DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 12/09/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 09/10/2025. Claims 4, 6-7 and 9-12 have been amended. Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-13 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 2-13 have been considered but are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument for Independent Claim 9:
However, even if Ishizuka's paragraph 0005's discussion: "each of the plurality of terminal apparatuses being connected to one of a plurality of networks managed by a plurality of communication carriers" is considered, Ishizuka does not disclose "from a plurality of communication devices each belonging to a different telecommunications carriers... that are managed by each of the telecommunications carriers" as recited in Claim 9, because "terminal apparatuses" as disclosed in paragraph [0005] of Ishizuka do not indicate or correspond to "a plurality of communication devices" as recited in Claim 9. Accordingly, the combination of Jain and Ishizuka does not disclose or suggest the above-noted feature of claim 9.
Response for Independent Claim 9:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, the Office no longer relies on the combination of Jain and Ishizuka and instead introduces the combination of Jain and Xing (US 2013/0178225 A1).
Jain teaches forming multiple directional beams, acquiring terminal-distribution information for the respective beam directions, and determining beam allocation times based on the distribution (¶0078-¶0083, ¶0087, ¶0096-¶0099).
Xing teaches a centralized controller acquiring UE information from respective network entities associated with different telecommunications operators/carriers (¶0055-¶0058).
Argument for Independent Claim 11:
As noted above, the rejection against claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is moot in view of the amendment where the feature of claim 9 that is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) is included into claim 11.
Response for Independent Claim 11:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the amendment(s) made on the independent claims, the Office no longer relies on the combination of Jain and Ishizuka and instead introduces the combination of Jain and Xing (US 2013/0178225 A1).
Jain teaches forming multiple directional beams, acquiring terminal-distribution information for the respective beam directions, and determining beam allocation times based on the distribution (¶0078-¶0083, ¶0087, ¶0096-¶0099).
Xing teaches a centralized controller acquiring UE information from respective network entities associated with different telecommunications operators/carriers (¶0055-¶0058).
Argument for Independent Claims 12:
However, a disclosure(s) of "[t]he reception processing unit 14 receives a signal froi the terminal 20, and performs reception processing..." at paragraph [0050] of Hasegawa and a disclosure(s) of "the wireless communication device 1 enables the multiple communication peer devices 2-1, 2-2, and 2-3 to share beam information representing how beams are used by the multiple communication peer devices 2-1, 2-2, and 2-3, with which the wireless communication device 1 is communicable" at paragraph [0038] of Hasegawa do not disclose beam information received by a reception processing unit 14, because the "signal from the terminal 20" as disclosed at paragraph [0050] of Hasegawa is not associated with the "beam information" as disclosed at paragraph [0038] of Hasegawa. Accordingly, Hasegawa fails to disclose or suggest the above-noted feature of claim 12.
Response for Independent Claim 12:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 2-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Argument for Independent Claims 13:
However, a disclosure(s) of "a beam forming control unit 3 that controls the direction of radio waves transmitted or received by the antenna unit 2" and "The beam forming control unit 3 ... can form a beam in a specific direction for each antenna element group. Thus, the phase shift amount is determined, and the variable phase shifter 22 is controlled based on the determined phase shift amount" in the abstract of Tsumochi do not disclose a beam forming control unit 3 that controls a variable phase shifter 22 so as to form one of a plurality of beams in accordance with beam time information received by an antenna unit 2, because the "determined phase shift amount" as disclosed in the abstract of Tsumochi is not associated with the "beam time information" as recited in claim 13.Thus, Tsumochi fails to disclose or suggest the above-noted feature of claim 13.
Response for Independent Claim 13:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 2-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hreha et al. (US 2018/0006714 A1), Hreha hereinafter.
