DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in part, “wherein the pole is disjointed with the liquid injection hole.” It is unclear if “disjointed,” is taken to mean separate or lacking sequence which makes it indefinite. For the purpose of examination “separate” shall be applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuchs et al.(US2023/0105962A1, with foreign priority date of 12/16/2019), in view of Guen et al.(KR2018-0113855A), in view of Xu et al. (US2023/0091305A1), and in further view of Byun et al. (US2012/0100419A1).
As to claim 1, Fuchs discloses a cap assembly of a battery (Housing (201) [0070] fig. 2a), comprising: a cap ((204) [0070] fig. 2a) defining a liquid injection hole (opening (205) [0072] fig. 2b), a sealing pin ((207b) [0088] fig. 2i) being configured to seal the liquid injection hole ((207b) [0088] like (207a) [0073] hermetically seals the opening (205)), the sealing pin including a thinning region (closure 207b has an internal indentation 215.sub1,2 [0088] figs. 2g-i),
a pole (terminal (202) or (203) [0104] fig. 2a) being disposed on a first side of the cap (the electrodes, current collectors and conductors of at least one electrochemical cell which are contained in the housing (201) Where contained in the housing provides below cap (204) or first side), wherein the pole (terminal (202) or (203)) is disjointed with the liquid injection hole (opening (205)) (Terminals are separate from the liquid injection hole (205) fig. 2a); a terminal (Connection terminal (202) [0070]) , disposed on a second side of the cap (fig. 2a) and electrically connected to the pole [0070], wherein the second side of the cap is opposite to the first side of the cap (first side within housing (201) or below cap (204) and second side above cap (204) providing opposite sides. fig. 2a);
Fuchs discloses the sealing pin defines two notches (215.sub.1 and 215.sub.2, however Fuchs is silent on the two notches are intersected with each other. In the same field of endeavor Guen discloses cap assembly (150) with a cap plate (151) and safety vent (154) [0045], and teaches (notch portion (154a_1) formed on vent portion ((154) fig. 4a) and formed in a planar shape with a “+” shape [0062]. Where a ”+” chape notch would provide two notches intersecting. Guen further teaches “As described above, the secondary battery 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention is capable of preventing the outflow of the flame to the outside when a flame (flame) occurs inside due to an external force or breakage of the secondary battery during a manufacturing process or a practical use The stability and reliability of the secondary battery are improved.” [0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the notches of Guen to improve the stability and reliability of the battery.
Fuchs does not explicitly disclose the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member, disposed between the cap and the terminal; lower plastic member, disposed between a portion of the pole and the cap;
However in the same field of endeavor Xu discloses top cover assembly [Abstract] and teaches the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member ((130) [0065] fig. 2), disposed between the cap (120) and the terminal (First flange (152) of pole (150) fig.3) ; a lower plastic member ((110) [0065]), disposed between a portion of the pole (150) and the cap (120) (fig. 3);
Xu further teaches, current collectors of cylindrical batteries between the tab and the pole are prone to damage during welding [0004], and the cover assembly of the present disclosure may reduce the effects of welding [009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the cover assembly of Xu to prevent the current collector from being damaged during the welding process.
Modified Fuchs discloses a current collector (The current collector 160 is divided by the first folding section 161 and the second folding section 162 into a first part 163, a second part 164, and a third part 165. [Xu, 0062]), wherein a first end of the current collector is arranged to be connected to a cell ((165) connected with wound core of the battery [Xu, 0062]), and a second end of the current collector opposite to the first end is electrically connected to the pole (first part 163 is welded with the pole 150, [Xu, 0062] Where welded would provide electrically connected.).; the second end of the current collector is sandwiched between the lower plastic member (110) and a portion of the pole ((150) Xu, fig. 2). Fuchs is silent on the second end of the current collector defines a through hole, and the pole runs through the through hole.
In the same field of endeavor Byun discloses a cap plate (30) [0048] and teaches a hole provided in a collector for the flange (62) of terminal (41) helps decrease the electrical resistance. [0068]-[0069] fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the collector hole of Byun reduce the electrical resistance of the pole of Fuchs.
As to claim 2, Fuchs discloses a thickness of the thinning region is less than or equal to 0.2mm. (Thinning region (d2) between 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm [0089] fig. 2g)
It should be noted in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 3, Fuchs discloses the sealing pin defines a notch ((215.sub.1) of (207b) [0088] fig. 2g), and a position of the sealing pin corresponding to the notch forms the thinning region (fig. 2i).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Fuchs discloses the sealing pin (207b) further defines a recess (215), the recess is located at one of two opposite sides of the sealing pin (215.sub.1 and 215.sub.2), the notch is located at the other of two opposite sides of the sealing pin, and the recess is disposed directly opposite to the notch (fig. 2g).
