DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
1. The Office acknowledges the receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed November 4, 2025. Claims 1-3 and 8-20, are pending. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn. Claims 4-7 are cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are examined in the instant application.
All previous rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
2. Objections withdrawn from action:
The claim objections are withdrawn.
The specification objections are withdrawn.
Status of Rejections from action:
The rejection for claims 1-4, 6, and 8-10 under 112a Written Description is withdrawn in view of amendment. Applicant amend claims to SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2.
The rejection for claims 1-4, 6, and 8-10 under 112a Enablement is withdrawn in view of amendment. Applicant amend claims to SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2.
The rejection for claims 1-2 under 112b is added.
The rejection for claims 1-3 and 8-10 under 103 is modified in view of amendment.
Priority
3. This application is claiming the benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/293,175 filed December 23, 2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation of “rice” should be amended to “Oryza sativa”. Otherwise, the scope of the “rice” recitation outside the parentheses is not the same as the “Os” recitation inside the parentheses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)(new)
4. Claims 1-3 and 8-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear what level of expression constitutes “overexpressed”.
In claim 1, “enhanced” is a relative term lacking a comparative basis.
In claim 2, the recitation of “at least about” is unclear because “at least” sets a lower limit but “about” encompasses values below the lower limit. It is suggested “about” be deleted.
In claim 2, it is unclear what temperature constitutes “an optimum temperature”. 10C above an unspecified number cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3 and 8-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathangadeera et al. (Overexpression of Multiple Genes in Arabidopsis to Improve Heat and Drought Tolerance. Plant Biology 2019 Posters, American Society of Plant Biologists, 4 Dec. 2019 (previously cited)), Esmaeili et al. (Co-overexpression of AVP1 and OsSIZ1 in Arabidopsis substantially enhances plant tolerance to drought, salt, and heat stresses. 2019, Scientific Reports. 9 (previously cited)), Wijewardene et al. (Improving drought-, salinity-, and heat-tolerance in transgenic plants by co-overexpressing Arabidopsis vacuolar pyrophosphatase gene AVP1 and Larrea Rubisco activase gene RCA. Plant Science, vol. 296, 15 Apr. 2020. 110499 (previously cited)), Luo et al. (US Pub. No. US20110197316A1 (previously cited)), and further in view of Salvucci et al. (Relationship between the Heat Tolerance of Photosynthesis and the Thermal Stability of Rubisco Activase in Plants from Contrasting Thermal Environments, Plant Physiology, Volume 134, Issue 4, April 2004, Pages 1460–1470, (previously cited))
a. In regard to claim 1, Mathangadeera et al. teaches that high temperatures reduce photosynthetic activity, because of low thermostability of Rubisco Activase (RCA). Specifically, teaches on co-overexpressing SUMO E3 ligase SIZ1 (SIZ1) and Rubisco Activase (RCA), which demonstrates enhanced heat stress and drought tolerance. Mathangadeera et al. teaches on overexpressing a “thermostable RCA from a naturally heat tolerant plant” (See pg. 47). Also teaches how SIZ1 is involved in “post-translational regulatory process largely involved in abiotic stress responses” (See pg. 47). Furthermore, Mathangadeera et al. highlights that co-overexpressing both SIZ1 and RCA in Arabidopsis “would lead to a higher heat and drought tolerance in transgenic plants than single gene overexpressing plants” (See pgs. 47-48). Lastly, teaches introducing a “RCA-SIZ1” gene construct into Arabidopsis making it significantly more tolerant to heat and drought.” (See pg. 48).
b. Regarding claim 1, Mathangadeera et al. does not specifically teach the limitation of specifically overexpressing OsSIZ1.
c. In regard to claim 1, Esmaeili et al. teaches co-overexpressing both Arabidopsis vacuolar pyrophosphatase gene AVP1 and rice SUMO E3 ligase gene OsSIZ1 to improve drought, salinity, and heat tolerance in transgenic plants. Esmaeili et al. specifically addresses the limitation of the rice SIZ1 by using “OsSIZ1, a SUMO E3 ligase gene from rice, was found to confer increased heat and drought tolerance in transgenic creeping bent grass and transgenic cotton” (See Introduction pg. 2). Esmaeili et al. teaches that “[i]n all conditions [i.e. heat+drought], AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants produced significantly more biomass and seeds than all genotypes tested” (See pg. 4 bottom paragraph and Fig. 5). Additionally, Esmaeili et al. tested for drought, salt, and heat stresses combined resulting in “AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants producing over 160% more seeds than WT” (See pg. 4 bottom paragraph and Fig. 6). Overall, Esmaeili et al. saw “improved abiotic stress tolerance observed in AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants” (See pg. 11 last sentence).
c. In regard to claim 1, neither Mathangadeera et al. and Esmaeili et al. teach on overexpressing LtRCA.
d. In regard to claim 1, Wijewardene et al. teaches co-overexpressing both Arabidopsis vacuolar pyrophosphatase gene (AVP1) and Larrea tridentata Rubisco activase gene (RCA) to improve drought, salinity, and heat tolerance in transgenic plants. Wijewardene et al. teaches how “overexpression of thermotolerant ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (Rubisco) activase gene could maintain photosynthesis at higher temperatures, which contributes to higher heat tolerance in transgenic plants.” (see Abstract). Wijewardene et al. specifically teaches on how using “Larrea tridantata, would assist in maintaining higher photosynthetic rates under higher temperature conditions due to creosote RCA’s higher thermostability” (See pg. 2 right column top paragraph). It was shown that AVP1/LtRCA performed better “than wild-type and RCA-overexpressing plants under drought stress (Fig. 2B), for example, with roughly 1.5-fold increase in plant height (Supp. Fig. 1) and over 50-fold increase in seed yield compared to wild-type and RCA-overexpressing plants (Fig. 2C)” (See page 2 sec. 2.2 and Fig. 2). They also showed that AVP1/RCA co-overexpressing plants are more tolerant under multiple stress conditions, and had an increased seed yield compared to the control (See pg. 9, Fig. 8-9 and image below).
