DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al (US 2015/325073 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sasaki discloses
a banknote handling system, i.e., general information processing system (10’, 10) as mentioned at paragraphs 32 and 45 and as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a transport member, i.e., movement controller (224) as mentioned at paragraphs 54 and 59 and as illustrated in figure 3, for example, that transports a banknote having a unique code, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 9, first sentence, which states “the information processing device including: an information acquisition section that in the local network acquires serial numbers obtained from banknotes read by cash processing terminals configuring the cash processing terminal cluster” for example, consisting of a string of a plurality of symbols, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 59, first sentence, which states “[t]he movement controller 224 controls such that a banknote printed with the serial number acquired by the serial number acquisition section 223 is moved to a specific position”;
a recognition circuit, i.e., reading section (240) and serial number acquisition section (223), as mentioned at paragraphs 52-56, 58 and 59 and as illustrated at figure 3, for example, that reads a code of the banknote transported by the transport member (224);
a memory, i.e., storage section (130, 230) as mentioned at paragraphs 52-54 and as illustrated in figure 3, as well as Random Access Memory (RAM) as mentioned at paragraphs 39, 40 and 102, that stores a first code; and
a controller, i.e., data/information generation section (221) of controller (220) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned in paragraph 54 and 55, and condition acquisition section (124) of controller (120), as illustrated in figure 4, that performs a matching process of matching of a second code of the banknote to be subjected to matching read by the recognition circuit (223, 240) with the first code stored in the memory (230), as mentioned in paragraph 69, last two sentences, stating that “ in a case in which the number for matching is “1234”, and the position for matching is “front match”, serial numbers beginning with “1234” satisfy the counterfeit note serial number related condition” and “the position for matching is not limited to “front match”, and may be “full match”, “rear match”, “partial match”, or the like”, and noting also paragraphs 91, 92, 94 and 104, wherein
the controller (124, 221) determines that the first code matches with the second code if a symbol of at least one specific digit at a specific position of the first code all matches with that of the second code, as mentioned at paragraphs 69, 91-94 and 104, for example, and
if the number of digits for which symbols mismatch other than the at least one specific digit is a predetermined number or less, as mentioned at paragraphs 69, 91-94 and 104, and
determines that the first code mismatches with the second code if the symbol of the at least one specific digit of the first code mismatches with that of the second code or if the number of digits for which symbols mismatch other than the at least one specific digit exceeds the predetermined number, as mentioned at paragraphs 69, 70, 91-94 and 104, which states as follows.
[0069] The condition acquisition section 124 acquires a counterfeit note serial number related condition. The counterfeit note serial number related condition may be configured by a combination of a number and a position for matching against serial numbers stored in the storage section 130. For example, in a case in which the number for matching is “1234”, and the position for matching is “front match”, serial numbers beginning with “1234” satisfy the counterfeit note serial number related condition. Note that the position for matching is not limited to “front match”, and may be “full match”, “rear match”, “partial match”, or the like.
[0070] The serial number notification section 125 acquires serial numbers satisfying the condition from the storage section 130, and notifies any of the cash processing terminals 200 configuring the cash processing terminal cluster, or notifies a cash processing terminal 200 in a local network (hereafter also referred to as the second local network) different from the above-described local network (hereafter also referred to as the first local network). The serial number notification section 125 may notify the serial numbers acquired from the storage section 130 to all of the cash processing terminals, or to some of the cash processing terminals, of the cash processing terminal cluster in the first local network, and the cash processing terminal cluster in the second local network.
[0091] An example is illustrated here in which the serial number registration screen D1 includes a cancel button D11 for cancelling serial number registration, an execute button D12 for executing the serial number registration, and a number input field D13 for inputting the number for matching. In the example illustrated in FIG. 10, selection fields are also provided for selecting the position for matching corresponding numbers (for example, “full match”, “front match”, “rear match”, “partial match”, or the like). In the example described above, the number and position for matching corresponds to the counterfeit note serial number related condition.
[0092] When the operator inputs a number for matching into the number input field D13, inputs the position for matching this number, and selects the execute button D12 (step S15), as illustrated in FIG. 11, the information processing device 100 can display a registration destination setting screen D2 (step S16). An example is illustrated here in which the registration destination setting screen D2 includes a cancel button D21 for cancelling setting of the registration destination, and an execute button D22 for executing the registration destination setting.