As to claim 6, Fuchs discloses the liquid injection hole (205) is a stepped hole (fig. 2i), the stepped hole has a first end and a second end opposite to the first end (fig. 2i), the first end of the stepped hole has a diameter greater than that of the second end of the stepped hole (fig. 2i), the first end faces the second side of the cap (fig. 2i).
With regard to the limitation “the sealing pin is sealed to the first end of the stepped hole.” It has been held that if a claimed invention reads on the prior art except with regard to the position of a component of a device, the invention is unpatentable if switching the position of the component would have not modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, switching the positions of the inlet and outlet ports would not modify the operation of the device, which is to allow for there-circulation of the water to be treated.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Fuchs discloses an inner wall surface at the first end of the stepped hole is a tapered surface, a diameter of the inner wall surface gradually decreases along a direction from the second side of the cap to the first side of the cap ( the part of the housing wall surrounding them to have a conical embodiment [0071] fig. 2b),
and a peripheral wall surface of the sealing pin is a tapered face matching with the inner wall surface. (The first closure 207a (like 207b [0088]) may be embodied as a disk or plate and may have a shape which corresponds (with substantial matching) the opening cross section of the opening section 208 [0073])
As to claim 8, Fuchs discloses the sealing pin is welded to a hole wall of the liquid injection hole [0091].
As to claim 9, Fuchs does not explicitly disclose a sealing ring, disposed in the mounting hole and abutting against both the upper plastic member and the lower plastic member, wherein the pole successively runs through the lower plastic member, the sealing ring, and the upper plastic member, and is further connected to the terminal.
However in the same field of endeavor Xu discloses top cover assembly [Abstract] and teaches a sealing ring (156), disposed in the mounting hole (mounting hole (111) [0057] fig. 5) and abutting against both the upper plastic member and the lower plastic member (the sealing member 156 is deformed toward an interior of the gap 155. [0071] thereby abutting the upper plastic (130) fig. 4 [0072]., wherein the pole successively runs through the lower plastic member, the sealing ring, and the upper plastic member, and is further connected to the terminal (fig. 2).
Xu further teaches, current collectors of cylindrical batteries between the tab and the pole are prone to damage during welding [0004], and the cover assembly of the present disclosure may reduce the effects of welding [009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the cover assembly of Xu to prevent the current collector from being damaged during the welding process.
As to claim 10, modified Fuchs discloses wherein the lower plastic member ((110) Xu, [0082]) defines an avoidance hole at a position opposite to the liquid injection hole ((172) Xu, [0082]), and the avoidance hole has a diameter less than or equal to that of the liquid injection hole (Xu, fig. 18).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, modified Fuchs discloses the terminal (Xu, first flange (150)) defines a limiting groove (Xu,141, fig. 5) at one end away from the cap (Xu, fig. 3), a first end of the pole (Xu, Second flange (153), fig. 10) close to the first side of the cap is arranged with a first flange (Xu, fig. 2), a second end of the pole (Xu, first flange (152), fig. 10) close to the second side of the cap is arranged with a second flange (Xu, fig. 2), the first flange abuts against the lower plastic member ((110), fig. 2), and the second flange is engaged into the limiting groove (figs. 3 and 5).
As to claim 12, modified Fuchs discloses one of a side wall of the upper plastic member (130) facing the terminal and a side wall of the terminal (150) facing the upper plastic member is arranged with a positioning protrusion, the other of the side wall of the upper plastic member facing the terminal and the side wall of the terminal facing the upper plastic member defines a positioning groove, and the positioning protrusion is engaged with the positioning groove.(See annotated fig. 3 Where (130) engages with (150) through (140))
(Xu, annotated fig. 3)
As to claim 13, modified Fuchs discloses one of a side wall of the upper plastic member (130) facing the cap (120) and a side wall of the cap facing the upper plastic member is arranged with a protruding portion, the other of the side wall of the upper plastic member facing the cap and the side wall of the cap facing the upper plastic member defines a groove portion, and the protruding portion is engaged with the groove portion. (See annotated figure 3 above)
As to claim 15, modified Fuchs discloses each of the sealing ring (156) and the mounting hole (Xu, mounting hole (111) [0057]) has a first end and a second end opposite to the second end (Xu, fig. 5), an outer contour of the first end of the sealing ring has a size less than that of an outer contour of the second end of the sealing ring and the first end of mounting hole has a diameter less than that of the second end of the mounting hole; the first end of the sealing ring extends into the first end of the mounting hole, (It can be noted that for the mounting hole 111, the cross-section thereof is gradually decreased in area, so that a circumferential wall of the mounting hole 111 can be structured into an inclined circumferential wall. When the sealing member 156 is assembled into the mounting hole 111, the inclined circumferential wall has an extrusion effect on the sealing member 156, which can drive the sealing member 156 to deform toward the gap 155, thereby improving the sealing effect of the sealing member 156. [Xu, [0073]) Where the inclined circumferential wall provides a mounting hole with a first end of a lesser diameter than a second end, and sealing member (156) deforms to the inclined wall of mounting hole (111) provides an outer contour of the sealing member (156) with a first end of the sealing ring has a size less than that of an outer contour of the second end of the sealing ring which meets the limitation.
and an end face at the second end of the sealing ring (156) is attached to the first side of the cap (120) (Xu, fig. 5).