e. In regard to claim 1, neither Mathangadeera, Esmaeili et al., and Wijewardene et al. teach on OsSIZ1 (SEQ ID NO: 1).
f. In regard to claim 1, Luo et al. teaches on the limitation of overexpressing rice SUMO E3 ligase gene OsSIZ1 to enhance tolerance to biotic and/or abiotic stress and enhance biomass production in transgenic plants (See Title, Abstract, and Fig. 7). Luo et al. teaches the “SUMO E3 ligase plays a pivotal role in the sumoylation pathway” being an “essential mechanism of posttranslational modifications of proteins” (See paragraphs [0005]-[0008], Example 3, and Claim 1). Also adds that it has been “involved in regulation of plant growth, plant responses to phosphate starvation, water deficiency, cold and heat stresses, and salicylate-mediated innate immunity” (See paragraph [0008], Figs. 5-7, Example 3, and claim(s) 15-16). Additionally, Luo et al. shows how overexpression of “rice SUMO E3 ligase OsSIZ1 in transgenic turfgrass leads to enhanced plant growth”, “heat tolerance”, and “drought tolerance” (See Figs. 5-7). Luo et al. also teaches the sequence alignments of OsSIZ1 “homologs” and a non-limiting example of SEQ ID NO: 15 which has a 99.4% sequence identity to Applicants SEQ ID NO: 1 (See paragraph [0043], Example 1, Figs. 2 and 4). Even though the sequence of Luo has 99.4% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:1, their coding regions are identical and thus would encode the same protein and would produce a plant/seed having the same phenotypes upon expression in said plant/seed. Overall, Luo et al. shows that overexpressing OsSIZ1 will enhance abiotic tolerance in plants.
RESULT 2
US-13-023-168-15
Sequence 15, US/13023168
Publication No. US20110197316A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Luo, Hong
APPLICANT: Li, Zhigang
APPLICANT: Hu, Qian
TITLE OF INVENTION: METHODS AND COMPOSITIONS FOR TRANSGENIC PLANTS WITH ENHANCED
TITLE OF INVENTION: ABIOTIC STRESS RESISTANCE AND BIOMASS PRODUCTION
FILE REFERENCE: 9662-13
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/13/023,168
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2011-02-08
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/302,345
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2010-02-08
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 25
SEQ ID NO 15
LENGTH: 3371
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Oryza sativa
Query Match 99.4%; Score 3371; Length 3371;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 3371; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 AAACCACAACGAACTACCCCCTCCTCGTCGAGCCGACGCGAGAGAGGAAAGTGGGTTGCG 61
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 AAACCACAACGAACTACCCCCTCCTCGTCGAGCCGACGCGAGAGAGGAAAGTGGGTTGCG 60
Qy 62 GCTTGCTGCGCGTGTGGAGTCGCCATTCCCCAATTCGCTGCGCCGCCCGCCGGATCTCGT 121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GCTTGCTGCGCGTGTGGAGTCGCCATTCCCCAATTCGCTGCGCCGCCCGCCGGATCTCGT 120
Qy 122 CTTGCCCCCTGCGGCGGCGGTTTGGGCCCCCCCTTCCGATCGGTTTCCCCCCCGCACATG 181
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 CTTGCCCCCTGCGGCGGCGGTTTGGGCCCCCCCTTCCGATCGGTTTCCCCCCCGCACATG 180
Qy 182 GTCGTGGCGGCGGCGGAGGTGGTGGTGGTGCGGGAGTAGGGAGGCGGGCGAACCGAGGCG 241
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GTCGTGGCGGCGGCGGAGGTGGTGGTGGTGCGGGAGTAGGGAGGCGGGCGAACCGAGGCG 240
Qy 242 GCGGCGCCGATGGCGGACCTGGTTTCCAGCTGCAAGGATAAACTGGCATACTTTAGAATA 301
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GCGGCGCCGATGGCGGACCTGGTTTCCAGCTGCAAGGATAAACTGGCATACTTTAGAATA 300
Qy 302 AAGGAACTCAAAGATATATTAAATCAGCTCGGCTTACCAAAGCAAGGAAAGAAGCAGGAT 361
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 AAGGAACTCAAAGATATATTAAATCAGCTCGGCTTACCAAAGCAAGGAAAGAAGCAGGAT 360
Qy 362 CTTATTGATAGGGTGTTGGCACTCTTAACAGATGAGCAAGGTCAAAGGCATCATGGATGG 421
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 CTTATTGATAGGGTGTTGGCACTCTTAACAGATGAGCAAGGTCAAAGGCATCATGGATGG 420
Qy 422 GGAAGGAAAAATTCTCTCACCAAGGAGGCAGTGGCAAAAATTGTTGATGATACATACAGG 481
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 GGAAGGAAAAATTCTCTCACCAAGGAGGCAGTGGCAAAAATTGTTGATGATACATACAGG 480
Qy 482 AAAATGCAAATCCAATGTGCTCCTGATCTAGCCACCAGGAGCCACAGCGGATCAGATTTC 541
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 AAAATGCAAATCCAATGTGCTCCTGATCTAGCCACCAGGAGCCACAGCGGATCAGATTTC 540
Qy 542 AGTTTCAGGCCTATAGAGGAAGCCTATGACTCTTTCCAGCCAGAGGCCAAAGTTCGCTGC 601
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 AGTTTCAGGCCTATAGAGGAAGCCTATGACTCTTTCCAGCCAGAGGCCAAAGTTCGCTGC 600
Qy 602 ATTTGCAGTAGCACAATGGTTAATGACAGCATGATCCAGTGTGAAGATCAGCGATGCCAA 661