Re. Claim 12, Hreha teaches a communication device comprising: a receiver that receives beam time information that indicates allocation time allocated to each of a plurality of beams that are formed by a wireless communication device, (Fig. 34 & ¶0133 - FIG. 34 is a flowchart describing one embodiment of a process for operating a satellite that includes performing time domain beam hopping for the plurality of spot beams including implementing a beam hopping plan that during a hopping period provides throughput to first spot beam for an aggregated time duration based on bandwidth assignments of the gateway and subscriber terminals in that spot beam. In step 902, the system will determine demand over time for the subscriber terminals. This can be performed at the network control center … For example, the network control center will transmit the hopping plans to the satellite when the satellites pass over or by the network control center. These hopping plans are received by the satellites and stored in the memory for the satellites. In step 916, each satellite will update or otherwise change its current hopping plan so that a new hopping plan is implemented at the appropriate time or times);
the allocation time being decided based on distribution information that indicates a distribution of a plurality of terminal devices that perform wireless communication with the wireless communication device; (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0113 - each of satellites 302-322 provide a plurality of spot beams as the satellites move across the planet surface. In order to perform the time domain beam hopping, the spot beams are divided into hopping groups … In step 672, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 0 (see FIG. 18), only sending power and making gateway connection to the predetermined subset of beams in each group … In step 676, the satellite will communicate during epoch 1, only sending power to a predetermined set of beams in each hopping group according to the hopping plan …In step 680, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 2, only sending power to a predetermined subset of beams in each hopping group. This process will continue for each epoch, as depicted in FIG. 18, until the last epoch (designated as epoch N in FIG. 18). ¶0131 - As discussed above, the hopping plan assigns different epochs to different beams of the hopping group. Thus, the system can allocate different amounts of throughput to each beam of the hopping group, where the amount of throughput allocated corresponds to the number of epochs assigned to the particular beam of the hopping group);
and processor circuitry configured to perform scheduling, based on the beam time information received by the receiver, transmission timing with respect to the plurality of terminal devices by using one of the plurality of beams (¶0131 - In one embodiment, the amount of throughput (the amount of epochs) assigned to each hopping beam is based on demand of users within the coverage area during a given hopping period ... In that situation, the allocation of throughput to a spot beam can be based on the throughput needs of the gateway in the spot beam as well as the subscriber terminals in the spot beams. ¶0133 - In step 904, based on the beam map, gateways are assigned to various hopping groups. In step 906, the system determines the bandwidth needs of the service links (communication with subscriber terminals) based on the demand over time of the subscriber terminals … In step 912, a hopping beam plan will be created for the multiple/different hopping periods … In step 916, each satellite will update or otherwise change its current hopping plan so that a new hopping plan is implemented at the appropriate time or times. Fig. 37 & ¶0142 - In step 1004, gateway processor 992 determines (calculates or looks up in a database) new hopping plan(s) for the spot beams based on updated terminals and the beams. Fig. 36 & ¶0141 - For example, FIG. 36 shows gateway 984 communicating messages A, B, C and D. Because the timing of the transmission of the messages (in light of the hopping plan), message A and message B will be transmitted from the satellite 201 to subscribe terminal ST while subscriber ST is in spot beam 980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (US 2012/0026987), Jain hereinafter, and further in view of Xing et al. (US 2013/0178225 A1), Xing hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Jain teaches a wireless communication system comprising: (Fig.1 & ¶0043);
a wireless communication device that is capable of forming a plurality of beams each facing a different direction; (Fig. 3 & ¶0060 - As can be seen in FIG. 3B, the beams formed by the AP may overlap. Of course, the beam pattern may comprise beams which do not overlap. As described above, the AP may be configured to change a direction in which the beam is pointing. Thus, the AP in FIG. 3B may first send and/or receive communications via beam S.sub.1, then via beam S.sub.2, etc … The AP may instead change directions in any order, or may randomly select a direction in which to point. Please also see ¶0052 and ¶0061);
wherein the communication control device includes processor circuitry configured to perform: acquiring distribution information that indicates a distribution of a plurality of terminal devices that perform wireless communication with the wireless communication device: (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0073 - FIG. 6 illustrates an aspect of a system 600 having STAs 6A-6F located in plurality of receive beam directions 0-5 … One or more of the STAs 6A-6F may be implemented as described with respect to FIG. 2, as may the AP illustrated in FIG. 6. ¶0074 - As can be seen in FIG. 6, the STAs 6A-6C are located in receive beam direction 0, the STA 6D is located in receive beam direction 2, and the STAs 6E and 6F are located in receive beam direction 3 … the STAs may be distributed among the receive beam directions in any multitude of configurations. In addition, other receive beam patterns may be utilized besides those illustrated in FIG. 6. ¶0078 - At block 706, the AP updates a data structure including receive beam directions. The data structure may include information regarding whether any apparatuses are located in each of the receive beam directions, a quantity of apparatuses in the receive beam directions, or device IDs of apparatuses located in each of the receive beam directions, for example. Please also see ¶0079);
