DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 04/29/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 9, and 13 have been amended. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/29/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee at al. (US 20070194699 A1 – hereinafter Lee-699) in view of Kim et al. (US 20160190225 A1 – hereinafter Kim-225) and Su et al. (US 20230200128 A1 – hereinafter Su).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee-699 teaches
(Currently Amended) A display panel (1 – Fig. 2 – [0068] – “display
apparatus 1”), comprising:
a base substrate (110 – Fig. 3 - [0071] – “substrate 110”);
an auxiliary electrode line (125 – Fig. 3 – [0072] – “auxiliary electrode line 125”)
disposed on the base substrate (110 – Fig. 3 shows this);
a planarization layer (160 – Fig. 3 – [0079] – “planarizing layer 160”) disposed
on a side of the auxiliary electrode line (125) away from the base substrate (110 – Fig. 3 - [0071] – “substrate 110”);
an auxiliary electrode disposed on a side of the planarization layer away from the auxiliary electrode line and electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line;
a pixel definition layer disposed on the side of the planarization layer away from the auxiliary electrode line, and provided with a first opening opposite to the auxiliary electrode, wherein at least part of a first lateral wall of the auxiliary electrode is exposed by the first opening;
an organic light-emitting layer disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the planarization layer to cover the pixel definition layer, and disconnected at the at least part of the first lateral wall to expose the at least part of the first lateral wall; and
a first electrode disposed on a side of the organic light-emitting layer away from the pixel definition layer to cover the organic light-emitting layer, wherein the first electrode is not disconnected in the first opening and comprises an electrode part in the first opening,
wherein the electrode part comprises a body, and a first branch portion branching off from the body to be electrically connected to the at least part of the first lateral wall; and
the organic light-emitting layer comprises a first disposed on the auxiliary electrode in the first opening, and the first portion of the organic light-emitting layer is contacted with the first branch and isolated from a remaining portion of the organic light-emitting layer by the first branch.
Lee-699 does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-225 teaches
an auxiliary electrode (175 – Fig. 2 – [0045] – “auxiliary electrode 175”) disposed on a side of the planarization layer (150 – Fig. 2 – [0045] – “protective layer 150” this layer is also planarized as shown in Fig. 2) away from the auxiliary electrode line (165 – Fig. 2 – [0045] – “an auxiliary line 165”) and electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line (165 – Fig. 2 shows this);
a pixel definition layer (180 – Fig. 2 – [0045] – “a bank 180”) disposed on the side of the planarization layer (150) away from the auxiliary electrode line (165), and provided with a first opening (Fig. 2 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘OPN’) opposite to the auxiliary electrode (175 – Fig. 2 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode opposite the auxiliary electrode line as taught by Kim-225 into Lee-699.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-225 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result to reduce [0015] – “a spatial limitation on any increase in the size of the auxiliary electrode 50 because the auxiliary electrode 50 needs to be provided in the same layer as the first electrode 40. Therefore, there is a limit to the extent to which the resistance of the second electrode 80 may be reduced.”
