DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 07/07/2023 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of full statutory term of prior patent No. 11,558,585 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/18/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-9, Applicant argues that the prior does not teach “marking a zone within an image frame of the recorded video as a valid location for a tee box of the golf hole and detecting when activity occurs in the zone using an AI enabled camera positioned near the tee box.”
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Tetens at least in [0015] wrote:
[0015] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 300 illustrating a method of evaluating a national closest to the pin contest. In block 302, the remotely located computing device activates camera 24 upon activation of the contest by a player. Camera 24 is a globe-enclosed camera mounted on a pole that is place to the side of the green. Generally, the pole is approximately fifteen to twenty feet tall. At block 304, the remotely located computing device instructs camera 24 to scan the tee box and focus on the participant as he or she tees off. After tee off, the computing device passes to block 306 and instructs camera 24 to scan green 12 for the ball as it breaks the plane of green 12. Camera 24 detects the ball. After the ball comes to a rest, the camera records the image of the resting ball at block 308. At block 310, the computing device measures the distance the ball is from hole 16. At block 312, the computing device determines whether the ball measurement is a winning ball. If the ball is a winning ball, the computing device passes to block 314 and stores the image and the measurement. If, however, the ball is not a winning ball, the computing device passes to block 316 and deletes the recorded image and the measurement. It should be noted that a player can access the video recording of their shot. For example, video clips can be accessed via the internet.
(emphasis added)
Examiner submits that, “camera 24 to scan the tee box” means the camera 24 captures and at least records the captured image temporarily to detect some event, in this case at least an event of a player’s presence or an event of a player teeing off to focus on, in a certain determined area within the image around the tee box. As such, the camera must determine where in the image to scan for the event. Determining such an area is marking a zone within an image frame of the recorded video as a valid location for a tee box of the golf hole, for example, a zone in the image showing the sky with a bird flying as not valid vs. a zone around a tee box to detect and focus on a player as he or she tees off as valid.
Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens et al. (US 2005/0192124 A1 – hereinafter Tetens), Tyomkin (US 2021/0089761 A1 – hereinafter Tyomkin), Tsukaya et al. (US 2020/0059705 A1 – hereinafter Tsukaya), and Haberman et al. (US 8,006,261 B1 – hereinafter Haberman).
Regarding claim 1, Tetens discloses a method for autonomously providing digital media comprising: detecting a presence of golfers at a golf hole on a golf course ([0015] – detecting presence of a golfer to focus on); receiving an input to initiate a video recording of the golfers using a remote media system (RMS) located near the golf course, the input to initiate the video recording received from a network media processor and service (NMS) communicatively coupled to a remote media system (RMS) comprising a camera and located remote to the RMS without use of a mobile application ([0010]; [0015] – a remote media system (RMS) comprising a camera as shown as element 20 in Fig. 1 receives an input to initiate a video recording from a remote located computing device, which is a network media processor and service (NMS)); marking a zone within an image frame of the recorded video as a valid location for a tee box of the golf hole and detecting when activity occurs in the zone using a camera positioned near the tee box ([0015] – the camera scans the image of the tee box to detect a player to focus on, thus determining an area within the image as a valid location for the detection – also see “Response to Arguments” above); automatically recording the golfers present on the golf hole of the golf course using a camera positioned near a tee box of the golf hole in response to detecting the golfer near the tee box ([0015] – automatically recording the golfer by the camera in response to the golfer near the tee box).
Tetens does not disclose camera is an AI enabled camera; following recording, and extracting segments of the recorded video unique to each of the golfers and combining the segments into separate composite videos for each of the golfers using at least one of the RMS and the NMS;.
Tyomkin discloses a camera is an AI enabled camera ([0299]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Tyomkin into the method taught by Tetens to intelligently track the golfer and to pan, tilt, and zoom at least one camera to get an optimum angle for viewing the golfer for each of the at least one cameras viewing the golfer so that a better viewing angle can be provided.
Tetens and Tyomkin do not disclose extracting segments of the recorded video unique to each of the golfers and combining the segments into separate composite videos for each of the golfers using at least one of the RMS and the NMS.
