DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 18, 19, 21, cancellation of claims 16-17, 20, and the addition of claims 22-36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
The Examiner agrees that a calculation error occurred which mistakenly lead to Bessho being used to reject the claims. The rejections in view of Bessho are therefore withdrawn.
New art is cited which read on the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 19, 22-24, 26-30, 32, 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/2 as being anticipated by Nakashima et al. (US 2010/0329295).
With respect to claim 18, Nakashima discloses a semiconductor laser element (fig.1a/b) comprising: a substrate (fig.1b #10) including a first main surface (fig.1b #10 lower) and a second main surface (fig.1b #10 upper) on an opposite side relative to the first main surface; a nitride-based semiconductor laser stacking structure (fig.1b #21-24, [0062]) provided above the first main surface of the substrate and including a plurality of waveguides (fig.1a/b 4 ridge waveguides) extending in a first direction (fig.1a top/bottom) parallel to the first main surface; and a first side (fig.1b left side) surface orthogonal to the first main surface and parallel to the first direction, a second side surface (fig.1b right side) on an opposite side relative to the first side surface, and a third side surface (fig.1a bottom, fig.1b end facing out) orthogonal to the first main surface and orthogonal to the first direction, wherein a second distance is greater than a first distance which is a shortest distance among distances between two adjacent waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides (distance separating each ridge waveguide is equal to gap #31), the second distance being a distance between the first side surface and one waveguide located closest to the first side surface among the plurality of waveguides (second distance is equal to left side gap #31 + left portion #32).
With respect to claim 19, Nakashima teaches a third distance is greater than the first distance, the third distance being a distance between the second side surface and one waveguide located closest to the second side surface among the plurality of waveguides (third distance is equal to right side gap #31 + right portion #32).
With respect to claim 22, Nakashima teaches at least three contiguous waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides are arranged with the first distance (each of 4 ridge waveguides separated by same gap size #31).
With respect to claim 23, Nakashima teaches at least three waveguides are included in the plurality of waveguides (fig.1b 4 ridges), and the second distance is greater than a distance between one of the two adjacent waveguides having the first distance and an adjacent waveguide that is adjacent to the one of the two adjacent waveguides and other than another of the two adjacent waveguides (each of 4 ridge waveguides separated by same gap size #31 which is smaller than the defined second distance).
With respect to claim 24, Nakashima teaches at least three waveguides are included in the plurality of waveguides (fig.1b 4 ridges), and the second distance is greater than a distance which is a largest distance among distances between two adjacent waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides (each of 4 ridge waveguides separated by same gap size #31 which is smaller than the defined second distance).
With respect to claim 26, Nakashima teaches first region in which waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides are formed (fig.1b central); and a second region that is interposed between the first region and the first side surface (fig.1b at least a portion of #32 on left).
With respect to claim 27, Nakashima teaches a third region that is interposed between the first region and the second side surface (fig.1b at least a portion of #32 on right).
With respect to claim 28, Nakashima teaches a third distance is greater than the first distance, the third distance being a distance between the second side surface and one waveguide located closest to the second side surface among the plurality of waveguides (third distance is equal to right side gap #31 + right portion #32, which is more than first distance).
With respect to claim 29, Nakashima discloses a semiconductor laser element (fig.1a/b) comprising: a substrate (fig.1b #10) including a first main surface (fig.1b #10 lower) and a second main surface (fig.1b #10 upper) on an opposite side relative to the first main surface; a nitride-based semiconductor laser stacking structure (fig.1b #21-24, [0062]) provided above the first main surface of the substrate and including a plurality of waveguides (fig.1a/b 4 ridge waveguides) extending in a first direction (fig.1a top/bottom) parallel to the first main surface; and a first side (fig.1b left side) surface orthogonal to the first main surface and parallel to the first direction, a second side surface (fig.1b right side) on an opposite side relative to the first side surface, and a third side surface (fig.1a bottom, fig.1b end facing out) orthogonal to the first main surface and orthogonal to the first direction, wherein a second distance is greater than a first distance which is a largest distance among distances between two adjacent waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides (distance separating each ridge waveguide is equal to gap #31), the second distance being a distance between the first side surface and one waveguide located closest to the first side surface among the plurality of waveguides (second distance is equal to left side gap #31 + left portion #32).
With respect to claim 30, Nakashima teaches a third distance is greater than the first distance, the third distance being a distance between the second side surface and one waveguide located closest to the second side surface among the plurality of waveguides (third distance is equal to right side gap #31 + right portion #32, which is more than first distance).
With respect to claim 32, Nakashima teaches at least three contiguous waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides are arranged with the first distance (fig.1b all 4 ridge waveguides spaced by gap #31).
With respect to claim 34, Nakashima teaches a first region in which waveguides included in the plurality of waveguides are formed (fig.1b central); and a second region that is interposed between the first region and the first side surface (fig.1b at least portion of #32 on left).
With respect to claim 35, Nakashima teaches a third region that is interposed between the first region and the second side surface (fig.1b at least portion of #32 on right).
With respect to claim 36, Nakashima teaches a third distance is greater than the first distance, the third distance being a distance between the second side surface and one waveguide located closest to the second side surface among the plurality of waveguides (third distance is equal to right side gap #31 + right portion #32, which is more than first distance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima in view of Takagi et al. (US 8772064).
With respect to claims 25 and 33, Nakashima teaches the device outlined above, including the third side surface is a cleavage surface for light emission/cavity formation ([0032]), but does not teach a flatness of the third side surface is greater than a flatness of the first side surface and a flatness of the second side surface. Takagi teaches a related laser device including the importance of the flatness of the emission faces (col.7 lines 33-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Nakashima such that the third surface is flatter than the first/second surfaces as the third surface is an emission surface/cavity end surface and Takagi has taught the flatness to be important for that surface, such that having the third surface be flat improves laser performance and having the first/second surfaces being less flat reduces the manufacturing tolerances.
Claim(s) 21 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima in view of Kusunoki (US 2007/0173036).
With respect to claim 21, Nakashima teaches the device outlined above, including use of an electrode (fig.1b #33/35) on the second main surface side, but does not teach the electrode is provided at a more inward position than a region in which debris is deposited, and a thickness of the electrode is greater than a height of the debris. Kusunoki teaches a method of laser scribing ([0052]) nitride based ([0033]) laser chips ([0002]) which includes complete removal of debris during laser production ([0028, 64]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to make use of a process in a similar manner to that taught by Kusunoki in the device of Nakashima such that no debris remains after the manufacturing to reduce device contaminations (Kusunoki, [0007, 28, 29, 64]).
Note that after modification the electrode is provided at a more inward position than a region in which debris is deposited and a thickness of the electrode is greater than a height of the debris as the debris has been removed, thereby having a height of zero and also a remaining deposited extent of 0.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 2013/0142209, 8563343, 8619826 and 8772064 are noted as teaching devices similar in nature to that of claims 16 and 18.
Please see the included pto892 form for a list of additional related art.
/TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828