Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reis et al. (US 2021/0311201 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 11, computer-implemented method and system comprising:
determining one or more frequency bands assigned to one or more adjacent satellite services (see [0095] adjacent satellite interference, which is based on frequency “spillover”), the one or more adjacent satellites serving one or more adjacent geographic regions to a reference geographic region served by a reference satellite (see [0095] adjacent satellite interference, which is based on frequency “spillover”);
determining one or more interference characteristics of the one or more frequency bands used by the one or more adjacent satellite services (see RSSI, received signal strength indicator [0111]);
selecting a frequency band for use by the reference satellite in the reference geographic region based on the one or more interference characteristics of the one or more frequency bands assigned to the one or more adjacent satellite services (see [0080], “ a communication satellite may be described as receiving and returning a message, but in detail the satellite may alter one or more signal transmission properties of the received message, such as by mixing the received signal with a signal from another oscillator, such that the “echoed message/signal” is returned over a different frequency band than the received frequency band (e.g., the incoming frequency band is different than the returned frequency band). ”), the selected frequency band being selected from a set of available frequency bands (can switch between multiple frequency bands [0188]) for non-terrestrial wireless communication with one or more wireless client devices (see satellite to wireless device in fig. 1); and
instructing the reference satellite (see illustration any of satellites in fig. 1, see reference satellite [0049]) to use the selected frequency band for communication with the one or more wireless client devices in the reference geographic region (see referenced region, Location A in fig. 16).
Regarding claims 3 & 13, discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and system of claim 11, wherein the one or more interference characteristics include: a proximity of the one or more frequency bands to the selected frequency band on a spectrum of electromagnetic frequencies (see [0072], “the signals used by the techniques herein, on the other hand, may be moved to different parts of the spectrum band as traffic or adversaries demand, where the protocol between the receiver and transmitter can negotiate the utilized band based on a number of factors (e.g., channel availability, for instance). ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reis et al. (US 2021/0311201 A1) in view of Katsumata et al. (US 2020/0137678 A1).
Regarding claims 2 & 12, Reis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and system of claim 11,
Reis does not specifically disclose however Katsumata discloses further comprising: determining an arrangement of geographic regions based on a quantity of the set of available frequency bands (see [0039] preferable information to be taken into account when an appropriate slice is set, for example, there are the number of users to be housed, available frequency bands, available access modes, UE location information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Katsumata with that of Reis. Doing so would conform to well known standards in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 4 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reis et al. (US 2021/0311201 A1) in view of Smyth et al. (US 2019/0028182 A1).
Regarding claims 4 & 14, Reis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3 and system of claim 13, Reis does not specifically disclose however Smyth discloses wherein the one or more interference characteristics include: an out of band emission associated with the one or more frequency bands used by the one or more adjacent satellite services (see [0218], out of band emission for adjacent channel bands);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Smyth with that of Reis. Doing so would conform to well known standards in the field of invention.
Claim(s) 5 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reis et al. (US 2021/0311201 A1) in view of Fan. (US 2011/0287775 A1).
Regarding claims 5 & 15, Reis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Reis does not specifically disclose however Fan discloses further comprising: determining one or more population densities of the one or more adjacent geographic regions (see [0004] frequency assignment, on each respective area, based on population), the one or more population densities reflecting a quantity of wireless client devices in the one or more adjacent geographic regions; selecting a first frequency band from the one or more frequency bands (see assignments) for a first adjacent geographic region of the one or more adjacent geographic regions based on the one or more population densities (see [0004] frequency assignment, on each respective area, based on population); and assigning the first frequency band to a first adjacent satellite of the one or more adjacent satellite services, the first adjacent satellite serving the first adjacent geographic region (see [0004] frequency assignment, on each respective area, based on population).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claims 6-10, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643