CTFR 18/084,258 CTFR 100277 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim 17 is canceled. This office action is in response to amendment of application on 23-APRIL-2026. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 23-APRIL-2026, with respect to claim objections and rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to amendments. The objections and rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 of the claims have been withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 10 and claim 1 in a manner that fixes typographical and antecedent basis issues in the previous office action. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 23-APRIL-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to amendments. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously applied prior art references. 1. Regarding applicant’s arguments that the new amendments to the independent claims to distinguish the claims from the prior art with an exclusive allocation to one particular requester which is not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester, the arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues that because the Herdrich reference describes overriding a lock of an allocated cache region to permit usage of the cache region by a higher priority requester, Herdrich fails to teach the newly amended limitation that says that an allocated region is exclusive to one requester such that the region is not allocable to another requester. However, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the new amendment, Examiner argues that the new amendment merely requires a system which has at least one allocated region of memory in which at least one other requester is denied allocation. Herdrich specifically teaches in [0060] in which an application’s request to lock a region may be denied, and in [0068], Herdrich teaches ONLY granting allocations when the priority of the new requester is higher than the current owner. Together, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that Herdrich renders obvious a scenario where the invention of Herdrich denies a locking request from at least one requester due to the priority level of the requester being not higher than the current owner, and therefore teaches at least one allocation region of memory which at least one other requester is not able to allocate from. 2. Examiner further notes that there is no interpretation of the amendment to claim 14 which precludes the Herdrich reference while also staying within the bounds of the disclosure of the instant application. That is, if applicant argues or amends claim 14 such that no allocated region can be allocated to any other requester, in a way that fully precludes the Herdrich reference’s reallocation of one region by another requester in a priority situation, this feature would conflict with claim 19, which depends on claim 14. In [0014] of the instant application and claim 19, Applicant’s disclosure specifically describes and claims that the applicant’s invention may grant allocation requests despite the target region of the allocation request being already allocated to a different requester, in the case of the new requester having a higher priority over the current owner requester, which can only be possible if allocated regions can be allocated to other requesters. Therefore, the only reasonable interpretations of the amendment to claim 14, in view of applicant’s own other claims and disclosure, cannot be understood to preclude the prior art. 3. In contrast with claim 14, since [0024] of the instant application discloses that the denial of requests may simply be due to the region already being reserved, the broad idea of disallowing all allocations from all other requesters for an already-allocation region is described, but is only supported in embodiments which exclude the feature to accept requests when the new request has a priority level higher than the requester currently associated with the region. In other words, since claims 1 and 8 (and their dependents) do not include limitations of accepting allocation requests when the region is already allocated, Applicant may amend claims 1 and 8 to limit all allocable regions to be not allocable to all other requesters by interpreting them as a specific embodiment where the system denies allocation requests in every single case that the region is already reserved, with no additional considerations of priority to grant requests to already-allocated regions, in order to achieve what applicant appears to argue in the remarks. 4. As argued by applicant, the office action does require the Herdrich application to teach the newly amended exclusive allocation limitations, and the grounds of rejection must therefore be updated to reflect the amendments. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 19: in claim 14 lines 4-7 and in claim 15 lines 1-3 (which claim 19 depends on), the claims recite only one allocation region, which “the region” can refer back to. In claim 14 line 5 and claim 15 lines 2-3, there is also only one recited requester which the region is allocated to. In claim 15, there is also the recitation of “a request”, which is understood to be the request that caused the allocation of the region described in claim 14. However, claim 19 lines 3-5 recite “the request” and “a requester associated with the portion of the region”. It is unclear whether this newly recited “a requester associated with the portion of the region” is the same requester as the previously recited “requester” recited in claims 14-15, or if this is meant to refer to a different requester from the ones described in claims 14-15, such as a requester which the portion of the region is reserved for in claim 19 line 2. Further, it is unclear whether “the request” in claim 19 line 3 is meant to be the same request in claim 15 overriding the allocation of a different previous “a requester associated with the portion of the region”, or if “the request” of claim 19 is meant to be a new request for the same region to override the allocation of claims 14 and 15. Examiner requests language to specifically clarify which requests, requesters, and region are referred to between claims 14, 15, and 19. For the purposes of examining over prior art, claim 19 is interpreted to be referring to the same allocation corresponding to the same single requester making a single request, such that claims 19 and 15 are merely additional modifiers on how the one allocation in claim 14 is performed, and the “a requester associated with the portion of the region” is interpreted to be a requester which the portion of the region is already allocated/reserved for prior to this single allocation process of claims 14, 15, and 19, which corresponds to the portion of the region of the memory tier