DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 23 Dec 2025, have been fully considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection now addresses the newly-amended claims, as set forth
below.
With regards to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Egashira et al. ‘478 (US 2022/0149478), Applicant notes that the battery cells of Egashira et al. ‘478 are arranged such that they discharge directly into the inlet of the flow path forming compartment (see pg. 15, para 1 to pg. 17, para 1 of Applicant’s Remarks). As such, Applicant argues, the orientation of the electrode terminals is essential to achieve the effect of the invention, and as such the orientation of the terminals cannot be changed (see pg. 17, para 1 of Applicant’s Remarks).
The examiner submits that the prior art reference Son et al. (US 2018/0287113) discloses a structure in which the battery cells do not discharge directly into the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. Fig. 3 of Son et al., showing a gap between the cells 100 and the inlet 117 of the gas flow path), and as such, rearranging the orientation of the terminals of Son’s structure would not alter the performance of the structure in a patentably distinct way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-17 and 20 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 1 and the cancellation of claims 2 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 11-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0287113).
As to claim 1, Son et al. discloses a battery module, comprising:
a cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (see e.g. cell module assembly 100, comprising a stack of a plurality of cells, [0025] and Figs. 3-4), and having a bottom side, a top side, and lateral sides connecting the bottom side to the top side (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 1 below);
Illustration 1, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 4 of Son.
a housing comprising an accommodation space in which the cell stack is accommodated (see e.g. receiving device 110, the interior of which accommodates cell stack 100, Fig. 4), a plurality of sidewalls covering the lateral sides, respectively (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 2 below), and a main plate covering one of the top side and the bottom side of the cell stack (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 2, the partition wall assembly 120 at one end of Son et al.’s module assembly can reasonably be considered to be part of the housing that comprises a main plate that covers the top side of cell stack 100), wherein the accommodation space comprises an open end formed in a portion opposite to the main plate (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 2);
Illustration 2, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 4 of Son et al..
a flow path forming compartment covering the open end of the accommodation space (see e.g. partition wall assembly 120, which covers the open end of 110, Fig. 4) and comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a flow path forming member forming a flow path between the inlet and the outlet such that at least one of a gas and flames generated in the accommodating space flows (see e.g. 120 comprises a transmission window 117, which reads on the inlet, venting hole 124 which reads on the outlet, and second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member. Gas generated in the accommodating space of 110 flows from inlet 117 to outlet 124, [0043] and Figs. 3 and 5);
and a flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, [0045], Figs. 3 and 5) installed in the flow path forming compartment and inhibiting the flames generated in the accommodation space from being exposed to the outside through the outlet (see Fig. 3. Mesh member 119 lies in the flow path forming compartment 120 and prevents the discharge of flame, thereby and inhibiting the flames generated in the accommodation space from being exposed to the outside through the outlet. [0045] and Fig. 5),
wherein the flow path forming member has a flow path length between the inlet and the outlet which extends longer than a linear distance between the inlet and the outlet (see e.g. Fig. 3 and Illustration 3 below. The flow path length between inlet 117 and outlet 124 is longer than the linear distance between these components).
Illustration 3, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 3 of Son et al.. Arrows indicate the gas flow path.
The inlet of the flow path forming compartment is disposed in a position opposite to one of the top side or the bottom side of the cell stack (see e.g. Illustrations 1 and 3, showing inlet 117 opposite to the side of the cell stack 100 indicated as the bottom side) such that the at least one of the gas and flames enter the flow path of the flow path forming compartment through the inlet in a state in which a pressure of the at least one of the gas and flames is lowered (i.e., flame or gas fills the interior of 110 before entering the flow path through inlet 117, and thereby is in a state in which the pressure of the flame or gas is reduced).
Son et al. does not explicitly disclose a battery module in which a first area of a first side opposite to the cell stack among sides of the flow path forming compartment has a value greater than a second area of a second side opposite to the lateral sides of the cell stack among sides of each of the plurality of sidewalls.
