DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 12/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 16-17 are amended. Claims 5 and 19 are canceled. Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2010/2299421), Patel hereinafter, in view of Mori (US 2012/0202556).
Re. Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A method for managing a connection by a server (Patel, 0054: In one implementation, the operations may be performed by performed by hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software components of a messaging server, such IP messaging server 140 and a mobile device, such as mobile device 120 running an IP application client.), the method comprising:
monitoring a state of a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection for a communication session of a receiver device by an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) stack, based on connection context information for a defined period in absence of packet communication in the communication session (Patel, Patel, 0056: The timer may be started (block 620). For example, mobile device 120 and IP messaging server 140 may each start their respective timers when a TCP connection is established. The timers may be reset each time after data is exchanged between the IP application operating on mobile device 120 and IP messaging server 140. And 0058: If data is not exchanged between IP messaging server 140 and mobile device 120 within the timer limit, the TCP connection may be closed (block 640). And 0065: For example, the indication may be sent over an alternate channel that does not restrict server initiated messages/traffic. Examples may include: an SMS message, a UDP push, or the messaging server sending an indication to an intermediate entity (e.g., an evolution-data optimized (EVDO) session manager or an access network base station controller (AN/BSC) which in turns sends the indication to mobile device 120 using a UATI assigned to mobile device 120.),
wherein the connection context information comprises a time point when the TCP connection is released (Patel, 0055: As shown in FIG. 6, a TCP connection timer may be provided (block 610). For example, mobile device 120 and IP messaging server 140 may both maintain timers associated with a TCP connection to track idle periods. The timers may be set to the same value on mobile device 120 and IP messaging server 140. The timer value used may be less than a time period used by a network (e.g., wireless carrier network 500 and/or data network 520) to determine latent TCP connections. In one implementation, the timer value may be determined based on information from wireless carrier network 500 and/or data network 520 and sent to mobile device 120 and IP messaging server 140.); and
in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session monitored based on the plurality of signal parameters and the connection context information for the defined period in absence of packet communication in the communication session is suspended (Patel, 0058: If data is not exchanged between IP messaging server 140 and mobile device 120 within the timer limit, the TCP connection may be closed (block 640).),
removing the TCP connection for the communication session (Patel, 0058: For example, if IP messaging server 140 determines that the timer value expires, IP messaging server 140 may close the TCP connection.),
establishing a new TCP connection with the receiver device (Patel, 0060: If there is additional data to exchange between the client and the server, the TCP connection may be re-established (block 660). For example, when either mobile device 120 or IP messaging server 140 has data to send, a new TCP connection may be established with the reciprocal entity (IP messaging server 140 or mobile device 120). Mobile device 120 may initiate re-establishing the TCP connection as a new session. Initiating the TCP connection from IP messaging server 140 is disclosed in more detail with respect to FIG. 7. And 0065: For example, IP messaging server 140 may request a TCP re-establishment by sending an indication (e.g., a "wakeup" message) to mobile device 120 via an alternate channel corresponding to one of the identifiers.), and
resuming the communication session with the established new TCP connection (Patel, 0067: A reply to TCP connection may be established (block 740). For example, on receiving the indication, from IP messaging server 140, mobile device 120 may obtain a new IP address (if necessary) and establish a new TCP connection with IP messaging server 140, which is then able to send data pending for mobile device 120.).
Yet, Patel does not explicitly teach monitoring a state of a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection for a communication session of a receiver device by an Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) stack, based on a plurality of signal parameters
wherein the connection context information comprises a time spent by the receiver device at low signal strength,
in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session monitored based on the plurality of signal parameters
However, in the related art, Mori teaches monitoring based on a plurality of signal parameters The base station apparatus includes: a radio processing unit which receives from the mobile station apparatus, at predetermined intervals of time, signal reception quality information indicating the quality of signals that the mobile station apparatus received from the base station apparatus and another base station apparatus, respectively; );
wherein the connection context information comprises a time spent by the receiver device at low signal strength, Mori, 0012: a handover decision unit which compares a first signal reception quality carried in the signal reception quality information for the base station apparatus with a first handover threshold and which, after a predetermined period of time has elapsed from the time at which the first signal reception quality dropped to or below the first handover threshold, if a second signal reception quality for the other base station apparatus becomes equal to or higher than the second handover threshold, then decides to switch the radio connection of the mobile station apparatus from the base station apparatus to the other base station apparatus.); and
in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session monitored based on the plurality of signal parameters The base station apparatus includes: a radio processing unit which receives from the mobile station apparatus, at predetermined intervals of time, signal reception quality information indicating the quality of signals that the mobile station apparatus received from the base station apparatus and another base station apparatus, respectively; ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the filing date of the claimed invention to combing the invention of Patel with the radio processing unit of Mori. The resulting invention would provide for improved an improved handover procedure (Mori, 0005).
