DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 06/04/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 3, 8, and 11 have been amended. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-13 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-13 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 20250126990 A1 – hereinafter Pu) in view of Yang et al. (US 20230209926 A1 – hereinafter Yang-926).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pu teaches
(Currently Amended) A display panel ([Title] – “Display Substrate And
Preparation Method Thereof, And Display Device”), comprising:
a substrate (10 – Fig. 6 – [0078] – “substrate 10”), wherein the substrate (10)
comprises a display area (100 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “display area 100”) and a pad
area (200 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “bonding area 200” – this corresponds to the pad area);
a thin-film transistor (TFT) structure (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – [0079] – “The transistor may include a gate electrode G, a first electrode S and a second electrode D” – hereinafter ‘TFT’) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein the TFT structure (TFT) is located in the display area (100);
a bonding line (201 – Fig. 6 – [0140] – “first bonding electrode 201”) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein the bonding line (201) is located in the pad area (200);
a bonding pad disposed on a side of the bonding line away from the substrate, wherein the bonding pad comprises a second bonding part and a thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen, the second bonding part is disposed on a side of the bonding line away from the substrate, the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is disposed on a side of the second bonding part away from the bonding line, the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is formed by oxygenation of a surface of the second bonding part away from the bonding line by oxygen, and a thickness of the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is less than 500 Å and ; and
a luminescent functional layer (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EL’) disposed on a side of the TFT structure (TFT) away from the substrate (10).
Pu does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Yang-926 teaches
a bonding pad (400 – Fig. 4 – [0054] – “pads 400, which are regions to which an electronic device, a printed circuit board, or the like may be electrically connected, may be disposed on the peripheral area PA” – this describes a bonding pad) disposed on a side of the bonding line (1102 – Fig. 11 – [0059] – “Each connection wire 1100 may include a first portion 1101, which extends in a direction to electrically connect the signal line to the pad 400, and a second portion 1102, which is arranged at an end portion of the first portion 1101” – this is interpreted as a bonding line) away from the substrate (100 – Fig. 11 – [0062] – “substrate 100”), wherein the bonding pad (400) comprises a second bonding part (403 – Fig. 10 – [0102] – “pad metal layer 403 may include Cu, Al, Pt, Pd, Ag, Mg, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Li, Ca, or Mo” – this corresponds to the second bonding part) and a thin film (404 – Fig. 10 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – this can be aluminum oxide) for blocking moisture and oxygen (element 600 is used to block moisture and oxygen from the OLED in the display area [0082] – “the organic light-emitting diode OLED may be easily damaged by external moisture, oxygen, or the like, an encapsulation layer 600 may cover the organic light-emitting diode OLED to protect the same. The encapsulation layer 600 may cover the display area DA and extend to an outer side of the display area DA” – this is interpreted that the device is subject to damage from moisture and oxygen therefor the pad, element 400, must also be protected from moisture and oxygen, therefore elements included in 400, such as element 403, are for protecting i.e. blocking moisture and oxygen), the second bonding part (403) is disposed on a side of the bonding line (1102) away from the substrate (100), the thin film (404 – Fig. 10 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – this can be aluminum oxide) for blocking moisture and oxygen is disposed on a side of the second bonding part (403) away from the bonding line (1102), the thin film (404) for blocking moisture and oxygen is formed by oxygenation of a surface of the second bonding part (403 – [0114] – “the pad metal layer 403 and the first metal oxide layer 404 include the same metal element (e.g., the first metal), an interface of the pad metal layer 403 and the first metal oxide layer 404 may be identified using the oxygen content. For example, when components are analyzed in a direction (a +z direction) from the pad metal layer 403 to the first metal oxide layer 404, a section in which the oxygen content increases may correspond to the first metal oxide layer 404” – this is interpreted as aluminum oxide, element 404, is formed by oxygenation of the surface of the aluminum layer 403) away from the bonding line (1102) by oxygen, and a thickness of the thin film (404) for blocking moisture and oxygen is less than 500 Å ([0113] – “thickness t4 of the first metal oxide layer 404 may be less than about 50 Å”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the second bonding part and the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen structure as taught by Yang-926 into Pu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yang-926 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0004] – “to solve several problems including the aforementioned one and provides a display apparatus of which the occurrence of defects during the manufacture of the display apparatus is reduced.” Protecting the device from moisture and oxygen includes protecting the pad from moisture and oxygen to prevent defect occurring in the pad area.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Regarding claim 2, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 1, wherein the luminescent
functional layer (EL) comprises an anode layer (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘111’), the anode layer (111) is connected to the TFT structure (TFT), and the anode layer (111 – [0165] – “the material of the first anode layer 31-1 may be metal titanium (Ti), and the material of the second anode layer 31-2 may be metal aluminum (Al)”) and the bonding pad (112 – ({(202 – [0145 – “(the second bonding electrode) may include a titanium nitride (TiN) layer, an aluminum-copper (AlCu) layer and a titanium nitride layer”}, {[0149] – “second bonding pad layer 220 may be a metal material of high conductivity, such as copper (Cu) or aluminum (Al)”} – 112 contains 202 and 220 that contain the same material, (Al) and (Ti)) have same material.