Son et al. does not explicitly disclose a battery module in which an electrode terminal of each of the plurality of battery cells is disposed in a portion of the lateral sides of the cell stack and the electrode terminal faces at least one of the plurality of sidewalls of the housing.
In Son et al.’s battery module, a first area of a first side opposite to the cell stack among sides of the flow path forming compartment has a value less than a second area of a second side opposite to the lateral sides of the cell stack among sides of each of the plurality of sidewalls (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 4 below).
Illustration 4, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 4 of Son et al..
However, the relative areas of the first and second sides of the flow path forming compartment is a design choice that depends on the shape and quantity of the battery cells in the cell stack, and the desired shape/size of the battery module. Further, altering the shape of Son et al.’s battery module such that the first area of a first side opposite to the cell stack among sides of the flow path forming compartment has a value greater than a second area of a second side opposite to the lateral sides of the cell stack among sides of each of the plurality of sidewalls would fail to alter the operation of the Son et al.’s battery module in a patentably distinct manner (see MPEP §2144.04 IV A).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s battery module by designing the first area of a first side opposite to the cell stack among sides of the flow path forming compartment to have a value greater than a second area of a second side opposite to the lateral sides of the cell stack among sides of each of the plurality of sidewalls. Said artisan would have found such a modification to be obvious because it represents a simple change in shape that would not patentably alter the performance of Son et al.’s battery module.
Further regarding claim 1, Son et al. discloses a battery module in which an electrode terminal of each of the plurality of battery cells (see e.g. the terminals of battery cells 100, which are shown in Figs. 3-4 projecting from the top and bottom sides of the cells as shown in Illustration 1) is disposed in a portion of the top and bottom sides of the cell stack and the electrode terminal is oriented perpendicular to the plurality of sidewalls of the housing (see Illustrations 1-2 above).
However, rearranging the electrode terminals of Son et al.’s battery apparatus such that the electrode terminals are disposed in a portion of the lateral sides of the cell stack and the electrode terminal faces at least one of the plurality of sidewalls of the housing would represent a simple rearrangement of parts that could be accomplished by rotating Son et al.’s battery cells 90° such that the terminals face the sidewalls of the housing instead of the top/bottom sides. Such a modification would fail to alter the operation of Son et al.’s battery module in a patentably distinct manner (see MPEP §2144.04 IV A).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s battery module such that the electrode terminals are disposed in a portion of the lateral sides of the cell stack and the electrode terminal faces at least one of the plurality of sidewalls of the housing. Said artisan would have found such a modification to be obvious because it represents a simple change in shape that would not patentably alter the performance of Son et al.’s battery module.
As to claim 3, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1,
wherein the inlet is disposed adjacent to an edge of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. Fig 3 and Illustration 3, showing first transmission window 117, which reads on the inlet, adjacent to an edge of the partition wall assembly 120, which reads on the claimed flow path forming compartment), wherein the inlet is spaced apart from an edge of the flow path forming compartment, or wherein the inlet is formed in a central region of the flow path forming compartment.
As to claim 4, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein the outlet of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. venting hole 124 of partition wall assembly 120, [0046] and Figs. 4-5) is installed in a position spaced apart from the inlet (see e.g. first transmission window 117, which is spaced apart from venting hole 124, Figs. 4-5).
Son et al. does not disclose the distance between the inlet and the outlet and does not disclose that the outlet of the flow path forming compartment is installed in a position spaced apart from the inlet by a distance of 200 mm to 2000 mm with respect to the flow path from the inlet to the outlet.
However, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness can be made when the only difference between a prior art device and a claimed invention is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device (MPEP § 2144.04 IV “CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS”). In the instant case, designing the battery module of Son et al. such that the outlet of the flow path forming compartment is installed in a position spaced apart from the inlet by a distance of 200 mm to 2000 mm with respect to the flow path from the inlet to the outlet would fail to alter the function of Son et al.’s module in a patentably distinct manner, and therefore would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 5, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1 wherein the main plate of the housing supports the bottom side of the cell stack (see e.g. Illustrations 1 and 2, showing the cell stack and the main plate. When the battery module is placed with the main plate face-down, the entire battery module including the bottom side of the cell stack can reasonably be said to be supported by the main plate), and wherein the flow path forming compartment covers the top side of the cell stack (see e.g. Illustrations 1 and 2, when the battery module is placed with the main plate face-down, the partition wall assembly 120 which reads on the flow path forming compartment covers the top side of the cell stack).
As to claim 6, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1 wherein the flow path forming compartment supports the bottom side of the cell stack (see e.g. Illustrations 1 and 2, showing the cell stack and the partition wall assembly 120 which reads on the flow path forming compartment. When the battery module is placed with the flow path forming compartment face-down, the entire battery module including the bottom side of the cell stack can reasonably be said to be supported by the flow path forming compartment), and wherein the main plate of the housing covers the top side of the cell stack (see e.g. Illustrations 1 and 2, when the battery module is placed with the flow path forming compartment face-down, the main plate of the housing covers the top side of the cell stack).
As to claim 7, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1,wherein the flame blocking member comprises at least one of a porous metal foam and a metal mesh (see e.g. mesh member 119, reads on the claimed flame blocking member and may be formed of a metal material, [0045] and Fig. 5).
As to claim 11, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein the flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, [0045]) is installed at the outlet of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, which show 119 installed adjacent to the venting hole 124, which reads on the claimed outlet of the flow path forming compartment).
As to claim 12, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1, including a flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, [0045]) that is spaced apart from the inlet of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5, which show 119 spaced apart from first transmission window 117, which reads on the claimed inlet of the flow path forming compartment).
Son et al. does not disclose the distance between the inlet and the flame blocking member and does not disclose that the flame blocking member is installed in a position spaced apart from the inlet of the flow path forming compartment by a distance of 200 mm to 2000 mm with respect to the flow path from the inlet to the outlet..
However, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness can be made when the only difference between a prior art device and a claimed invention is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device (MPEP § 2144.04 IV “CHANGES IN SIZE, SHAPE, OR SEQUENCE OF ADDING INGREDIENTS”). In the instant case, designing the battery module of Son et al. such that the flame blocking member is installed in a position spaced apart from the inlet of the flow path forming compartment by a distance of 200 mm to 2000 mm with respect to the flow path from the inlet to the outlet would fail to alter the function of Son et al.’s module in a patentably distinct manner, and therefore would have been an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 13, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. partition wall assembly 120, [0041]) further comprises a base member having a flow path space for accommodating the flow path forming member (see e.g. 120 comprises housing 121, which reads on the claimed base member and comprises a space for accommodating second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member. [0041] and Fig. 5), and a cover member coupled to the base member to cover the flow path space (see e.g. the cover member shown above in Illustration 4, which is coupled to base member 121 and covers the flow path space in the interior of 120).
As to claim 14, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 13 wherein the inlet (see e.g. first transmission window 117, which reads on the claimed inlet, Fig. 3) is formed in one of the base member and the cover member to oppose the accommodation space (see e.g. Figs. 3 and 5 showing 117 formed inside housing 121, which reads on being formed in the claimed base member), and wherein the outlet (see e.g. vent hole 124, Fig. 4) is formed in the other of the base member and the cover member (see e.g. 124 is formed in the cover member indicated in Illustration 4 above).
As to claim 15, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 13, wherein the flow path space occupies 70% or more of a total volume of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. Illustration 3 above and Fig. 3. Partition wall assembly 120 reads on the claimed flow path forming space, and substantially all of the interior volume of 120 can be considered to be a flow path space).