Tsukaya discloses extracting segments of recorded video unique to each of performers and combining the segments into separate composite videos for each of the performers using at least a media system (Figs. 6A-6C; [0205]-[0212]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Tsukaya into either the RMS or the NMS of the method taught by Tetens and Tyomkin to effectively create promotional video with good appearance for each player (Tsukaya: [0011]).
Claims 2, 7-8, 12, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kaps.
Regarding claim 2, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose detecting object movement within a grid of the golf hole and sending radar data to the NMS for additional processing using a radar unit positioned near the golf hole.
Kaps discloses detecting object movement within a grid of a golf hole ([0020]; [00290] – detecting, by a radar unit positioned near a golf hole as shown in Fig. 7, object movement to generate motion sensor data) and sending radar data to an NMS for additional processing using a radar unit positioned near the golf hole ([0239]-[0240]; Fig. 1 – sending sensor data to an NMS, which is a computer or comprises computers, for synchronizing the sensor data with video data).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kaps into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to supplement and synchronize the video content with motion data for later analysis.
Regarding claim 7, Tetens discloses a system for autonomously providing digital media comprising: a remote media system (RMS) located at a golf course having a golf hole ([0010]; [0015] – a remote media system (RMS) comprising a camera as shown as element 20 in Fig. 1 located at a golf course having a golf hole 16); the RMS including a camera positioned near a tee box of the golf hole ([0010]; [0015] – the RMS having a camera 24 positioned near a tee box 14 of the golf hole) and configured to automatically record golfers present on the golf hole ([0015] – automatically recording by the cameras a golfer when he or she is present on the golf hole when instructed by a remotely located computing device), the RMS configured to receive an input to initiate a video recording of the golfers, wherein the input to initiate the video recording is received from a network media processor and service (NMS) communicatively coupled to the RMS and located remote to the RMS ([0010]; [0015] – the RMS receives an input to initiate a video recording of the golfer from a remotely located computing device which is a network media processor and service), the camera configured to mark a zone within an image frame of the recorded video as a valid location for a tee box of the golf hole and detect when activity occurs in the zone using a camera positioned near the tee box ([0015] – the camera scans the image of the tee box to detect a player to focus on, thus determining an area within the image as a valid location for the detection – also see “Response to Arguments” above).
Tetens does not disclose camera is an AI enabled camera; and to extract segments of the recorded video unique to each of the golfers and combine the segments into separate composite videos for each of the golfers; and a radar unit positioned near the golf hole; the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Tyomkin discloses a camera is an AI enabled camera ([0299]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Tyomkin into the system taught by Tetens to intelligently track the golfer and to pan, tilt, and zoom at least one camera to get an optimum angle for viewing the golfer for each of the at least one cameras viewing the golfer so that a better viewing angle can be provided.
Tetens and Tyomkin do not disclose at least one of the RMS and the NMS configured to extract segments of the recorded video unique to each of the golfers and combine the segments into separate composite videos for each of the golfers; and a radar unit positioned near the golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Tsukaya discloses at least a media system configured to extract segments of recorded video unique to each of performers and combine the segments into separate composite videos for each of the performers (Figs. 6A-6C; [0205]-[0212]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the media system of Tsukaya into either the RMS or the NMS of the system taught by Tetens and Tyomkin to effectively create promotional video with good appearance for each player (Tsukaya: [0011]).
Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose a radar unit positioned near the golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose a radar unit positioned near the golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Kaps discloses a radar unit positioned near a golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole ([0020]; [0292] – detecting, by a radar unit positioned near a golf hole as shown in Figs. 7 and 13, object movement to generate motion sensor data) and to send radar data to an NMS for additional processing ([0239]-[0240]; Fig. 1 – sending sensor data to an NMS, which is a computer or comprises computers, for synchronizing the sensor data with video data).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kaps into the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to supplement and synchronize the video content with motion data for later analysis.
Regarding claim 8, Tetens also discloses the input to initiate the video recording is received without use of a mobile application ([0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Tetens also discloses the AI enabled camera is in communication with a clubhouse, wherein the clubhouse is configured to display live video or recorded video captured at the AI enabled camera in response to detecting the golfers at the clubhouse ([0015]).
