Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues:
For at least the above reasons, independent claim 21 is patentable over the applied references.
The examiner asserts, even though, a process number and/or a DCI number, in some cases, is not indicated or, in other cases, a different process number and/or DCI number is indicated, JIANG informers the reader, “It will be appreciated that the disclosure is not limited to the exact construction that has been described above and illustrated in the accompanying drawings, and that various modifications and changes can be made without departing from the scope thereof” (paragraph 0168), therefore, without departing from the scope of the disclosures of JIANG, BABAEI, or TSAI, the teachings of JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process or the DCI number. Therefore, the same effect whether occurs, whether indicated by a first, second, third, fourth, etc. DCI on a first, second, third, fourth, etc. HARQ process.
The examiner draws attention to the prior art of BABAEI, in regards to the use of RRC messaging indicating feedback of the HARQ process. BABEI writes, “…a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters…” (paragraph 0217). Therefore, BABAEI indicates that configuration parameters, such as the HARQ feedback being enabled/disabled, can occur through the use of one or more RRC messages.
The examiner calls attention to US 20200314816 A1, specifically paragraph 0479, that indicates the use of a third and fourth DCI to indicate configuration parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 27, 31, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG (US 20240284552 A1, hereinafter, "JIANG") in view of BABAEI (US 20180041310 A1, hereinafter, "BABAEI").
Regarding claim 21, JIANG teaches a wireless device (paragraph 0154; figure 18, 800: terminal)
comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 0155; figure 18, 820: processor);
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (paragraph 0164; figure 18, 804: memory) cause the wireless device to:
a discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer associated with:
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, for the discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission, an uplink DRX HARQ round-trip-time (RTT) timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) is configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of uplink retransmission scheduling after uplink transmission. It may be started each time the terminal transmits uplink data. After the timer completes running, the uplink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimer) may be started. The terminal monitors uplink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the uplink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048).
a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process;
JIANG writes, “Similarly, the downlink DRX HARQ RTT timer may be configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of downlink retransmission scheduling after transmitting an uplink feedback of downlink data, and may be started each time the terminal transmits the uplink HARQ feedback of the downlink data, and after this timer completes running, a downlink DRX retransmission timer may be started. The terminal monitors downlink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the downlink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048). JIANG indicates a HARQ feedback associated with the DRX retransmission timer. Though a process number is not indicated, JIANG informers the reader, “It will be appreciated that the disclosure is not limited to the exact construction that has been described above and illustrated in the accompanying drawings, and that various modifications and changes can be made without departing from the scope thereof” (paragraph 0168), therefore, without departing from the scope of JIANG’s disclosure, the teachings of JIANG apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
and a second HARQ process;
JIANG writes, “Similarly, the downlink DRX HARQ RTT timer may be configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of downlink retransmission scheduling after transmitting an uplink feedback of downlink data, and may be started each time the terminal transmits the uplink HARQ feedback of the downlink data, and after this timer completes running, a downlink DRX retransmission timer may be started. The terminal monitors downlink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the downlink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048). JIANG indicates a HARQ feedback associated with the DRX retransmission timer. Though a process number is not indicated, JIANG informers the reader, “It will be appreciated that the disclosure is not limited to the exact construction that has been described above and illustrated in the accompanying drawings, and that various modifications and changes can be made without departing from the scope thereof” (paragraph 0168), therefore, without departing from the scope of JIANG’s disclosure, the teachings of JIANG apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
feedback of the first HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
and feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
wherein the third DCI indicates that the feedback of the second HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
JIANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receive one or more radio resource
control (RRC) messages indicating:”, “receive a first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission associated with the first HARQ process;”, “not start and not restart the DRX retransmission timer based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the first HARQ process is disabled;”, “receive a second DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process;”, “start or restart the DRX retransmission timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;”, “receive a third DCI scheduling a third downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process,”, and “and not start and not restart the DRX retransmission timer based on the third DCI indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is disabled.”