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 ATTTGCAGTAGCACAATGGTTAATGACAGCATGATCCAGTGTGAAGATCAGCGATGCCAA 660
Qy 662 GTGTGGCAACATTTGAATTGTGTACTCATTCCAGATAAGCCTGGGGAGAGCGCTGAAGTT 721
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 GTGTGGCAACATTTGAATTGTGTACTCATTCCAGATAAGCCTGGGGAGAGCGCTGAAGTT 720
Qy 722 CCACCCGTTTTCTACTGTGAATTATGCCGACTGAGTCGGGCAGACCCATTTTGGGTCACT 781
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 CCACCCGTTTTCTACTGTGAATTATGCCGACTGAGTCGGGCAGACCCATTTTGGGTCACT 780
Qy 782 GCTGGAAATCCATTACTCCCAGTGAAATTCGTGTCATCTGGTGTTACAAATGATGGAACA 841
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 GCTGGAAATCCATTACTCCCAGTGAAATTCGTGTCATCTGGTGTTACAAATGATGGAACA 840
Qy 842 AGTGTACCTCAAAGTGTGGAGAAAAGCTTCCAGCTTTCTCGATCAGATAGAGAAACTGTC 901
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 AGTGTACCTCAAAGTGTGGAGAAAAGCTTCCAGCTTTCTCGATCAGATAGAGAAACTGTC 900
Qy 902 CAGAGACAAGAATATGACCTCCAGGTTTGGTGCATGCTTTTGAATGACAAAGTTCAGTTC 961
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 CAGAGACAAGAATATGACCTCCAGGTTTGGTGCATGCTTTTGAATGACAAAGTTCAGTTC 960
Qy 962 AGGATGCAGTGGCCCCAATATGCAGAATTGCATGTTAATGGTATTTCTGTACGAGTAGTG 1021
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 AGGATGCAGTGGCCCCAATATGCAGAATTGCATGTTAATGGTATTTCTGTACGAGTAGTG 1020
Qy 1022 ACTAGACCTGGTTCTCAATTACTAGGGATAAATGGACGGGATGATGGTCCACTGATAACC 1081
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 ACTAGACCTGGTTCTCAATTACTAGGGATAAATGGACGGGATGATGGTCCACTGATAACC 1080
Qy 1082 ACATGCAGTAGAGAGGGAATTAATAAAATTTGCTTATCAAGGGTCGATGCTCGGACATTT 1141
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 ACATGCAGTAGAGAGGGAATTAATAAAATTTGCTTATCAAGGGTCGATGCTCGGACATTT 1140
Qy 1142 TGCTTTGGTGTTCGAATTGCTAAACGGAGGACTGTTGCTCAGGTTTTGAACTTAGTTCCA 1201
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 TGCTTTGGTGTTCGAATTGCTAAACGGAGGACTGTTGCTCAGGTTTTGAACTTAGTTCCA 1200
Qy 1202 AAGGAAGCTGAAGGAGAGTCTTTTGAGCATGCTCTTGCTCGTGTTCGGCGCTGTCTCGGA 1261
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 AAGGAAGCTGAAGGAGAGTCTTTTGAGCATGCTCTTGCTCGTGTTCGGCGCTGTCTCGGA 1260
Qy 1262 GGTGGAGACACTGCAGAGAATGCTGATAGTGACAGTGATTTGGAAGTGGTTGCGGAGTCT 1321
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 GGTGGAGACACTGCAGAGAATGCTGATAGTGACAGTGATTTGGAAGTGGTTGCGGAGTCT 1320
Qy 1322 GTTACAGTCAACCTTCGTTGCCCTAATAGTGGATCCAGAATGAGGATTGCTGGGAGATTC 1381
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1321 GTTACAGTCAACCTTCGTTGCCCTAATAGTGGATCCAGAATGAGGATTGCTGGGAGATTC 1380
Qy 1382 AAGCCTTGCATTCACATGGGTTGTTTTGATCTTGAAACTTTCGTGGAATTGAATCAACGG 1441
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1381 AAGCCTTGCATTCACATGGGTTGTTTTGATCTTGAAACTTTCGTGGAATTGAATCAACGG 1440
Qy 1442 TCCCGCAAGTGGCAATGTCCAATATGTTTAAAGAATTACTCTCTTGAGAGCTTGATGATT 1501
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1441 TCCCGCAAGTGGCAATGTCCAATATGTTTAAAGAATTACTCTCTTGAGAGCTTGATGATT 1500
Qy 1502 GATCCTTACTTCAATAGGATTACTTCTCTGTTGCGCAATTGCAATGAGGATGTCAATGAG 1561
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1501 GATCCTTACTTCAATAGGATTACTTCTCTGTTGCGCAATTGCAATGAGGATGTCAATGAG 1560
Qy 1562 GTTGATGTTAAGCCTGACGGATCTTGGCGTGTGAAGGGTGATGCTGCAAGTAGAGAATTA 1621
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1561 GTTGATGTTAAGCCTGACGGATCTTGGCGTGTGAAGGGTGATGCTGCAAGTAGAGAATTA 1620
Qy 1622 TCTCAGTGGCATATGCCTGATGGTACCCTTTGTAATCCTAAGGAAGATGTCAAACCTGCC 1681
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1621 TCTCAGTGGCATATGCCTGATGGTACCCTTTGTAATCCTAAGGAAGATGTCAAACCTGCC 1680
Qy 1682 ATGCAAAATGGAAATGAACAAATGATGGAAGGTACTTCTGATGGACAGAAATCTTTGAAA 1741
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1681 ATGCAAAATGGAAATGAACAAATGATGGAAGGTACTTCTGATGGACAGAAATCTTTGAAA 1740
Qy 1742 ATTGGAATAAAGAGAAATCCAAATGGAATCTGGGAAGTTAGTAGCAAAGCAGATGACAAG 1801
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1741 ATTGGAATAAAGAGAAATCCAAATGGAATCTGGGAAGTTAGTAGCAAAGCAGATGACAAG 1800
Qy 1802 AAGCCTTCTGTGGTTGGAAATCGCATGCAAAACAATAGTGGGTTCCGAGCTCTAAACAAC 1861
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1801 AAGCCTTCTGTGGTTGGAAATCGCATGCAAAACAATAGTGGGTTCCGAGCTCTAAACAAC 1860
Qy 1862 ATTATGCATATGAGCAATAGCCCAACTAGTAGTTATAGAGACGGGGAAGACCCAAGTGTG 1921
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1861 ATTATGCATATGAGCAATAGCCCAACTAGTAGTTATAGAGACGGGGAAGACCCAAGTGTG 1920
Qy 1922 AACCAAGAGAGCAATAGGCATGTTGACTTATCATTGAACAATGGTAATAATGAGTTTGAC 1981
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1921 AACCAAGAGAGCAATAGGCATGTTGACTTATCATTGAACAATGGTAATAATGAGTTTGAC 1980
Qy 1982 AGTTTCTCTCTCAATTTTGGCCAAGCATGCAATACAGATGATAGACCACAGCAACAACAT 2041
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1981 AGTTTCTCTCTCAATTTTGGCCAAGCATGCAATACAGATGATAGACCACAGCAACAACAT 2040