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, modified Fuchs discloses a side of the lower plastic member (110) facing the cap (120) defines an avoidance groove (sealing cavity (154) [Xu, 0068] fig. 3), and the second end of the sealing ring is accommodated in the avoidance groove (A sealing member 156 is received in the sealing cavity 154. [Xu, 0068].
As to claim 17, modified Fuchs discloses a cylindrical battery [Xu, 0091], comprising: a cylindrical shell [Xu, 0091], defining an opening [Xu, 0091]; and a cap assembly (cover assembly (100)) configured to cover and seal the opening [Xu, 0091], and comprising:
a cap ((204) [0070] fig. 2a), defining a liquid injection hole (opening (205) [0072] fig. 2b); a sealing pin ((207b) [0088] fig. 2i) being configured to seal the liquid injection hole ((207b) [0088] like (207a) [0073] hermetically seals the opening (205)), the sealing pin including a thinning region (closure 207b has an internal indentation 215.sub1,2 [0088] figs. 2g-i),
a pole (terminal (202) or (203) [0104] fig. 2a) being disposed on a first side of the cap (the electrodes, current collectors and conductors of at least one electrochemical cell which are contained in the housing (201) Where contained in the housing provides below cap (204) or first side), wherein the pole (terminal (202) or (203)) is disjointed with the liquid injection hole (opening (205)) (Terminals are separate from the liquid injection hole (205) fig. 2a); a terminal (Connection terminal (202) [0070]) , disposed on a second side of the cap (fig. 2a) and electrically connected to the pole [0070], wherein the second side of the cap is opposite to the first side of the cap (first side within housing (201) or below cap (204) and second side above cap (204) providing opposite sides. fig. 2a);
Fuchs discloses the sealing pin defines two notches (215.sub.1 and 215.sub.2, however Fuchs is silent on the two notches are intersected with each other. In the same field of endeavor Guen discloses cap assembly (150) with a cap plate (151) and safety vent (154) [0045], and teaches (notch portion (154a_1) formed on vent portion ((154) fig. 4a) and formed in a planar shape with a “+” shape [0062]. Where a ”+” chape notch would provide two notches intersecting. Guen further teaches “As described above, the secondary battery 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention is capable of preventing the outflow of the flame to the outside when a flame (flame) occurs inside due to an external force or breakage of the secondary battery during a manufacturing process or a practical use The stability and reliability of the secondary battery are improved.” [0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the notches of Guen to improve the stability and reliability of the battery.
Fuchs does not explicitly disclose the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member, disposed between the cap and the terminal; lower plastic member, disposed between a portion of the pole and the cap;
However in the same field of endeavor Xu discloses top cover assembly [Abstract] and teaches the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member ((130) [0065] fig. 2), disposed between the cap (120) and the terminal (First flange (152) of pole (150) fig.3) ; a lower plastic member ((110) [0065]), disposed between a portion of the pole (150) and the cap (120) (fig. 3);
Xu further teaches, current collectors of cylindrical batteries between the tab and the pole are prone to damage during welding [0004], and the cover assembly of the present disclosure may reduce the effects of welding [009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the cover assembly of Xu to prevent the current collector from being damaged during the welding process.
Modified Fuchs discloses a current collector (The current collector 160 is divided by the first folding section 161 and the second folding section 162 into a first part 163, a second part 164, and a third part 165. [Xu, 0062]), wherein a first end of the current collector is arranged to be connected to a cell ((165) connected with wound core of the battery [Xu, 0062]), and a second end of the current collector opposite to the first end is electrically connected to the pole (first part 163 is welded with the pole 150, [Xu, 0062] Where welded would provide electrically connected.).; the second end of the current collector is sandwiched between the lower plastic member (110) and a portion of the pole ((150) Xu, fig. 2). Fuchs is silent on the second end of the current collector defines a through hole, and the pole runs through the through hole.
In the same field of endeavor Byun discloses a cap plate (30) [0048] and teaches a hole provided in a collector for the flange (62) of terminal (41) helps decrease the electrical resistance. [0068]-[0069] fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the collector hole of Byun reduce the electrical resistance of the pole of Fuchs.