However, in analogous art, BABAEI teaches receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating:
BABAEI writes, “A wireless device may receive one or more messages from a base station. The one or
more messages may comprise one or more RRC messages” (paragraph 0122).
receive a first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission associated with the first HARQ process;
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI states the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for
receiving a first transport block. BABAEI continues that the first DCI may indicate a transmission of a first
HARQ feedback of the first transport block.
not start and not restart the DRX retransmission timer based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the first HARQ process is disabled;
BABAEI writes, “In an example embodiment, a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters. The DRX configuration parameters may comprise a first value of a HARQ round-trip-time (HARQ RTT) timer and a second value of a DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0217). BABAEI indicates the device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters, in which those parameters may comprise a values for a DRX retransmission timer. Therefore, the DRX retransmission timer may not be set to a value or set to a value of 0, causing the DRX retransmission timer to not start or not restart.
receive a second DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process;
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI states the wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a second transport block. BABAEI continues that the second DCI may indicate a transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block.
start or restart the DRX retransmission timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;
BABAEI writes, “In an example embodiment, a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters. The DRX configuration parameters may comprise a first value of a HARQ round-trip-time (HARQ RTT) timer and a second value of a DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0217). BABAEI indicates the device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters, in which those parameters may comprise a value for a DRX retransmission timer.
receive a third DCI scheduling a third downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process,
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing (paragraph 0198). BABAEI indicates scheduling a downlink transmission associated with the HARQ process. Though the process number is different, BABAEI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of BABAEI’s disclosure, the teachings of BABAEI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process and the DCI number.
and not start and not restart the DRX retransmission timer based on the third DCI indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is disabled.
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing (paragraph 0198). BABAEI indicates scheduling a downlink transmission associated with the HARQ process. Though the process number is different, BABAEI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of BABAEI’s disclosure, the teachings of BABAEI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process and the DCI number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by BABAEI that relates to "the embodiments of the disclosed technology may relate to enhancement of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and related processes." BABAEI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “With carrier aggregation, multiple NR component carriers (CCs) may be aggregated. Downlink transmissions to a wireless device may take place simultaneously on the aggregated downlink CCs resulting in higher downlink data rates. Uplink transmissions from a wireless device may take place simultaneously on the aggregated uplink CCs resulting in higher uplink data rates" (paragraph 0090). BABAEI adds, "With PDCP packet duplication, the likelihood of correct reception of packets increases thereby enabling higher reliability" (paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 22, JIANG and BABAEI teach the wireless device of claim 21,
Additionally, BABAEI teaches wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to start a DRX HARQ round trip transmission time (RTT) timer, associated with the first HARQ process, based on the first DCI.
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling
information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a
second transport block” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI continues, “FIG. 30 shows an example flow diagram
in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present disclosure. At 3010, a wireless device
may receive discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters comprising a first parameter
indicating a first value of a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer” (paragraph 0283; figure 30, step 3010).
BABAEI specifies that the wireless device receives DCIs comprising scheduling information for transport
blocks. BABAEI illustrates at step 3010, for the diagram illustrated in figure 30, a wireless device may
receive DRX configuration parameters comprising a first parameter indicating a first value of a HARQ RTT
timer.
Regarding claim 27, JIANG and BABAEI teach the wireless device of claim 22,
Additionally, BABAEI teaches wherein the DRX retransmission timer is started or restarted in response to an expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer.
BABAEI writes, “The wireless device may start the DRX retransmission timer based on the HARQ RTT
timer expiring” (paragraph 0246).
