Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Song (US 2024/0418838 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Song teaches, a detection method of a lidar ([0005] a photodetector of a LiDAR device), wherein the lidar comprises a detection part, and the detection part comprises a plurality of detection units ([0014] (LiDAR) device comprises a photodetector including a plurality of macro-pixels forming a macro-pixel array, each macro-pixel in the photodetector including a number of single photon avalanche diodes (SPAD)), wherein the plurality of detection units are capable of forming one or more output regions ([0014] a controlling unit that configures the laser scanner to scan laser beams such that reflected laser photons are incident on the photodetector one column of macro-pixels at a time, the column of macro pixels being turned on, and the rest of the macro-pixels on the photodetector being turned off); and the method comprises the following operations:
selecting an output region from the detection part according to current ambient light information, the output region comprising one or more of the detection units ([0038]-[0039] In one embodiment, the controlling unit 107 can apply a predetermined threshold value to the four-level digital signal. The threshold value can be used to determine whether to register the four-level digital signal as a signal event or discard it as a noise event. For example, the threshold value can be set 3.5. Therefore, the controlling unit 107 can register the four-level digital signal as a signal event because the number of levels representing the number of photons is equal to or more than the threshold value);
obtaining echo information of the selected output region ([0037] each macro pixel can receive one or more photons representing real signals reflected from the target object); and
performing detection according to the echo information of the selected output region ([0026] can execute one or more data processing algorithms to perform one or more operations for signal filtering, object detections, and image processing).
Regarding Claim 2, Song teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining at least one comparison threshold according to the ambient light information ([0037] a macro pixel 201 can receive signal photons 217, 218 and 219; and one noise photon 221 from ambient light. The controlling unit 107 or adder 213 can convert all the photons… that are incident on the macro-pixel 201 into electrical signal… a four-level signal would be constructed from the four photons, including the noise photon… [0038] the controlling unit 107 can apply a predetermined threshold value to the four-level digital signal. The threshold value can be used to determine whether to register the four-level digital signal as a signal event or discard it as a noise event); and
wherein selecting the output region from the detection part according to current ambient light information comprises:
selecting the output region from the detection part according to the current ambient light information and the at least one comparison threshold ([0039]-[0040] the threshold value can be set 3.5. Therefore, the controlling unit 107 can register the four-level digital signal as a signal event because the number of levels representing the number of photons is equal to or more than the threshold value. Another macro-pixel 222 can receive two noise photons 226 and 228 from ambient light, and one signal photon 224. A three-level digital event constructed by the controlling unit 107 from the macro-pixel 222 would be rejected as a noise event because the multi-level digital event does not reach the threshold of 3.5).
Regarding Claim 8, Song teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the detection units comprises a plurality of detectors ([0049] the photodetector 117 arranges the SPADS in macro-pixels, resulting in less pixels compared to photodetectors that register a pixel per SPAD).
Regarding Claim 9, Song teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the detectors consists of a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) ([0014] each macro-pixel in the photodetector including a number of single photon avalanche diodes (SPAD)).
Regarding Claim 10, Song teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein each of the detection units is an SPAD array or a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) ([Title] SPAD Array with Ambient Light Suppression for Solid-State LiDAR).
Regarding Claim 11, Song teaches the detection method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a distance between the lidar and a target object according to an output of detection units corresponding to the selected output region ([0005] LiDAR device can further be configured to scan at different angles such that laser pulses from a same portion of a target object can be incident on the turned-on column multiple times to increase the resolution of a LiDAR image).
Regarding Claim 12, Song teaches a lidar, comprising:
an emission unit, configured to emit a detection laser beam ([0017] the laser beams are linear laser beams that are either diffused from laser spots by a diffuser in the LiDAR device, or directly generated by a laser pulse emitting unit in the LiDAR device) to detect a target object ([0016] reflected laser pulses… of a target object);
a detection part, configured to receive echoes reflected on the target object by the detection laser beam ([0014] a controlling unit that configures the laser scanner to scan laser beams such that reflected laser photons are incident on the photodetector) and output an echo signal ([0016] The controlling unit is configured to read photons from the turned-on column of macro-pixels by using adders to construct multi-level digital signals); and
a processing unit, coupled to the detection part, and configured to use the detection method according to claim 1 to control the detection part and obtain the echo signal output by the detection part ([0016] The controlling unit is configured to read photons from the turned-on column of macro-pixels by using adders to construct multi-level digital signals).