[0093] The example illustrated in FIG. 11 is further provided with a selection field for selecting the serial number registration format (“register to all”, “register individually”), and a selection field for selecting whether or not to register the serial number with each respective cash processing terminal (for example, “register”, “do not register”) when “register individually” has been selected. Note that, of the cash processing terminal cluster in the first local network and the cash processing terminal cluster in the second local network, all of the cash processing terminals may be selectable, or some of the cash processing terminals may be selectable.
[0094] When the operator has selected a cash processing terminal 200 as the registration destination, and selected the execute button D12 (step S17), the information processing device 100 notifies the selected cash processing terminal 200 of any serial number(s) that match the input number and position (step S18). The cash processing terminal 200 notified of the serial numbers registers the notified serial numbers (step S19), and notifies the information processing device 100 of registration completion (step S20). Upon receiving the registration completion notification, the information processing device 100 displays completion results on the screen (step S21).
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 2, Sasaki discloses
wherein the controller receives an input signal related to the at least one specific digit and sets the at least one specific digit based on the input signal, as illustrated in figure 9 and as mentioned at 90-92, noting the input of the fields such as field (D13) is construed as “setting” and noting the various searches using portions of a serial number as mentioned in paragraph 69.
Regarding Claim 8, Sasaki discloses
wherein the controller, i.e., data/information generation section (221) of controller (220) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned in paragraph 54 and 55, and condition acquisition section (124) of controller (120), as illustrated in figure 4, sets the at least one specific digit based on a characteristic of the second code read by the recognition circuit (240), i.e., via screens (D1 and D2) as illustrated in figures 10 and 11, and as noted in the flow chart of figure 9, and as mentioned at paragraphs 90-95, for example, which state as follows.
[0090] As illustrated in FIG. 9, first, the information processing device 100 displays a menu screen (step S11). A case is envisaged here in which a button for selecting a serial number registration function is included on the menu screen. When an operator has selected the serial number registration function (step S12), the information processing device 100 starts up the serial number registration function (step S13). As illustrated in FIG. 10, the information processing device 100 can display a serial number registration screen D1 when this occurs (step S14).
[0091] An example is illustrated here in which the serial number registration screen D1 includes a cancel button D11 for cancelling serial number registration, an execute button D12 for executing the serial number registration, and a number input field D13 for inputting the number for matching. In the example illustrated in FIG. 10, selection fields are also provided for selecting the position for matching corresponding numbers (for example, “full match”, “front match”, “rear match”, “partial match”, or the like). In the example described above, the number and position for matching corresponds to the counterfeit note serial number related condition.
[0092] When the operator inputs a number for matching into the number input field D13, inputs the position for matching this number, and selects the execute button D12 (step S15), as illustrated in FIG. 11, the information processing device 100 can display a registration destination setting screen D2 (step S16). An example is illustrated here in which the registration destination setting screen D2 includes a cancel button D21 for cancelling setting of the registration destination, and an execute button D22 for executing the registration destination setting.
[0093] The example illustrated in FIG. 11 is further provided with a selection field for selecting the serial number registration format (“register to all”, “register individually”), and a selection field for selecting whether or not to register the serial number with each respective cash processing terminal (for example, “register”, “do not register”) when “register individually” has been selected. Note that, of the cash processing terminal cluster in the first local network and the cash processing terminal cluster in the second local network, all of the cash processing terminals may be selectable, or some of the cash processing terminals may be selectable.
[0094] When the operator has selected a cash processing terminal 200 as the registration destination, and selected the execute button D12 (step S17), the information processing device 100 notifies the selected cash processing terminal 200 of any serial number(s) that match the input number and position (step S18). The cash processing terminal 200 notified of the serial numbers registers the notified serial numbers (step S19), and notifies the information processing device 100 of registration completion (step S20). Upon receiving the registration completion notification, the information processing device 100 displays completion results on the screen (step S21).
[0095] When the operator has checked the completion results and selected to end the serial number registration function (step S22), the information processing device 100 ends the serial number registration function (step S23). If the cash processing terminal 200 that has registered the serial number detects a banknote printed with the registered serial number, the banknote is moved to a specific position (step S24). Movement of counterfeit notes by the cash processing terminal 200 to the specific position as described above enables counterfeit notes to be isolated.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 9, Sasaki discloses wherein
the code includes at least two types of symbols among a number, a letter, and a mark, and
the at least one specific digit includes at least one digit for any one of the types of symbols, as illustrated in figure 5, for example, showing serial numbers 1-n consisting of several number symbols which are all shown as different digits 0-9.