Regarding claim 31, JIANG teaches a base station (paragraph 0165; figure 19, 900: base station)
comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph 0165; figure 19, 922: processing component);
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (paragraph 0165; figure 19, 932: memory) cause the base station to:
a discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer associated with:
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, for the discontinuous reception (DRX) transmission, an uplink DRX HARQ round-trip-time (RTT) timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL) is configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of uplink retransmission scheduling after uplink transmission. It may be started each time the terminal transmits uplink data. After the timer completes running, the uplink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimer) may be started. The terminal monitors uplink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the uplink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048).
a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process;
JIANG writes, “Similarly, the downlink DRX HARQ RTT timer may be configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of downlink retransmission scheduling after transmitting an uplink feedback of downlink data, and may be started each time the terminal transmits the uplink HARQ feedback of the downlink data, and after this timer completes running, a downlink DRX retransmission timer may be started. The terminal monitors downlink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the downlink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048). JIANG indicates a HARQ feedback associated with the DRX retransmission timer. Though a process number is not indicated, JIANG informers the reader, “It will be appreciated that the disclosure is not limited to the exact construction that has been described above and illustrated in the accompanying drawings, and that various modifications and changes can be made without departing from the scope thereof” (paragraph 0168), therefore, without departing from the scope of JIANG’s disclosure, the teachings of JIANG apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
and a second HARQ process;
JIANG writes, “Similarly, the downlink DRX HARQ RTT timer may be configured to indicate that the terminal may receive a minimum time interval of downlink retransmission scheduling after transmitting an uplink feedback of downlink data, and may be started each time the terminal transmits the uplink HARQ feedback of the downlink data, and after this timer completes running, a downlink DRX retransmission timer may be started. The terminal monitors downlink retransmission dynamic scheduling from the base station during running of the downlink DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0048). JIANG indicates a HARQ feedback associated with the DRX retransmission timer. Though a process number is not indicated, JIANG informers the reader, “It will be appreciated that the disclosure is not limited to the exact construction that has been described above and illustrated in the accompanying drawings, and that various modifications and changes can be made without departing from the scope thereof” (paragraph 0168), therefore, without departing from the scope of JIANG’s disclosure, the teachings of JIANG apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
feedback of the first HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
and feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
not receive, from the wireless device, feedback associated with the first HARQ process based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the first HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
wherein the third DCI indicates that the feedback of the second HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
and not receive, from the wireless device, feedback associated with the second HARQ process based on the third DCI indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is disabled.
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
JIANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “transmit, to a wireless device, one or
more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating:”, “transmit, to the wireless device, a first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission associated with the first HARQ process;”, “transmit to the wireless device, a second DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process;”, “receive, from the wireless device, feedback during an active period of the DRX retransmission timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;”, and “transmit, to the wireless device, a third DCI scheduling a third downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process,”
However, in analogous art, BABAEI teaches transmit, to a wireless device, one or more radio
resource control (RRC) messages indicating:
BABAEI writes, “A wireless device may receive one or more messages from a base station. The one or
more messages may comprise one or more RRC messages” (paragraph 0122).
transmit, to the wireless device, a first downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission associated with the first HARQ process;
BABAEI writes, “FIG. 15 shows example components of a wireless device and a base station that are in
communication via an air interface in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present
disclosure” (paragraph 0125). BABAEI continues, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first
DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising
scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ
feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may
indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a
second timing” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI specifies that the wireless device and base station
communicate in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present disclosure, indicating
the communications the wireless device receives is transmitted from the base station. BABAEI states the
wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport
block. BABAEI continues that the first DCI may indicate a transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the
first transport block.
transmit to the wireless device, a second DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process;
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing” (paragraph 0198).
receive, from the wireless device, feedback during an active period of the DRX retransmission timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the one or more RRC messages indicating that the feedback of the second HARQ process is enabled;
BABAEI writes, “The wireless device may be in a DRX Active time and may monitor a control channel
while the DRX retransmission timer running. The wireless device may receive a DCI based on monitoring
the control channel while the DRX retransmission timer running. The DCI may indicate a retransmission
of the transport block” (paragraph 0218). BABAEI continues, “In an example, the wireless device may
transmit the HARQ feedback associate with the downlink transport via the uplink control channel of an
active bandwidth part of the second serving cell (e.g., the second serving cell indicated by the DCI)”
(paragraph 0194). BABAEI explains to the reader that the wireless device may be in a DRX Active time
and may monitor a control channel while the DRX retransmission timer is running. BABAEI states the
wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback via the uplink control channel of an active BWP.