Lee-699 and Kim-225 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
wherein at least part of a first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 9 – [0116] – “first side surface 411 on a lateral side of the first auxiliary electrode 41”) of the auxiliary electrode (40 – Fig. 12 – [0068] – “auxiliary electrode 40”) is exposed by the first opening (K4 – Fig. 12 – [0125] – “pixel opening K4”);
an organic light-emitting layer (23 – Fig. 13a – [0068] – “organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer (22 – Fig. 13a – [0125] – “pixel definition layer 22”) away from the planarization layer (15 – Fig. 13a – [0082] – “planarization layer 15”) to cover the pixel definition layer (22), and disconnected at the at least part of the first lateral wall (411) to expose the at least part of the first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13a shows this); and
a first electrode (24 – Fig. 5 – [0062] – “cathode 24”) disposed on a side of the organic light-emitting layer (23) away from the pixel definition layer (22) to cover the organic light-emitting layer (23), wherein the first electrode (24) is not disconnected in the first opening (K4) and comprises an electrode (24) part in the first opening (K4 – Fig. 5 shows this),
wherein the electrode part (24) comprises a body (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bod’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23), and a first branch portion (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bch-1’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23) branching off from the body (24bod) to be electrically connected to the at least part of the first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13b annotated, see below show this); and
the organic light-emitting layer (23) comprises a first portion (32 – Fig. 5 – [0070] – “organic light emitting block 32 is disposed on a side of the auxiliary electrode 40 away from the base substrate, and the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on the auxiliary electrode (40) in the first opening (K4), and the first portion (32) of the organic light-emitting layer (23) is contacted with the first branch (24bch-1) and isolated ([0070] – “the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) from a remaining portion of the organic light-emitting layer (23) by the first branch (24bch-1 – Fig. 5 annotated, see below, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display substrate, including a drive circuit layer disposed on a base substrate and a light emitting structure layer disposed on a side of the drive circuit layer away from the base substrate, wherein the light emitting structure layer includes an anode, an organic light emitting layer, a cathode, and an auxiliary electrode, the organic light emitting layer is respectively connected to the anode and the cathode, and the cathode is connected to the auxiliary electrode; in a plane parallel to the display substrate, an edge of the auxiliary electrode is provided with a structure depressed towards a center of the auxiliary electrode.”
Regarding claim 8, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su teaches claim 1 from which claim 8 depends. Lee-699 and Kim-225 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 1, wherein a
slope angle of the first lateral wall (411) is greater than or equal to 90 degrees (Fig. 13b annotated, see above, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su teaches claim 1 from which claim 9 depends. Lee-699 and Kim-225 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel as claimed in claim 1, wherein at
least part of a second lateral wall (Fig. 5 annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘411-2’) of the auxiliary electrode (40) opposite to the first lateral wall (411) is exposed by the first opening (K4 – Fig. 5 annotated, shows this), and an orthogonal projection
of the auxiliary electrode (40) on the base substrate (10) is separate from an orthogonal projection of the pixel definition layer (22) on the base substrate (10);
the organic light-emitting layer (23) is disconnected at the at least part of the second lateral wall (411-2) to expose the at least part of the second lateral wall (411-2); and
the electrode part (24) further comprises a second branch portion (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bch-2’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23) branching off from the body to be electrically connected to the at least part of the second lateral wall (411-2); and
the first portion (32) of the organic light-emitting layer (23) is contacted with the second branch and isolated ( [0070] – “the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) from a remaining portion of the organic light-emitting layer (23) by the first branch (24bch-1) and the second branch (su (24bch-2 – Fig. 5 annotated, see above, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su, teaches claim 1 from which claim 10 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the display panel (1) further comprises a second electrode (171 – Fig. 3 – [0082] – “pixel electrode 171”) disposed on the planarization layer (160), the organic light-emitting layer (220 – Fig. 3 – [0083] – “light emitting device layer 220”) is located between the second electrode (171) and the first electrode (230), and the second electrode (171) and the auxiliary electrode (173) are disposed in a same layer (210 – Fig. 3 shows this).
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Kim-225, Su, and Lee et al. (US 20210408441 A1 – hereinafter Lee-441).
Regarding claim 2, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 1, wherein the
auxiliary electrode (120 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120”) comprises a first conductive layer (1201 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120 including a first metal layer 1201 and a second metal layer 1202 stacked”) and a second conductive layer (1202 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120 including a first metal layer 1201 and a second metal layer 1202 stacked”) that are stacked, and an orthogonal projection of one of the first conductive layer (1201) and the second conductive layer (1202) on the base substrate (100 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “substrate 100”) is within and has a less area ([0032] – “the second metal layer 1202 having a smaller area than the first metal layer 1201”) than an orthogonal projection of another one of the first conductive layer (1201) and the second conductive layer (1202) on the base substrate (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0007] – “to provide a display device capable of preventing lowering in a cathode voltage by the provision of an auxiliary connection portion and improving both the transmission efficiency of a transmissive portion and luminance of an emission portion in a structure having both the transmissive portion and the emission portion.”