deciding, based on the acquired distribution information, allocation time that is allocated to each of the plurality of beams: (Fig. 9 & ¶0076 - In one aspect, the AP is configured to allocate time during the access period 404 to receive communications from one or more of the receive beam directions based at least in part on information regarding apparatuses known to be located in the receive beam directions. ¶0096 - … the length or duration of each of the Access Periods is based on a number or quantity of apparatuses known to be located in the respective receive beam direction associated with the Access Period … In some aspects, the larger the number of apparatuses known to be located in a receive beam direction, the longer the corresponding access period will be. Fig. 11 & ¶0097 - Each of the Access Periods 0, 2, and 3 in the access period 404c are illustrated as having a duration that is proportional to the number of STAs in the corresponding receive beam direction);
and generating beam time information that indicates the decided allocation time for each beam: and a transmitter that transmits the beam time information generated by the processor circuitry to the wireless communication device, (Fig. 7 & ¶0087 - Returning to FIG. 7, the AP may transmit an allocation of time to one or more of the apparatuses known to be located in at least one of the receive beam directions. The time allocations may be determined by the processing system 204 of the AP, and may be determined utilizing any number of methods. In some aspects, the time allocations may be transmitted in the beacon, and may refer to a division of the access period 404 during which the AP will receive communications from one or more of the apparatuses. ¶0091 - Thus, the allocation of time transmitted by the AP may be indicated by a receive beam direction, which may indicate to an apparatus that the AP will receive communications via the apparatus's receive beam direction for a period of time. ¶0111 - By way of example, the processing system executing code, the transmitter, and/or the antenna, alone or in combination, may in some aspects provide means for transmitting, for example means for transmitting an allocation of time for one or more of a plurality of receive beam directions. Please also see ¶0099);
Yet, Jain does not explicitly teach and a communication control device that controls the wireless communication device, wherein the acquiring includes acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices each belonging to a different telecommunications carriers, the distribution information on the plurality of terminal devices that are managed by each of the telecommunications carriers.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly teaches and a communication control device that controls the wireless communication device, (Fig. 4 & ¶0083 - The eNB 22 collects measurements from its own UEs 20 for sending toward the master MME 24 and allocates to its UEs 20 the resources in the unlicensed band according to the allocation decision made by the master MME 24. There is also a data and/or control path S1-MME coupling the eNB 22 to the mobility management entity 24. ¶0060 - The master MME 410a-1 has the extended functionality to perform the coordination decisions, such as by executing an algorithm for this functionality. The coordination algorithms include admission control, resource control, and so forth);
wherein the acquiring includes acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices each belonging to a different telecommunications carriers, the distribution information on the plurality of terminal devices that are managed by each of the telecommunications carriers (¶0055 - As an overview, the necessary information for the multiple operator coordination process itself is done at one CN, which FIG. 4 identifies as the master CN which is operator A. Also shown at FIG. 4 as operator B and operator C are two other CNs. Inside the master CN, there is a central multiple-operator coordination unit (CMOCU 410a-1) which is merged into one or several of the MMEs 410a-2 and HSSs 408-a. The extended function of MME 410a-1 mentioned above realizes the coordination algorithms, and the extended function of the HSS 408a is to collect and store the necessary information for that coordination which the MME puts into effect. ¶0057 - Information collection, storage and update. In each operator network the necessary information is collected by that CN's respective MME 410a-1 (or 410a-2/410b/410c) through different tunnels S1-MME, and stored (and updated) at the respective HSS 408a/408b/408c. Please see ¶0057-¶0058 and ¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Xing to the teaching of Jain. The motivation would be because wireless radio network operators need to enable sufficient data rates for individual users to utilize different and evolving types of services, and to preserve quality of service as the density of users increase. Together this is seen as network capacity, and given the rapid expansion of data volume and service types now available over wireless networks. Maintaining sufficient network capacity is seen to be a critical challenge going forward (Xing, ¶0029).
Re. Claim 2, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Jain further teaches the acquiring includes acquiring the distribution information that indicates a number of a plurality of terminal devices that are located in respective directions of the plurality of beams (Fig. 3, 6-7, 9, 11 & ¶0078 - At block 706, the AP updates a data structure including receive beam directions. The data structure may include information regarding whether any apparatuses are located in each of the receive beam directions, a quantity of apparatuses in the receive beam directions, or device IDs of apparatuses located in each of the receive beam directions, for example. Please also see ¶0079-¶0083).