Re. Claim 17, Claim 17 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the subject matter of claim 1. Claim 17 does not define or limit over the subject matter of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons as laid out with regard to claim 1 above.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lau et al. (US 2016/0112894), Lau hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters and the connection context information are monitored by a network monitoring module comprising circuitry.
However, in the related art, Lau teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters and the connection context information are monitored by a network monitoring module comprising circuitry (Lau, 0065: The client device 102 may include a client device Quality of Experience (QoE) module 172, which may be implemented in hardware, firmware, or software to perform operations to generate, gather, collect, formulate, filter, partition, estimate, log, track, or perform any pre-processing or post-processing to transmit the client device QoE diagnostic file(s) 176 to the QoE analyzer 180. In some embodiments, the client device QoE module 172 may monitor some or all of the operations of the client device and may generate or collect operation logs or reports corresponding to each operation. For example, the client device QoE module 172 may monitor a call state of the client device 102, a user interface state, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) messages, client device 102 handovers, Real-Time Transport Protocol (RTP) statistics, call settings, signal data, radio band data, location data, timestamps, and device data.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel in view of Mori with the contextual quality of user experience analysis using equipment diagnostics of Lau. The resulting combination would provide for optimizing the quality of experience for data services (Lau, 0038).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (US 2018/0279193), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters comprises at least one of a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), a Signal to Interference Noise Ratio (SINR) or a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI).
---However, in the related art, Park teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters comprises at least one of a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), a Signal to Interference Noise Ratio (SINR) or a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) (Park, 0274: In an example, as shown in FIG. 14, FIG. 15, and FIG. 16, a wireless device may transmit, to a first base station (e.g. gNB, eNB, a handover source base station, a source base station), a first message comprising a measurement report for one or more cells. The measurement report may comprise at least one of a list of cells, an RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) of a cell listed, and/or an RSRQ (Reference Signal Received Quality) of a cell listed.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the conditional handover of Park. The resulting combination would reduce the radio resource wasting and/or data forwarding delay when executing handover from one base station to another (Park, 0273).
Re. Claim 18, Claim 18 is directed toward an apparatus corresponding to the subject matter of claim 3. Claim 18 does not define or limit over the subject matter of claim 3. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons as laid out with regard to claim 3 above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2018/0337961).
Re. Claim 4, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the monitored state of the TCP connection is notified to an IMS interface for resetting the TCP connection
However, in the related art Lin teaches wherein the monitored state of the TCP connection is notified to an IMS interface for resetting the TCP connection (Lin, 0007: A solution for synchronizing capability and registration status between a user equipment (UE) and a network application server is provided. […] Upon detecting a re-sync condition, the UE will then trigger re-sending the SIP message to the network or releasing the PDN connection such that the updated UE capability and registration status will be synchronized with the network. And 0008: In one example, the list of SIP-based services belongs to IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) application service.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel as modified by Mori with the synchronization of UE capability and registration status for SIP-based application services of Lin. The resulting combination would provide for maintaining synchronization between a UE and the network following the UE moving out of service or a network error (Lin, 0007).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Singaram Muthukumar et al. (US 2023/0403670), Muthukumar hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the TCP connection is removed by a transport rectifying module comprising circuitry.
However, in the related art, Muthukumar teaches wherein the TCP connection is removed by a transport rectifying module comprising circuitry (Muthukumar, 0101: In addition to the previously described components, FIG. 2 includes a deregistration component 230. The deregistration component 230 is shown as a part of PCRF 130.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel in view of Mori with the SIP-deregistration by evolved packet core network of Muthukumar. The resulting invention would provide a more robust IP Multimedia Subsystem deregistration process (Muthukumar, 0002).
Re. Claim 7, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the TCP connection is removed by a transport rectifying module comprising circuitry.
However, in the related art, Muthukumar teaches wherein the TCP connection is removed by a transport rectifying module comprising circuitry (Muthukumar, 0101: In addition to the previously described components, FIG. 2 includes a deregistration component 230. The deregistration component 230 is shown as a part of PCRF 130.), upon receiving a request to delete the TCP connection from an IMS interface (Muthukumar, 0117: The method 600, at step 610, includes receiving, at an IMS component, a deregistration message from the EPC core component, the deregistration message including instructions to disassociate the UE from an IP address assigned to the UE, wherein the deregistration message is not initiated by the UE. And 0118: The method 600, at step 620, includes, in response to the deregistration message, disassociating the IP address from the UE within the IMS core.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel in view of Mori with the SIP-deregistration by evolved packet core network of Muthukumar. The resulting invention would provide a more robust IP Multimedia Subsystem deregistration process (Muthukumar, 0002).