Regarding claim 3, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 teaches claim 2 from which claim 3 depends. Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 2, wherein the
auxiliary electrode (120) further comprises a third conductive layer (1203 – Fig. 5 – [0042] – “auxiliary electrode 120 further includes a third metal layer 1203 formed on the second metal layer 1202”), the second conductive layer (1202) is located between the first conductive layer (1201) and the third conductive layer (1203 – Fig. 5 shows this), and an orthogonal projection of one of the second conductive layer (1202) and the third conductive layer (1203) on the base substrate (100) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of another one of the second conductive layer (1202) and the third conductive layer (1203) on the base substrate (100 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 teaches claim 3 from which claim 4 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the planarization layer (160).
Lee-699, Kim-225, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 6.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 3, wherein
the second conductive layer (42 – Fig. 5 – [0069] – “second auxiliary electrode 42 disposed on a side of the first auxiliary electrode 41 away from the base substrate”) is located on a side of the first conductive layer (41 – Fig. 5 – [0069] – “auxiliary electrode 41”) away from the planarization layer, and an orthogonal projection of the first conductive layer (41) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 – [0068] – “base substrate 10”) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of the second conductive layer (42) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 teaches claim 3 from which claim 6 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the planarization layer (160).
Lee-699, Kim-225, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 6.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 3, wherein
the second conductive layer (42) is located on a side of the first conductive layer away (41) from the planarization layer, and an orthogonal projection of the second conductive layer (42) on the base substrate (10) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of the third conductive layer (31 – Fig. 5 – [0080] – “connection electrode 31” – this is a third conductive layer) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Kim-225, Su, Lee-441, and Lee et al. (US 20160155790 A1 – hereinafter Lee-790).
Regarding claim 5, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 teaches claim 4 from which claim 5 depends. Lee-699, Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 5.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-790 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 4, wherein
each of the first conductive layer (213a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “the second conductive layer 212a and the third conductive layer 213a may include a light-transmissive conductive material including at least one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”) and the third conductive layer (212a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “the second conductive layer 212a and the third conductive layer 213a may include a light-transmissive conductive material including at least one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”) comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium doped zinc oxide (IZO), and the second conductive layer (211a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “first conductive layer 211a may include at least one of Ag”) comprises silver (Ag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Lee-790 into Lee-699, Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-790 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] – “an organic light-emitting display apparatus which is easy to manufacture and has excellent light-emitting stability, and a method of manufacturing the organic light-emitting display apparatus.”
Regarding claim 7, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 teaches claim 6 from which claim 7 depends. Lee-699, Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-790 teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 6, wherein
each of the first conductive layer (213a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “the second conductive layer 212a and the third conductive layer 213a may include a light-transmissive conductive material including at least one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”) and the third conductive layer (212a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “the second conductive layer 212a and the third conductive layer 213a may include a light-transmissive conductive material including at least one of indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO)”) comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium doped zinc oxide (IZO), and the second conductive layer (211a – Fig. 13 – [0062] – “first conductive layer 211a may include at least one of Ag, Mg, Al, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, and alloys thereof”) comprises aluminum (Al), tungsten oxide (WOx), or an aluminum alloy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Lee-790 into Lee-699, Kim-225, Su, and Lee-441.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-790 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 5.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Kim-225, Su, and You et al. (US 20120146030 A1 – hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 11, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su, teaches claim 10 from which claim 11 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the display panel (1),
the auxiliary electrode line (125).