Re. Claim 3, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Jain further teaches the deciding includes deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams so as to be proportional to the number of a plurality of terminal devices for each beam (Fig. 3, 6-7, 9, 11 & ¶0096 - … the length or duration of each of the Access Periods is based on a number or quantity of apparatuses known to be located in the respective receive beam direction associated with the Access Period … In some aspects, the larger the number of apparatuses known to be located in a receive beam direction, the longer the corresponding access period will be. ¶0097 - Each of the Access Periods 0, 2, and 3 in the access period 404c are illustrated as having a duration that is proportional to the number of STAs in the corresponding receive beam direction).
Re. Claim 11, Jain teaches a communication control device comprising: processor circuitry configured to perform: (Fig. 2, 19);
acquiring, by using one of a plurality of beams formed by a wireless communication device, (Fig. 3 & ¶0060 - As can be seen in FIG. 3B, the beams formed by the AP may overlap. Of course, the beam pattern may comprise beams which do not overlap. As described above, the AP may be configured to change a direction in which the beam is pointing. Thus, the AP in FIG. 3B may first send and/or receive communications via beam S.sub.1, then via beam S.sub.2, etc … The AP may instead change directions in any order, or may randomly select a direction in which to point. Please also see ¶0052 and ¶0061);
distribution information that indicates a distribution of a plurality of terminal devices that performs wireless communication with the wireless communication device; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0073 - FIG. 6 illustrates an aspect of a system 600 having STAs 6A-6F located in plurality of receive beam directions 0-5 … One or more of the STAs 6A-6F may be implemented as described with respect to FIG. 2, as may the AP illustrated in FIG. 6. ¶0074 - As can be seen in FIG. 6, the STAs 6A-6C are located in receive beam direction 0, the STA 6D is located in receive beam direction 2, and the STAs 6E and 6F are located in receive beam direction 3 … the STAs may be distributed among the receive beam directions in any multitude of configurations. In addition, other receive beam patterns may be utilized besides those illustrated in FIG. 6. ¶0078 - At block 706, the AP updates a data structure including receive beam directions. The data structure may include information regarding whether any apparatuses are located in each of the receive beam directions, a quantity of apparatuses in the receive beam directions, or device IDs of apparatuses located in each of the receive beam directions, for example. Please also see ¶0079);
deciding, based on the acquired distribution information, allocation time that is allocated to each of the plurality of beams; (Fig. 9 & ¶0076 - In one aspect, the AP is configured to allocate time during the access period 404 to receive communications from one or more of the receive beam directions based at least in part on information regarding apparatuses known to be located in the receive beam directions. ¶0096 - … the length or duration of each of the Access Periods is based on a number or quantity of apparatuses known to be located in the respective receive beam direction associated with the Access Period … In some aspects, the larger the number of apparatuses known to be located in a receive beam direction, the longer the corresponding access period will be. Fig. 11 & ¶0097 - Each of the Access Periods 0, 2, and 3 in the access period 404c are illustrated as having a duration that is proportional to the number of STAs in the corresponding receive beam direction);
and generating beam time information that indicates the decided allocation time for each beam; and a transmitter that transmits the beam time information generated by the processor circuitry to the wireless communication device, (Fig. 7 & ¶0087 - Returning to FIG. 7, the AP may transmit an allocation of time to one or more of the apparatuses known to be located in at least one of the receive beam directions. The time allocations may be determined by the processing system 204 of the AP, and may be determined utilizing any number of methods. In some aspects, the time allocations may be transmitted in the beacon, and may refer to a division of the access period 404 during which the AP will receive communications from one or more of the apparatuses. ¶0091 - Thus, the allocation of time transmitted by the AP may be indicated by a receive beam direction, which may indicate to an apparatus that the AP will receive communications via the apparatus's receive beam direction for a period of time. ¶0111 - By way of example, the processing system executing code, the transmitter, and/or the antenna, alone or in combination, may in some aspects provide means for transmitting, for example means for transmitting an allocation of time for one or more of a plurality of receive beam directions. Please also see ¶0099);