As to claim 16, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1, wherein the flow path forming member (see e.g. second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member, Figs. 3 and 5 and Illustration 3) forms a flow path having a cross-section having a zigzag shape or a cross-section having a spiral shape (see e.g. the flow path cross-section shown in Illustration 3 above, which can reasonably be said to have a zigzag shape).
As to claim 18, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 1 wherein the flow path forming member (see e.g. second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member, Figs. 3 and 5 and Illustration 3) that comprises a first flow path portion having a first flow path (see e.g. the leftmost portion of flow path forming member 114. Gas flowing through the opening this flow path forming member can be considered a first flow path. Figs. 3-4 and see Illustration 5 below),
Illustration 5, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 3 of Son et al..
and a second flow path portion having a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path (see e.g. the rightmost portion of flow path forming member 114. Gas flowing through the opening in this flow path forming member can be considered a second flow path partitioned from the first flow path. Figs. 3-4 and see Illustration 5), wherein the first flow path portion and the second flow path portion communicate with at least one inlet and at least one outlet, respectively (see e.g. Fig. 3 and Illustration 5. The first and second gas flow paths travelling through the left and right flow path forming compartments 120 communicate with both of the inlets 117 and the outlets 124 of the flow path forming compartments 120, Figs. 3 and 5), and wherein the first flow path and the second flow path are partitioned from each other by a blocking wall crossing between the first flow path and the second flow path, or by a guide wall forming the first flow path and the second flow path (see e.g. Fig. 3 and Illustration 5 above. The indicated guide walls can be said to partition the first flow path and second flow path from each other).
As to claim 19, Son et al. discloses a flame exposure prevention structure for a battery module having a housing (see e.g. receiving device 110, Fig. 4) comprising an accommodation space in which a cell stack including a plurality of battery cells is accommodated (see e.g. the interior of 110 reads on the claimed accommodation space and houses a plurality of battery cells 100, [0025] and Figs. 3-4), the flame exposure prevention structure comprising:
a flow path forming compartment (see e.g. partition wall assembly 120, [0041] and Fig. 4) comprising an inlet, an outlet, and a flow path forming member forming a flow path between the inlet and the outlet such that at least one of a gas and flames generated in the accommodating space flow through the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. 120 comprises a transmission window 117, which reads on the inlet, venting hole 124 which reads on the outlet, and second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member. Gas generated in the accommodating space of 110 flows from inlet 117 to outlet 124, [0043] and Figs. 3 and 5); and
a flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, [0045], Figs. 3 and 5) installed in the flow path of the flow path forming compartment and configured to inhibit the flames generated in the accommodation space from exiting the flow path forming compartment (see Fig. 3. Mesh member 119 lies in the flow path forming compartment 120 and prevents the discharge of flame, thereby and inhibiting the flames generated in the accommodation space from being exposed to the outside through the flow path forming compartment, [0045] and Fig. 5),
wherein the flow path inside the flow path forming compartment meanders from the inlet to the outlet (see e.g. Illustration 3 above, showing a flow path that meanders from inlet 117 to outlet 124),
wherein an electrode terminal of each of the plurality of battery cells is disposed in a portion of the other sides of the cell stack (see e.g., some of the tabs of the battery cells 100 read on the claimed electrode terminals and are disposed on an other side of the cell stack, see Fig. 3 and Illustration 6 below) and the electrode terminal faces at least one of a plurality of sidewalls of the housing (see e.g., some of the tabs of the battery cells 100 are shown facing one of the plurality of the sidewalls of the housing, see Fig. 3 and Illustration 6 below),
Illustration 6, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 3 of Son et al..
the inlet of the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. transmission window 117 of partition wall assembly 120, which reads on the inlet of the flow path forming compartment, Fig. 5) is disposed in a position that is on the same side as a first side of the cell stack and the at least one of the gas and flames enter the flow path of the flow path forming compartment through the inlet in a state in which a pressure of the at least one of the gas and flames is lowered, because the gas or flames would fill the interior space of housing 110 and thereby be reduced in temperature and pressure before entering the flow path forming compartment through the inlet.