Regarding Claim 13, Song teaches the lidar according to claim 12, wherein the processing unit is further configured to: calculate a distance between the lidar and the target object according to the output echo signal ([0022] The LiDAR device 101 can be a solid-state LiDAR device 101, which can measure distances to objects in an environment by illuminating the objects with laser pulses (laser beams). Differences in return times of the reflected laser pulses and wavelengths can be used to create a point cloud of the environment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2024/0418838 A1) in view of Matsui et al. (EP 3 614 174 B1).
Regarding Claim 3, Song is not relied upon as teaching that the at least one comparison threshold comprises a first comparison threshold and a second comparison threshold, wherein the first comparison threshold is greater than or equal to the second comparison threshold; the one or more output regions comprise at least a first output region and a second output region, wherein the first output region is less than the second output region; and
the selecting the output region from the detection part according to the current ambient light information and the at least one comparison threshold comprises:
selecting the first output region when a light intensity of current ambient light is greater than the first comparison threshold; and
selecting the second output region when the light intensity of the current ambient light is less than the second comparison threshold.
However, Matsui teaches that the at least one comparison threshold comprises a first comparison threshold and a second comparison threshold, wherein the first comparison threshold is greater than or equal to the second comparison threshold ([0064] For example, it is possible that the length of this period can be adjusted manually by the user, or that it is adjusted automatically depending on the brightness of the ambient light or the desired distance range to measure. Thus, it is possible to adjust the sensing conditions to the ambient light conditions, thereby improving accuracy even further. [0072] When the result of this comparison is equal to or greater than a predetermined comparison threshold, for example greater than or equal to +2, the detection portion 14 determines that the signal received by the pixel 10 comprises measurement light 5. Otherwise, if the result of the comparison is smaller than the predetermined comparison threshold, the detection portion 14 determines that the signal received by the pixel 10 comprises only ambient light 18); the one or more output regions comprise at least a first output region and a second output region, wherein the first output region is less than the second output region (Fig. 2 Examiner Note: the second output region may correspond to the entire array and the first output region might correspond to any reduced number of pixels); and
the selecting the output region from the detection part according to the current ambient light information and the at least one comparison threshold comprises:
selecting the first output region when a light intensity of current ambient light is greater than the first comparison threshold; and
selecting the second output region when the light intensity of the current ambient light is less than the second comparison threshold ([0073]-[0074] When the result of this comparison is equal to or greater than a predetermined comparison threshold, for example greater than or equal to +2, the detection portion 14 determines that the signal received by the pixel 10 comprises measurement light 5. Otherwise, if the result of the comparison is smaller than the predetermined comparison threshold, the detection portion 14 determines that the signal received by the pixel 10 comprises only ambient light 18. The pixel output control portion 12 accordingly enables or disables the output of the pixel 10, as described above. This calculation corresponds to summing up (integrating) the weighted counts in each row of the table of Fig. 7E. For example, for the row marked "inside spot", the sum is +2, which is equal to the comparison threshold, so that the discrimination portion 11 regards the pixel 10 as being inside the spot and sends a corresponding discrimination result signal DR to the pixel output control portion 12. An advantage of the present embodiment is that the discrimination between pixels 10 that receive measurement light 5 and pixels 10 that do not receive measurement light can be continued during the actual measurement. That is to say, the discrimination portion 11 can be configured to constantly monitor the pixel 10, so that only the signals from those pixels that actually receive measurement light 5 are taken into account for the calculation of the measurement result.).
Song and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR based target detection via SPAD array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Song to include the features of Matsui with a reasonable expectation of success because both create groups of SPADs based on ambient light levels. This would have yielded the predictable result of selecting the output region from the detection part according to the current ambient light information and at least one comparison threshold.
Regarding Claim 4, Song is not relied upon as teaching that first comparison threshold is equal to the second comparison threshold.
