DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/15/2025 has been entered. Claims 31-50 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (hereinafter KIM), US 20140055375 A1, in view of Choi, US 10603585 B2.
Regarding independent claim 31, KIM teaches a method comprising:
determining a degree of a curvature of a flexible screen (Fig. 1; [0058] The display device 110 displays a screen. The flexible display apparatus 100, including the display device 110, is bendable; [0146] Referring to FIG. 8, the flexible display apparatus 100 determines a bending level, i.e., a bending angle, thereof by using respective changes of a magnitude of a resistance value which is outputted from a bend sensor at predetermined intervals. In particular, the bending angle may be determined as being equal to a difference between a first angle which is determined when a bending move control starts and a second angle which is determined when a bending move control ends);
detecting a vertex point of the curvature of the flexible screen ([0059] The sensor 120 senses a bending of the flexible display apparatus 100 (or the display device 110); [0060] In particular, the sensor 120 senses a change of a bending state which is formed by a user control performed with respect to the display device 110. In particular, the sensor 120 senses a move state of a bending line which is formed in the display device 110; [0062] In an exemplary embodiment, the bending line may be defined as a line which connects points of bending areas at which bending levels are the greatest. For example, a line which connects bending points (or bending coordinates) at which a resistance value outputted from a bend sensor is a relative maximum may be the bending line; Fig. 20; [0251] In operation S2020, a bending line is formed on the flexible display apparatus);
selecting a region of the flexible screen, centered at the vertex point, based on the degree of the curvature of the flexible screen ([0140] FIG. 7 is a view which illustrates a method for sensing one bending area. If the flexible display apparatus 100 is bent as shown in FIG. 7, a bend sensor 31-1 has different resistance values which vary from location a1 to location a5, a bend sensor 31-2 has different resistance values which vary from location b1 to location b5, a bend sensor 31-3 has different resistance values which vary from location c1 to location c5, a bend sensor 31-4 has different resistance values which vary from location d1 to location d5, and a bend sensor 31-5 has different resistance values which vary from location e1 to location to e5; [0141] In this case, locations of each of the bend sensors 31-1 through 31-5 in which changes of resistance values have been sensed are continuously arranged within a preset distance; [0142] Therefore, the sensor 120 senses an area 32, including all of the locations a1 through a5 of the bend sensor 31-1, all of the locations b1 through b5 of the bend sensors 31-2, all of the locations c1 through c5 of the bend sensor 31-3, all of the locations d1 through d5 of the bend sensor 31-4, and all of the locations e1 through e5 of the bend sensor 31-5, as referring to a single bending area; [0143] The bending area may include a bending line. The bending line may include a line which connects respective locations of corresponding bend sensors at which a maximum value is outputted. In particular, the bending line may be defined as a line which connects locations of each bending area at which the greatest resistance value has been detected; [0144] For example, in FIG. 7, a line 33, which connects the location a3 of the bend sensor 31-1 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location b3 of the bend sensor 31-2 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location c3 of the bend sensor 31-3 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location d3 of the bend sensor 31-4 outputting the greatest resistance value, and the location e3 of the bend sensor 31-5 outputting the greatest resistance value, may be defined as the bending line. In FIG. 7, the bending line 33 is formed in a vertical direction in a central area of the display surface);
visually distinguishing the selected region of the flexible screen from an unselected region of the flexible screen, ([0071] The controller 130 may also variably provide a visual feedback effect based on at least one of a bending direction, a bending angle, a bending radius, and a bending number; [0073] The bending radius may be defined as a curvature radius R as determined by bending. For example, the controller 130 may provide variable feedback effects which vary as a function of the bending radius, e.g., if the bending line continuously moves when the bending radius is great and if the bending line continuously moves when the bending radius is small; [0280] As shown in FIG. 25, contents provided in a bending area which is formed based on a bending move control of a user are displayed to be lifted on space in accordance with a bending level of the bending area, e.g., a value of bending radius R; [0296] As shown in FIG. 28, if a bending line is formed in a central area based on a bending move control in a flat state in which picture contents are displayed, picture contents 281, 282, and 283 which are displayed in the central area are displayed on a map differently from the other contents. In particular, the picture contents 281, 282, and 283 are displayed such that locations of pictures captured on the map are distinguishable; [0298] The number of contents displayed on the map may increase or decrease based on the bending angle, the bending maintaining time, and/or any other relevant parameter relating to the bending line, and a ratio and a size of the map and sizes of pictures displayed on the map may vary accordingly).