which is reserved in claim 19 line 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20220179799 (hereinafter “Erickson”) in view of HERDRICH et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190340123 (hereinafter “Herdrich”) Regarding claim 1: Erickson teaches An apparatus comprising: a memory controller, when connected to at least one memory device in a multi-tiered memory system comprising a near memory and far memory, is to allocate a region of the near memory to a requester based on receipt of a request, wherein ([0017-0018], Erickson teaches a set of memory control components that are connected to memory devices, and contains an access/allocation engine which coordinates memory pages allocated to processes, and receives memory allocation requests. The memory control components also teach a far memory, in the form of an auxiliary remote, MV-attached memory 116, that is separate to a local memory subsystem 115.). circuitry to transmit at least one memory read command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to read data from the multi-tiered memory system and circuitry to transmit at least one memory write command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to write data to the multi-tiered memory system, wherein ([0018], Erickson teaches that the access/allocation engine also responds to loads/stores directed to MV-attached memory by issuing corresponding signals to an auxiliary memory, including a fabric interface which transmits memory load/store instructions. Furthermore, in [0022], Erickson teaches that a process issues load/stores to a virtual address. Therefore, the circuitry to transmit at least one memory read (load) command and address information to read data from the system, and to transmit at least one memory write (store) command and address information to the memory system to write data is taught.) the near memory comprises at least one memory connected to the memory controller via a memory interface and the far memory comprises at least one memory connected to the memory controller via a network. ([0016], Erickson teaches that memory access requests are routed to local or remote memory, the remote memory including operating memory on servers other than the requesting server. Furthermore, [0017], Erickson teaches a memory subsystem coupled to a memory control unit via traces, within a server, which corresponds to the local memory and is interpreted to be the near memory comprising memory connected to the memory controller via a memory interface. While not explicit, in light of [0017], where Erickson teaches a network interface card that enables connection to a communication network, to enable data transport, the remote memory belonging on other servers and having a network of servers where access is allowed to be transmitted across teaches the far memory connected to the memory controller via a network.) Erickson does not appear to explicitly disclose the region is allocated exclusively to a particular requester and not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester However, Herdrich teaches the region is allocated exclusively to a particular requester and not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester ([0059-0060] and [0068], Herdrich teaches that the controller can grant or deny a request to lock a region, and describes priority considerations for whether it is granted when a region is already locked by an application. Since requests in an embodiment are only granted in certain conditions, and requests are either granted or denied, it is obvious that the request for the already-locked region may be denied when the conditions are not met, and therefore, target region of the request is not allocable to the particular requester that is different from the particular requester that already has a lock on the region.). Erickson and Herdrich are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Erickson and Herdrich to achieve the combined result of the system which allocates a region of near memory, to do so exclusively such that it is not allocable to another requester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow commonly shared resources such as a last level cache (near memory) to be favored for workloads, such as when there is a service level objective that guarantees an upper bound for latency as discussed in Herdrich [0002]. Regarding claim 2: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the memory controller is to allocate the region of the near memory to the requester based on priority of the request. ([0065-0068], Herdrich teaches that an application can request locking (corresponding to allocating) of a cache region including a lowest level cache (corresponding to the near memory), and that the request can be granted or denied, with an embodiment being that the locking can be provided based on the priority of an application that requests cache locking.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as in claim 1. Regarding claim 3: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches to allocate the region of the near memory to the requester, a processor-executed operating system (OS) is to configure the memory controller to provide access to the region of the near memory to the requester and no other requester ([0019], Erickson teaches that an allocation scheme invokes a local operating system’s page-fault handler to map addresses, and that the LPAs are issued by the CPU’s memory management unit and directed to a local memory controller, in which the LPA may decode to a page of local memory. The overall allocation scheme involving the execution of an operating system, to a local memory controller, which decodes to local memory, is interpreted to be the claimed processor-executed operating system configuring a memory controller to provide access to the region of the near memory to the requester. Furthermore, in [0042] and Table 2, Herdrich teaches that for a cache allocation, a set of fields in an input can be used. One of the fields includes an Access/Level field which sets an allocation to be private or public, wherein when it is private, there will be a protection fault upon illegal access by other threads in the group. The illegal access causing a protection fault from other threads is interpreted to be the providing access to no other service) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as for claim 1. Regarding claim 4: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends. Erickson/Herdrich teaches the memory controller is to selectively deny the request based on a portion of the region of the near memory being reserved for another requester ([0057], Herdrich teaches that, as part of a process to permit or deny cache locking (reserving), the controller declines a request from an application if part of the region is not available. Furthermore, in [0029], Herdrich teaches a table that tracks which portions of a cache system are occupied and what is available for locking or occupation. Since the occupied portions are described separately to the portions that are available, and the controller declines requests for a region that is not available, and that the portions that are occupied are obviously not available, Herdrich teaches the selectively denying the request based on the portion of the memory tier being reserved for another requester.