Qy 2042 AATGCCACAGACGTCATTGTTCTTAGTGATTCTGATGAAGAGAATGATGCTATGGTTTGT 2101
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2041 AATGCCACAGACGTCATTGTTCTTAGTGATTCTGATGAAGAGAATGATGCTATGGTTTGT 2100
Qy 2102 CCACCAGCTGTCTATGACAATACTACCACTGCAAATGGTAGTGGTTTTCCTTTCACCACT 2161
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2101 CCACCAGCTGTCTATGACAATACTACCACTGCAAATGGTAGTGGTTTTCCTTTCACCACT 2160
Qy 2162 AATGGTATTGGATATACTGAAAGGTACCAGGAAGATGCCGGCGTTGGTACAAGTGGCCTT 2221
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2161 AATGGTATTGGATATACTGAAAGGTACCAGGAAGATGCCGGCGTTGGTACAAGTGGCCTT 2220
Qy 2222 GGTTTATTGAGTAACAATGTTGATGATTTTGAGATGAATAACTGGCAAATGCATTCTTCT 2281
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2221 GGTTTATTGAGTAACAATGTTGATGATTTTGAGATGAATAACTGGCAAATGCATTCTTCT 2280
Qy 2282 TATCAACAACCTGAACAAGGCTTCCAGTTTTTTGGGAATGATACTGATGTCCATAATACT 2341
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2281 TATCAACAACCTGAACAAGGCTTCCAGTTTTTTGGGAATGATACTGATGTCCATAATACT 2340
Qy 2342 TTTGTTGGTTCACACAATTCCTTTGGCTTAGCACCAAATGACTATTCTCTTGATTGTAAT 2401
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2341 TTTGTTGGTTCACACAATTCCTTTGGCTTAGCACCAAATGACTATTCTCTTGATTGTAAT 2400
Qy 2402 GTTGGCGTAGAGGAGGCTTCGGTAACTCCTGCTCTTTCAGTCTGCCGGAATAGTAATGAA 2461
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2401 GTTGGCGTAGAGGAGGCTTCGGTAACTCCTGCTCTTTCAGTCTGCCGGAATAGTAATGAA 2460
Qy 2462 ATGCATGGAAGTTTGGTTGATAACCCACTGGCTTTGGTTGGCGATGATCCATCCTTGCAA 2521
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2461 ATGCATGGAAGTTTGGTTGATAACCCACTGGCTTTGGTTGGCGATGATCCATCCTTGCAA 2520
Qy 2522 ATTTTTCTTCCAAGTCAACCTTCCTCTGTTCCTCTTCAGGAAGAACTTAGCGAGCGTGCT 2581
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2521 ATTTTTCTTCCAAGTCAACCTTCCTCTGTTCCTCTTCAGGAAGAACTTAGCGAGCGTGCT 2580
Qy 2582 AATGCACCAAATGGGGTTCAGTCTGATGATTGGATATCCCTTACACTCGCAGCGGGTGGA 2641
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2581 AATGCACCAAATGGGGTTCAGTCTGATGATTGGATATCCCTTACACTCGCAGCGGGTGGA 2640
Qy 2642 GGTGGTAACGAAGAGCCTGCACCTGCTGATGTCAATTCACAGCCACAAATTCCATCAACA 2701
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2641 GGTGGTAACGAAGAGCCTGCACCTGCTGATGTCAATTCACAGCCACAAATTCCATCAACA 2700
Qy 2702 GAGACAGGGATCGAACCATTGACCGATGCTGCTTCTGCATTTCTGAGCACAAACATTGAA 2761
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2701 GAGACAGGGATCGAACCATTGACCGATGCTGCTTCTGCATTTCTGAGCACAAACATTGAA 2760
Qy 2762 AGACGTAGCGGAGCTGATTTAAATCCAAGAAGGATAGAAAATATATTTTCTCATCCTCGC 2821
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2761 AGACGTAGCGGAGCTGATTTAAATCCAAGAAGGATAGAAAATATATTTTCTCATCCTCGC 2820
Qy 2822 CAGCCTCGGTCTGTTAGGCCTCGACTCTGTTTATCAATAGATACTGATTCTGAGTAGTTT 2881
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2821 CAGCCTCGGTCTGTTAGGCCTCGACTCTGTTTATCAATAGATACTGATTCTGAGTAGTTT 2880
Qy 2882 GGACATCATAACGGGGTAACTGAGTTTGCATTAGTTTGGCAAAGCTGCCATCCAGAAATC 2941
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2881 GGACATCATAACGGGGTAACTGAGTTTGCATTAGTTTGGCAAAGCTGCCATCCAGAAATC 2940
Qy 2942 ATGATTTATACTGAGGTGGGGTTATCGGTCGTCTGGTTGATGTAAAGAAAAACACCAGCA 3001
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2941 ATGATTTATACTGAGGTGGGGTTATCGGTCGTCTGGTTGATGTAAAGAAAAACACCAGCA 3000
Qy 3002 TTGATGCTTTGTTGCCTCAATGGTTTACAAGCTTTCAAGTGTTCTATTTGATCCAGGAGG 3061
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3001 TTGATGCTTTGTTGCCTCAATGGTTTACAAGCTTTCAAGTGTTCTATTTGATCCAGGAGG 3060
Qy 3062 GATCTGCATAGAGGACATCTGATGGTTGGTATAGAAAATTTTCTAACTGGGTATCGAGGC 3121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3061 GATCTGCATAGAGGACATCTGATGGTTGGTATAGAAAATTTTCTAACTGGGTATCGAGGC 3120
Qy 3122 TTAATGTGGCGACTGGAGCAGTTTGTACATTTTTTTTGTTTTGACTTTTACTGGATATAA 3181
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3121 TTAATGTGGCGACTGGAGCAGTTTGTACATTTTTTTTGTTTTGACTTTTACTGGATATAA 3180
Qy 3182 GGAATAGAGGTGGGGTCATCCCTGGACCCTGGATGCAAGACAAATACATGTGAATGTTTT 3241
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3181 GGAATAGAGGTGGGGTCATCCCTGGACCCTGGATGCAAGACAAATACATGTGAATGTTTT 3240
Qy 3242 GGGTGTACCATCATTGTATTTAGGGTTTGGGGGTACTAATTTAGTTGTTTATTAACCTGG 3301
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3241 GGGTGTACCATCATTGTATTTAGGGTTTGGGGGTACTAATTTAGTTGTTTATTAACCTGG 3300
Qy 3302 TATTTGATGGAGAATAAATTATTCCTGGAAGTGGCGGCCAATAAACAGAGTCGTTGGGGT 3361
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3301 TATTTGATGGAGAATAAATTATTCCTGGAAGTGGCGGCCAATAAACAGAGTCGTTGGGGT 3360
Qy 3362 TTTACTTGGGT 3372
|||||||||||
Db 3361 TTTACTTGGGT 3371
d. Regarding claim 1, Neither Mathangadeera et al., Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al. and Luo et al. teach on LtRCA (SEQ ID NO: 2).