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Fuchs discloses the sealing pin defines a notch ((215.sub.1) of (207b) [Fuchs, 0088] fig. 2g), and a position of the sealing pin corresponding to the notch forms the thinning region (Fuchs, fig. 2i).
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated, Fuchs discloses the sealing pin (207b) further defines a recess (215), the recess is located at one of two opposite sides of the sealing pin (215.sub.1 and 215.sub.2), the notch is located at the other of two opposite sides of the sealing pin, and the recess is disposed directly opposite to the notch (fig. 2g).
As to claim 20, modified Fuchs discloses a battery pack, it is noted that the battery 1000 can be a single cell, and multiple single-cells can be assembled into a battery pack… implementation, the case 200 is a cylindrical hard case 200. [Xu, 0091],
One end of the hard case 200 is closed, and the other end of the hard case 200 is open [Xu, 0081]. Fuchs discloses a sealing pin ((207b) [0088] fig. 2i) being configured to seal the liquid injection hole ((207b) [0088] like (207a) [0073] hermetically seals the opening (205)), the sealing pin including a thinning region (closure 207b has an internal indentation 215.sub1,2 [0088] figs. 2g-i),
Fuchs discloses the sealing pin defines two notches (215.sub.1 and 215.sub.2, however Fuchs is silent on the two notches are intersected with each other. In the same field of endeavor Guen discloses cap assembly (150) with a cap plate (151) and safety vent (154) [0045], and teaches (notch portion (154a_1) formed on vent portion ((154) fig. 4a) and formed in a planar shape with a “+” shape [0062]. Where a ”+” chape notch would provide two notches intersecting. Guen further teaches “As described above, the secondary battery 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention is capable of preventing the outflow of the flame to the outside when a flame (flame) occurs inside due to an external force or breakage of the secondary battery during a manufacturing process or a practical use The stability and reliability of the secondary battery are improved.” [0072].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the notches of Guen to improve the stability and reliability of the battery.
and a cap assembly (Wall 204 [Fuchs, 0074] fig. 2a) configured to cover and seal the opening [Fuchs, 0074], and comprising: a cap defining a liquid injection hole (opening (205), [Fuchs, 0071])
a pole (terminal (202) or (203) [0104] fig. 2a) being disposed on a first side of the cap (the electrodes, current collectors and conductors of at least one electrochemical cell which are contained in the housing (201) Where contained in the housing provides below cap (204) or first side), wherein the pole (terminal (202) or (203)) is disjointed with the liquid injection hole (opening (205)) (Terminals are separate from the liquid injection hole (205) fig. 2a); a terminal (Connection terminal (202) [0070]) , disposed on a second side of the cap (fig. 2a) and electrically connected to the pole [0070], wherein the second side of the cap is opposite to the first side of the cap (first side within housing (201) or below cap (204) and second side above cap (204) providing opposite sides. fig. 2a);
Fuchs does not explicitly disclose the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member, disposed between the cap and the terminal; lower plastic member, disposed between a portion of the pole and the cap;
However in the same field of endeavor Xu discloses top cover assembly [Abstract] and teaches the cap assembly of the battery further comprises: an upper plastic member ((130) [0065] fig. 2), disposed between the cap (120) and the terminal (First flange (152) of pole (150) fig.3) ; a lower plastic member ((110) [0065]), disposed between a portion of the pole (150) and the cap (120) (fig. 3);
Xu further teaches, current collectors of cylindrical batteries between the tab and the pole are prone to damage during welding [0004], and the cover assembly of the present disclosure may reduce the effects of welding [009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the cover assembly of Xu to prevent the current collector from being damaged during the welding process.
Modified Fuchs discloses a current collector (The current collector 160 is divided by the first folding section 161 and the second folding section 162 into a first part 163, a second part 164, and a third part 165. [Xu, 0062]), wherein a first end of the current collector is arranged to be connected to a cell ((165) connected with wound core of the battery [Xu, 0062]), and a second end of the current collector opposite to the first end is electrically connected to the pole (first part 163 is welded with the pole 150, [Xu, 0062] Where welded would provide electrically connected.).; the second end of the current collector is sandwiched between the lower plastic member (110) and a portion of the pole ((150) Xu, fig. 2). Fuchs is silent on the second end of the current collector defines a through hole, and the pole runs through the through hole.
In the same field of endeavor Byun discloses a cap plate (30) [0048] and teaches a hole provided in a collector for the flange (62) of terminal (41) helps decrease the electrical resistance. [0068]-[0069] fig. 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Fuchs with the collector hole of Byun reduce the electrical resistance of the pole of Fuchs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, page10, Fuchs does not disclose the claim language of the now amended claim 1. The office notes the now amended claim 1 language is rejected by Fuchs, Guen, Xu, Byun in combination as discussed above in the 103 rejection record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Marubayashi et al. (US2003/0131880A1) Vent seal with cross grooves.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728