KIM does not explicitly disclose
determining whether an object is generated for display at a first position on the flexible screen corresponding to the vertex point;
determining if the object generated for display has moved to a second position on the flexible screen;
adjusting, using actuators connected to the flexible screen, the position of the vertex point to the second position on the flexible screen such that that vertex of the flexible screen automatically tracks further movement of the object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches
determining whether an object is generated for display at a first position on the flexible screen corresponding to the vertex point (Fig. 1; Col 4, lines 6-21, The display apparatus 200 may output the game content provided from the video game machine 100. In other words, the display apparatus 200 may output a game content image and a game content sound provided from the video game machine 100. In this case, a user may control an object, which is displayed on a game content screen, through a controller 110 connected to the video game machine 100. For example, if a game content is a racing game content, an object may be an object having a speed that is changeable in the racing game content according to a user command, e.g., may be a car, a motorcycle, or the like. In this case, the user may control a speed, a movement direction, etc. of the object displayed on a racing game content screen by using a direction key, a manipulation button, or the like of the controller 110; Col 5, lines 20-22, the processor 220 may display a game content image, which is provided from the video game machine 100, through the display 210);
determining if the object generated for display has moved to a second position on the flexible screen (Col 5, lines 25-26, The processor 220 detects a speed of an object of the game content provided through the display 210 Col 8, lines 25-26 the processor 220 may detect a movement direction of the object of the game content;);
adjusting, using actuators connected to the flexible screen, the position of the vertex point to the second position on the flexible screen such that that vertex of the flexible screen automatically tracks further movement of the object (Col 11, lines 26-34, Although not shown in FIG. 2B, the display apparatus 200 may further include a curvature motor (not shown) that bends the left and right sides of the display 210 from a flat state into a curved state. In this case, the processor 220 may control the curvature motor to apply a pressure to the display 210 according to a rotation amount of the curvature motor so as to change the curvature of the display 210 according to the speed and the movement direction of the object of the game content; Col 11, lines 40-52, FIGS. 4A through 4C are views illustrating a change in a curvature of a display 400 according to a speed of an object of a racing game content. If a speed of an object 410 is minimum, the display 400 is changed into a flat state as shown in FIG. 4A. If the speed of the object 410 gradually increases, the display 400 is gradually bent as shown in FIG. 4B. If the speed of the object 410 reaches a maximum speed, the display 400 is bent to have a maximum curvature value as shown in FIG. 4C. As described above, in the present exemplary embodiment, a curvature of a display may be changed to have a curvature value corresponding to a speed of an object with a change in the speed of the object; Col 11, lines 53-65, FIGS. 5A and 5B are views illustrating a change in a curvature of a display 500 according to a movement direction of an object of a racing game content. If an object 510 moves to a left side, a right side of the display 500 may be relatively more bent than a left side of the display 500 as shown in FIG. 5A. If the object 510 moves to a left side, the left side of the display 500 may be relatively more bent than the right side of the display 500. As described above, in the present exemplary embodiment, left and right sides of a display may be bent to have different curvature values according to directions into which an object moves according to changes in a movement direction of the object).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of a display apparatus that changes a curvature of a display according to a speed value of an object of a content as suggested in Choi into KIM’s system because both of these systems are addressing interfacing methods of the flexible display based on bendable or foldable properties. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve an immersion of a user in a display apparatus (Choi, Col 1, lines 29-30).