Regarding claim 14, Tetens discloses a golf course comprising: a first golf hole of the golf course having a green, a tee box, and a hole with a flagstick positioned within the hole (Fig. 1; [0010] – a golf course comprising first hole 16 having a flagstick positioned within the hole, a green 12, and a tee box 14); a remote media system (RMS) located at a golf course having a golf hole ([0010]; [0015] – a remote media system (RMS) comprising a camera as shown as element 20 in Fig. 1 located at a golf course having a golf hole 16); the RMS including a camera positioned near a tee box of the golf hole ([0010]; [0015] – the RMS having a camera 24 positioned near a tee box 14 of the golf hole) and configured to automatically record a golfer present on the first golf hole ([0015] – automatically recording by the cameras a golfer when he or she is present on the golf hole when instructed by a remotely located computing device), the RMS configured to receive an input to initiate a video recording of the golfers, wherein the input to initiate the video recording is received from a network media processor and service (NMS) communicatively coupled to the RMS and located remote to the RMS ([0010]; [0015] – the RMS receives an input to initiate a video recording of the golfer from a remotely located computing device which is a network media processor and service), the camera configured to mark a zone within an image frame of the recorded video as a valid location for a tee box of the golf hole and detect when activity occurs in the zone using a camera positioned near the tee box ([0015] – the camera scans the image of the tee box to detect a player to focus on, thus determining an area within the image as a valid location for the detection – also see “Response to Arguments” above).
Tetens does not disclose camera is an AI enabled camera.
Tyomkin discloses a camera is an AI enabled camera ([0299]); and at least one of an RMS and an NMS configured following recording, to automatically zoom in or out on one or more frames of a recorded video or pan within one or more frames of the recorded video based on aspects of the video detected by an AI logic ([0211]-[0212]; [0215]; [0218]), the degree of zooming or panning automatically determined by the AI logic based on the aspects detected ([0243]-[0244]; [0299] - the AI logic performs the automatic zooming and the level of the automatic zooming is at least determined by the AI logic based on aspects having a desired object detected so that sufficient details are visible).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Tyomkin into the golf course taught by Tetens to intelligently track the golfer and to pan, tilt, and zoom at least one camera to get an optimum angle for viewing the golfer for each of the at least one cameras viewing the golfer so that a better viewing angle can be provided.
Tetens and Tyomkin do not disclose at least one of the RMS and the NMS configured to extract segments of the recorded video unique to each of the golfers and combine the segments into separate composite videos for each of the golfers; and a radar unit positioned near the first golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the first golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Tsukaya discloses at least a media system configured to extract segments of a recorded video unique to each of performers and combine the segments into separate composite videos for each of the performers (Figs. 6A-6C; [0205]-[0212]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the media system of Tsukaya into either the RMS or the NMS of the golf course taught by Tetens and Tyomkin to effectively create promotional video with good appearance for each player (Tsukaya: [0011]).
Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose a radar unit positioned near the first golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the first golf hole and to send radar data to the NMS for additional processing.
Kaps discloses a radar unit positioned near a golf hole, the radar unit configured to detect object movement within a grid of the golf hole ([0020]; [0292] – detecting, by a radar unit positioned near a golf hole as shown in Figs. 7 and 13, object movement to generate motion sensor data) and to send radar data to an NMS for additional processing ([0239]-[0240]; Fig. 1 – sending sensor data to an NMS, which is a computer or comprises computers, for synchronizing the sensor data with video data).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kaps into the golf course taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to supplement and synchronize the video content with motion data for later analysis.
Regarding claim 16, Tetens also discloses a communication interface configured to receive an input to activate a video recording of at least one of the golfers at the golf hole, wherein the video recording includes a plurality of images of the at least one of the golfers having objects within the images that are detectable using an AI logic ([0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Tetens also discloses a detection mechanism for detecting when at least one of the golfers is present on the tee box ([0015]).
Regarding claim 18, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Haberman, and Kaps as discussed in claim 14 above. Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Haberman, and Kaps do not explicitly disclose a second golf hole having a second green, a second tee box, and a second hole with a flagstick positioned within the second golf hole; and a second AI enabled camera positioned near the second tee box and configured to record a second one of the golfers present on the second golf hole, wherein the recording is in response to detecting the second one of the golfers near the second tee box.
