DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response to a Nonfinal rejection filed June 8, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-18 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 14 are cancelled due to Applicant’s amendments filed June 8, 2026.
The previous objection of claim 16 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
The previous 112(b) rejection of claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 8-13 and 15-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 17 are dependent on claim 4, which causes confusion because claim 14 is cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 13:
Pelletized material suitable for use in injection molding, the material comprising:
waste rubber particles having a size in the range of 1mm to 7mm; and
plastic comprising at least one of high density polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, and polypropylene, wherein
the waste rubber is blended with and encapsulated within the plastic, wherein the waste rubber particles are encapsulated within the plastic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans (US 20120077889 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Evans discloses in Table 2 a mixture of 20% by weight of rubber and 80% polypropylene (Table 2, [0039-0063]), thereby reading on the plastic as recited in the instant claim. Evans disclose the rubber is extruded and blended with the plastic and the end product is characterized by a continuous phase of thermoplastic and rubber particles dispersed in the thermoplastic phase [0053-0056], thereby reading on the waste rubber particles are encapsulated within the plastic.
Evans is silent on if the rubber used in Table 2 is waste rubber and the particle size of the waste rubber.
However, Evans broadly teaches the rubber material is ground scrap tire rubber and the rubber has a size between 10 mesh and 60 mesh, equivalent to 2mm to 0.250 and thereby overlapping the claimed range (claim 3 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a rubber material that is waste rubber and having the particle size as taught by Evans.
Evans is silent on if the mixture of Table 2 is pelletized.
However, Evans broadly teaches the mixture is typically pelletized [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pelletize the mixture as taught by Evans.
Regarding claim 15, Evans discloses in Table 2 a mixture of 20% by weight of waste rubber as rejected above, thereby lying within the claimed range of waste rubber as recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 18, Evans teaches the waste rubber as rejected above.
Evans is silent if the plastic used in Table 2 is waste plastic as recited in the instant claim.
However, Evan broadly teaches the thermoplastic material can be recycled post-industrial thermoplastic material ([0008], [0040]), thereby reading on the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use waste plastic in the composition as taught by Evans.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office Action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 8-12 are allowed over the closest prior art, Boor (US 20090308009).
Boor disclose a building product comprising a composition of filler, binder, fire retardant, and thermoplastic resin (claim 1). Boor further teaches the filler comprises recycled vulcanized rubber (claim 5).
Boor does not teach or fairly suggest a pelletized composition comprising the specific combination of waste rubber particles, plastic, and a specific alkali-conditioned fly ash as recited in the instant claims 8-12.
Claims 16 and 17 are allowed over the closest prior art, Evans (US 20120077889 A1).
Evans disclose a method of producing a thermoplastic elastomer, comprising the step of blending a mixture of vulcanized rubber material and a molten thermoplastic material (claim 1).
Evans does not teach or fairly suggest a pelletized material further comprising a specific alkali-conditioned Type F fly ash as recited in instant claims 16 and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763