Son et al. does not disclose a flame exposure prevention structure wherein the flow path forming compartment is disposed against a first side of the cell stack having an area larger than other sides of the cell stack. Instead, Son et al. discloses an embodiment in which the flow path forming compartment (see e.g. partition wall assembly 120, Fig. 4) is disposed against a first side of the cell stack (see e.g. plurality of batteries 100, Fig. 4) having an area smaller than the top and bottom sides of the cell stack (see e.g. Fig. 4 and Illustration 7 below).
Illustration 7, reproduction with annotation of Fig. 4 of Son et al..
However, the dimensions of the sides of the cell stack is a design choice that depends on the shape and quantity of the battery cells in the cell stack, and the desired shape/size of the flame exposure prevention structure. Further, modifying the shape of Son et al.’s battery module such that the first side of the cell stack has an area larger than the other sides of the cell stack would fail to alter the operation of the Son et al.’s flame exposure prevention structure in a patentably distinct manner (see MPEP §2144.04 IV A).
Additionally, Son et al. does not disclose a flame exposure prevention structure in which the inlet of the flow path forming compartment is disposed in a position opposite to the first side of the cell stack. Instead, the inlet of the flow path forming compartment of Son et al. is disposed on the same side of the first side of the cell stack (see e.g. Figs 3-4 and Illustration 7 above).
However, rearranging the cell stack of Son et al.’s flame exposure prevention structure such that the inlet of the flow path forming compartment is disposed in a position opposite to the first side of the cell stack would represent a simple rearrangement of parts that could be accomplished by rotating Son et al.’s cell stack 90° such that the inlet of the flow path forming compartment is disposed in a position opposite to the first side of the cell stack. Such a modification would fail to alter the operation of Son et al.’s flame exposure prevention structure in a patentably distinct manner (see MPEP §2144.04 IV A).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s flame exposure prevention structure such that the inlet of the flow path forming compartment is disposed in a position opposite to the first side of the cell stack.Said artisan would have found such a modification to be obvious because it represents a simple change in shape that would not patentably alter the performance of Son et al.’s flame exposure prevention structure.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0287113) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim ‘605 et al. (US 2015/0147605).
As to claim 8, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 7, including a metal mesh flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, which reads on the claimed metal mesh flame blocking member, [0045]).
Son et al. does not explicitly disclose that the metal mesh comprises a metal material having a melting point of 1000°C to 2000°C.
Kim ‘605 et al. teaches a mesh (see e.g. porous safety member 300, which may be made of metallic mesh, Kim ‘605 et al.: [0041]-[0043], and Fig. 2) that is used to block flames from being exiting a battery vent system (see e.g. Kim ‘605 et al.: [0009]), which is the same problem solved by Son et al.’s metal mesh (see e.g. Son et al.: [0045]). Kim ‘605 et al.’s mesh is a metal foam and may be made of aluminum or copper, which have melting points in the range of 1000 °C to 2000 °C (see e.g. Kim ‘605 et al.: [0041]-[0043], teaching a porous safety member 300, which may be made of aluminum or copper mesh).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s battery module by using the porous metal foam taught by Kim ‘605 et al., which is made of a metal material having a melting point in the range of 1000 °C to 2000 °C, for the flame blocking member of Son et al.’s invention. This is because Kim ‘605 et al.’s teaches that Kim 605’s porous metal foam is a functional equivalent to Son et al.’s metal foam and is used for the same intended purpose of blocking flames in a battery module vent system.
As to claim 9, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 7, including a metal mesh flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, which reads on the claimed metal mesh flame blocking member, [0045]).
Son et al. does not explicitly disclose pores of the porous metal foam or the metal mesh that have an average size of 400 to 800 mm.