Regarding claim 3, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 2 from which claim 3 depends. Pu further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 2, wherein the
bonding pad further (112) comprises a first [[a]] bonding part (202 – Fig. 6 – [0104] – “bonding electrode 202”), (210 – fig. 6 – [0106] – “bonding pad layer 210”), the first bonding part (202) is disposed on a side of the bonding line (201) close to the TFT structure (TFT), the second bonding part (220) is disposed on a side of the first bonding part (202) away from the bonding line (201), the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is disposed on a side of the second bonding (220) part away from the first bonding part (202), the third bonding part (210) is disposed on a side of the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen away from the second bonding part (220), and the anode layer (111) comprises a first anode sub-layer (31-1 – Fig. 15 – [0169] – “first anode layer 31-1”), a second anode sub-layer (31-2 – Fig. 15 – [0169] – “second anode layer 31-2”), a thin film for insulating ((31-3 – Fig. 15 – {[0166] – “third anode thin film”}, {[0172] – “the third anode thin film may be titanium nitride (TiN). Titanium nitride has the characteristics of high thermal hardness, good toughness, good chemical stability, excellent corrosion and oxidation resistance”} – this is interpreted as insulating against moisture and oxygen) moisture and oxygen, and a third anode sub-layer (31-4 – Fig. 15 – [0169] – “fourth anode layer 31-4”) sequentially disposed on the TFT structure (TFT).
Pu does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 3.
However, in an analogous art, Yang-926 teaches
the thin film for blocking (404) moisture and oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen structure as taught by Yang-926 into Pu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yang-926 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 3 from which claim 4 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 3, wherein an orthographic
projection of first anode sub-layer (31-1) on the substrate (10) covers an orthographic projection of the second anode sub-layer (31-2) on the substrate (10 – Fig. 15 shows this).
Regarding claim 5, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 3 from which claim 5 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 3, wherein the first bonding part
(202) and the first anode sub-layer (31-1 – [0165] – “first anode layer 31-1 may be metal titanium (Ti)”) comprise same material, and the material of the first bonding part (201 – {[0141] – “first bonding electrode 201 may be located in the second conductive layer, the third conductive layer, the fourth conductive layer, the fifth conductive layer or the sixth conductive layer”}, {[0143] – “The first to sixth metal layers may be made of a metal material, such as silver (Ag), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), molybdenum (Mo), or the like”} – 201 is an electrode and therefore a metal layer) comprises one of indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, Mo, Ni, Nb, or Ti.
Regarding claim 6, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 3 from which claim 6 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 3, wherein the second bonding
part (220) and the second anode sub-layer (31-2 – [0165] – “second anode layer 31-2 may be metal aluminum (Al)”) comprise same material, and the material of the second bonding part (220 – [0149] – “second bonding pad layer 220 may be a metal material of high conductivity, such as copper (Cu) or aluminum (Al)”) comprises a mixture of Al, Ni, Cu, and LA, or comprises an Al alloy.