e. In regard to claim 1, Salvucci et al. teaches the relationship between the heat tolerance and rubisco activase stability (See Title and Abstract). Salvucci et al. teaches how rubisco activation is slow without activase and rubisco inactivation accelerates at high temperatures, activase activity must also increase to maintain rubisco function (See pg. 1460 right middle column). Salvucci et al. also teaches how activase activity is “insufficient to keep pace with the faster rates of Rubisco inactivation at high temperatures”, leading to decreased rubisco activation and reduced photosynthesis (See Discussion pg. 1467 left top column). Additionally, specifically teaches on the limitation of LtRCA “creosote bush (Larrea tridentate) is a desert shrub adapted to hot, arid regions” (See pg. 1461 left middle column) and that it has adapted to photosynthesize in temperatures “exceeding 45°C” (See pg. 1466 left bottom column). Salvucci et al. specifically teaches how “activase from creosote bush had a broad temperature optimum for ATP hydrolysis centered at 35°C, whereas the enzyme from Antarctic hairgrass exhibited maximal rates at 27.5°C”, comparing photosynthetic rates between RCA homologs, and rubisco activation was 10°C higher in L. tridentata (See Abstract, Results pg. 1463, and Fig. 6A). Finally, Salvucci’s teaches the LtRCA gene sequence under accession number AY312575, which has 100% sequence identity to Applicants SEQ ID NO: 2.
LOCUS AY312575 1724 bp mRNA linear PLN 15-APR-2004
DEFINITION Larrea tridentata Rubisco activase alpha form precursor (RCA1)
mRNA, complete cds; nuclear gene for chloroplast product.
ACCESSION AY312575
VERSION AY312575.1
KEYWORDS .
SOURCE Larrea tridentata (creosote bush)
ORGANISM Larrea tridentata
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; eudicotyledons; Gunneridae;
Pentapetalae; rosids; fabids; Zygophyllales; Zygophyllaceae;
Larreoideae; Larrea.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 1724)
AUTHORS Salvucci,M.E. and Crafts-Brandner,S.J.
TITLE Relationship between the heat tolerance of photosynthesis and the
thermal stability of rubisco activase in plants from contrasting
thermal environments
JOURNAL Plant Physiol. 134 (4), 1460-1470 (2004)
PUBMED 15084731
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 1724)
AUTHORS Salvucci,M.E.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (02-JUN-2003) Western Cotton Research Lab, USDA-ARS, 4135
E. Broadway Road, Phoenix, AZ 85040, USA
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..1724
/organism="Larrea tridentata"
/mol_type="mRNA"
/db_xref="taxon:66636"
gene 1..1724
/gene="RCA1"
CDS 70..1500
/gene="RCA1"
/codon_start=1
/product="Rubisco activase alpha form precursor"
/protein_id="AAP83929.1"
/translation="MAAAYSTVGAVNRAPLSLNGSGARASLVPSTAFFGSSLKKSAAK
FPKASSGNFKIVAQEISEDQQTDKDKWKGLAYDISDDQQDITRGKGMVDTLFQAPMQS
GTHYAVMSSYDYISQGLRQYNLDNNMDGFYIAPAFMDKLVVHITKNFLSLPNIKIPLI
LGIWGGKGQGKSFQCELVFAKMGINPIMMSAGELESGNAGEPAKLIRQRYREAADIIK
KGKMCCLFINDLDAGAGRMGGTTQYTVNNQMVNATLMNIADNPTNVQLPGMYNKEENP
RVPIIVTGNDFSTLYAPLIRDGRMEKFYWAPTREDRIGVCKGIFRTDNVADDDIVKLV
DTFPGQSIDFFGALRARVYHDEVRKWVSEVGVDTIGKKLVNSKEGPPSFEQPKMTIDK
LLGYGGMLVQEQENVKRVQLADKYMSEAALGDANNDAIKRGTFYGGQAAQQVGNVPVP
EGCTDPQATNYDPTARSDDGSCVYKF"
transit_peptide 70..237
/gene="RCA1"
mat_peptide 238..1497
/gene="RCA1"
/product="Rubisco activase alpha form"
ORIGIN
1 aagttgtaag catagcagtg ctctctctac tctttgcaac acaaaacatc ccaagaagta
61 cgtaattcaa tggctgctgc ctactccacc gtcggagctg tcaacagggc accgctgagc
121 ttgaatggnt ctggtgcgag agcttcattg gttccaagca ctgccttctt cggcagcagc
181 ttgaagaaat ctgctgcgaa attccccaag gcgtcatcag gaaacttcaa gattgttgca
241 caagaaatta gtgaggatca gcagaccgac aaggacaaat ggaagggtct tgcctatgac
301 atttctgatg atcaacagga tatcactaga ggaaagggta tggttgatac tctcttccaa
361 gctcccatgc aatctggcac tcactatgct gtcatgagtt cttacgacta catcagtcaa
421 ggacttcgcc agtacaactt ggacaacaac atggacggtt tctacatagc accagccttc
481 atggacaagc ttgtcgtcca catcaccaag aacttcttga gtctccctaa catcaagatt
541 cctctgatct tgggtatctg gggaggcaaa ggtcaaggaa aatctttcca atgtgaactt
601 gtttttgcca agatgggaat caaccccatc atgatgagtg ctggagagct ggaaagtgga
661 aatgcaggag agcccgcaaa gctgatcagg caaaggtatc gtgaagcagc tgatatcatc
721 aagaagggaa aaatgtgctg cctgtttatc aacgatctcg atgccggagc tggtcgtatg
781 ggtggaacaa ctcaatacac tgttaacaat cagatggtga atgccaccct catgaacata
841 gctgacaacc caacaaatgt ccagcttcct ggcatgtaca acaaggaaga gaaccctcgt
901 gttcccatca ttgtcactgg taacgacttc tcaacattgt atgcccctct tatccgtgat