BABAEI indicates that the feedback is enabled, since it is being transmitted, and the feedback is being
received during an active period of the DRX retransmission timer.
transmit, to the wireless device, a third DCI scheduling a third downlink transmission associated with the second HARQ process,
BABAEI writes, “FIG. 15 shows example components of a wireless device and a base station that are in
communication via an air interface in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present
disclosure” (paragraph 0125). BABAEI continues, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first
DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising
scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ
feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may
indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a
second timing” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI specifies that the wireless device and base station communicate in accordance with several of various embodiments of the present disclosure, indicating
the communications the wireless device receives is transmitted from the base station. BABAEI states the
wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a second
transport block. BABAEI notes the HARQ feedback, indicating an association with the HARQ process. BABAEI indicates scheduling a downlink transmission associated with the HARQ process. Though the process number is different, BABAEI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of BABAEI’s disclosure, the teachings of BABAEI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process and the DCI number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by BABAEI that relates to "the embodiments of the disclosed technology may relate to enhancement of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback and related processes." BABAEI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “With carrier aggregation, multiple NR component carriers (CCs) may be aggregated. Downlink transmissions to a wireless device may take place simultaneously on the aggregated downlink CCs resulting in higher downlink data rates. Uplink transmissions from a wireless device may take place simultaneously on the aggregated uplink CCs resulting in higher uplink data rates" (paragraph 0090). BABAEI adds, "With PDCP packet duplication, the likelihood of correct reception of packets increases thereby enabling higher reliability" (paragraph 0062).
Claim 36 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 31 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 31. Claim 36 is rejected under the same rational as claim 31.
Claim(s) 23-24, 28-29, 32-33, 35, 37-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG and BABAEI as applied to claims 22, 31, and 36 above, and further in view of TSAI, et al. (US 20220078881 A1, hereinafter, "TSAI").
Regarding claim 23, JIANG and BABAEI teach the wireless device of claim 22, wherein:
JIANG and BABAEI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more RRC messages comprise one or more non-terrestrial (NTN) configuration parameters;” and “and the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine a length of the DRX HARQ RTT timer based on the one or more NTN configuration parameters.”
However, in analogous art, TSAI teaches the one or more RRC messages comprise one or more non-terrestrial (NTN) configuration parameters;
TSAI writes, “In the NTN, the HARQ process(es) for DL transmission and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL
transmission may be disabled/enabled, by NW configuration and/or UE itself. In some implementations,
the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per UE. In
some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be
disabled/enabled per HARQ process” (paragraph 0064). TSAI adds, “The UE may receive one or more of
the following (RRC) configurations to indicate the states of the HARQ process from the network (NW)”
(paragraphs 0067-0073). TSAI specifies that the UE may receive one or more RRC configurations
regarding the HARQ process from the network. TSAI indicate that in the NTN the HARQ process may face
configuration by the NW that may be decided by NTN parameters such as location.
and the instructions further cause the wireless device to determine a length of the DRX HARQ
RTT timer based on the one or more NTN configuration parameters.
TSAI writes, “In action 402, the UE may receive a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration from a
Base Station (BS). The DRX configuration may include a first DRX timer and a second DRX timer. The first
DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL. The second DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer
for UL. For example, the DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL may be drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and the DRX HARQ
RTT timer for UL may be drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL” (paragraph 0190). TSAI specifies that DRX
configuration parameters may be received from the BS. The configuration parameter, as indicated
above, may include the NTN configuration parameter in regards to location, which may determine the
length of the DRX timers, including the DRX HARQ RTT timer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG and BABAEI to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by TSAI that is "related to wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method and a user equipment (UE) for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks." TSAI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the frame structure for NR supports flexible configurations for accommodating various next generation (e.g., 5G) communication requirements such as Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB), Massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC), while fulfilling high reliability, high data rate and low latency requirements" (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 24, JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI teach the wireless device of claim 23,
Additionally, JIANG teaches wherein the one or more NTN configuration parameters indicates
a scheduling offset,
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink
transmission based on [configured grant (CG)]. When the terminal performs the uplink transmission
based on CG, a timing period of an uplink DRX HARQ RTT timer is increased by a predetermined duration
(the predetermined duration may be an offset)” (paragraph 0061). JIANG specifies a scheduling offset
for a DRX HARQ RTT timer. JIANG indicates the offset is determined by a configured grant. The
configured grant may be influenced by one or more NTN parameters.
wherein the length of the DRX HARQ RTT timer is based on the scheduling offset.