Yet, Jain does not explicitly teach wherein the acquiring includes acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices each belonging to a different telecommunications carriers, the distribution information on the plurality of terminal devices that are managed by each of the telecommunications carriers.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly teaches wherein the acquiring includes acquiring, from a plurality of communication devices each belonging to a different telecommunications carriers, the distribution information on the plurality of terminal devices that are managed by each of the telecommunications carriers (¶0055 - As an overview, the necessary information for the multiple operator coordination process itself is done at one CN, which FIG. 4 identifies as the master CN which is operator A. Also shown at FIG. 4 as operator B and operator C are two other CNs. Inside the master CN, there is a central multiple-operator coordination unit (CMOCU 410a-1) which is merged into one or several of the MMEs 410a-2 and HSSs 408-a. The extended function of MME 410a-1 mentioned above realizes the coordination algorithms, and the extended function of the HSS 408a is to collect and store the necessary information for that coordination which the MME puts into effect. ¶0057 - Information collection, storage and update. In each operator network the necessary information is collected by that CN's respective MME 410a-1 (or 410a-2/410b/410c) through different tunnels S1-MME, and stored (and updated) at the respective HSS 408a/408b/408c. Please see ¶0057-¶0058 and ¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Xing to the teaching of Jain. The motivation would be because wireless radio network operators need to enable sufficient data rates for individual users to utilize different and evolving types of services, and to preserve quality of service as the density of users increase. Together this is seen as network capacity, and given the rapid expansion of data volume and service types now available over wireless networks. Maintaining sufficient network capacity is seen to be a critical challenge going forward (Xing, ¶0029).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain and Xing, as applied to Claims 2-3, 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Breynaert et al. (US 2020/0044725 A1), Breynaert hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Yet, Jain and Xing do not explicitly teach the acquiring includes acquiring the distribution information that indicates an amount of traffic of the plurality of terminal devices that are located in the respective directions of the plurality of beams.
However, in the analogous art, Breynaert explicitly teaches the acquiring includes acquiring the distribution information that indicates an amount of traffic of the plurality of terminal devices that are located in the respective directions of the plurality of beams (Fig. 5 & ¶0078 - The concept of a satnet is also shown, which is a set of terminals and their associated traffic, which belong to one contour and one carrier. Multiple satnets can belong to the same contour, e.g. through different carriers. Fig. 7 & ¶0084 - Consider also that the demand in each contour is aggregated, normalized over the per hopper available capacity and then expressed in terms of hopping slots. For instance, in FIG. 7 an example Traffic demand frame is shown. A traffic demand frame is a table indicating per hopper how often a certain contour is requested in a scheduling frame … The (i,j).sup.th element of the table is filled with the contour number requesting traffic. Traffic requests come in randomly and the DHP calculation module is responsible for allocating contours to time slots as described in the present invention. Fig. 9-10 & ¶0085 - Typically, traffic demand is measured in the system on a per contour basis, by means of congestion monitored in each satnet. Please also see ¶0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Breynaert to the teachings of Jain and Xing. The motivation would be because the invention teaches acquiring traffic distribution information on a per-contour basis, where each satnet comprises of a set of terminals and their associated traffic, the traffic demand/congestion of the satnets is aggregated, and a traffic-demand vector indicates the normalized traffic demand associated with each contour (¶0078, ¶0084-¶0085, Breynaert).
Re. Claim 5, Jain, Xing and Breynaert teach Claim 4.
Yet, Jain and Xing do not explicitly teach the deciding includes deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams so as to be proportional to the amount of traffic of the plurality of terminal devices for each beam.
