accordance with the configuration information, to a network device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive feedback measurements corresponding to the plurality of reference signal configurations (see Col. 2, lines 56-57).
As to Claim 32, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 31, Kim teaches receiving second configuration information associated with the serving cell, wherein the second configuration information indicates a second report to be generated by the WTRU and second CSI-RS configuration information associated with the second report; (UE should have knowledge of a CSI-RS configuration that has been set for CSI-RS antenna ports in its serving cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-20; the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310)…the eNB may transmit to the UE information indicating a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, see Col. 23, lines 41-49; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [second report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
determining a second set of CSI-RSs based on the second CSI-RS configuration information associated with the second report; (the eNB may transmit information about one or more CSI-RS configurations to the UE (S1310)…the eNB may transmit to the UE information indicating a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes zero transmission power for CSI-RSs, see Col. 23, lines 41-49; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, a PMI, a CQI, etc) based on the downlink channel measurement…UE may report the CSI [second report] to the eNB (S1380), see Col. 24, lines 17-21);
performing a second measurement based on the second set of CSI-RSs; and transmitting the second report to the network device (The UE may measure a channel using the received CSI-RS [second set of CSI-RSs] and thus may report such information as a Channel Quality Indicator CQI), a PMI, and/or a Rank Indicator (RI) [second measurement] to the eNB, see Col. 15, lines 8-11).
Park teaches whether the second report is to be generated periodically or aperiodically; generate the second report based on the second configuration information, wherein the second report indicates a result associated with the second measurement ( the base station UE-specifically transmits a zero power CSI-RS configuration to the user equipment, [generate second report based on second configuration information] see ¶ 0137; one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of an identical TCSI-RS according to each of the subframes (in particular, an identical duty cycle and a subframe configuration different from each other) [periodic report], see ¶ 0160; Or, one CSI-RS transmitted via at least one CSI-RS subframe can be transmitted in a manner of including ICSI-RS different from each other of TCSI-RS different from each other (in particular, a duty cycle different from each other and a subframe configuration different from each other) [aperiodic report], see ¶ 0161; the base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS to the user equipment to perform a measurement for the aforementioned two things, i.e., 1) or 2). The base station may be able to transmit the CSI-RS including a periodicity different from each other according to a type of feedback of the user equipment (or the use of the CSI-RS) to the user equipment, see ¶ 0189; the user equipment feedbacks at least one of a channel state information (CSI) and a node information to the base station [S304] [second report indicates a result of a second measurement], see ¶ 0200; the channel state information (CSI) may correspond to a CQI, a PMI, an RI, or an SINR. And, the node information includes at least one selected from the group consisting of…antenna port information, a CSI-RS configuration [second measurement], see ¶ 0201).
As to Claim 33, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 32, Kim teaches wherein the first CSI-RS configuration information comprises information associated with at least one of a first time periodicity, a first offset, or a number of antennas associated with the first set of CSI-RSs and wherein the second CSI-RS configuration information comprises information associated with at least one of a second time periodicity, a second offset, or a number of antennas associated with the second set of CSI-RSs (CSI-RS transmission period and offset may be set separately for each individual CSI-RS configuration. For example, CSI-RS transmission periods and offsets may be separately set for a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs transmitted with zero transmission power [second set of CSI-RSs] and a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs transmitted with non-zero transmission power [first set of CSI-RSs], see Col. 15, lines 15-21).
As to Claim 35, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 31, Kim teaches wherein the first set of CSI-RSs includes a set of non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RSs (The one or more CSI-RS configurations may include a CSI-RS configuration in which the UE assumes non-zero transmission power for CSI-RSs [first set of CSI-RSs], that is, a CSI-RS configuration for CSI-RSs for use in channel measurement at the UE, see Col. 23, lines 44-47).
As to Claim 37, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 36, Kim teaches wherein the first report is generated and transmitted based on downlink control information (DCI) received by the WTRU (a given eNB may use a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and may indicate a CSI-RS configuration selected for use from among the plurality of CSI-RS configurations to a UE (UEs) in its cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-29; aperiodic CSI-RS transmission…subframes carrying CSI-RSs may be indicated in a predetermined pattern…and a 1-bit indicator may be set for each subframe [DCI] to indicate whether the subframe carries a CSI-RS, see Col. 15, lines 22-29).
As to Claim 38, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 37, Kim teaches wherein the first report is generated and transmitted based on a field comprised in the DCI (a given eNB may use a plurality of CSI-RS configurations and may indicate a CSI-RS configuration selected for use from among the plurality of CSI-RS configurations to a UE (UEs) in its cell, see Col. 14, lines 17-29; aperiodic CSI-RS transmission…subframes carrying CSI-RSs may be indicated in a predetermined pattern…and a 1-bit indicator may be set for each subframe [DCI] to indicate whether the subframe carries a CSI-RS, see Col. 15, lines 22-29).