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, the transmission type of the uplink transmission is the uplink
transmission based on [configured grant (CG)]. When the terminal performs the uplink transmission
based on CG, a timing period of an uplink DRX HARQ RTT timer is increased by a predetermined duration
(the predetermined duration may be an offset)” (paragraph 0061). JIANG indicates the DRX HARQ RTT
timer may be increased by a duration, with that duration being an offset.
Regarding claim 28, JIANG and BABAEI teach the wireless device of claim 22,
JIANG and BABAEI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to not start the DRX HARQ RTT timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the third DCI.”
However, in analogous art, TSAI teaches wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to not start the DRX HARQ RTT timer associated with the second HARQ process based on the third DCI.
TSAI writes, “The first DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL” (paragraph 0190). TSAI
continues, “In an implementation of the first aspect of the present disclosure, the method further
includes: starting the first DRX timer for the first HARQ process after the DL transmission in a case that
the first state indicates that HARQ feedback for the first HARQ process is not disabled; and not starting
the first DRX timer for the first HARQ process after the DL transmission in a case that the first state
indicates that the HARQ feedback for the first HARQ process is disabled” (paragraph 0008). TSAI informs
the reader that the first DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer. TSAI explains that not starting the
first DRX timer for the first HARQ process after the DL transmission in a case that the first state indicates
that the HARQ feedback for the first HARQ process is disabled. The first state information may be
indicated in a DCI. Though the numbering indicates the first aspect, the actions performed should not be
viewed as exclusive to the first aspect. TSAI indicates the DRX HARQ RTT timer is associated with the first HARQ process. Though the process number is different, TSAI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of TSAI’s disclosure, the teachings of TSAI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process and the DCI number.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG and BABAEI to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by TSAI that is "related to wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method and a user equipment (UE) for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks." TSAI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the frame structure for NR supports flexible configurations for accommodating various next generation (e.g., 5G) communication requirements such as Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB), Massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC), while fulfilling high reliability, high data rate and low latency requirements" (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 29, JIANG and BABAEI teach the wireless device of claim 21, wherein:
Additionally, JIANG teaches and feedback of the third HARQ process is disabled;
JIANG writes, “In some embodiments, in the NTN, a feedback function of the HARQ may be enabled or disabled. If the feedback function of the HARQ is disabled, the opposite end does not perform an HARQ feedback when the transmitter transmits data” (paragraph 0049).
Additionally, BABAEI teaches and not start the second DRX retransmission timer associated with the third HARQ process based on the feedback of the third HARQ process being disabled.
BABAEI writes, “In an example embodiment, a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters. The configuration parameters may comprise discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters. The DRX configuration parameters may comprise a first value of a HARQ round-trip-time (HARQ RTT) timer and a second value of a DRX retransmission timer” (paragraph 0217). BABAEI indicates the device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters, in which those parameters may comprise a value for a DRX retransmission timer. Therefore, the DRX retransmission timer may not be set to a value or set to a value of 0, causing the DRX retransmission timer to not start or not restart.
receive a fourth DCI scheduling a fourth downlink transmission associated with the third HARQ process;
BABAEI writes, “In an example, the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for receiving a first transport block and a second DCI comprising scheduling for receiving a second transport block. The first DCI may indicate transmission of a first HARQ feedback of the first transport block via a serving cell and at a first timing and the second DCI may indicate transmission of a second HARQ feedback of the second transport block via the serving cell at a second timing” (paragraph 0198). BABAEI states the wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising scheduling information for
receiving a first transport block. BABAEI continues that the first DCI may indicate a transmission of a first
HARQ feedback of the first transport block. Though the process number is different, BABAEI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of BABAEI’s disclosure, the teachings of BABAEI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process and the DCI number.