961 ggccgtatgg agaaattcta ctgggcaccc accagggagg accgtattgg tgtctgcaaa
1021 ggaattttca gaactgacaa cgttgctgac gatgatattg tcaagcttgt tgacactttc
1081 cctggccaat ccattgattt cttcggtgcc ctgagggcaa gagtttacca tgatgaagtg
1141 aggaagtggg tttccgaagt cggtgtcgac actattggca agaagctggt caactcaaaa
1201 gaaggacccc cttcatttga gcagcccaag atgacaattg ataagctcct tggctacgga
1261 ggcatgcttg tccaggagca ggagaacgtc aagagagttc aattagctga caaatacatg
1321 tccgaggctg ctcttggtga tgctaataac gatgctatta aaagaggaac tttctacggg
1381 ggccaagccg cccagcaagt gggtaatgtt cctgttcctg aaggttgtac tgatcctcag
1441 gcaacgaact acgatccaac agctaggagt gacgatggaa gctgtgtgta caagttttaa
1501 gcttttgtgg aaggacaaga ggctcttaat aaggatgtga ttaaacaatc aacgttattt
1561 ttaatactta tgtttaattt ggttcctagc ctctaggttt gtgtaaaagt agtacaatct
1621 tgttcagcct gatttagttt tgttcttcaa cttaataagc attcttgtta attttaagga
1681 gaactttggt cttccttgtt aaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaa aaaa
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1430; DB 1; Length 1724;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1431; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGGCTGCTGCCTACTCCACCGTCGGAGCTGTCAACAGGGCACCGCTGAGCTTGAATGGN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 70 ATGGCTGCTGCCTACTCCACCGTCGGAGCTGTCAACAGGGCACCGCTGAGCTTGAATGGN 129
Qy 61 TCTGGTGCGAGAGCTTCATTGGTTCCAAGCACTGCCTTCTTCGGCAGCAGCTTGAAGAAA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 130 TCTGGTGCGAGAGCTTCATTGGTTCCAAGCACTGCCTTCTTCGGCAGCAGCTTGAAGAAA 189
Qy 121 TCTGCTGCGAAATTCCCCAAGGCGTCATCAGGAAACTTCAAGATTGTTGCACAAGAAATT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 190 TCTGCTGCGAAATTCCCCAAGGCGTCATCAGGAAACTTCAAGATTGTTGCACAAGAAATT 249
Qy 181 AGTGAGGATCAGCAGACCGACAAGGACAAATGGAAGGGTCTTGCCTATGACATTTCTGAT 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 250 AGTGAGGATCAGCAGACCGACAAGGACAAATGGAAGGGTCTTGCCTATGACATTTCTGAT 309
Qy 241 GATCAACAGGATATCACTAGAGGAAAGGGTATGGTTGATACTCTCTTCCAAGCTCCCATG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 310 GATCAACAGGATATCACTAGAGGAAAGGGTATGGTTGATACTCTCTTCCAAGCTCCCATG 369
Qy 301 CAATCTGGCACTCACTATGCTGTCATGAGTTCTTACGACTACATCAGTCAAGGACTTCGC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 370 CAATCTGGCACTCACTATGCTGTCATGAGTTCTTACGACTACATCAGTCAAGGACTTCGC 429
Qy 361 CAGTACAACTTGGACAACAACATGGACGGTTTCTACATAGCACCAGCCTTCATGGACAAG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 430 CAGTACAACTTGGACAACAACATGGACGGTTTCTACATAGCACCAGCCTTCATGGACAAG 489
Qy 421 CTTGTCGTCCACATCACCAAGAACTTCTTGAGTCTCCCTAACATCAAGATTCCTCTGATC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 490 CTTGTCGTCCACATCACCAAGAACTTCTTGAGTCTCCCTAACATCAAGATTCCTCTGATC 549
Qy 481 TTGGGTATCTGGGGAGGCAAAGGTCAAGGAAAATCTTTCCAATGTGAACTTGTTTTTGCC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 550 TTGGGTATCTGGGGAGGCAAAGGTCAAGGAAAATCTTTCCAATGTGAACTTGTTTTTGCC 609
Qy 541 AAGATGGGAATCAACCCCATCATGATGAGTGCTGGAGAGCTGGAAAGTGGAAATGCAGGA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 610 AAGATGGGAATCAACCCCATCATGATGAGTGCTGGAGAGCTGGAAAGTGGAAATGCAGGA 669
Qy 601 GAGCCCGCAAAGCTGATCAGGCAAAGGTATCGTGAAGCAGCTGATATCATCAAGAAGGGA 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 670 GAGCCCGCAAAGCTGATCAGGCAAAGGTATCGTGAAGCAGCTGATATCATCAAGAAGGGA 729
Qy 661 AAAATGTGCTGCCTGTTTATCAACGATCTCGATGCCGGAGCTGGTCGTATGGGTGGAACA 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 730 AAAATGTGCTGCCTGTTTATCAACGATCTCGATGCCGGAGCTGGTCGTATGGGTGGAACA 789
Qy 721 ACTCAATACACTGTTAACAATCAGATGGTGAATGCCACCCTCATGAACATAGCTGACAAC 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 790 ACTCAATACACTGTTAACAATCAGATGGTGAATGCCACCCTCATGAACATAGCTGACAAC 849
Qy 781 CCAACAAATGTCCAGCTTCCTGGCATGTACAACAAGGAAGAGAACCCTCGTGTTCCCATC 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 850 CCAACAAATGTCCAGCTTCCTGGCATGTACAACAAGGAAGAGAACCCTCGTGTTCCCATC 909
Qy 841 ATTGTCACTGGTAACGACTTCTCAACATTGTATGCCCCTCTTATCCGTGATGGCCGTATG 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 910 ATTGTCACTGGTAACGACTTCTCAACATTGTATGCCCCTCTTATCCGTGATGGCCGTATG 969
Qy 901 GAGAAATTCTACTGGGCACCCACCAGGGAGGACCGTATTGGTGTCTGCAAAGGAATTTTC 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 970 GAGAAATTCTACTGGGCACCCACCAGGGAGGACCGTATTGGTGTCTGCAAAGGAATTTTC 1029
Qy 961 AGAACTGACAACGTTGCTGACGATGATATTGTCAAGCTTGTTGACACTTTCCCTGGCCAA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1030 AGAACTGACAACGTTGCTGACGATGATATTGTCAAGCTTGTTGACACTTTCCCTGGCCAA 1089
Qy 1021 TCCATTGATTTCTTCGGTGCCCTGAGGGCAAGAGTTTACCATGATGAAGTGAGGAAGTGG 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1090 TCCATTGATTTCTTCGGTGCCCTGAGGGCAAGAGTTTACCATGATGAAGTGAGGAAGTGG 1149