As to Claim 39, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 31, Kim teaches wherein the subset of CSI-RS resources are indicated by the first CSI-RS configuration information (a CSI-RS configuration may include a configuration for time, frequency and/or code resources allocated for transmission of CSI-RSs. For instance, CSI-RSs may be transmitted in one of the patterns (i.e. time-frequency positions) illustrated in FIGS. 8(a) to 8(e) according to the CSI-RS configuration. The CSI-RS configuration may specify the positions of REs to which the CSI-RSs are mapped according to the number of antenna ports (e.g. 1, 2, 4 or 8) through which the CSI-RSs are transmitted. One of the one or more CSI-RS configurations available to the eNB may indicate the positions of REs carrying CSI-RSs for channel measurement at a UE, that is, the positions of REs carrying CSI-RSs with non-zero transmission power, see Col. 23, lines 21-34; UE measures a downlink channel using the received CSI-RSs and generates CSI (an RI, an PMI, a CQI, etc.) based on the downlink channel measurement and the CSI-RS configuration, see Col. 24, lines 17-20).
As to Claim 40, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 39, Kim teaches wherein the first measurement includes a measurement of a received signal strength (The strength of the received signal, S may be measured using CSI-RSs in a subframe carrying the CSI-RSs as well as a signal for the UE, see Col. 17, lines 8-10).
As to Claim 43, Kim, Park and Qu depending on Claim 21, Park teaches wherein the CSI-RS resource indicator is determined based on higher layer signaling (A base station transmits CSI-RS configuration information indicating a configuration of a non-zero power CSI-RS to a user equipment [S301]. In this case, the CSI-RS configuration information corresponds to CSI-RS related control information indicating a plurality of configurations of the non-zero power CSI-RS. And, the CSI-RS configuration information is cell-specifically transmitted to the user equipment via a signaling of an upper layer from the base station, see ¶ 0121).
As to Claim 44, Kim, Park and Qu depending on Claim 31, Park teaches wherein the CSI-RS resource indicator is determined based on higher layer signaling (A base station transmits CSI-RS configuration information indicating a configuration of a non-zero power CSI-RS to a user equipment [S301]. In this case, the CSI-RS configuration information corresponds to CSI-RS related control information indicating a plurality of configurations of the non-zero power CSI-RS. And, the CSI-RS configuration information is cell-specifically transmitted to the user equipment via a signaling of an upper layer from the base station, see ¶ 0121).
As to Claim 45, Kim, Park and Qu depending on Claim 21, Park teaches wherein the first report comprises an indication indicating one or more reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements corresponding to the subset of CSI-RS resources (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station, see ¶ 0228).
As to Claim 46, Kim, Park and Qu depending on Claim 31, Park teaches wherein the first report comprises an indication indicating one or more reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements corresponding to the subset of CSI-RS resources (the user equipment feedbacks a node information (e.g., a node index, a node configuration, a cell ID, an antenna port), which is detected (or selected) using RSSI, RSRP, RSRQ (reference signal strength indication (indicator)), (reference signal received power), (reference signal received quality), and the like measured by a unique pattern of the CSI-RS for a whole node or a part of the nodes in a cell, to the base station [CSI-RS resource indicator, e.g. RSRP, corresponding to a subset of CSI-RS resources of a set of CSI-RS resources]. In particular, by performing a measurement for the RSRP, the RSRQ, the RSSI using the pattern of the CSI-RS in the distributed multi-node system, the user equipment may be able to feedback the information related to node selection to the base station, see ¶ 0228).
Claims 24, 34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,135,541 to Kim et al (“Kim”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0315197 to Park et al (“Park”) in further view of U.S. Patent 9,252,930 to Qu et al (“Qu”) and in further view of 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), TS 36.213 vg.0.1, “3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); Physical layer procedures (Release 9)”, December 2009, 79 pages to 3GPP.
As to Claim 24, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 21, Kim, Park and Qu do not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE. 3GPP teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE (a UE may assume downlink cell-specific RS EPRE is constant across the downlink system bandwidth and constant across all subframes until different cell-specific RS power information is received. The downlink reference signal EPRE can be derived from the downlink reference signal transmit power given by the parameter provided by higher layers. The downlink reference signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions of all resource elements that carry cell-specific reference signals within the operating system bandwidth. UE specific RSs are present in the PRBs upon which the corresponding PDSCH is mapped, the ratio of PDSCH EPRE to UE-specific RS EPRE within each OFDM symbol containing UE-specific RSs, see Section 5.2, Section 7.2.3, Table 5.2-1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Park and Qu with 3GPP to determine the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have explicit feedback (Section 8.1.3.1).
As to Claim 34, Kim, Park and Qu depending from Claim 31, Kim, Park and Qu do not explicitly disclose determining the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE. 3GPP teaches determining the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE (a UE may assume downlink cell-specific RS EPRE is constant across the downlink system bandwidth and constant across all subframes until different cell-specific RS power information is received. The downlink reference signal EPRE can be derived from the downlink reference signal transmit power given by the parameter provided by higher layers. The downlink reference signal transmit power is defined as the linear average over the power contributions of all resource elements that carry cell-specific reference signals within the operating system bandwidth. UE specific RSs are present in the PRBs upon which the corresponding PDSCH is mapped, the ratio of PDSCH EPRE to UE-specific RS EPRE within each OFDM symbol containing UE-specific RSs, see Section 5.2, Section 7.2.3, Table 5.2-1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim, Park and Qu with 3GPP for determining the first set of CSI-RSs further based on a first ratio of a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) energy per resource element (EPRE) to a first reference signal EPRE. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have explicit feedback (Section 8.1.3.1).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622