Regarding Claim 10, Sasaki discloses
wherein the at least one specific digit includes a digit for a number, as illustrated in figure 5, for example, showing serial numbers 1-n consisting of several number symbols which are all shown as different digits 0-9.
Regarding Claim 11, Sasaki discloses
wherein the code includes a plurality of digits for a string of numbers, and
the at least one specific digit includes a lowest digit in the string of numbers, as illustrated in figure 5, for example, showing serial numbers 1-n consisting of several number symbols which are all shown as different digits 0-9.
Regarding Claim 12, Sasaki discloses
wherein the controller (120, 124, 220, 221) performs various types of processes related to the banknote, each of the various types of processes being performed with the matching process, as illustrated in figure 9, and
the at least one specific digit is set according to a type of a process performed, i.e., full match, front match, rear match, partial match, as illustrated in the screen (D1) in figure 10, for example.
Regarding Claim 13, Sasaki discloses
wherein the memory (130, 230) stores the first code related to a counterfeit note and a specific digit corresponding to the first code, as illustrated in figures 9-11, and
the controller (120, 124, 220, 221) performs a process of extracting a counterfeit note by performing the matching process using the first code, as illustrated in figures 9-11, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, Sasaki discloses
further comprising:
at least one storage, i.e. cassette (C) as illustrated in figure 8, for storing a banknote,
the memory (130, 230) stores codes of all the banknotes stored in the at least one storage as the first code, as mentioned in paragraph 87,
the recognition circuit (223, 240) reads the code of the banknote fed out from the at least one storage (C) as the second code, and
the controller (120, 124, 220, 221) performs a reconciliation process of confirming the number of banknotes stored in the at least one storage by performing the matching process, as illustrated in figures 9-11, for example.
Regarding Claim 19, see the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al (US 2015/325073 A1) in view of Hamasaki et al (US 2010/0202680 A1).
Regarding Claims 3-20, Sasaki teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Sasaki does not expressly teach
wherein the memory stores correspondence information between an attribute of the banknote and the at least one specific digit, and
the controller sets the at least one specific digit based on the attribute of the banknote to be subjected to matching.
Regarding Claim 3, Sasaki does not expressly teach, but Hamasaki teaches
wherein the memory, i.e., number-attribute information memory (131) as illustrated in figure 1, stores correspondence information between an attribute of the banknote and the at least one specific digit, as mentioned at abstract and paragraphs 110 and 112, for example, and
the controller (19) sets the at least one specific digit based on the attribute of the banknote to be subjected to matching, i.e., noting the operating unit (15) as mentioned in paragraphs 142, 144 and 150 and noting the mention of using position information of the serial number as mentioned at paragraphs 17, 110-114, for example, which state as follows.
[0110] The number-attribute information memory 131 clips the serial number and recognizes the character, and stores number attribute information associated with the number of the banknote required for authenticating the recognized serial number. The number attribute information includes number clipping conditions including a position of the serial number and a clipping size for each denomination and a character clipping ratio, character-font recognition information including a character font, and number recognition conditions including priority to predetermined position, size change, and presence of rotation. The type of the reflected image to be used corresponding to printed color of the banknote and color of the serial number can be stored as the number attribute information.
[0111] The "position of the serial number" in the number clipping conditions indicates the position of the serial number for recognizing the banknote, printed on the banknotes of the respective denominations. For example, it is indicated by a coordinate position of the serial number, using a predetermined position on the banknote (for example, upper left corner) as an origin. When a plurality of serial numbers are printed on the banknote, printing positions of all the serial numbers are stored. The "clipping size" indicates a clipping size of the serial number (character string) printed at the "position of the serial number". The "character clipping ratio" indicates an aspect ratio at the time of clipping a character forming the serial number in a segmentation process described later.
[0112] A character font used for the serial number of the banknote is stored in the "character font" in the character-font recognition information. An area in which the character-font recognition information is stored in the number-attribute information memory 131 corresponds to "font-recognition information memory" in the claims.
[0113] FIG. 3 is an example of the number recognition conditions. The number recognition conditions include respective items of "currency type", "denomination", "priority to predetermined position", "size change", and "rotation". It is set here with respect to respective denominations of the kinds of banknote whether respective items of "priority to predetermined position", "size change", and "rotation" are set.