JIANG and BABAEI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more RRC messages further indicates:”, “a second DRX retransmission timer corresponds to a third HARQ process;”, “and the instructions further cause the wireless device to:”, and “receive a fourth DCI scheduling a fourth downlink transmission associated with the third HARQ process;”
However, in analogous art, TSAI teaches the one or more RRC messages further indicates:
TSAI writes, “In an implementation of the first aspect of the present disclosure, the first HARQ
configuration and the second HARQ configuration are configured by a Radio Resource Control (RRC)
message” (paragraph 0014).
a second DRX retransmission timer corresponds to a third HARQ process;
TSAI writes, “...the second HARQ configuration indicating a second state of a second HARQ process…”
(paragraph 0005). TSAI adds, “...the second DRX timer for the second HARQ process…” (paragraph
0009). TSAI continues, “...the present disclosure could determine not to start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX RTT
timer and/or DRX retransmission timer) ...” (paragraph 0197). TSAI indicates the second HARQ
configuration regarding a second state of a second HARQ process is associated with the second DRX
timer, such as a DRX retransmission timer. TSAI indicates the second DRX retransmission timer corresponds with the second HARQ process. Though the process number is different, TSAI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of TSAI’s disclosure, the teachings of TSAI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
and the instructions further cause the wireless device to:
TSAI writes, “In a second aspect of the present disclosure, a UE is provided. The UE includes one or more
non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon;
and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media. The at
least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions...” (paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG and BABAEI to include aspects of the method and apparatus described by TSAI that is "related to wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method and a user equipment (UE) for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks." TSAI provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “the frame structure for NR supports flexible configurations for accommodating various next generation (e.g., 5G) communication requirements such as Enhanced Mobile Broadband (eMBB), Massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC), and Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC), while fulfilling high reliability, high data rate and low latency requirements" (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 30, JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI teach the wireless device of claim 29,
Additionally, TSAI teaches wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to not start a DRX HARQ RTT timer, associated with the third HARQ process, based on the fourth DCI.
TSAI writes, “...the second HARQ configuration indicating a second state of a second HARQ process…”
(paragraph 0005). TSAI adds, “...the second DRX timer for the second HARQ process…” (paragraph
0009). TSAI continues, “...the present disclosure could determine not to start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX RTT
timer and/or DRX retransmission timer) ...” (paragraph 0197). TSAI indicates the second HARQ
configuration regarding a second state of a second HARQ process is associated with the second DRX
timer, such as the DRX RTT timer. Though the process number is different, TSAI informers the reader, “Various exemplary embodiments of the disclosed technology are presented as example implementations and/or practices of the disclosed technology. The exemplary embodiments disclosed herein are not intended to limit the scope. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that various changes can be made to the disclosed embodiments without departure from the scope...” (paragraph 0296), therefore, without departing from the scope of TSAI’s disclosure, the teachings of TSAI apply regardless of the process number of the HARQ process.
Claims 32-33 and 37-38 are apparatus and method claims corresponding to the apparatus
claims 23-24 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the
rejection of claims 23-24. Claims 32-33 and 37-38 are rejected under the same rational as claims
23-24.
Claims 35 and 40 are apparatus and method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 29 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 29. Claims 35 and 40 are rejected under the same rational as claims 29.
Claim(s) 25-26, 34, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI as applied to claims 23, 32, and 37 above, and further in view of DEENOO, et al. (US 20210377825 A1, hereinafter, "DEENOO").
Regarding claim 25, JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI teach the wireless device of claim 23, wherein:
Additionally, TSAI teaches and the length of the DRX HARQ RTT timer is based on the
ephemeris information.