Regarding claim 7, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 3 from which claim 7depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 3, wherein the third anode sub-
layer (31-4 – {[0175] – “the first bonding pad layer 210 of the bonding area 200 and the fourth anode layer 31-4 of the display area 100 are disposed in a same layer and formed synchronously by a same patterning process”}, {[0070] – ““disposed in a same layer” refers to structures formed by patterning two (or more than two) structures through a same patterning process, and their materials may be the same or different”}) and the third bonding part (210) comprise same material, and the material of the third bonding part (210 – [0173] - the fourth anode thin film may be indium tin oxide (ITO) – 210 is the fourth anode thin film) comprises indium tin oxide.
Regarding claim 8, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 3 from which claim 8 depends. Pu further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 3, wherein a material
of the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen (404) and a material of
the thin film for insulating ([0173] – “the fourth anode thin film may be indium tin oxide (ITO)) moisture and oxygen comprise metal oxide (404 – Fig. 10 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – this can be aluminum oxide).
Regarding independent claim 11, Pu teaches
(Currently Amended) A method of manufacturing a display panel
([Title] – “Display Substrate And Preparation Method Thereof, And Display Device”), comprising a plurality of following steps:
providing a substrate (10), wherein the substrate (10) comprises a display area (100 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “display area 100”) and a pad area (200 – Fig. 6 – [0074] – “bonding area 200” – this corresponds to the pad area);
forming a thin-film transistor (TFT) structure (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – [0079] – “The transistor may include a gate electrode G, a first electrode S and a second electrode D” – hereinafter ‘TFT’) and bonding line (201 – Fig. 6 – [0140] – “first bonding electrode 201”) on the substrate (10), wherein the TFT structure (TFT) is located in the display panel (100), and the bonding line (201) is located in the pad area (200); and
forming a bonding pad (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – [0074] – hereinafter ‘112’) and a luminescent functional layer (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘EL’) on the substrate (10), wherein the bonding pad (112) is disposed on the bonding line (201), the bonding pad comprises a second bonding part and a thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen, the second bonding part is disposed on a side of the bonding line away from the substrate, the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is disposed on a side of the second bonding part away from the bonding line, the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is formed by oxygenation of a surface of the second bonding part away from the bonding line by oxygen, and a thickness of the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen is less than 500 Å and the luminescent functional layer (EL) is disposed on the TFT structure (TFT).
Pu does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Yang-926 teaches
the bonding pad (400 – Fig. 4 – [0054] – “pads 400, which are regions to which an electronic device, a printed circuit board, or the like may be electrically connected, may be disposed on the peripheral area PA” – this describes a bonding pad) comprises a second bonding part (403 – Fig. 10 – [0102] – “pad metal layer 403 may include Cu, Al, Pt, Pd, Ag, Mg, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Li, Ca, or Mo” – this corresponds to the second bonding part) and a thin film (404 – Fig. 10 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – this can be aluminum oxide) for blocking moisture and oxygen (element 600 is used to block moisture and oxygen from the OLED in the display area [0082] – “the organic light-emitting diode OLED may be easily damaged by external moisture, oxygen, or the like, an encapsulation layer 600 may cover the organic light-emitting diode OLED to protect the same. The encapsulation layer 600 may cover the display area DA and extend to an outer side of the display area DA” – this is interpreted that the device is subject to damage from moisture and oxygen therefor the pad, element 400, must also be protected from moisture and oxygen, therefore elements included in 400, such as element 403, are for protecting i.e. blocking moisture and oxygen), the second bonding part (403) is disposed on a side of the bonding line (1102) away from the substrate (100), the thin film (404 – Fig. 10 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – this can be aluminum oxide) for blocking moisture and oxygen is disposed on a side of the second bonding part (403) away from the bonding line (1102), the thin film (404) for blocking moisture and oxygen is formed by oxygenation of a surface of the second bonding part (403 – [0114] – “the pad metal layer 403 and the first metal oxide layer 404 include the same metal element (e.g., the