However, in the analogous art, Breynaert explicitly teaches the deciding includes deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams so as to be proportional to the amount of traffic of the plurality of terminal devices for each beam (Fig. 5, 7, 9-10 & ¶0007 - In case of flexible payloads, BH is time sharing the available power and bandwidth over multiple contours and is only limited by per hopper constraints and interference. The minimum time duration that a contour is being illuminated, is called a hopping slot (HS). A contour can be illuminated for any time duration equal to an integer multiple of the hopping slot. ¶0085 - If a hopping period (HP) has 64 slots, the number of requested slots per HP for the i-th contour of the n-th hopper is SD(i)=64*TD(i) … An algorithm to allocate a number of slots to hopping scheduling frames starts from SD(i) and allocates in a round robin fashion one slot per HSF. Examiner interprets the slot demand formula in ¶0085 looks at how much data traffic a specific area (contour) needs and converts that percentage into actual time slots, thus deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams to be proportionate to the amount of traffic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Breynaert to the teachings of Jain and Xing. The motivation would be because the invention teaches allocating beam illumination time in hopping slots, and determining the number of hopping slots allocated to each contour based on its traffic demand according to SD(i)=64*TD(i) (¶0007, ¶0084-¶0085, Breynaert).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain and Xing, as applied to Claims 2-3, 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0012692 A1), Kim hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Yet, Jain and Xing do not explicitly teach the deciding includes deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams in accordance with a priority of the plurality of terminal devices for each beam.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly teaches the deciding includes deciding the allocation time allocated to each of the beams in accordance with a priority of the plurality of terminal devices for each beam (Fig. 7-8 & ¶0049 - The base station may set beams corresponding to BIs in favor with a number of UE devices to beams with high priority, based on BI information that UE devices have fed back during the previous time slot. The BI information that UE devices have fed back during the previous time slot may be information fed back according to embodiments referring to FIGS. 2 to 8. ¶0050 - The second method is advantageous because it can allocate high priority to beams which have a high preference of UE devices and thus operate beams more efficiently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kim to the teachings of Jain and Xing. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a method and a device for selecting and allocating a transmission beam index having a priority (Abstract, Kim).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain and Xing, as applied to Claims 2-3, 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Reddy (US 2002/0159403 A1), Reddy hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Yet, Jain and Xing do not explicitly teach the deciding includes sequentially setting each of slots included in a predetermined range to an attention slot, and deciding a beam to be allocated to the attention slot such that an allocation rate for each beam approaches a target allocation rate.
However, in the analogous art, Reddy explicitly teaches the deciding includes sequentially setting each of slots included in a predetermined range to an attention slot, and deciding a beam to be allocated to the attention slot such that an allocation rate for each beam approaches a target allocation rate (Fig. 3-5 & ¶0026 - New seeds are selected for each downlink time division slot time. The seeds are by default selected in a round-robin method across a pre-configured (per slot) sequential downlink cell range having traffic appropriate to the data rate and slot. ¶0029 - Search Mode 0 confines the search to search region 0 where the search continues sequentially, in a round-robin manner until the time slot period expires or until all spot beams have been assigned 48, as shown in FIG. 4, using the beam assignment algorithm 52 as depicted in FIG. 5. ¶0013 - Another advantage provided by the present invention is that it provides the capability to perform weighted fair queuing in that each destination cell can be statistically weighted by means of a pre-configured search order, and multiplicity of cell ID entries. The statistical weighting is performed in addition to finding a mutually compatible set of destination cells per time slot (mutually compatible in terms of physical properties and resources). Additionally, cell ID prioritization is achieved per time slot basis where various size groups of cell IDs can have unique bandwidth allocations in multiples of time slots and/or first search priority. Please also see ¶0030-¶0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Reddy to the teachings of Jain and Xing. The motivation would be because the invention thus achieves an efficient spot beam hopping packet scheduler system with statistical weighting and prioritization capabilities while accommodating resource competing links such as wireless hopped spot beams (¶0013, Reddy).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain and Xing and Reddy, as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Kaikkonen et al. (US 2019/0081740 A1), Kaikkonen hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Jain and Xing and Reddy teach Claim 7.
Yet, Jain and Xing and Reddy do not explicitly teach the deciding includes determining whether or not a slot included in a retransmission available section that includes slots located between immediately after a precedence slot and the attention slot is allocated to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot that precedes the attention slot by the maximum amount of time for which retransmission of data is allowable, and allocating, when the slot included in the retransmission available section is not allocated to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot, the attention slot to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot.