Lee-699 and Kim-225 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 10, wherein
the display panel further comprises a transistor (101 – Fig. 5 – [0068] – “transistor 101 forming a pixel drive circuit”) disposed on the base substrate (10), the second electrode (21 – Fig. 5 – [0074] – “anode 21”) is located on a side of the transistor (101) away from the base substrate (10), the second electrode (21) is electrically connected to the transistor (101), and
the transistor (101) comprises an active layer (52 – Fig. 6 – [0097] – “active layer 52”), a gate electrode (53 – Fig. 6 – [0098] – “gate electrode 53”), a source electrode (54 – Fig. 6 – [0100] – “source electrode 54”), and a drain electrode (55 – Fig. 6 – [0100] – “drain electrode 55”); and
the display panel further comprises a bridge electrode, the auxiliary electrode (40) is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line through the bridge electrode, and the bridge electrode and at least one of the active layer, the gate electrode, the source electrode, or the drain electrode are disposed in a same layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, You teaches
a bridge electrode (21c – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “contact electrode 21c”), the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line through the bridge electrode (21c – [0040] – “contact electrode 21c may be electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode 11 via a contact hole”), and the bridge electrode (21c) and at least one of the active layer (213 – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “active layer 213”), the gate electrode (21g – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “gate electrode 21g”), the source electrode (21s – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “source electrode 21s”), or the drain electrode (21d – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “drain electrode 21d”) are disposed in a same layer (420 – Fig. 1 – [0041] – “pixel-defining layer (PDL) 420” – Fig. 1 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the bridge electrode structure as taught by You into Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of You in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of reducing [0008] -
"a complex manufacturing process, an increase in the manufacturing time, and an
increase in the manufacturing costs."
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Kim-225, Su, You, and Lee-441.
Regarding claim 12, Lee-699, as modified by Kim-225 and Su, teaches claim 11 from which claim 12 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the display panel (1),
the auxiliary electrode line (125).
Lee-699 and Kim-225 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 11, wherein
the display panel, further comprises a light-shielding layer (51 – Fig. 6 – [0096] – “barrier layer 51” – this corresponds to a light-shielding layer) disposed on the base substrate (10), the light-shielding layer (51) is disposed between the transistor (101) and the base substrate (10) to be opposite to the active layer (55), and the auxiliary electrode line and the light-shielding layer (51) are disposed in a same layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kim-225.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 11.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
the active layer, and the auxiliary electrode line and the light-shielding layer are disposed in a same layer ([0049] – “the ground voltage line VSSL can be formed of, for example, a metal on the same layer as a light blocking layer 110 (see FIG. 2), or can be formed of a metal on the same layer as the gate line or the data lines. Depending on circumstances, the ground voltage line VSSL and the auxiliary electrode 120 can be integrated” – the auxiliary electrode line VSSL is integrated into the auxiliary electrode 120 and is in the same layer as the light blocking layer 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to layer structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Kim-225, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of
Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of preventing [0005] - "lowering in the voltage at a region of an electrode formed as a single body for a plurality of subpixels distant from a region of the electrode to which a voltage is applied."
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Su and Kodama et al. (US 20160351848 A1 – hereinafter Kodama).
Regarding independent claim 13, Lee-699 teaches
(Currently Amended) An electronic device, comprising a housing and
a display panel (1 – Fig. 2 – [0068] – “display apparatus 1”) assembled in the housing ([0002] – “a display device assembled with the housing”), the display panel (1) comprising:
a base substrate (110 – Fig. 3 - [0071] – “substrate 110”);
an auxiliary electrode line (125 – Fig. 3 – [0072] – “auxiliary electrode line 125” disposed on the base substrate (110 – Fig. 3 shows this);
a planarization layer (160 – Fig. 3 – [0079] – “planarizing layer 160”) disposed on a side of the auxiliary electrode line (125) away from the base substrate (110);
an auxiliary electrode disposed on a side of the planarization layer (160) away from the auxiliary electrode line (125 – Fig. 3 shows this) and electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line (125);