TSAI writes, “In action 402, the UE may receive a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration from a
Base Station (BS). The DRX configuration may include a first DRX timer and a second DRX timer. The first
DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL. The second DRX timer may be a DRX HARQ RTT timer
for UL. For example, the DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL may be drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and the DRX HARQ
RTT timer for UL may be drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL” (paragraph 0190). TSAI specifies that DRX
configuration parameters may be received from the BS. The configuration parameter, as indicated
above, may include the NTN configuration parameter in regards to location, which may determine the
length of the DRX timers, including the DRX HARQ RTT timer.
JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “the one or more NTN
configuration parameters indicates ephemeris information;”
However, in analogous art, DEENOO teaches the one or more NTN configuration parameters
indicates ephemeris information;
DEENOO writes, “In an embodiment, the WTRU may be configured to apply a RRC reconfiguration at a
time greater than or equal to a preconfigured time instance. In another embodiment, the WTRU may be
configured to apply a RRC reconfiguration based on its location with respect to satellite position, for
example, based on ephemeris data” (paragraph 0107). DEENOO indicates the RRC reconfiguration may
be based on ephemeris data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI to include
aspects of the method and apparatus described by DEENOO "for receiving a broadcast configuration
indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by
providing a timer value." DEENOO provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “NTNs
may be used to upgrade the performance of terrestrial networks in underserved areas in a cost efficient
manner" (paragraph 0004). DEENOO adds, "NTNs may also be used to reinforce 5G service reliability,
ensure service availability and provide scalability for 5G deployments, for example, when a gNB or
gateway is in range of the WTRU" (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 26, JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI teach the wireless device of claim 23,
JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the length of
the DRX HARQ RTT timer is further based on a location of the wireless device.”
However, in analogous art, DEENOO teaches wherein the length of the DRX HARQ RTT timer is
further based on a location of the wireless device.
DEENOO writes, “In an embodiment, the WTRU may be configured to apply a RRC reconfiguration at a
time greater than or equal to a preconfigured time instance. In another embodiment, the WTRU may be
configured to apply a RRC reconfiguration based on its location with respect to satellite position, for
example, based on ephemeris data” (paragraph 0107). DEENOO indicates the RRC reconfiguration may
be based on ephemeris data. DEENOO continues, “The WTRU may be configured to delay, cancel or
suspend a random-access procedure, including a preamble transmission and/or a retransmission
triggered at time T, if a satellite switch event is scheduled at time T+x, wherein the value of x may be
preconfigured. The value of x may be a function of time taken to complete a random access procedure,
for example, a 2-step random access procedure or 4-step random access procedure. Additionally or
alternatively, the value of x may be a function of time taken to complete another procedure.
Additionally or alternatively, the value of x may be a function of the round trip time (RTT) for
transmission between the WTRU and the network. The RTT may be a multiple of the estimated and/or
observed RTT. Additionally or alternatively, it may correspond to the observed HARQ RTT, for example,
the time from the reception of the first grant for a new transmission until the time the WTRU
determines that the HARQ process has successfully completed” (paragraph 0099). DEENOO indicates the
HARQ RTT may be affected by the location of the WTRU with respect to satellite position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention, to modify the invention and method of JIANG, BABAEI, and TSAI to include
aspects of the method and apparatus described by DEENOO "for receiving a broadcast configuration
indicating when a change in a radio access network (RAN) function termination occurs, for example, by
providing a timer value." DEENOO provides motivation for modification of the invention stating, “NTNs
may be used to upgrade the performance of terrestrial networks in underserved areas in a cost efficient
manner" (paragraph 0004). DEENOO adds, "NTNs may also be used to reinforce 5G service reliability,
ensure service availability and provide scalability for 5G deployments, for example, when a gNB or
gateway is in range of the WTRU" (paragraph 0004).
Claims 34 and 39 are apparatus and method claims corresponding to the apparatus claims 25
and 26 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of
claims 25 and 26. Claims 34 and 39 are rejected under the same rational as claims 25 and 26.
Claims 1-20 have been cancelled by applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner calls attention to US 20200314816 A1, paragraph 0479, that indicates a third and fourth DCI .
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 3/16/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475