Regarding dependent claim 32, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein the flexible screen comprises a plurality of sensors ([0118] the sensor 120 may include a bend sensor which is disposed on one of front and back surfaces of the display device 110, or a bend sensor disposed on both the front and back surfaces of the display device 110. The controller 130 may sense bending by using a value sensed by the bend sensor of the sensor 120; [0119] In particular, the bend sensor refers to a sensor which is bendable and has a resistance value which varies based on a bending level. The bend sensor may be realized as various types, such as, for example, a bending sensor, a pressure sensor, a strain gauge, and/or any other appropriate type of sensing device; [0124] In FIG. 3, the five bend sensors 21-1 through 21-5 are arranged in the horizontal direction, and the five bend sensors 22-1 through 22-5 are arranged in the vertical direction, but this is only exemplary. Therefore, the number of bend sensors may vary based the size and/or any other relevant physical characteristic of the flexible display apparatus 100), and wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors measures strain across a different respective portion of the flexible screen ([0124] the bend sensors are arranged in the horizontal and vertical directions to sense a bending which occurs in a whole area of the flexible display apparatus 100; [0126] In particular, if the flexible display apparatus 100 is bent so that a central area positioned in a center based on left and right edges of the flexible display apparatus 100 faces downwards, a tension generated by the bending is applied to each of the bend sensors 21-1 through 21-5 which are arranged in the horizontal direction. Therefore, resistance values sensed by each of the bend sensors 21-1 through 21-5 arranged in the horizontal direction vary. The sensor 120 senses changes of output values outputted from the respective bend sensors 21-1 through 21-5 to sense that bending has occurred in the horizontal direction based on a center of a display surface. In FIG. 4, the central area is bent in a vertical downward direction (hereinafter referred to as a Z- direction) based on the display surface. However, even if the central area is bent in a vertical upward direction (hereinafter referred to as a Z+ direction) based on the display surface, the sensor 120 may sense a shape deformation of the flexible display apparatus based on the changes of the respective output resistance values of each of the bend sensors 21-1 through 21-5 which are arranged in the horizontal direction; [0127] If the flexible display apparatus 100 is bent so that the central area positioned in the center based on upper and lower edges of the flexible display apparatus 100 faces rightwards, the tension is applied to each of the bend sensors 22-1 through 22-5 which are arranged in the vertical direction. The sensor 120 may sense a shape deformation of the flexible display apparatus 100 in the vertical direction based on output values of the respective bend sensors 22-1 through 22-5 which are arranged in the vertical direction. Bending in the Z+ direction is shown in FIG. 5, but bending in the Z- direction may sensed by using the respective bend sensors 22-1 through 22-5 which are arranged in the vertical direction; [0128] If the shape of the flexible display apparatus 100 is deformed in an diagonal direction, the tension is applied to all the bend sensors which are arranged in either of the horizontal and vertical directions. Therefore, the shape deformation in the diagonal direction may be sensed by using the output values of the bend sensors which are arranged in either of the horizontal and vertical directions), and wherein determining the degree of the curvature of the flexible screen comprises:
receiving a plurality of strain measurements from the plurality of sensors ([0174] Referring to FIG. 16, the flexible display apparatus 100 includes a plurality of acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2; [0175] The acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2 are sensors which measure an acceleration and a direction of the acceleration when a move occurs. In particular, each of the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2 outputs a respective sensing value which corresponds to an acceleration of gravity which changes based on a gradient of an apparatus upon which the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2 operate. Therefore, if the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2 are disposed in two respective edge areas of the flexible display apparatus 100, output values sensed by the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2 when the flexible display apparatus 100 is bent vary); and
computing the degree of the curvature of the flexible screen based on the plurality of strain measurements ([0146] Referring to FIG. 8, the flexible display apparatus 100 determines a bending level, i.e., a bending angle, thereof by using respective changes of a magnitude of a resistance value which is outputted from a bend sensor at predetermined intervals; [0150] For example, as shown in FIG. 8, the flexible display apparatus 100 may determine the bending level based on a difference between a first resistance value outputted from location a5 of a bend sensor 41 outputting the greatest resistance value and a second resistance value outputted from location a4 which is located at a predetermined distance from the location a5; [0175] The controller 130 calculates a pitch angle and a roll angle by using the respective output values sensed by the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2. Therefore, the controller 130 determines a bending direction based on change degrees of the pitch angle and the roll angle sensed by the acceleration sensors 81-1 and 81-2).