Qy 1081 GTTTCCGAAGTCGGTGTCGACACTATTGGCAAGAAGCTGGTCAACTCAAAAGAAGGACCC 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1150 GTTTCCGAAGTCGGTGTCGACACTATTGGCAAGAAGCTGGTCAACTCAAAAGAAGGACCC 1209
Qy 1141 CCTTCATTTGAGCAGCCCAAGATGACAATTGATAAGCTCCTTGGCTACGGAGGCATGCTT 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1210 CCTTCATTTGAGCAGCCCAAGATGACAATTGATAAGCTCCTTGGCTACGGAGGCATGCTT 1269
Qy 1201 GTCCAGGAGCAGGAGAACGTCAAGAGAGTTCAATTAGCTGACAAATACATGTCCGAGGCT 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1270 GTCCAGGAGCAGGAGAACGTCAAGAGAGTTCAATTAGCTGACAAATACATGTCCGAGGCT 1329
Qy 1261 GCTCTTGGTGATGCTAATAACGATGCTATTAAAAGAGGAACTTTCTACGGGGGCCAAGCC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1330 GCTCTTGGTGATGCTAATAACGATGCTATTAAAAGAGGAACTTTCTACGGGGGCCAAGCC 1389
Qy 1321 GCCCAGCAAGTGGGTAATGTTCCTGTTCCTGAAGGTTGTACTGATCCTCAGGCAACGAAC 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1390 GCCCAGCAAGTGGGTAATGTTCCTGTTCCTGAAGGTTGTACTGATCCTCAGGCAACGAAC 1449
Qy 1381 TACGATCCAACAGCTAGGAGTGACGATGGAAGCTGTGTGTACAAGTTTTAA 1431
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1450 TACGATCCAACAGCTAGGAGTGACGATGGAAGCTGTGTGTACAAGTTTTAA 1500
f. Given that Mathangadeera’s teaching of a transgenic plant that co-overexpresses SIZ1 and RCA for enhanced abiotic stress tolerance, along with Esmaeili’s teaching of co-overexpressing AVP1/ OsSIZ1 and Wijewardene’s teaching of co-overexpressing AVP1/LtRCA to improve drought, salinity, and heat tolerance in transgenic plants, coupled with Luo’s and Salvucci’s teaching on the sequence information of OsSIZ1 (SEQ ID NO: 1) and LtRCA (SEQ ID NO: 2), respectively, it would have been obvious to combine teachings knowing that one skilled the art can readily interchange known genes, functions, and combinations as taught by Mathangadeera et al. Additionally, the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in teachings of known gene to optimize combinations.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. because one skilled in the art would readily combine prior art elements according to known teachings on SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 to yield a predictable result.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in this approach because Mathangadeera et al. teaches on the template to that co-overexpresses SIZ1 and RCA for enhanced abiotic stress tolerance, while Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. teach on co-overexpression OsSIZ1 and LtRCA, respectively, along with Luo’s and Salvucci’s teaching of SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2. Consequently, based on the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al., one would reasonably expect co-overexpressing OsSIZ1 and LtRCA to produce a modified plant with said phenotype.
In regard to claim 2, Mathangadeera et al. teaches on conferring abiotic tolerance, but does not teach on the specific conditions.
In regard to claim 2, Mathangadeera et al. does not teach on temperature of at least 10°C or lack of water for at least one week.
In regard to claim 2, Esmaeili et al. teaches that irrigation was stopped for two weeks (see page 12 bottom paragraph). Additionally, Esmaeili et al. teaches that plants were in 32°C for ten days, which the optimum range is between 18°C - 24°C, meaning that heat stress was 10°C above optimum. Wijewardene et al. teaches that watering was withheld for two weeks (see page 11 sec. 4.8). Luo et al. teaches heat stress treatments of 20°C above the control plants for 7 days (See Figure 6). Finally, Salvucci et al. specifically teaches how “activase from creosote bush had a broad temperature optimum for ATP hydrolysis centered at 35°C, whereas the enzyme from Antarctic hairgrass exhibited maximal rates at 27.5°C”, comparing photosynthetic rates between RCA homologs, and rubisco activation was 10°C higher in L. tridentata (See Abstract, Results pg. 1463, and Fig. 6A).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al.. This is because selecting such experimental design choices is routine practice for a person of ordinary skill in the art, aiming to yield a predictable result.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in this approach because Mathangadeera et al. teaches on the template to that co-overexpresses SIZ1 and RCA for enhanced abiotic stress tolerance, while Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al., teach on the different experimental designs.