Claims 8, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori, further in view of Coulas et al. (US 2008/0089290), Coulas hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session is registered, the communication session of the receiver device is resumed and redirected to a Communication Processor (CP) protocol layer based on a type of underlying physical transport information.
However, in the related art, Coulas teaches wherein in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session is registered (Coulas, 0059: In the various embodiments, the IMS subscriber may use any one of its currently registered Public User IDs to invoke the unprotected Global Seamless IMS re-registration procedure. Thus in 401, the UE sends a request for re-registration of all bindings and provides a new contact address.),
the communication session of the receiver device is resumed and redirected to a Communication Processor (CP) protocol layer based on a type of underlying physical transport information (Coulas, 0060-0064: The IMS CN will thus utilize the Private User ID received in the username field of the "Authorization" header to determine the full set of IMS connections that need to be re-registered to the new contact address supplied in the "Contact" header. … Upon successful IMS re-authentication in 505, the IMS CN will update all the registration bindings, currently associated with the specified Private User ID, with the new contact address. … In addition, a new set of IPSec SAs based on the new contact address is created between the IMS UE and the P-CSCF and the IMS UE as shown in 405 and 507, respectively.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the IMS re-authentication of Coulas. The resulting invention would provide for the management of the mobility of specific dialogs and sessions (Coulas, 0009).
Re. Claim 12, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session is suspended, a security transport interface acts as an interface between the IMS stack and a transport rectifying module.
However, in the related art Coulas teaches wherein in case that the state of the TCP connection for the communication session is suspended (Coulas, 0066: FIG. 5, illustrates this high level operation starting in 509, wherein if no active sessions remain on the previous and now inactive IMS connection, the inactive IMS connection may be immediately terminated as shown in 517.),
a security transport interface acts as an interface between the IMS stack and a transport rectifying module (Coulas, 0041: In the various embodiments, each IMS Connection may be securely connected to a specific P-CSCF via a set of IPsec Security Associations (SAs).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the IMS re-authentication of Coulas. The resulting invention would provide for the management of the mobility of specific dialogs and sessions (Coulas, 0009).
Re. Claim 15, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches receiving IMS registration information of the receiver device; and registering, in an IMS server, the receiver device at least by using the received IMS registration information of the receiver device.
However, in the related art, Coulas teaches receiving IMS registration information of the receiver device (Coulas, 0045: In FIG. 2, a User Equipment (UE) or mobile station 200 includes a Subscriber Identity Module (ISIM) 201 which provides a Private User ID.); and
registering, in an IMS server, the receiver device at least by using the received IMS registration information of the receiver device (Coulas, 0048: Therefore, in accordance with the embodiments, at S-CSCF 227 the UE 200 is associated with one Private User ID 229 based upon the UE 200 ISIM 201.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the IMS re-authentication of Coulas. The resulting invention would provide for the management of the mobility of specific dialogs and sessions (Coulas, 0009).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oyman et al. (US 2019/0215729), Oyman hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1,
Neither Patel nor Mori teaches wherein a communication Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) is routed by a user agent.
However, in the related art, Oyman teaches wherein a communication Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) is routed by a user agent (Oyman, 0028: SIP works in concert with these protocols by enabling Internet endpoints (referred to as "user agents") to discover one another and to agree on a characterization of a session they would like to share. For locating prospective session participants, and for other functions, SIP enables the creation of an infrastructure of network hosts (referred to as "proxy servers") to which user agents can send registrations, invitations to sessions, and other requests.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the session description protocol mechanisms for signaling radio access network capabilities in multimedia telephony sessions. The resulting combination would provide reliable and interoperable service with predictable media quality (Oyman, 0003).
Re. Claim 16. Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the IMS Stack generates a handling ID for each user agent and returns the generated handling ID to a connectivity framework for further communication with an IMS interface via a Stack interface (IF).
However, in the related art, Oyman teaches wherein the IMS Stack generates a handling ID for each user agent and returns the generated handling ID to a connectivity framework for further communication with an IMS interface via a Stack interface (IF) (Oyman, 0054: For registration, the S-CSCF 240 may behave as a registrar (also referred to as an "SIP registration server" or the like) in that the S-CSCF 240 accepts registration requests and makes its information available through a location server (e.g., HSS 224). The S-CSCF 240 also notifies subscribers about registration changes including the [Globally Routable User Agent Uniform Resource Identifier] GRUU sets assigned to registered instances. […] The S-CSCF 240 may behave as a [user agent] UA in that the S-CSCF 240 may terminate and independently generate SIP transactions. Based on the determined served user, the S-CSCF 240 handles interactions with the services platforms for the support of services.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the session description protocol mechanisms for signaling radio access network capabilities in multimedia telephony sessions. The resulting combination would provide reliable and interoperable service with predictable media quality (Oyman, 0003).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Coulas, further in view of Muthukumar.