[0114] "Currency type" indicates the type of currency to be recognized by the paper sheet processing apparatus 10 installed. The banknotes are sorted by country or region such as US dollar, Euro, Japanese yen, Chinese yuan, and Singapore dollar as the currency type. The "denomination" is an item indicating kinds of the banknote in a certain country or region. For example, the denominations of Japanese yen are the kinds of banknotes sorted as 1,000-yen note, 2,000-yen note, 5,000-yen note, and 10,000-yen note.
[0142] The operating unit 15 sets the number attribute information in the number-attribute information memory 131 (number clipping conditions, character-font recognition information, and number recognition conditions), the authentification conditions in the authentification condition memory 132, and the counterfeit-note serial numbers in the counterfeit note number memory 133 in the paper sheet processing apparatus 10. Specifically, when the authentification conditions are input by the user based on the setting screen of the authentification conditions displayed on the display unit 14, the operating unit 15 stores the input authentification conditions in the authentification condition memory 132 of the number recognizing unit 13. When the serial-number recognition information is input by the user based on the setting screen of the serial-number recognition information, the operating unit 15 stores the serial-number recognition information in the number-attribute information memory 131 of the number recognizing unit 13. Further, when the counterfeit-note serial number is input by the user based on the setting screen of the counterfeit note number information, the operating unit 15 stores the counterfeit-note serial number in the counterfeit note number memory 133 of the number recognizing unit 13. At the time of normal operation, the operating unit 15 is used when processing of the paper sheet processing apparatus 10 or processing for operation control (selection of various modes such as processing start, counting, or fitness sorting) is performed. The operating unit 15 corresponds to "recognition-condition setting unit" and "authentification-condition setting unit" in the claims.
[0144] The communication I/F unit 18 performs a communication function via a communication line between the paper sheet processing apparatus 10 and an information processing terminal. When the paper sheet processing apparatus 10 is connected to another information processing terminal, the paper sheet processing apparatus 10 is normally connected to a higher-ranking apparatus via the communication line. The higher-ranking apparatus can set the number attribute information in the number-attribute information memory 131, the authentification conditions in the authentification condition memory 132, and the counterfeit-note serial number in the counterfeit note number memory 133.
[0150] Thereafter, the image processing unit 134 in the number recognizing unit 13 clips a serial number portion of the banknote from the image acquired at Step S12 corresponding to conditions set in the number attribute information (number clipping conditions and number recognition conditions) stored in the number-attribute information memory 131 and a condition set in the item of priority to predetermined position of the authentification conditions stored in the authentification condition memory 132, and clips the respective characters constituting the serial number (Step S14). The image processing unit 134 of the number recognizing unit 13 then changes the character size of the serial number on the banknote according to the conditions set in the item of size change in the number recognition conditions (Step S15). The character recognizing unit 135 in the number recognizing unit 13 then performs the serial-number recognizing process for recognizing the respective characters in the clipped or, according to circumstances, size-changed serial number (Step S16). When "NO" is set in the size change, the size changing process is not performed.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 3, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the memory stores correspondence information between an attribute of the banknote and the at least one specific digit, and
the controller sets the at least one specific digit based on the attribute of the banknote to be subjected to matching, as taught by Hamasaki, in Sasaki’s banknote handling system for the purpose of recognizing and authenticating banknotes based not only on banknote serial numbers, but also banknote serial number characteristics/attributes such as size, font, color and location on the banknote, etc., thus increasing the likelihood of finding a counterfeit banknote.
Regarding Claim 4, see the rejection of Claim 3, above.
Regarding Claim 5, see the rejections of Claims 1 and 3, above.
Regarding Claim 6, see the rejections of Claims 1 and 3, above, noting the setting screens (D1 and D2) as shown in figures 10 and 11 of Sasaki and the operating unit (15) of Hamasaki, both of which enable a user to set the characteristics of the banknote and serial number to be searched.
Regarding Claim 7, see the rejection of Claim 3, above.
Regarding Claim 15, Sasaki does not expressly teach
wherein the code includes a plurality of digits for a string of numbers and a digit of a letter, the at least one specific digit consists of the predetermined number of digits including the lowest digit in the string of numbers, and
the controller screens for the digits for numbers in the code of the banknote read by the recognition circuit sequentially from the lowest digit to higher digits, and sets the predetermined number of digits from the digit for a number first found, as the at least one specific digit.