In regard to claim 3, Mathangadeera et al. teaches co-overexpressing both SIZ1 and RCA would result in higher heat drought tolerance and yield (See above).
Regarding claim 3, Mathangadeera et al. does not teach on specifically how much yield.
In regard to claim 3, Esmaeili et al. “AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants producing over 160% more seeds than WT”, (See pg. 4 bottom paragraph and Fig. 6. Wijewardene et al. teaches over 50-fold increase in seed yield compared to wild-type and RCA-overexpressing plants (Fig. 2C)” (See page 2 sec. 2.2 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. because one skilled in the art would readily combine prior art elements according to known teachings on increased seed yield to produce a predictable result.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success in this approach because Mathangadeera et al. teaches on the template to that co-overexpresses SIZ1 and RCA for enhanced abiotic stress tolerance, while Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. teach on co-overexpression OsSIZ1 and LtRCA, respectively, result in significantly higher seed yield. Consequently, based on the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al., one would reasonably expect co-overexpressing OsSIZ1 and LtRCA to produce a modified plant with higher seed yield.
In regard to claim 8, Mathangadeera et al. improving crop production (see page 1). Along with Luo et al. teaching the claimed product is a transgenic plant or seed such as “nonlimiting examples of a plant of this invention include, turfgrass (e.g., creeping bentgrass, tall fescue, ryegrass, Kentucky Bluegrass), forage grasses (e.g., Medicago trunculata, alfalfa), switchgrass, trees (e.g., orange, lemon, peach, apple, plum, cherry, almond, pecan, poplar, coffee), tobacco, tomato, potato, sugar beet, pea, green bean, lima bean, carrot, celery, cauliflower, broccoli, cabbage, soybean, corn, oil seed crops (e.g., canola, sunflower, rapeseed), cotton, Arabidopsis, pepper, peanut, grape, orchid, rose, dahlia, carnation, cranberry, blueberry, strawberry, lettuce, cassaya, spinach, lettuce, cucumber, zucchini, wheat, maize, rye, rice, flax, oat, barley, sorghum, millet, sugarcane, peanut, beet, potato, legume, sweetpotato, banana, and the like” (See paragraph [0106], claims 9-10, and Example 3). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine both teaching to produce plants with higher heat and drought tolerance knowing the teaching of the prior art. Therefore, one skilled in the art would be motivated to produce transgenic plant knowing the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al. to effectively co-overexpress OsSIZ1 and LtRCA in agronomic plants.
In regard to claims 9-10, Mathangadeera et al. improving crop production via genetic engineering (see page 1). Both Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. teach on co-overexpression OsSIZ1 and LtRCA in Arabidopsis (see page 12 3rd paragraph). Luo et al. teaches on a transgenic plant and seed (See paragraphs [0027], [0136], claims 9-10, and Figure 9). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to produce a transgenic plant with heat and drought tolerance knowing the teaching of the prior art. Therefore, one skilled in the art would be motivated to produce transgenic plant knowing the teachings of Mathangadeera et al. in view of Esmaeili et al., Wijewardene et al., Luo et al. and Salvucci et al. to effectively co-overexpress OsSIZ1 and LtRCA in transgenic plants and seeds.
Response to Applicant's Remarks:
7. Since the rejections have been modified to reflect the amendment to the claims, only the arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are responded below:
Firstly, Applicant argued that the prior art fails to teach higher seed yield in plants under combined drought and heat stress. Secondly, the Applicant argued that the improvements beyond additive effects. (Remarks, 11/04/2025, page 9-12).
This argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive.
MPEP says, "the Board stated that when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR, 550 U.S. at 402-03, 82 USPQ2d at 1390 (MPEP, 2143/section E).
In the instant case, Applicant is reminded that this is a 103-obviousness rejection and not a 102-anticipation rejection Esmaeili’s teaching of co-overexpressing AVP1/ OsSIZ1 and Wijewardene’s teaching of co-overexpressing AVP1/LtRCA to improve drought, salinity, and heat tolerance in transgenic plants, coupled with Luo’s and Salvucci’s teaching on the sequence information of OsSIZ1 (SEQ ID NO: 1) and LtRCA (SEQ ID NO: 2), establishes that it would have been obvious to adapt Mathangadeera’s modified plant by co-overexpressing OsSIZ1 and LtRCA. Specifically, Esmaeili et al. “AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants producing over 160% more seeds than WT” (See pg. 4 bottom paragraph and Fig. 6. Wijewardene et al. teaches over 50-fold increase in seed yield compared to wild-type and RCA-overexpressing plants (Fig. 2C)” (See page 2 sec. 2.2 and Fig. 2). Which is both Esmaeili et al. and Wijewardene et al. teach when plants are co-overexpress with either OsSIZ1 and LtRCA one would expect to see significant seed yield increase. However, since there are limited solutions for enhancing abiotic tolerance with the SIZ1 and RCA genes Mathangadeera et al. identified, the combination of said references makes the claim obvious.
Secondly, Applicant argued that the improvements beyond additive effects. This argument has been fully considered but not found persuasive.
In the instant case, Applicant’s argument that the combinations yields beyond additive effect is unpersuasive. The prior art of Esmaeili et al. “AVP1/OsSIZ1 co-overexpressing plants producing over 160% more seeds than WT” (See pg. 4 bottom paragraph and Fig. 6). Wijewardene et al. teaches over 50-fold increase in seed yield compared to wild-type and RCA-overexpressing plants (Fig. 2C)” (See page 2 sec. 2.2 and Fig. 2). Both teachings result is significant increases in seed yield. Thus, the results observed by the Applicant are not unexpected but rather predictable result of combining known elements according to known methods to yield the expected outcome.
The mere optimization of yield through a routine combinations of teachings does not overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. The increase cited by Applicant represents a predictable trend already established in the art.
At least for these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
8. No claims are allowed.
/C.J.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/PHUONG T BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663 /PHUONG T BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663