Re. Claim 10, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori teaches wherein based on the monitored state of the TCP connection, a request to delete a stale TCP connection associated with a suspended session state of the receiver device is dispatched from an IMS interface to a request router, which further forwards the request to a security transport interface.
Coulas further teaches wherein based on the monitored state of the TCP connection, which further forwards the request to a security transport interface.
However, in the related art, Coulas teaches wherein based on the monitored state of the TCP connection, which further forwards the request to a security transport interface (Coulas, 0041: In the various embodiments, each IMS Connection may be securely connected to a specific P-CSCF via a set of IPsec Security Associations (SAs).).
Yet, none of Patel, Mori, or Park explicitly teaches wherein based on the monitored state of the TCP connection, a request to delete a stale TCP connection associated with a suspended session state of the receiver device is dispatched from an IMS interface to a request router,
However, in the related art, Muthukumar teaches wherein based on the monitored state of the TCP connection, a request to delete a stale TCP connection associated with a suspended session state of the receiver device is dispatched from an IMS interface to a request router, The EPC session may be terminated in response to a credit control request (CCR) termination message. Then the PCRF will send the will send a Session Termination Request to the IMS Core element (e.g., P-CSCF Element). The UE is then deregistered from the IMS core 146. The deregistration message may be communicated to an IMS core boundary component, such as the P-CSCF 142.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori and Coulas with the SIP-deregistration by evolved packet core network of Muthukumar. The resulting invention would provide a more robust IP Multimedia Subsystem deregistration process (Muthukumar, 0002).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Mori as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Park, still further in view of Oyman et al. (US 2019/0215729), Oyman hereinafter.
Re. Claim 13, Patel in view of Mori teaches claim 1.
Neither Patel nor Mori explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters are tracked by at least one hardware device from a sensor, and notified to a Radio Interface Layer (RIL).
However, in the related art, Park teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters are notified to a Radio Interface Layer (RIL) (Park, 0289: According to an embodiment, the wireless device may further transmit to the first base station, a measurement report message comprising a measurement result of the target cell. The measurement result may comprise at least one of: a reference signal received power; or a reference signal received quality.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Patel as modified by the teaching of Mori with the conditional handover of Park. The resulting combination would reduce the radio resource wasting and/or data forwarding delay when executing handover from one base station to another (Park, 0273).
None of Patel, Mori, or Park explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters are tracked by at least one hardware device from a sensor.
However, in the related art, Oyman teaches wherein the plurality of signal parameters are tracked by at least one hardware device from a sensor (Oyman, 0077: Radio conditions may be considered "good" ( or "better" than threshold radio conditions) if the UE 101a detects or measures a channel quality and/or signal strength to be at or above some predefined threshold (within some margin of error), or detects or measures a signal noise or interference to be below a predefined threshold (within some margin of error).), and notified to a Radio Interface Layer (RIL)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel in view of Mori and Park with the session description protocol mechanisms for signaling radio access network capabilities in multimedia telephony sessions. The resulting combination would provide reliable and interoperable service with predictable media quality (Oyman, 0003).
Re. Claim 14, Patel in view of Mori, Park, and Oyman teaches claim 13.
Yet, none of Patel, Mori, or Park explicitly teaches wherein for resetting the TCP connection, the Radio Interface Layer (RIL) acts as an abstraction layer between an IMS interface and at least one hardware device.
However, in the related art, Oyman teaches wherein for resetting the TCP connection, the Radio Interface Layer (RIL) acts as an abstraction layer between an IMS interface and at least one hardware device (Oyman, 0026-0027: Any of the RAN nodes 111 can terminate the air interface protocol and can be the first point of contact for the UEs 101. In some embodiments, any of the RAN nodes 111 can fulfill various logical functions for the RAN 110 including, but not limited to, RNC functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management and data packet scheduling, and mobility management. … MTSI defines media handling (e.g., signaling, transport, jitter buffer management, packet-loss handling, adaptation, etc.), as well as interactivity (e.g., adding or dropping media during a call). In these embodiments, the UEs 101 may connect to the IMS (e.g., AS 130) using 3GPP access (e.g., via RAN 110 and CN 120) or using non-3GPP access (e.g., via WLAN 106, Bluetooth, DECT/NG DECT).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Patel in view of Mori and Park with the session description protocol mechanisms for signaling radio access network capabilities in multimedia telephony sessions of Oyman. The resulting combination would provide reliable and interoperable service with predictable media quality (Oyman, 0003)
Conclusion
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417