Regarding Claim 15, Sasaki does not expressly teach, but Hamasaki teaches
wherein the code includes a plurality of digits for a string of numbers and a digit of a letter, as illustrated in figure 7, the at least one specific digit consists of the predetermined number of digits including the lowest digit in the string of numbers, noting the serial number in Figure 7 has a zero (0) and a one (1) digit along with a letter “A”, and
the controller (19), as illustrated in figure 1, screens for the digits for numbers in the code of the banknote read by the recognition circuit (11) sequentially from the lowest digit to higher digits, and sets the predetermined number of digits from the digit for a number first found, as the at least one specific digit, as illustrated in figures 9-11.
Regarding Claim 17, see the rejection of Claims 1, 3 and 15, above.
Regarding Claim 18, see the rejection of Claims 1, 3 and 15, above.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al (US 2015/325073 A1) in view of Hamasaki et al (US 2010/0202680 A1) and further in view of Yamaguchi et al (US 2012/0243056 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Sasaki teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 16, Sasaki does not expressly teach
wherein the controller does not set the at least one specific digit in a case where there is an unreadable digit before the digit for a number is found in the screening.
Regarding Claim 16, Sasaki does not expressly teach, but Yamaguchi teaches
wherein the controller, i.e., processing side control unit (23) and management side control unit (38) as illustrated in figure 2, does not set the at least one specific digit in a case where there is an unreadable digit, i.e., a serial number in which a digit shift has occurred as illustrated in figures 3-7, before the digit for a number is found in the screening, as illustrated in figure 12.
Regarding Claim 16, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the controller does not set the at least one specific digit in a case where there is an unreadable digit before the digit for a number is found in the screening, as taught by Yamaguchi, in Sasaki’s banknote handling system for the purpose of recognizing and authenticating banknotes based on partially read banknote serial numbers, thus increasing the likelihood of finding a counterfeit banknote.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Richardson ‘938 is cited as teaching a partial serial number string of a partially unreadable serial number checking routine, as mentioned at col. 11, lines 15-35 and as illustrated in figures 1-4.
Oumi ‘755 is cited as teaching when a portion of a serial number of a banknote is found to contain unreadable characters, i.e., “[w]hen the number of unread characters included in the serial number acquired by the serial number acquisition unit is less than a predetermined number of characters, the control unit stores the serial number acquired by the serial number acquisition unit in the serial number storage unit. The banknote transaction apparatus according to claim 1, wherein it is determined whether or not the serial number matches.”
Goto ‘288 is cited as teaching a character recognition process as mentioned at paragraph 9 and as illustrated in figures 1a-10.
Jones ‘020 is cited as teaching upon a portion of a serial number being unreadable, the document processing system “ can perform such searches according to one or more different searching criteria. For example, the document processing system 100 can perform a basic-wildcard-placeholder search or an expanded-wildcard-placeholder search”, as mentioned at col. 139, lines 47-65, for example. See also figure 12E and col. 144, lines 17-45, which states as follows.
(517) Now referring to FIG. 12E, in response to an operator activating or selecting the difference button 1290d (FIG. 12D), the document processing system or device (such as via a searching algorithm) performs a secondary search according to a modified set of parameters. According to some embodiments, the secondary search according to the modified set of parameters is a 1-degree-of-freedom search. Yet, according to other embodiments, the secondary search according to the modified set of parameters is a 1-wildcard-exact-match search. As shown in FIG. 12E, two records 1201e.sub.1 and 1201e.sub.2 are shown as 1-degree matches for a 1-degree-of-freedom search. According to some embodiments, the first record 1201e.sub.1 at least includes a serial number snippet 1230e.sub.1 and an extracted serial number 1240e.sub.1. The operator can visually compare the target serial number 1241d with the serial number snippet 1230e.sub.1 and/or the extracted serial number 1240e.sub.1 to determine if the target serial number 1241d in fact matches one or both of the serial number snippet 1230e.sub.1 and the extracted serial number 1240e.sub.1 or if a typographical or OCR error might have occurred. As illustrated in the example in FIG. 12E, the extracted serial number 1240e.sub.1 in the first record 1201e.sub.1 is identical to the target serial number except for a difference in the value of the character in the first character position--the first character in the target serial number being a "C" and the first character in the extracted serial number field 1240e.sub.1 being a "G". Thus, first the record 1201e.sub.1 includes the extracted serial number 1240e.sub.1 that has one deviant character, which under the 1-degree-of-freedom search results in a 1-degree match.
Emphasis provided.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
January 6, 2026