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as for claim 1. Regarding claim 5: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the request comprises three or more of: requester identifier, amount of memory to reserve, tier of memory in which to reserve memory, level of priority of the requester, and/or latency sensitivity of the requester. ([0023], Erickson teaches that to fulfill memory allocation requests from local CPUs, a parametrized request specifying memory location (tier of memory in which to reserve) and average access latency characteristics desired by the requester (latency sensitivity), and that during fulfillment, the process identifier for the process that triggered the allocation is stored (requester identifier).) Regarding claim 6: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 6 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the multi-tiered memory system comprises one or more of: a volatile memory device and/or a non-volatile memory device. ([0017], Erickson teaches that the memory subsystem used in an example embodiment may be dynamic random access memory (DRAM), which is known in the art to be a type of volatile memory.) Regarding claim 7: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches a server comprising at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory controller, wherein the at least one processor is to execute an operating system (OS) to configure the memory controller to provide access to the region of the near memory to the requester. ([0017], Erickson teaches that each example server contains a CPU which performs the memory management. Further, in [0019], Erickson teaches that an allocation scheme invokes a local operating system’s page-fault handler to map addresses, and that the LPAs are issued by the CPU’s memory management unit and directed to a local memory controller, in which the LPA may decode to a page of local memory. The CPU directing LPAs, which are part of an overall allocation scheme involving the execution of an operating system, to a local memory controller, which decodes to local memory, is interpreted to be the claimed processor coupled to the memory controller, wherein an operating system configures a memory controller to provide access to the region of the near memory to the requester. Regarding claim 8: Erickson teaches At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, that if executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: ([0041-0042], Erickson teaches one or more computer readable media with instructions that can be processed by a processing entity to perform the invention.) Erickson further teaches execute an operating system (OS) to configure a memory controller, when connected to at least one memory device in a multi-tiered memory system, to exclusively allocate a region of a near memory tier to a requester based on a request from the OS. ([0019], Erickson teaches that an allocation scheme invokes a local operating system’s page-fault handler to map addresses, and that the LPAs (which define a region) are issued by the CPU’s memory management unit and directed to a local memory controller, in which the LPA may decode to a page of local memory. Further, in [0017], Erickson teaches that the system includes a local operating memory and an auxiliary memory, interpreted to be the multi-tiered memory system. The CPU directing LPAs, which are part of an overall allocation scheme involving the execution of an operating system, to a local memory controller, which decodes to local memory, is interpreted to be the claimed execute an operating system (OS) to configure a memory controller, when connected to at least one memory device in a multi-tiered memory system, to allocate a region of a near memory tier to a requester based on a request from the OS. Furthermore, in [0021-0023], Erickson describes the process of allocating involves finding only memory that is free to be allocated to assign specifically to a process that triggers a fault, which is interpreted to mean that the allocated memory is exclusive to that process, as other processes would be given different free memory.) Erickson does not appear to explicitly disclose the region is not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester However, Herdrich teaches the region is not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester ([0059-0060] and [0068], Herdrich teaches that the controller can grant or deny a request to lock a region, and describes priority considerations for whether it is granted when a region is already locked by an application. Since requests in an embodiment are only granted in certain conditions, and requests are either granted or denied, it is obvious that the request for the already-locked region may be denied when the conditions are not met, and therefore, target region of the request is not allocable to the particular requester that is different from the particular requester that already has a lock on the region.). Erickson and Herdrich are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Erickson and Herdrich to achieve the combined result of the system which allocates a region of near memory, to do so exclusively such that it is not allocable to another requester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow commonly shared resources such as a last level cache (near memory) to be favored for workloads, such as when there is a service level objective that guarantees an upper bound for latency as discussed in Herdrich [0002]. Regarding claim 9: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 8, from which claim 9 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches circuitry to transmit at least one memory read command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to read data from the multi-tiered memory system and circuitry to transmit at least one memory write command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to write data to the multi-tiered memory system. ([0018], Erickson teaches an access/allocation engine that responds to loads/stores directed to MV-attached memory by issuing corresponding signals to an auxiliary memory, including a fabric interface which transmits memory load/store instructions. Furthermore, in [0022], Erickson teaches that a process issues