a pixel definition layer (210 – Fig. 3 – [0082] – “partition 210 defines a pixel region” – this corresponds to a pixel definition layer) disposed on the side of the planarization layer (160) away from the auxiliary electrode line (125 – Fig. 3 shows this), and provided with a first opening opposite (K4 – Fig. 12 – [0125] – “pixel opening K4”) to the auxiliary electrode (40), wherein at least part of a first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13b annotated, see below show this) of the auxiliary electrode (40) is exposed by the first opening (K4);
an organic light-emitting layer (23 – Fig. 13a – [0068] – “organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer (22 – Fig. 13a – [0125] – “pixel definition layer 22”) away from the planarization layer (15 – Fig. 13a – [0082] – “planarization layer 15”) to cover the pixel definition layer (22), and disconnected (Fig. 5 shows this) at the at least part of the first lateral wall (411) to expose the at least part of the first lateral wall (411); and
a first electrode (24 – Fig. 5 – [0062] – “cathode 24”) disposed on a side of the organic light-emitting layer (23) away from the pixel definition layer (22) to cover the organic light-emitting layer (23), wherein the first electrode (24) is not disconnected in the first opening (K4) and comprises an electrode (24) part in the first opening (K4 – Fig. 5 shows this),
wherein the electrode part (24) comprises a body (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bod’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23), and a first branch portion (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bch-1’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23) branching off from the body (24bod) to be electrically connected to the at least part of the first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13b annotated, see below show this); and
the organic light-emitting layer (23) comprises a first portion (32 – Fig. 5 – [0070] – “organic light emitting block 32 is disposed on a side of the auxiliary electrode 40 away from the base substrate, and the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on the auxiliary electrode (40) in the first opening (K4) , and the first portion (32) of the organic light-emitting layer (23) is contacted with the first branch (24bch-1) and isolated ([0070] – “the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) from a remaining portion of the organic light-emitting layer (23) by the first branch (24bch-1 – Fig. 5 annotated, see below, shows this).
Lee-699 does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 13.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
an auxiliary electrode (40 – Fig. 12 – [0068] – “auxiliary electrode 40”),
a first opening opposite (K4 – Fig. 12 – [0125] – “pixel opening K4”) to the auxiliary electrode (40), wherein at least part of a first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13b annotated, see below show this) of the auxiliary electrode (40) is exposed by the first opening (K4);
an organic light-emitting layer (23 – Fig. 13a – [0068] – “organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer (22 – Fig. 13a – [0125] – “pixel definition layer 22”) away from the planarization layer (15 – Fig. 13a – [0082] – “planarization layer 15”) to cover the pixel definition layer (22), and disconnected (Fig. 5 shows this) at the at least part of the first lateral wall (411) to expose the at least part of the first lateral wall (411); and
a first electrode (24 – Fig. 5 – [0062] – “cathode 24”) disposed on a side of the organic light-emitting layer (23) away from the pixel definition layer (22) to cover the organic light-emitting layer (23), wherein the first electrode (24) is not disconnected in the first opening (K4) and comprises an electrode (24) part in the first opening (K4 – Fig. 5 shows this),
wherein the electrode part (24) comprises a body (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bod’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23), and a first branch portion (Fig. 13b annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘24bch-1’, though not shown in Fig. 13b, element 24 covers element 23) branching off from the body (24bod) to be electrically connected to the at least part of the first lateral wall (411 – Fig. 13b annotated, see below show this); and
the organic light-emitting layer (23) comprises a first portion (32 – Fig. 5 – [0070] – “organic light emitting block 32 is disposed on a side of the auxiliary electrode 40 away from the base substrate, and the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) disposed on the auxiliary electrode (40) in the first opening (K4) , and the first portion (32) of the organic light-emitting layer (23) is contacted with the first branch (24bch-1) and isolated ([0070] – “the organic light emitting block 32 is disposed to be isolated from the organic light emitting layer 23”) from a remaining portion of the organic light-emitting layer (23) by the first branch (24bch-1 – Fig. 5 annotated, see below, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “a display substrate, including a drive circuit layer disposed on a base substrate and a light emitting structure layer disposed on a side of the drive circuit layer away from the base substrate, wherein the light emitting structure layer includes an anode, an organic light emitting layer, a cathode, and an auxiliary electrode, the organic light emitting layer is respectively connected to the anode and the cathode, and the cathode is connected to the auxiliary electrode; in a plane parallel to the display substrate, an edge of the auxiliary electrode is provided with a structure depressed towards a center of the auxiliary electrode.”