However, Matsui teaches that first comparison threshold is equal to the second comparison threshold ([0065] The length of the first predetermined time intervals TM1 - TM6 is equal to the length of the second predetermined time intervals TP1 - TP6).
Song and Matsui are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR based target detection via SPAD array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Song to include the features of Matsui with a reasonable expectation of success because both create groups of SPADs based on ambient light levels. This would have yielded the predictable result of selecting the output region from the detection part according to the current ambient light information and one comparison threshold.
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 2024/0418838 A1) in view of Bolatkale et al. (US 2022/0091239 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Song is not relied upon as teaching determining the one or more output regions according to one or more historical light spot regions.
However, Bolatkale teaches determining the one or more output regions according to one or more historical light spot regions ([Abstract] photon counts may be binned for each time range… [0029] at least one other of the bins, among the array of bins, may be associated with noise (e.g., sunlight or interfering light from an unintended source). Note that background noise may be measured by a SPAD array or auxiliary ambient light sinsor and eth SPAD receiver may be calibrated, by way of threshold-detection settings in the logic processing, to ignore and discard such noise).
Song and Bolatkale are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR based target detection via SPAD array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Song to include the features of Bolatkale with a reasonable expectation of success because both eliminate ambient light as noise. This would have yielded the predictable result of eliminating some of the macro-pixel columns of Song due to historical light spot information provided by the process of Bolatkale.
Regarding Claim 6, Song is not relied upon as teaching the method further comprising:
obtaining a light spot region; and
based on the light spot region, determining at least one output region corresponding to the light spot region; and
wherein selecting the output region from the detection part according to current ambient light information comprises:
selecting the output region from the at least one output region according to the current ambient light information, the selected output region being covered by the light spot region.
However, Bolatkale teaches the method further comprising:
obtaining a light spot region ([0007] Such circuitry may be set to provide relatively coarse timestamps of the detected photons, which are accumulated to construct a coarse-bin histogram… Possible targets may then be identified by examination of the photon count distribution over the bins. [0026] Accumulation (counting) of photons may be computed via a plurality of pixels… The accumulated photon may be binned according to the associated relative coarse time range. [0033] Histogram bins measuring above the background noise counts may be regarded as the target bins); and
based on the light spot region, determining at least one output region corresponding to the light spot region Histogram bins measuring above the background noise counts may be regarded as the target bins ([0033] The discriminator 250 may be used for coarse target bin(s) identification for each pixel group… Histogram bins measuring above the background noise counts may be regarded as the target bins. [0007] Upon identification of the possible target(s), a plurality of TDCs may be used to accumulate detected photon counts over more fine time ranges… corresponding to identified targets. [0031] Based on the identification of target bins, the plurality of TDC may be reassigned… to allow for the creation of a fine histogram.”; and
wherein selecting the output region from the detection part according to current ambient light information comprises:
selecting the output region from the at least one output region according to the current ambient light information, the selected output region being covered by the light spot region ([0033] The discriminator 250 may compare ambient noise counts to the integrated histogram… Background noise may be measured by the SPAD array or an auxiliary ambient light sensor… Histogram bins measuring above the background noise counts may be regarded as the target bins… In one embodiment, the discriminator 250 outputs the binary code for each bin, gating the shared TDCs synchronously. [0043] The time-stamps in noise (non-target) bins are primarily discarded by operating only one TDC in each bin).
Song and Bolatkale are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR based target detection via SPAD array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Song to include the features of Bolatkale with a reasonable expectation of success because both eliminate ambient light as noise. This would have yielded the predictable result of increasing signal to noise ratio, reducing noise related detections, and increasing processing efficiency.
Regarding Claim 7, Song is not relied upon as teaching updating the one or more output regions according to a new light spot region.
However, Bolatkale teaches updating the one or more output regions according to a new light spot region ([0033] the accumulator may update the coarse histograms… with every frame rate… Histogram bins measuring above the background noise counts may be regarded as the target bins).
Song and Bolatkale are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR based target detection via SPAD array. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Song to include the features of Bolatkale with a reasonable expectation of success because both eliminate ambient light as noise. This would have yielded the predictable result of updating the output regions as the ambient light changes in a scene.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645