However, in the analogous art, Kaikkonen explicitly teaches the deciding includes determining whether or not a slot included in a retransmission available section that includes slots located between immediately after a precedence slot and the attention slot is allocated to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot that precedes the attention slot by the maximum amount of time for which retransmission of data is allowable, (¶0072 - The UE 110 may be configured by gNB 170 (or the network) to ignore the secondary beam pair link if the PDCCH, for which HARQ feedback is received within a predetermined number of slots (for example, 3 slots) before secondary PDCCH, is transmitted at a maximum predetermined number of slots (for example, 4 slots) before secondary PDCCH. ¶0085 - The UE 110 may be configured with parameters (which may also be defined in specifications) M and N where M stands for the maximum time between the transmission of the NR-PDCCH transmitted via “primary” beam and the next time instance the NR-PDCCH is configured to (should) be monitored from the “secondary” beam, and N stands for the maximum time between the transmission of UL PUCCH carrying HARQ ACK/NACK corresponding to the NR-PDCCH transmitted via “primary beam and the next time instance the NR-PDCCH is to be monitored from the “secondary” beam. Please also see ¶0073-¶0074);
and allocating, when the slot included in the retransmission available section is not allocated to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot, the attention slot to the same beam as that allocated to the precedence slot (¶0073 - In instances in which gNB 170 transmits NR-PDCCH (+NR-PDSCH) via primary BPL 230 within a predetermined number of slots (for example, arbitrary constant n slots) and HARQ feedback is received within a predetermined number of slots (for example, arbitrary constant m slots) calculated from the slot number configured to monitor NR-PDCCH on a different BPL, the gNB 170 may ignore the monitored NR-PDCCH pattern and may schedule UE 110 using primary BPL 230 on that slot. This may be applied for both new transmission and retransmission (NACK 340 received from UE 110). ¶0074 - As shown at slots 9 and 14 in step 2 of FIG. 3, conditions may be fulfilled and the secondary beam may be ignored (indicated by 350 in FIG. 3) during continuous data transmission. In instances in which the secondary beam is ignored, the UE 110 may receive data on the primary beam and do nothing with respect to the secondary beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kaikkonen to the teachings of Jain and Xing and Reddy. The motivation would be because the invention provides systems and methods may provide a relationship between HARQ feedback timing and monitoring pattern (¶0073, Kaikkonen).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain and Xing, as applied to Claims 2-3, 9 and 11 above, and further in view of Timus (US 2007/0081468 A1), Timus hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, Jain and Xing teach Claim 9.
Yet, Jain and Xing do not explicitly teach the processor circuitry is further configured to request the plurality of communication devices to execute a notification of the distribution information with a predetermined period.
However, in the analogous art, Timus explicitly teaches the processor circuitry is further configured to request the plurality of communication devices to execute a notification of the distribution information with a predetermined period (¶0004 - … the control unit 105 controls the resource allocation at the access point 103 connected to the control unit. This control is managed by algorithms in subunits 205, 206 in the control unit 105. For this purpose, the control unit requests measurement information from the access point 103 regarding the links 102 associated with the access point 103. ¶0005 - A common practice is that each subunit 205, 206 in the control unit 105 requests its own measurements necessary for its algorithm from the access point 103 on a per link basis. The measurement requests, sent by the control unit 105, specify the type of measurements to send and with which frequency they should be sent. In response, the access point 103 compiles so called periodic measurement reports, which are sent to the subunits 205, 206 in the control unit 105 at the requested frequency comprising the requested measurements. Different types of periodic measurement reports could be sent at different frequencies depending on what is being reported).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Timus to the teachings of Jain and Xing. The motivation would be because the invention deals with a system, method and control unit for controlling the periodic reporting of measurements in a communication system from an access point (103) to a control unit (105) over a control interface (104) (Abstract, Timus).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hreha, and further in view of Wyckoff et al. (US 2021/0273700 A1), Wyckoff hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Hreha teaches a wireless communication device comprising: (Fig. 18-19, 34, 36-37 & ¶0113, ¶0132-¶0133);
a receiver that receives beam time information that indicates allocation time allocated to each of the plurality of beams, (Fig. 34 & ¶0133 - FIG. 34 is a flowchart describing one embodiment of a process for operating a satellite that includes performing time domain beam hopping for the plurality of spot beams including implementing a beam hopping plan that during a hopping period provides throughput to first spot beam for an aggregated time duration based on bandwidth assignments of the gateway and subscriber terminals in that spot beam. In step 902, the system will determine demand over time for the subscriber terminals. This can be performed at the network control center … For example, the network control center will transmit the hopping plans to the satellite when the satellites pass over or by the network control center. These hopping plans are received by the satellites and stored in the memory for the satellites. In step 916, each satellite will update or otherwise change its current hopping plan so that a new hopping plan is implemented at the appropriate time or times);
