DETAILED ACTION
Claims 10-20 are pending. Claims 1-9 are cancelled.
Priority: 12/19/2022
Assignee: Intel
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber et al.(20190004801), and further in view of Turner et al.(20220019534).
As per claim 10, Haber discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
decoder circuitry to decode a single instruction(Haber, [0073 -- After fetching the instruction from code storage 102, decode circuit 106 decodes the fetched instruction, including by parsing the various fields of the instruction.]), the single instruction to include a field for an identifier of a first source operand and a field for an opcode(Haber, [0080 -- As shown, instruction 300 includes opcode 302, destination identifier 304, immediate 306, optional source identifier 308 (optional instruction fields are shown in boxes with dashed outlines), optional second immediate 310, optional element size identifier 312, and optional write mask 314.], [0122 -- The instruction is received by decode circuitry 605. For example, the decode circuitry 605 receives this instruction from fetch logic/circuitry. The instruction 601 includes fields for an opcode (e.g., mnemonic “VBROADCASTIMM”), a destination identifier to specify a packed destination register, and an immediate.]),;
Haber does not explicitly disclose the following, however Turner discloses:
the opcode to indicate execution circuitry is to update coherency bypass information(Turner, [0126 -- Referring to FIG. 12A, in optional block 1202 in the method 1200a, the virtual cache device may receive a release synchronization operation command from a processor core (e.g., processor 124 in FIG. 1, processor 200 in FIG. 2, processor core 310 in FIGS. 3, 6, 10) or other coherent processing device.], [0136 -- Referring to FIG. 12B, in optional block 1230 of the method 1200b, the virtual cache device may receive an invalidate cache coherency operation. The invalidate cache coherency operation my correspond to a type of snoop received by a snoop filter. For example, the cache coherency operation may be an invalidate operation in response to a write snoop.]);
and execution circuitry to execute the decoded instruction according to the opcode to update coherency bypass information for data indicated by the first source operand(Turner, [0127 -- In optional block 1204, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the release synchronization operation command. The synchronization status bits may indicate to the virtual cache device whether there is a pending synchronization operation and what type of cache coherence operation to implement in response to receiving a cache coherence operation while a synchronization operation is pending], [0137 -- In optional block 1232, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the invalidate cache coherency operation. ]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Turner into the system of Haber for the benefit of a cache coherency operation that is sent to the virtual cache in response to determining that the entry exists in the snoop filter, and which enables to reduce the latency and constrained bandwidth, reduces the complexity such as support for parallel memory management unit (MMU) lookups, and also reduces the cost of the MMU on the critical path to the lowest level caches, and enables to avoid bottlenecks, and prevents the over-invalidation of cache lines(Turner, 0001).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Haber discloses:
wherein the field for the identifier of the first source operand is to identify a vector register(Haber, [0083 -- Destination identifier 304 in some embodiments specifies a vector register, such as one of the vector registers provided in a processor's register file.]).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Haber discloses:
wherein the field for the identifier of the first source operand is to identify a memory location(Haber, [0084 -- In some embodiments, optional source identifier 308 identifies a general purpose register included in the processor's register file, for example, as illustrated and discussed with respect to the embodiment of FIG. 4C, below. FIG. 30 and its associated description further below describe an embodiment of a processor's register file. In some embodiments, optional source identifier 308 identifies a memory location.]).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Haber discloses:
wherein the single instruction is further to include a field for an identifier of a second source operand to indicate a size of the data indicated by the first source operand(Haber, [0086 -- Optional element size identifier 312, in some embodiments, is included in the opcode, such as a prefix or suffix, “B,” “W,” “D,” and “Q,” corresponding to a size—1 byte, 2 bytes, 4 bytes, or 8 bytes, respectively—of each destination vector element. In some embodiments, optional element size identifier 312 is included in the opcode, such as a prefix or suffix, “H,” “5,” “D,” “Q,” and “E,” corresponding to precision levels]).