first metal), an interface of the pad metal layer 403 and the first metal oxide layer 404 may be identified using the oxygen content. For example, when components are analyzed in a direction (a +z direction) from the pad metal layer 403 to the first metal oxide layer 404, a section in which the oxygen content increases may correspond to the first metal oxide layer 404” – this is interpreted as aluminum oxide, element 404, is formed by oxygenation of the surface of the aluminum layer 403) away from the bonding line (1102) by oxygen, and a thickness of the thin film (404) for blocking moisture and oxygen is less than 500 Å ([0113] – “thickness t4 of the first metal oxide layer 404 may be less than about 50 Å”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the second bonding part and the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen structure as taught by Yang-926 into Pu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yang-926 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 11 from which claim 12 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the luminescent
functional layer (EL) comprises an anode layer (Fig. 6 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘111’), and the step of forming the bonding pad (112) and the luminescent functional layer (EL) comprises a following step:
forming the anode layer (111) and the bonding pad (112) on the substrate (10) by a single mask process ([0193 and 0194] – [0193] – “forming the pattern of the pixel definition layer may include: coating a pixel definition thin film on the base substrate on which the above structures are formed, and forming a pattern of a pixel definition layer (PDL) 32 by masking, exposure and development process. The pixel definition layer 32 is formed in the display area 100, and the pixel definition layer 32 of each sub-pixel is provided with a pixel opening that exposes the anode 31 of each sub-pixel, as shown in FIG. 17, [0194] – “After this patterning process, the film layer structure of the bonding area 200 do not change” – hereinafter ‘SMP’), wherein the anode layer (111) is connected to the TFT structure (TFT), the bonding pad (112) is disposed on a side of the bonding line (201) away from the substrate (10), the bonding pad (112) comprises a first bonding part (202 – Fig. 6 – [0104] – “bonding electrode 202”), a second bonding part (220 – Fig. 6 – [0105] – “second bonding pad layer 220”), and the third bonding part (210 – fig. 6 – [0106] – “bonding pad layer 210”), the anode layer (111) comprises a first anode sub-layer (31-1 – [0165] – “first anode layer 31-1 may be metal titanium (Ti)”), a second anode sub-layer (31-2 – Fig. 15 – [0169] – “second anode layer 31-2”), a thin film for insulating (31-3 – Fig. 15 – {[0166] – “third anode thin film”}, {[0172] – “the third anode thin film may be titanium nitride (TiN). Titanium nitride has the characteristics of high thermal hardness, good toughness, good chemical stability, excellent corrosion and oxidation resistance”} – this is interpreted as insulating against moisture and oxygen) moisture and oxygen, and a third anode sub-layer (31-4 – Fig. 15 – [0169] – “fourth anode layer 31-4”) sequentially disposed on the TFT structure (TFT).
Regarding claim 13, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 12 from which claim 13 depends. Pu further teaches
(Original) The method of claim 12, wherein the step of forming the
anode layer (111) and the bonding pad (112) on the substrate (10) by the single mask process (SMP) comprises a plurality of following steps:
sequentially forming a first conductive metal layer (460 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “a pad auxiliary layer forming layer 460 may be formed on an upper portion of the substrate 100”) and a second conductive metal layer (470 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “pad metal layer forming layer 470”) on the substrate (100 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “substrate 100”);
oxidizing a surface of the second conductive metal layer (470 – [0093] – “the pad metal layer forming layer 470 may be easily oxidized”) away from the first conductive metal layer (460) to form a blocking layer (404 – Fig. 7 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – 403 equates to layer 470 as shown in Fig. 7);
forming a third conductive metal layer on the blocking layer (Fig. 17 – this is
on layer 20 but not described for layer 30 – hereinafter ‘BL’); and processing the first conductive metal layer, the second conductive metal layer (20 – Fig. 17 – [0078] – “drive structure layer 20” – this contains the conductive metal layers), the blocking layer (BL), and the third conductive blocking layer (32 – Fig. 17 – [0101] – “pixel definition layer 32”) by a single mask process (SMP) to form the first anode sub-layer (31-1), the second anode sub-layer (31-2), the thin film for blocking moisture and oxygen, and the third anode sub-layer (31-4) sequentially stacked on the thin-film structure (TFT) and the first bonding part (202), the second bonding part (220), the thin-film for insulating (230) moisture and oxygen, and the third bonding part (210) sequentially stacked on the bonding line (201).