the allocation time being decided based on distribution information that indicates a distribution of a plurality of terminal devices that perform wireless communication with the wireless communication device; (Fig. 18-19 & ¶0113 - each of satellites 302-322 provide a plurality of spot beams as the satellites move across the planet surface. In order to perform the time domain beam hopping, the spot beams are divided into hopping groups … In step 672, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 0 (see FIG. 18), only sending power and making gateway connection to the predetermined subset of beams in each group … In step 676, the satellite will communicate during epoch 1, only sending power to a predetermined set of beams in each hopping group according to the hopping plan …In step 680, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 2, only sending power to a predetermined subset of beams in each hopping group. This process will continue for each epoch, as depicted in FIG. 18, until the last epoch (designated as epoch N in FIG. 18). ¶0131 - As discussed above, the hopping plan assigns different epochs to different beams of the hopping group. Thus, the system can allocate different amounts of throughput to each beam of the hopping group, where the amount of throughput allocated corresponds to the number of epochs assigned to the particular beam of the hopping group);
in accordance with the beam time information received by the receiver (¶0113 - each of satellites 302-322 provide a plurality of spot beams as the satellites move across the planet surface. In order to perform the time domain beam hopping, the spot beams are divided into hopping groups … In step 672, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 0 (see FIG. 18), only sending power and making gateway connection to the predetermined subset of beams in each group … In step 676, the satellite will communicate during epoch 1, only sending power to a predetermined set of beams in each hopping group according to the hopping plan …In step 680, the satellite will enable communication during epoch 2, only sending power to a predetermined subset of beams in each hopping group. This process will continue for each epoch, as depicted in FIG. 18, until the last epoch (designated as epoch N in FIG. 18). Please also see ¶0133).
Yet, Hreha does not explicitly teach a plurality of antenna elements; a phase shifter that is provided in each of the plurality of antenna elements and that is capable of forming a plurality of beams each facing a different direction; and processor circuitry that controls the phase shifter so as to form one of the plurality of beams
However, in the analogous art, Wyckoff explicitly teaches a plurality of antenna elements; (Fig. 1, 3 & ¶0011 - An antenna system can be arranged as a phased-array antenna system that includes a plurality of antenna elements. ¶0013 - The antenna system 10 can correspond to a phased-array antenna system … ¶0014 - The element carrier signals ES are provided to a respective plurality N of antenna elements 16 that can be formed in an array (e.g., a beamforming array). As described in greater detail herein, the antenna elements 16 can each be configured to transmit a respective element signal via a radiating element in a phase-shifted and/or amplified manner relative to each other to implement beamforming);
a phase shifter that is provided in each of the plurality of antenna elements and that is capable of forming a plurality of beams each facing a different direction; (¶0018 - In the example of FIG. 1, the antenna elements 16 each include an element adjustment circuit 24. … The element adjustment circuit 24 can include a respective at least one of a phase-shifter and a variable gain amplifier (VGA) to adjust the phase and/or amplitude of the respective element carrier signal ES based on the analog signal(s) to generate the respective element signal. ¶0019 -Each of the beams B.sub.1 through B.sub.Y can be formed in this manner to allow beams associated with different data signals (e.g., the data signals DS.sub.1 through DS.sub.Y) to be transmitted simultaneously in different directions from the antenna system 10 via the antenna elements 16. Please also see ¶0026-¶0028);
and processor circuitry that controls the phase shifter so as to form one of the plurality of beams (Fig. 3 & ¶0028 - In the example of FIG. 3, the element adjustment circuit 102 includes at least one DAC. In the example of FIG. 3, the at least one DAC includes a first DAC 104, demonstrated as “PH-DAC”, and a second DAC 106, demonstrated as “A-DAC”. The first DAC 104 is configured to convert the phase portion Φ.sub.X of the combined beamforming data signal Φ.sub.X into a first analog signal ALG.sub.1. In the example of FIG. 3, the first analog signal ALG.sub.1 is provided to a phase-shifter 108 that is configured to modulate the respective element carrier signal ES.sub.X based on the first analog signal ALG.sub.1. As an example, the phase-shifter 108 can be configured as a vector modulator, such that the phase-shifter 108 can provide a phase-shift of the respective element carrier signal ES.sub.X based on the phase information associated with the phase portion (D.sub.X of the combined beamforming data signal ΦA.sub.X. Please also see ¶0015-¶0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Wyckoff to the teaching of Hreha. The motivation would be because the invention describes a multi-beam antenna system with a baseband digital signal processor (¶0002, Wyckoff).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tarlazzi et al. (US 2016/0135175 A1) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-4.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465