Lee-699 and Su do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 13.
However, in an analogous art, Kodama teaches
a display panel assembled in the housing ([0002] – “a display device assembled with the housing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the housing and display
panel assembly as taught by Kodama into Lee-699 and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kodama in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0023] -
"damage to the organic EL display device and the touch panel can be further
suppressed."
Regarding claim 18, Lee-699, as modified by Su and Kodama, teaches claim 13 from which claim 18 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
(Previously Presented) The display panel as claimed in claim 13,
wherein the display panel (1) further comprises a second electrode (171 – Fig. 3 – [0082] – “pixel electrode 171”) disposed on the planarization layer (160), the organic light-emitting layer (220 – Fig. 3 – [0083] – “light emitting device layer 220”) is located between the second electrode (171) and the first electrode (230), and the second electrode (171) and the auxiliary electrode (173) are disposed in a same layer (210 – Fig. 3 shows this).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Su, Kodama, and Lee-441.
Regarding claim 14, Lee-699, as modified by Su and Kodama teaches claim 13 from which claim 14 depends. Lee-699, Su, and Kodama do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 14.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 13,
wherein the auxiliary electrode (120 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120”) comprises a first conductive layer (1201 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120 including a first metal layer 1201 and a second metal layer 1202 stacked”) and a second conductive layer (1202 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “auxiliary electrode 120 including a first metal layer 1201 and a second metal layer 1202 stacked”) that are stacked, and an orthogonal projection of one of the first conductive layer (1201) and the second conductive layer (1202) on the base substrate (100 – Fig. 5 – [0032] – “substrate 100”) is within and has a less area ([0032] – “the second metal layer 1202 having a smaller area than the first metal layer 1201”) than an orthogonal projection of another one of the first conductive layer (1201) and the second conductive layer (1202) on the base substrate (100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Su, and Kodama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0007] – “to provide a display device capable of preventing lowering in a cathode voltage by the provision of an auxiliary connection portion and improving both the transmission efficiency of a transmissive portion and luminance of an emission portion in a structure having both the transmissive portion and the emission portion.”
Regarding claim 15, Lee-699, as modified by Su, Kodama, and Lee-441, teaches claim 14 from which claim 15 depends. Lee-699, Su, and Kodama do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 15.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 14,
wherein the auxiliary electrode (120) further comprises a third conductive layer (1203 – Fig. 5 – [0042] – “auxiliary electrode 120 further includes a third metal layer 1203 formed on the second metal layer 1202”), the second conductive layer (1202) is located between the first conductive layer (1201) and the third conductive layer (1203 – Fig. 5 shows this), and an orthogonal projection of one of the second conductive layer (1202) and the third conductive layer (1203) on the base substrate (100) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of another one of the second conductive layer (1202) and the third conductive layer (1203) on the base substrate (100 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Su, and Kodama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Lee-699, as modified by Su, Kodama, and Lee-441, teaches claim 15 from which claim 16 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the planarization layer (160).
Lee-699, Kodama, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 16.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second conductive layer (42 – Fig. 5 – [0069] – “second auxiliary electrode 42 disposed on a side of the first auxiliary electrode 41 away from the base substrate”) is located on a side of the first conductive layer (41 – Fig. 5 – [0069] – “auxiliary electrode 41”) away from the planarization layer, and an orthogonal projection of the first conductive layer (41) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 – [0068] – “base substrate 10”) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of the second conductive layer (42) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Su into Lee-699, Kodama, and Lee-441.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Lee-699, as modified by Su, Kodama, and Lee-441, teaches claim 15 from which claim 17 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the planarization layer (160).
Lee-699, Kodama, and Lee-441 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 17.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second conductive layer (42) is located on a side of the first conductive layer away (41) from the planarization layer, and an orthogonal projection of the second conductive layer (42) on the base substrate (10) is within and has a less area than an orthogonal projection of the third conductive layer (31 – Fig. 5 – [0080] – “connection electrode 31” – this is a third conductive layer) on the base substrate (10 – Fig. 5 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the conductive layers structure as taught by Su into Lee-699, Kodama, and Lee-441.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 13.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Su, Kodama, and You.