Regarding dependent claim 33, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 32 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein detecting the vertex point of the curvature of the flexible screen comprises:
identifying a greatest strain measurement of the plurality of strain measurements ([0133] For example, if the flexible display apparatus 100 is bent as shown in FIG. 6, a bend sensor 31-1 disposed on a back surface of the flexible display apparatus 100 is also bent, and outputs a resistance value based on a corresponding strength of an applied tension; [0134] In this case, the strength of the tension increases in proportion to a bending level. For example, if bending occurs as shown in FIG. 6, a bending level of a central area is the greatest. Therefore, a greatest tension is applied to the bend sensor 31-1 disposed in location a3 which is the central area, and thus the bend sensor 31-1 outputs the greatest resistance value with respect to location a3. The bending level weakens toward the outside. Therefore, the bend sensor 31-1 outputs a smaller resistance value with respect to each of location a1, location a2, location a4, and location a5 as compared with the corresponding resistance value which is based on the location a3);
selecting a portion of the display that is associated with the greatest strain measurement ([0135] If a resistance value outputted from a bend sensor has a maximum value which is associated with a particular location and the respective resistance value gradually decreases as the corresponding location varies toward both directions, the sensor 120 may determine that an area from which a maximum resistance value has been detected is an area in which the greatest bending has occurred); and
determining the vertex point of the curvature of the flexible screen based on the portion of the display that is associated with the greatest strain measurement ([0062] In an exemplary embodiment, the bending line may be defined as a line which connects points of bending areas at which bending levels are the greatest; [0144] For example, in FIG. 7, a line 33, which connects the location a3 of the bend sensor 31-1 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location b3 of the bend sensor 31-2 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location c3 of the bend sensor 31-3 outputting the greatest resistance value, the location d3 of the bend sensor 31-4 outputting the greatest resistance value, and the location e3 of the bend sensor 31-5 outputting the greatest resistance value, may be defined as the bending line. In FIG. 7, the bending line 33 is formed in a vertical direction in a central area of the display surface).
Regarding dependent claim 34, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein visually distinguishing the selected region of the flexible screen comprises:
identifying a plurality of objects generated for display in the selected region of the flexible screen ([0286] As shown in FIG. 26, a content 262 which is displayed in an area in which a bending line 261 is formed is displayed and highlighted in the greatest flat shape, and other contents are displayed in stacked shapes);
selecting an object, of the plurality of objects, that is most prominent in the selected region of the flexible screen ([0286] As shown in FIG. 26, a content 262 which is displayed in an area in which a bending line 261 is formed is displayed and highlighted in the greatest flat shape, and other contents are displayed in stacked shapes); and
visually distinguishing the selected object from the plurality of objects ([0286] As shown in FIG. 26, a content 262 which is displayed in an area in which a bending line 261 is formed is displayed and highlighted in the greatest flat shape, and other contents are displayed in stacked shapes).
Regarding dependent claim 35, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein visually distinguishing the selected region of the flexible screen comprises modifying a color associated with a plurality of pixels corresponding to the selected region of the flexible screen ([0280] As shown in FIG. 25, contents provided in a bending area which is formed based on a bending move control of a user are displayed to be lifted on space in accordance with a bending level of the bending area, e.g., a value of bending radius R; [0281] In this case, as shown in FIG. 25, attributes of the corresponding contents 251, 252, 253 are displayed in shadow shapes. For example, lengths, colors, and/or any other relevant respective attributes of shadows may be variably displayed based on the number of sub-contents of the corresponding contents).
Regarding dependent claim 36, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein selecting the region of the flexible screen further comprises:
adjusting the size of the selected region based on a size of the object ([0277] As shown in FIG. 24, if a bending line is moved into a left area based on a bending move control of a user, a telephone function content 241 displayed in the left area is expanded and displayed).
Regarding dependent claim 37, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 36 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches further comprising:
identifying a plurality of actions corresponding to the object ([0095] The feedback effect which is provided based on the bending move control may be variously realized in accordance with an application executed by the flexible display apparatus 100. In particular, a screen corresponding to at least one of functions supported by the application may be displayed based on the bending move control); and
generating for display a plurality of user selectable options, wherein each user selectable option corresponds to a respective action of the plurality of actions ([0095] For example, if an e-book application is executed, a screen corresponding to at least one of various functions, including a content change, a page change, a page expansion, a page contraction, a bookmark function, and/or any other type of function relating to an e-book, may be displayed based on the bending move control).