As per claim 16, Haber discloses:
A method, comprising:
fetching an instruction having a field for an opcode and a field for an identifier of a first source operand(Haber, [0074 -- After starting the process, a fetch circuit at 202 fetches the instruction from a code storage, the instruction including an opcode, a destination identifier to specify a destination vector register, a first immediate, a second immediate, and a write mask identifier to specify a write mask register, the write mask register comprising at least one bit corresponding to each element of the destination vector register], [0122 -- The instruction is received by decode circuitry 605. For example, the decode circuitry 605 receives this instruction from fetch logic/circuitry. The instruction 601 includes fields for an opcode (e.g., mnemonic “VBROADCASTIMM”), a destination identifier to specify a packed destination register, and an immediate.]);
decoding the instruction(Haber, [0075 -- At 204, the fetched instruction is decoded by decode circuitry]);
scheduling execution of the instruction(Haber, [0166 -- In some embodiments, register renaming, register allocation, and/or scheduling circuitry 1207 provides functionality]);
Haber does not explicitly disclose the following, however Turner discloses:
and executing the decoded instruction according to the opcode to update coherency bypass information for data indicated by the first source operand(Turner, [0127 -- In optional block 1204, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the release synchronization operation command. The synchronization status bits may indicate to the virtual cache device whether there is a pending synchronization operation and what type of cache coherence operation to implement in response to receiving a cache coherence operation while a synchronization operation is pending], [0137 -- In optional block 1232, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the invalidate cache coherency operation.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Turner into the system of Haber for the benefit of a cache coherency operation that is sent to the virtual cache in response to determining that the entry exists in the snoop filter, and which enables to reduce the latency and constrained bandwidth, reduces the complexity such as support for parallel memory management unit (MMU) lookups, and also reduces the cost of the MMU on the critical path to the lowest level caches, and enables to avoid bottlenecks, and prevents the over-invalidation of cache lines(Turner, 0001).
Claim 17 is a method claim that implements steps from the apparatus claim 13, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber et al.(20190004801), and further in view of Turner et al.(20220019534), and further in view of Gabor et al.(20210209023).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Haber does not disclose the following, however Gabor discloses:
wherein the execution circuitry is further to execute the decoded instruction according to the opcode to: set a field value according to the opcode for one or more linear address masks for the data indicated by the first source operand(Gabor, [0042 -- In one embodiment, a thread/CPL where the bits are masked out uses the following linear address space of FIG. 3A. FIG. 3A illustrates a linear address 300 with a proper subset of bits 306 (e.g., bit positions 55-52) inside the address space (bit positions 56-0) available for software use. For example, leaving bit positions 302B and 302A to store values that are not to be masked.], [0126 -- Write mask field 870 (EVEX byte 3, bits [2:0]-kkk)—its content specifies the index of a register in the write mask registers as previously described. In one embodiment of the disclosure, the specific value EVEX kkk=000 has a special behavior implying no write mask is used for the particular instruction (this may be implemented in a variety of ways including the use of a write mask hardwired to all ones or hardware that bypasses the masking hardware).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Gabor into the system of Haber for the benefit of the use of linear address masking on a proper subset of bits inside the address space bits of the linear address, thus improving the performance of a computer by allowing software to use metadata bits inside pointers which the hardware subsequently ignore. The core includes logic to support a packed data instruction set extension, thus allowing the operations used by many multimedia applications to be performed using packed data(Gabor, 0035).