Kim ‘605 et al. teaches a mesh (see e.g. porous safety member 300, which may be made of metallic mesh, Kim ‘605 et al.: [0041]-[0043], and Fig. 2) that is used to block flames from being exiting a battery vent system (see e.g. Kim ‘605 et al.: [0009]), which is the same problem solved by Son et al.’s metal mesh (see e.g. Son et al.: [0045]). Kim ‘605 et al.’s mesh has a pore density of 10 to 100 pores per inch which implies an average pore size of 224 mm to 2240 mm (see e.g. Kim ‘605 et al.: [0023], reciting the porous safety member with a pore density of 10 to 100 pores per inch. 10 to 100 pores per inch implies an average pore size of 224 mm to 2240 mm as per the attached document “Aramesh” submitted in a previous office action). This overlaps and thereby renders obvious the claimed average pore size range of 400 mm to 800 mm.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s battery module by using the porous metal foam taught by Kim ‘605 et al., which is made of a metal mesh having an average pore size that renders obvious the range of 400 mm to 800 mm, for the flame blocking member of Son et al.’s invention. This is because Kim ‘605 et al.’s teaches that Kim 605’s porous metal foam is a functional equivalent to Son et al.’s metal foam and is used for the same intended purpose of blocking flames in a battery module vent system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0287113) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Al-Hallaj et al. (US 2020/0403201).
As to claim 10, Son et al. teaches the battery module of claim 7, including a flame blocking member (see e.g. mesh member 119, [0045]).
Son et al. does not teach a battery module wherein the flame blocking member further comprises at least one of a fire extinguishing material and a phase change material (PCM).
Al-Hallaj et al., also working on systems for mitigating thermal runaway in battery systems, teaches the use of a metal foam (see e.g. structure 24, which may be include a metal foam. Al-Hallaj et al.: [0022] and Fig. 1) that comprises a PCM (see e.g. liquid-vapor phase change material contained in the pores of structure 24, Al Hallaj: [0022]) Al-Hallaj et al. teaches that this PCM has the effect of absorbing heat generated by the batteries (see e.g. Al-Hallaj et al.: [0005], [0018]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the flame blocking member taught of Son et al. by incorporating into it the PCM taught by Al-Hallaj et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to modify Son et al.’s flame blocking member in this way in order to provide a heat-absorbing property to the flame blocking member, as taught by Al-Hallaj et al..
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US 2018/0287113) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Shimizu et al. (US 2017/0237055).
As to claim 17, Son et al. discloses the battery module of claim 16, including a flow path forming member (see e.g. second partition wall 114, which reads on the flow path forming member, Figs. 3 and 5 and Illustration 3).
Son et al. does not disclose a battery module wherein the flow path forming member comprises a flow path resistance reducing portion having a curved side or an inclined side in a portion in which a direction of flow changes.
Shimizu et al., also working in the field of exhaust passages for battery modules, teaches a flow path for vent gas (see e.g. direction of flow 26, Shimizu et al.: [0031] and Fig. 3A) in which a series of flow path resistance reducing portions (see e.g. flat plates 32a-32e, which read on the series of flow path resistance reducing portions Shimizu et al.: [0032] and Fig. 3A) having an inclined side in a portion in which a direction of flow changes (see e.g. the flat plates 32a-32e can reasonably be said to be have an inclined side in a portion in which a direction of flow changes insofar as the flat plates are oriented at a 90° angle to the sidewalls of the vent path. Shimizu et al.: Fig. 3A). Shimizu et al. further teaches that these flow path resistance reducing portions elongate the route of the flow path (see e.g. Shimizu et al.: [0031]-[0032]), and that when the flow path is elongated, the temperature of the exhaust gas is decreased through collisions (see e.g. Shimizu et al.: [0032]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Son et al.’s battery module by adding flow path resistance reducing portions having a curved side or an inclined side in a portion in which a direction of flow changes to Son et al.’s flow path forming member, in the manner taught by Shimizu et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition in order to reduce the temperature of the exhaust gas through collisions with the flow path resistance reducing portions, as taught by Shimizu et al..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723