Regarding dependent claim 38, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein selecting the region of the flexible screen further comprises:
identifying an action corresponding to the selected region of the flexible screen ([0275] as shown in FIG. 23, a telephone function content 231, a lock/unlock function content 232, and a message function content 233 are provided on a screen of the flexible display apparatus 100; [0276] If a bending line is formed in a central area based on a bending move control provided by a user, the lock/unlock function content 232 displayed in the central area is expanded and displayed; [0277] As shown in FIG. 24, if a bending line is moved into a left area based on a bending move control of a user, a telephone function content 241 displayed in the left area is expanded and displayed and then is executed based on a preset event in order to display stored contact information 244); and
performing the action corresponding to the selected region of the flexible screen in response to detecting a change in direction of the curvature of the flexible screen ([0276] Further, the lock/unlock function content 232 is executed in accordance with a preset event in order to cancel a lock state of the flexible display apparatus 100; [0277] As shown in FIG. 24, if a bending line is moved into a left area based on a bending move control of a user, a telephone function content 241 displayed in the left area is expanded and displayed and then is executed based on a preset event in order to display stored contact information 244).
Regarding dependent claim 39, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein the degree of the curvature is a first degree of curvature determined at a first time ([0291] As shown in FIG. 27, if a bending line (i.e. the first bending line) is formed in a left area based on a bending move control of a user when the flexible display apparatus 100 is in a flat state, a content 231 which is displayed in the corresponding area is displayed in a popup form), the method further comprising:
determining a second degree of curvature of the flexible screen at a second time, subsequent to the first time ([0293] the bending line is moved into a right area based on the bending move control);
determining whether the second degree of curvature corresponds to a predefined minimum degree of curvature ([0293] the bending line is moved into a right area based on the bending move control (i.e. the second bending line)); and
in response to determining that the second degree of curvature does not correspond to the predefined minimum degree of curvature (Examiner notes that when the bending line is moved into the right area, the second bending line is at a maximum value, therefore it does not correspond to the predefined minimum degree of curvature), ceasing to visually distinguish the selected region of the flexible screen ([0293] the content 232 which is displayed in the popup form returns to its original state).
Regarding dependent claim 40, the combination of KIM and Choi teaches all the limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 31 that is incorporated. KIM further teaches wherein the vertex point is a first vertex point detected at a first time, and wherein the selected region of the flexible screen is a first selected region of the flexible screen ([0306] As shown in FIG. 30, a plurality of texts are displayed in lines on the flexible display apparatus 100. For example, e-book contents may be executed; [0307] If a bending line is formed in a left area based on a bending move control of a user as shown in FIG. 30, texts 301 displayed in the left area are expanded and displayed), further comprising:
detecting, at a second time subsequent to the first time, a second vertex point of the curvature of the flexible screen ([0308] the bending line formed in the left area is moved into a central area based on the bending move control);
in response to detecting the second vertex point, selecting a second region of the flexible screen, centered at the second vertex point, wherein a size of the second region is inversely proportional to the degree of the curvature of the flexible screen at the second time ([0308] the texts 301 displayed in the left area return to their original states, and texts 302 displayed in the central area are expanded and displayed); and
visually distinguishing the second selected region of the flexible screen ([0308] texts 302 displayed in the central area are expanded and displayed).
Regarding independent claim 41, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 31. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 31 above.
Regarding dependent claim 42, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 32. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 32 above.
Regarding dependent claim 43, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 33. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 33 above.
Regarding dependent claim 44, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 34. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 34 above.
Regarding dependent claim 45, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 35. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 35 above.
Regarding dependent claim 46, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 36. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 36 above.
Regarding dependent claim 47, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 37. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 37 above.
Regarding dependent claim 48, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 38. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 38 above.
Regarding dependent claim 49, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 39. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 39 above.
Regarding dependent claim 50, it is a system claim that corresponding to the method of claim 40. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 40 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s prior art arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of Choi as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
PARK et al. (US 20140062976 A1) discloses a terminal includes a sensor to sense bending of a flexible display and a controller to control display of information on the display.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY P HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2143
/JENNIFER N WELCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143