Regarding claim 19, Lee-699, as modified by Su and Kodama, teaches claim 18 from which claim 19 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the display panel (1),
the auxiliary electrode line (125).
Lee-699 and Kodama do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 18,
wherein the display panel further comprises a transistor (101 – Fig. 5 – [0068] – “transistor 101 forming a pixel drive circuit”) disposed on the base substrate (10), the second electrode (21 – Fig. 5 – [0074] – “anode 21”) is located on a side of the transistor (101) away from the base substrate (10), the second electrode (21) is electrically connected to the transistor (101), and
the transistor (101) comprises an active layer (52 – Fig. 6 – [0097] – “active layer 52”), a gate electrode (53 – Fig. 6 – [0098] – “gate electrode 53”), a source electrode (54 – Fig. 6 – [0100] – “source electrode 54”), and a drain electrode (55 – Fig. 6 – [0100] – “drain electrode 55”); and
the display panel further comprises a bridge electrode, the auxiliary electrode (40) is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line through the bridge electrode, and the bridge electrode and at least one of the active layer, the gate electrode, the source electrode, or the drain electrode are disposed in a same layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kodama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 13.
Lee-699, Kodama, and Su do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 19.
However, in an analogous art, You teaches
a bridge electrode (21c – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “contact electrode 21c”), the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode line through the bridge electrode (21c – [0040] – “contact electrode 21c may be electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode 11 via a contact hole”), and the bridge electrode (21c) and at least one of the active layer (213 – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “active layer 213”), the gate electrode (21g – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “gate electrode 21g”), the source electrode (21s – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “source electrode 21s”), or the drain electrode (21d – Fig. 1 – [0040] – “drain electrode 21d”) are disposed in a same layer (420 – Fig. 1 – [0041] – “pixel-defining layer (PDL) 420” – Fig. 1 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the bridge electrode structure as taught by You into Lee-699, Kodama, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of You in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of reducing [0008] -
"a complex manufacturing process, an increase in the manufacturing time, and an
increase in the manufacturing costs."
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee-699 in view of Su, Kodama, You, and Lee-441.
Regarding claim 20, Lee-699, as modified by Su, Kodama, and You, teaches claim 19 from which claim 20 depends. Lee-699 further teaches
the display panel (1),
the auxiliary electrode line (125).
Lee-699 and Kodama do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Su teaches
(Previously Presented) The electronic device as claimed in claim 19,
wherein the display panel, further comprises a light-shielding layer (51 – Fig. 6 – [0096] – “barrier layer 51” – this corresponds to a light-shielding layer) disposed on the base substrate (10), the light-shielding layer (51) is disposed between the transistor (101) and the base substrate (10) to be opposite to the active layer (55), and the auxiliary electrode line and the light-shielding layer (51) are disposed in a same layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the auxiliary electrode structure as taught by Su into Lee-699 and Kodama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Su in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 13.
Lee-699, Kodama, and Su do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 20.
However, in an analogous art, Lee-441 teaches
the active layer, and the auxiliary electrode line and the light-shielding layer are disposed in a same layer ([0049] – “the ground voltage line VSSL can be formed of, for example, a metal on the same layer as a light blocking layer 110 (see FIG. 2), or can be formed of a metal on the same layer as the gate line or the data lines. Depending on circumstances, the ground voltage line VSSL and the auxiliary electrode 120 can be integrated” – the auxiliary electrode line VSSL is integrated into the auxiliary electrode 120 and is in the same layer as the light blocking layer 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to layer structure as taught by Lee-441 into Lee-699, Kodama, and Su.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of
Lee-441 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of preventing [0005] - "lowering in the voltage at a region of an electrode formed as a single body for a plurality of subpixels distant from a region of the electrode to which a voltage is applied."
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 20160013436 A1 is cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "assembled in the housing".
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897