It is well known in the art that a golf course comprising a plurality of holes. Thus, the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps with respect to the first hole are also applied to the second hole.
Regarding claim 19, Tetens in view of Tyomkin also discloses a clubhouse, wherein the clubhouse is in communication with the AI enabled camera, wherein the clubhouse is configured to display live video or recorded video captured at the AI enabled camera ([0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Tetens also discloses the clubhouse is configured to display recorded video in response to detecting the at least one of the golfers at the clubhouse ([0015]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hart (US 2009/0082139 A1 – hereinafter Hart).
Regarding claim 3, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose detecting the presence in response to motion detected.
Hart discloses detecting the presence in response to motion detected ([0100] – detecting motion crossing a geofence).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to facilitate detecting the golfer.
Regarding claim 4, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose detecting the presence in response to a geofence detected.
Hart discloses detecting a presence in response to a geofence detected ([0100]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to facilitate detecting the golfer.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chung et al. (US 2015/0127125 A1 – hereinafter Chung).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose detecting the presence in response to RFID detection.
Chung discloses detecting presence of a golfer in response to RFID detection ([0059]; [0097]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Chung into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to automatically detect the golfer without relying on the golfer to report to the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reed (US 2015/0077556 A1 – hereinafter Reed).
Regarding claim 6, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose deactivating recording in response to a loss of the detected presence.
Reed discloses deactivating recording in response to a loss of a detected presence ([0005]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Reed into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to automatically deactivate recording in response to detection of inactivity, thus avoiding useless recordings.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps as applied to claims 1-2, 7-8, 12, 14, and 16-20 above, and further in view of Lucas et al. (US 2014/0359060 A1 – hereinafter Lucas).
Regarding claim 10, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps as discussed in claim 7 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps do not disclose a QR golf code located near the tee box of the golf hole, the QR golf code having a unique graphic identifier encoded on a surface of the QR golf code to identify at least one of the golf course, the golf hole, the AI enabled camera and the tee box.
Lucas discloses a QR golf code located near the tee box of the golf hole, the QR golf code having a unique graphic identifier encoded on a surface of the QR golf code to identify at least one of the golf course, the golf hole, the AI enabled camera and the tee box ([0025]; Fig. 1 – a QR golf code located near a golf hole beside a teeing ground location, having a unique graphic identifier encoded on a surface of the QR golf code as shown in Fig. 1 to identify at least a golf hole).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lucas into the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps to facilitate accessing the media associated with the golfer ([0026]-[0027]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Kaps, and Lucas as applied to claims 1-2, 7-8, 10, 12, 14, and 16-20 above, and further in view of Yip.
Regarding claim 11, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Kaps, and Lucas as discussed in claim 10 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Kaps, and Lucas do not disclose the AI enabled camera is configured to record at least one of the golfers present on the golf hole in response to the at least one of the golfers capturing the QR golf code.
Yip discloses a camera is configured to record a player in response to the player capturing a QR game code ([0049]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Yip into the system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, Kaps, and Lucas to facilitate initiating the recording of the golfer when he or she is present on the golf hole.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps as applied to claims 1-2, 7-8, 12, 14, and 16-20 above, and further in view of Hart.
Regarding claim 13, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps as discussed in claim 7 above. Tetens in view of Tyomkin also discloses the RMS detects the golfer at the tee box of the golf hole and initiates activation of the AI enabled camera in response to detecting the golfer ([0015]).
However, Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps do not disclose the RMS includes a motion sensor configured to detect motion at the tee box of the golf hole.
Hart discloses Hart discloses detecting a golfer using a motion sensor ([0100] – detecting motion crossing a geofence).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hart into the RMS in system taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, Tsukaya, and Kaps to facilitate detecting the golfer.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2020/0042888 A1 – hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 21, see the teachings of Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya do not disclose at least a portion of the AI logic is stored within the AI enabled camera.
Yu discloses at least a portion of AI logic is stored within an AI enabled camera ([0052]; Figs. 6A-6B).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Yu into the method taught by Tetens, Tyomkin, and Tsukaya to make the AI camera system more compact, thus enhancing its mobility and making it easier for deployment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484