load/stores to a virtual address. Therefore, the circuitry to transmit at least one memory read (load) command and address information to read data from the system, and to transmit at least one memory write (store) command and address information to the memory system to write data is taught.) Regarding claim 10: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 8, from which claim 10 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches to allocate a region of a near memory tier to the requester based on a request from the OS, the OS is to configure the memory controller to provide access to the region of the memory tier to the requester and no other requester ([0019], Erickson teaches that an allocation scheme invokes a local operating system’s page-fault handler to map addresses, and that the LPAs are issued by the CPU’s memory management unit and directed to a local memory controller, in which the LPA may decode to a page of local memory. The overall allocation scheme involving the execution of an operating system, to a local memory controller, which decodes to local memory, is interpreted to be the claimed processor-executed operating system configuring a memory controller to provide access to the region of the near memory to the requester. Further, in [0042] and Table 2, Herdrich teaches that for a cache allocation, a set of fields in an input can be used. One of the fields includes an Access/Level field which sets an allocation to be private or public, wherein when it is private, there will be a protection fault upon illegal access by other threads in the group. The illegal access causing a protection fault from other threads is interpreted to be the providing access to no other service.) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as for claim 8. Regarding claim 11: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 8, from which claim 11 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the multi-tiered memory system comprises the near memory tier and a far memory tier and wherein the near memory tier is to provide a lower latency of data retrieval and/or higher bandwidth of data retrieval than that of the far memory tier. ([0019], Erickson teaches that memory-pooling servers can include hierarchically accessed storage devices, where the local (near memory tier) memory implements high bandwidth, low latency operating memory, and where the auxiliary (far memory tier) memory has a higher latency than the local memory.) Regarding claim 12: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 8, from which claim 12 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the memory controller is to selectively deny the request based on a portion of the region of the memory tier being reserved ([0057], Herdrich teaches that, as part of a process to permit or deny cache locking (reserving), the controller declines a request from an application if part of the region is not available. Furthermore, in [0029], Herdrich teaches a table that tracks which portions of a cache system are occupied and what is available for locking or occupation. While not explicit, since the occupied portions are described separately to the portions that are available, and the controller declines requests for a region that is not available, and that the portions that are occupied are obviously not available, Herdrich teaches the selectively denying the request based on the portion of the memory tier being reserved for another requester.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as for claim 8. Regarding claim 13: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 8, from which claim 13 depends. Erickson further teaches the request comprises one or more of: requester identifier, amount of memory to reserve, tier of memory in which to reserve memory, level of priority of the requester, and/or latency sensitivity of the requester. ([0023], Erickson teaches that to fulfill memory allocation requests from local CPUs, a parametrized request specifying memory location, and that during fulfillment, the process identifier for the process that triggered the allocation is stored.) Regarding claim 14: Erickson teaches A method comprising: in a data center comprising at least one processor, a memory controller, and a multi-tiered memory system: the memory controller exclusively allocating a region of a near memory tier of the multi-tiered memory system to a requester based on receipt of a request, ([0017-0018], Erickson teaches a data center with servers, which each contain a set of memory control components that are connected to memory devices, and contains an access/allocation engine which coordinates memory pages allocated to processes, and receives memory allocation requests. The memory control components also teach a far memory, in the form of an auxiliary remote, MV-attached memory 116, that is separate to a local memory subsystem 115. Furthermore, in [0021-0023], Erickson describes the process of allocating involves finding only memory that is free to be allocated to assign specifically to a process that triggers a fault, which is interpreted to mean that the allocated memory is exclusive to that process, as other processes would be given different free memory.). circuitry to transmit at least one memory read command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to read data from the multi-tiered memory system and circuitry to transmit at least one memory write command and address information to the multi-tiered memory system to write data to the multi-tiered memory system, wherein ([0018], Erickson teaches that the access/allocation engine also responds to loads/stores directed to MV-attached memory by issuing corresponding signals to an auxiliary memory, including a fabric interface which transmits memory load/store instructions. Furthermore, in [0022], Erickson teaches that a process issues load/stores to a virtual address. Therefore, the circuitry to transmit at least one memory read (load) command and address information to read data from the system, and to transmit at least one memory write (store) command and address information to the memory system to write data is taught.) the near memory tier comprises at least one memory connected to the memory controller via a memory interface. (Furthermore, [0017], Erickson teaches a memory subsystem coupled to a memory control unit via traces, within a server, which corresponds to the local memory and is interpreted to be the near memory comprising memory connected to the memory controller via a memory interface.) Erickson does not appear to explicitly disclose the region is not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester However, Herdrich teaches the region is not allocable to another requester to prevent eviction of data from the region by the another requester ([0059-0060] and [0068], Herdrich teaches that the controller can grant or deny a request to lock a region, and describes priority considerations for whether it is granted when a region is already locked by an application. Since requests in an embodiment are only granted in certain conditions, and requests are either granted or denied, it is obvious that the request for the already-locked region may be denied when the conditions are not met, and therefore, target region of the request is not allocable to the particular requester that is different from the particular requester that already has a lock on the region.). Erickson and Herdrich are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Erickson and Herdrich to achieve the combined result of the system which allocates a region of near memory, to do so exclusively such that it is not allocable to another requester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow commonly shared resources such as a last level cache (near memory) to be favored for workloads, such as when there is a service level objective that guarantees an upper bound for latency as discussed in Herdrich [0002]. Regarding claim 15: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 14, from which claim 15 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the memory controller allocating the region of the near memory tier of the multi-tiered memory system to the requester based on receipt of a request is based on a priority level of the request. ([0065-0068], Herdrich teaches that an application can request locking (corresponding to allocating) of a cache region including a lowest level cache (corresponding to the near memory), and that the request can be granted or denied, with an embodiment being that the locking can be provided based on the priority of an application that requests cache locking.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as for claim 14. Regarding claim 16: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 14, from which claim 16 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the multi-tiered memory system comprises the near memory tier and a far memory tier and wherein the near memory tier is to provide a lower latency of data retrieval and/or higher bandwidth of data retrieval than that of the far memory tier. ([0019], Erickson teaches that memory-pooling servers can include hierarchically accessed storage devices, where the local (near memory tier) memory implements high bandwidth, low latency operating memory, and where the auxiliary (far memory tier) memory has a higher latency than the local memory.) Regarding claim 18: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 15, from which claim 18 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the memory controller selectively denying the request based on a portion of the region of the memory tier being reserved. ([0057], Herdrich teaches that, as part of a process to permit or deny cache locking (reserving), the controller declines a request from an application if part of the region is not available. Furthermore, in [0029], Herdrich teaches a table that tracks which portions of a cache system are occupied and what is available for locking or occupation. While not explicit, since the occupied portions are described separately to the portions that are available, and the controller declines requests for a region that is not available, and that the portions that are occupied are obviously not available, Herdrich teaches the selectively denying the request based on the portion of the memory tier being reserved for another requester.) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as in claim 15. Regarding claim 19: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 15, from which claim 19 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches based on a portion of the region of the memory tier being reserved, the memory controller accepting the request based at least on the request being associated with a higher priority level than a priority level of a requester associated with the portion of the region. ([0067], Herdrich teaches an embodiment where the cache controller can provide cache locking based on the priority of an application that requests cache locking, which may cause the eviction of locked content of another application, with an example that a request from a higher priority application can cause the eviction of content from a lower priority application. The cache controller providing the cache locking in this scenario is interpreted to be the claimed memory controller accepting the request.) One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as in claim 15. Regarding claim 20: The combination of Erickson and Herdrich teaches all limitations of claim 15, from which claim 20 depends. Erickson/Herdrich further teaches the request comprises one or more of: requester identifier, amount of memory to reserve, tier of memory in which to reserve memory, level of priority of the requester, and/or latency sensitivity of the requester. ([0023], Erickson teaches that to fulfill memory allocation requests from local CPUs, a parametrized request specifying memory location, and that during fulfillment, the process identifier for the process that triggered the allocation is stored.) Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KAITLYN HUNG PHAM whose telephone number is (571)272-6333. The examiner can normally be reached M/Tu/Th/F 8:00-6:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rocio Del Mar Perez-Velez can be reached at 571-270-5935. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.H.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2133 /ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 2 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 3 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 4 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 5 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 6 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 7 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 8 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 9 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 10 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 11 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 12 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 13 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 14 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 15 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 16 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 17 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 18 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 19 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 20 Art Unit: 2133 Application/Control Number: 18/084,258 Page 21 Art Unit: 2133