Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 6/29/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1,9, and 16 have been amended. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 6,14 have been canceled. Applicants’ amendments are supported by the originally filed disclosure.
No new matter has been added.
Thus, claims 1-5,7-13 and 15 will be examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2026 are being considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-5, 7-9 ,11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 5332570 A).
Bergstrom discloses hair composition comprising from about 1.0% to about 24% by weight of a reducing agent selected from a group consisting of salts and esters of thioglycolic acid, thiolactic acid, water in amount sufficient to total 100 percent of the solution (see entire document, for instance, abstract). Bergstrom teaches reducing solution may further contain a surfactant selected from anionic, nonionic or amphoteric surfactants may be used to make hair more hydrophilic and more easily penetrable (see entire document, for instance column 2, lines 52-57). Bergstrom discloses B-cyclodextrin in the amounts from about 0.5% to about 2% by weight of the solution (see entire document, for instance column 2, lines 61-66).
Instant specification discloses for purposes of the present disclosure, it should be noted that to provide a more concise description, some of the quantitative expressions given herein are not qualified with the term "about" ([0085]). It is understood that whether the term "about" is used explicitly or not, every quantity given herein is meant to refer to the actual given value, and it is also meant to refer to the approximation to such given value that would reasonably be inferred based on the ordinary skill in the art, including approximations due to the experimental and/or measurement conditions for such given value ([0085]).
Thus, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Bergstrom close to the instantly claimed ranges such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would still have been motivated to use them in the practiced cosmetic composition. Absent of a clear showing of criticality, Bergstrom is considered to teach and suggest the instantly recited amounts of cyclodextrin in the instant claims.
Claims 1-5,7-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 5332570 A) as applied to claims 1,3-4, 7-9 ,11-13, and 15 above, and in view of Daubresse et al (FR2921380).
The teachings of Bergstrom have been set forth above. However, they do not expressly disclose including reducing agent chosen from sulfites, bisulfites, salts thereof. Daubresse et al remedy this deficiency.
Daubresse discloses a composition for dyeing in an appropriate cosmetic media (see entire document, for instance, claim 11). Daubresse teaches the reducing agent such as: sulfites, bisulfites, borohydrides, ammonium salts, catecholborane, thiolactic acid, cysteine, homocysteine, and the salts of these thiols (see entire document, for instance, claims 10, 11, and 12). Daubresse discloses the medium suitable for dyeing, also called dyeing medium, is a cosmetic medium generally consisting of water or a mixture of water and at least one organic solvent (page 14). Daubresse teaches the dye composition may contain various adjuvants used in compositions for dyeing hair, such as amphoteric, zwitterionic surfactants, nonionic, zwitterionic polymers, cationic, and anionic (page 14). The adjuvants are present in an amount for each of them between 0.01 and 20% by weight relative to the weight of the composition (page 14).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the composition as described by Bergstrom with the composition of Daubresse et al. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In the instant case to include reducing agent chosen from sulfites, bisulfites, salts thereof.
Claims 1-4,7-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De La Mettrie (US 20050169862 A1).
De La Mettrie discloses a composition containing a reducing and/or oxidizing agent, and its use in the treatment of keratin fibers, particularly human keratin fibers such as hair ([0002]). De La Mettrie discloses reducing agent(s) such as ammonium sulphites and/or bisulphites, thiolactic acid and its esters (especially glycerol monothiolactate), thioglycolic acid and its esters ([0040]). De La Mettrie teaches cyclodextrin, (see entire document, for instance, [0045]). De La Mettrie disclose the reducing and oxidizing agent(s) of the invention can be used in a mixture with one or more solid or pasty adjuvants, preferably pulverulent adjuvants ([0045]). If one or more adjuvants are present, the reducing and/or oxidizing agent(s) of the invention is (are) present in an amount ranging preferably from 0.5 to 99% by weight, particularly preferably from 1 to 80% by weight and very particularly preferably from 2 to 60% by weight, based on the total weight of reducing and/or oxidizing agent(s) and adjuvant(s) ([0046]). De La Mettrie disclose apart from the reducing and/or oxidizing agent(s) and the component(s) of the fluid, namely the water and/or the cosmetically acceptable solvent(s) ([0048]). De La Mettrie teaches anionic surfactants can also be added to the invention compositions ([0059]).
Thus, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant case, the ranges taught by De La Mettrie close to the instantly claimed ranges such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would still have been motivated to use them in the practiced cosmetic composition
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue, “The claimed cyclodextrin amounts of 4-12% do not overlap with the prior art's 0.5-2% range, and the specification demonstrates unexpected color- removal results attributable to this combination.”
Instant specification discloses for purposes of the present disclosure, it should be noted that to provide a more concise description, some of the quantitative expressions given herein are not qualified with the term "about" ([0085]). It is understood that whether the term "about" is used explicitly or not, every quantity given herein is meant to refer to the actual given value, and it is also meant to refer to the approximation to such given value that would reasonably be inferred based on the ordinary skill in the art, including approximations due to the experimental and/or measurement conditions for such given value ([0085]).
Thus, the determination of the optimum or workable amounts given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). In the instant case, the ranges taught by Bergstrom are close to the instantly claimed ranges such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would still have been motivated to use them in the practiced cosmetic composition. Absent of a clear showing of criticality, Bergstrom is considered to teach and suggest the instantly recited amounts of cyclodextrin in the instant claims.
Applicant argue, “neither Bergstrom nor De La Mettrie recognizes cyclodextrin as a result-effective variable for color removal… Applicant's specification provides that the compositions containing 5% cyclodextrin (1A, 1 B) are "surprisingly more effective for removing color from hair, compared to compositions not according to the disclosure" (compositions C1-C3, which are identical except for the cyclodextrin). As-Filed Specification, paragraph [00106]. "[E]ven after several months, the swatches treated with composition 1 A visually appeared to maintain the same level of color removal, demonstrating that re-oxidation of the color does not occur." As-Filed Specification, paragraphs [00113]- [00114]. This permanent color removal without re-oxidation is "a benefit not achieved by traditional hair color removing compositions that use reducing agents.”
The Examiner respectfully maintains that the art is not required to teach the same reasoning for adding components as Applicant, MPEP 2144 (IV) states “the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 411 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).” In the instant case, Bergstrom discloses hair composition comprising reducing agent selected from a group consisting of salts and esters of thioglycolic acid, thiolactic acid, water, and β-cyclodextrin (see entire document, for instance, abstract). While Bergstrom mentions β-cyclodextrin (as a chelating agent), De La Mettrie discloses cyclodextrin preferably from 1 to 80% by weight ([0045]-[0046]); the applicant has indicated the unexpected and superior color-removal results is due to the presence of cyclodextrin in combination with the reducing agent (such as the required thiolactic acid, thioglycolic acid, sodium sulfite, potassium sulfite, ammonium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, ammonium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, or potassium metabisulfite). Therefore the composition of the prior art would also have the same properties.
Furthermore, MPEP 2112.01 states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JANET JOSEPH whose telephone number is (571)270-1372. The examiner can normally be reached Monday and Thursday 0730-1730 Eastern.
/JANET JOSEPH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611