DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, formula 1 is not legible. The R groups are not clear and it is unclear where each R group is located. Also, the formulas in the specification are not legible. It is unclear the breadth of the claims as the formula is not legible.
Regarding claim 7, compounds 1 to 564 are not listed and it is unclear the structure of the compounds. Further clarification is needed. In the specification the compounds are not clear and are faded and blurry.
Claims 2-6 and 8-13 are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2020/0287144) (hereafter “Hwang”).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, and 8-13, Hwang teaches an electroluminescent device comprising, an anode, a hole injection layer, an hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0417]-[0422]). Hwang teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a phosphorescent dopant (paragraph [0419]). Hwang teaches that the phosphorescent dopant can have the following structure,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0242] and [0419]). Hwang teaches a that the number of each ligand can be 1 or 2 (paragraphs [0007]-[0014]). Hwang teaches that Hwang teaches that the phosphorescent dopants emit green light (paragraph [0254]). Hwang teaches that the electroluminescent device can have a stacked structure, comprising a green emitting layer, a blue emitting layer, and a red emitting layer (paragraph [0295]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2020/0287144) (hereafter “Hwang”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, and 8-13 above.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches that S atoms can be substituent for O atoms in the metal complexes (paragraphs [0007]-[0014] and [0242]). Hwang teaches that atoms are equivalents to each other (paragraphs [0007]-[0014] and [0242]).
Hwang does not specifically teach a metal complex that comprises the S atom and meets the applicant’s claimed formula.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the O atoms in the metal complexes of Hwang for S atoms. The substitution would been for a preferred group for another preferred groups, which Hwang teaches are equivalents to each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect compounds with the S atoms to act in a similar manner as the other compounds taught by Hwang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beers et al. (US 2014/0131676) teaches metal complexes comprising a bidentate ligand, where one of to groups on the ligand is an azadibenzofuran group.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759