Pu does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 13.
However, in an analogous art, Yang-926 teaches
sequentially forming a first conductive metal layer (460 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “a pad auxiliary layer forming layer 460 may be formed on an upper portion of the substrate 100”) and a second conductive metal layer (470 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “pad metal layer forming layer 470”) on the substrate (100 – Fig. 6 – [0087] – “substrate 100”);
oxidizing a surface of the second conductive metal layer (470 – [0093] – “the pad metal layer forming layer 470 may be easily oxidized”) away from the first conductive metal layer (460) to form a blocking layer (404 – Fig. 7 – [0113] – “first metal oxide layer 404 may include metal oxide including first metal, and the first metal may be a metal element included in the pad metal layer 403” – 403 equates to layer 470 as shown in Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming sequence as taught by Yang-926 into Pu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Yang-926 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu in view of Yang-926 and Jo et al. (US 20190348485 A1 – hereinafter Jo).
Regarding claim 9, Pu, as modified by Yang-926, teaches claim 2 from which claim 9 depends. Pu and Yang-926 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
However, in an analogous art, Jo teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 2, wherein the display panel
comprises a passivation layer (163 – Fig. 5 – [0103] – “insulating layer 163” – this corresponds to the passivation layer), a planarization layer (172 – [0116] – “second via layer 172” – this corresponds to the planarization layer), a first opening (Fig. 5 annotated, see below, this corresponds to h1, hereinafter ‘h1’), and a second opening (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – [0117] – “a contact hole passing through the second via layer 172” – hereinafter ‘h2’), the passivation layer (163) is disposed on the substrate (101 – Fig. 5 – [0086] – “base substrate 101”), the planarization layer (172) is disposed on a side of the passivation layer (163) away from the substrate (101), the first opening (h1) penetrates the passivation layer (163) and exposes at least part of a surface of the bonding line away (120b – Fig. 5 – [0100] – “first pad electrode 120b” – this corresponds to the bonding line) from the substrate (101), the bonding pad (PE) is connected to the bonding line (120b) by the first opening (h1), the second opening (h2) penetrates the planarization layer (172) and the passivation layer (163) and exposes part of a surface of the TFT structure (TFT – Fig. 5 annotated, see below – [0090] – “thin-film transistor TFT”), and the anode layer (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – [0117] – “the anode 150 may have a multilayer structure of ITO/Mg, ITO/MgF, ITO/Ag, or ITO/Ag/ITO”) is connected to the TFT structure (TFT) by the second opening (h2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the ITO moisture and blocking structure of Jo into Pu and Yang-926.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the know technique of Jo in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable results of [0003] - "A display
device is a device that is configured to visually display data. Such a display device includes a substrate divided into a display area DA and a non-display area NDA. Pixels are on the substrate in the display area DA, and pads or the like are on the substrate in the non-display area NDA. A driving circuit is mounted on the pads to transmit driving signals to the pixels."
Regarding claim 10, Pu, as modified by Yang-926 and Jo, teaches claim 9 from which claim 10 depends. Pu further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel of claim 9, wherein the TFT
structure (Fig. 4 – [0079] – “The transistor may include a gate electrode G, a first electrode S and a second electrode D” – hereinafter ‘TFT’) comprises an active
layer ([0124] – “The pattern of the active layer may at least include a first active layer of a first transistor” – hereinafter ‘AL’), a gate (G), a source (S), and a drain (D), and the bonding line (201 – Fig. 6 – [0140] – “first bonding electrode 201”), the source (S), and the drain (D) are disposed on a same layer (Fig. 6 shows this).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20180190742 A1 is cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "a pad area".
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897