Claim 18 is a method claim that implements steps from the apparatus claim 14, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber et al.(20190004801), and further in view of Turner et al.(20220019534), and further in view of Basu et al.(20170337136).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Haber does not disclose the following, however Basu discloses:
wherein the execution circuitry is further to execute the decoded instruction according to the opcode to: set a field value according to the opcode for one or more page table attributes for the data indicated by the first source operand(Basu, [0079 -- The operating system also sets, in metadata 204 for the page table entry 200, cache coherency indicator 306 to indicate the first type of processor (step 608). Continuing the example above, this operation includes setting one or more bits, characters, etc. to indicate a CPU. For example, assuming that there are four bits in the cache coherency indicator and the pattern 0110 indicates a CPU, memory management unit 122 can set the cache coherency indicator to 0110. ]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Basu into the system of Haber for the benefit of avoiding coherence directory lookups can reduce the number of communication on a system bus, reduce power consumption, reduce the number of computational operations performed by the coherence directory, and avoid delay, so that the computing device is operated more efficiently. The operation is performed to enforce coherency between the copy of the data in the cache and the other copies of the data to avoid incoherency/inconsistency between cached copies of data held by processors and the corresponding data in the memory and/or copies of the data held in caches by other processors. (Basu, 0022).
Claim 19 is a method claim that implements steps from the apparatus claim 15, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haber et al.(20190004801), and further in view of Turner et al.(20220019534), and further in view of Bernat et al.(20180165196).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated, in addition, Haber does not disclose the following, however Turner discloses:
wherein the opcode indicates that the data indicated by the first source operand is to bypass a coherency operation(Turner, [0127 -- In optional block 1204, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the release synchronization operation command. The synchronization status bits may indicate to the virtual cache device whether there is a pending synchronization operation and what type of cache coherence operation to implement in response to receiving a cache coherence operation while a synchronization operation is pending], [0137 -- In optional block 1232, the virtual cache device may update synchronization status bits for lines in the virtual cache subject to the invalidate cache coherency operation.]), further comprising:
executing the instruction(Turner, [0056 -- The processor 200 may include a shared processor cache memory 230 that may be dedicated for read and/or write access by the processor cores 202, 204, 206, 208 of the processor 200. The shared processor cache 230 may store data and/or instructions, and make the stored data and/or instructions available to the processor cores 202, 204, 206, 208, for use in execution by the processor cores 202, 204, 206, 208]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Turner into the system of Haber for the benefit of a cache coherency operation that is sent to the virtual cache in response to determining that the entry exists in the snoop filter, and which enables to reduce the latency and constrained bandwidth, reduces the complexity such as support for parallel memory management unit (MMU) lookups, and also reduces the cost of the MMU on the critical path to the lowest level caches, and enables to avoid bottlenecks, and prevents the over-invalidation of cache lines(Turner, 0001).
Turner does not explicitly disclose the following, however Bernat discloses:
executing the instruction further comprises:
executing the decoded instruction according to the opcode to flush any modified data indicated by the first source operand from one or more caches, invalidate any shared data indicated by the first source operand, flush any translation look-aside buffer entries for data indicated by the first source operand, and set one or more tags associated with data indicated by the first source operand to indicate that copies of the data are to bypass the coherency operation(Bernat, [0134 -- At phase 1501, a core 1420 transmits an ENQ command to controller 1470 specifying an address range (e.g., @a-@b) needs to be copied from its cache to memory. Upon acceptance of the command, controller 1470 transmits an acknowledgement back to the core 1420, phase 1502. At phase 1503, controller 1470 copies the memory range from core 1420 to memory]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Bernat into the system of Haber for the benefit of the faster the throughput of instructions, the better the overall performance of the processor. The multimedia applications are accelerated and executed more efficiently by using the full width of processor's data bus for performing operations on packed data. The out-of-order execution logic has number of buffers to smooth out and re-order the flow of instructions to optimize performance as they go down the pipeline and get scheduled for execution.(Bernat, 0038).
Examiner Notes
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rychlik et al.(20140040552) where the method involves storing shared variable data to cache lines of a cache of a first programmable processor. A store-with-release operation is executed with the first programmable processor. A load-with-acquire operation is executed with a second programmable processor. A value of the data is loaded from a cache of the second programmable processor. The cache of the first programmable processor is snooped with the second programmable processor. A cache hit associated with an updated value of the data is detected with the second programmable processor(Rychlik, 0010).
Conclusion
Arvind Talukdar
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2132
/ARVIND TALUKDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132