DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kinzler does not teach “a coupled winding electrically isolated from the main winding” as amended. Applicant asserts that the winding sections of Kinzler are connected in series. Therefore, they cannot be electrically isolated from one another.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. The examiner interprets that winding sections 2 and 4 of Kinzler are equivalent to the claimed “a first sub-winding and a second sub-winding” of the “main winding,” and winding sections 10 and 12 correspond to the claimed “a first sub-winding and a second sub-winding” of the “coupled winding” as recited. Windings sections 2 and 4 are connected in series, and windings 10 and 12 are connected in series. However, winding sections 2 and 4 are not connected to windings sections 10 and 12. In facts, winding sections 2 and 4 are isolated from winding sections 10 and 12. Therefore, Kinzler teaches “a coupled winding (winding sections 10 and 12) electrically isolated from the main winding (winding sections 2 and 4)” as amended.
Applicant’s argument with respect to the drawings objection is not persuasive because 37 CRF 1.83(a) requires the drawings to show every feature of the claimed invention. Applicant can submit the different sizes if the claimed features without scale.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a size of the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor is physically smaller than an otherwise identical multi-phase inductor having a same number of inductor turns that is not cross-coupled” as recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 17-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kinzler et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,578,664).
With respect to claim 1, Kinzler et al., hereinafter referred to as “Kinzler,” teaches a cross-coupled multi-phase inductor (FIGs. 1-3 or 4) comprising:
a single core 1; and
at least one pair of adjacent windings (windings 2 and 4 paring with windings 10 and 12) wound on the single core, the at least one pair of adjacent windings comprising a main winding (combination of windings 2 and 4) and a coupled winding (combination of windings 10 and 12) electrically isolated from the main winding, each adjacent winding of the at least one pair of adjacent windings further comprising a first sub-winding (sub-winding 2 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 10 for coupled winding 10 and 12) and a second sub-winding (sub-winding 4 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 12 for coupled winding 10 and 12) which extends from the first sub-winding;
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the main winding are disposed on first opposing sides of the single core,
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding are disposed on second opposing sides of the single core adjacent to said first opposing sides, and
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the main winding are cross-coupled with the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
With respect to claims 2, 13 and 19, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, the power converter of claim 12 and the method of claim 17, respectively, wherein each adjacent winding forms an inductor (col. 2, lines 44-47 and lines 66-68).
With respect to claim 3, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 2, wherein the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor has an even number (four) of inductors (col. 2, lines 44-47 and lines 66-68).
With respect to claim 5, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 2, wherein each inductor is linked, through the corresponding first or second sub-winding of the each inductor, with the sub-winding leakage fluxes of the other inductors, by a same amount (col. 1, lines 11-15, col. 2, lines 44-47 and lines 66-68). The same number of turns would provide the same amount of flux.
With respect to claim 6, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 2, wherein a size of the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor is physically smaller than an otherwise identical multi-phase inductor having a same number of inductor turns that is not cross-coupled. In Kinzler, the sub-windings are wound on a single ring core, similar to the present invention. Therefore, Kinzler would meet the limitations of claim 6.
With respect to claim 7, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, wherein the first and second sub-windings of an adjacent winding of the at least one pair of adjacent windings are wound to produce corresponding fluxes in the single core in a same direction (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3). The sub-windings direction of FIGs. 1 and 3 of Kinzler is the same as the sub-windings direction of the present invention. Therefore, Kinzler teaches the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 8, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, wherein the first opposing sides are diametrically opposite each other or substantially diametrically opposite each other and the second opposing sides are diametrically opposite each other or substantially diametrically opposite each other (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
With respect to claim 9, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, wherein no first sub-winding is disposed adjacent to a second sub-winding of the same coil (para. [0047]). The sub-windings are spaced apart from each other. Accordingly, it’s reasonable to interpret Kinzler teaches the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 10, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, wherein the single core has a toroidal shape (col. 2, lines 44-47).
With respect to claim 11, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 1, wherein each of the adjacent windings has a same number of turns (col. 1, lines 45-52).
With respect to claim 12, Kinzler teaches a power converter (FIG. 4) comprising:
a plurality of inductors (inductor formed by windings 2, 4, 10 and 12, and magnetic ring core 1) configured as a cross-coupled multi-phase inductor, the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor comprising:
a single core 1; and
at least one pair of adjacent windings (windings 2 and 4 paring with windings 10 and 12) wound on the single core, the at least one pair of adjacent windings comprising a main winding (combination of windings 2 and 4) and a coupled winding (combination of windings 10 and 12) electrically isolated from the main winding, each adjacent winding of the pair further comprising a first sub-winding (sub-winding 2 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 10 for coupled winding 10 and 12) and a second sub-winding (sub-winding 4 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 12 for coupled winding 10 and 12) which extends from the first sub-winding;
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the main winding are disposed on first opposing sides of the single core,
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding are disposed on second opposing sides of the single core adjacent to said first opposing sides, and
wherein the first and second sub-windings of the main winding are cross-coupled with the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
With respect to claim 17, Kinzler teaches a method comprising the steps of:
providing a single core 1; and
winding, on the single core, at least one pair of adjacent windings (windings 2 and 4 paring with windings 10 and 12), the at least one pair of adjacent windings comprising a main winding (combination of windings 2 and 4) and a coupled winding (combination of windings 10 and 12) electrically isolated from the main winding, each adjacent winding of the pair further comprising a first sub-winding (sub-winding 2 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 10 for coupled winding 10 and 12) and a second sub-winding (sub-winding 4 for main winding 2 and 4, and sub-winding 12 for coupled winding 10 and 12) which extends from the first sub-winding;
disposing the first and second sub-windings of the main winding on first opposing sides of the single core,
disposing the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding on second opposing sides of the single core, said second opposing sides being adjacent to said first opposing sides and
producing a cross-coupled multi-phase inductor by cross-coupling the first and second sub-windings of the main winding with the first and second sub-windings of the coupled winding based on said disposing steps (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
With respect to claim 18, Kinzler teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising winding the first and second sub-windings of a member of the at least one pair of adjacent windings to produce corresponding fluxes in the single core in a same direction (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
With respect to claim 20, Kinzler teaches the method of claim 19, wherein phase currents in each inductor of a power converter circuit formed by the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor are balanced resulting in reduced core losses and more efficient power conversion relative to core losses and power conversion efficiency of a corresponding non-cross coupled multi-phase inductor (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3). Kinzler teaches the method and structure as claimed. Accordingly, Kinzler would inherently teach the limitations of claim 20.
With respect to claim 21, Kinzler teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: reducing inductor ripple currents in a power converter by providing the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor as a replacement for a plurality of non-cross coupled inductors in the power converter, the reducing being relative to inductor ripple currents observed on the corresponding non-cross coupled inductors(col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3). (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3). Kinzler teaches the method and structure as claimed. Accordingly, Kinzler would inherently teach the limitations of claim 21.
With respect to claim 23, Kinzler teaches the method of claim 17, wherein said cross-coupling improves a co-efficient of coupling between the main winding and the coupled winding relative to that of a corresponding non-cross-coupled main winding and coupled winding (col. 2, lines 44-47, col. 2, line 66 to col. 3, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzler, as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, in view of Jang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2007/0040644 A1).
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Kinzler teaches the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor of claim 2 and the power converter of claim 13, respectively. wherein the at least one pair of adjacent windings are two pairs of adjacent windings, and wherein the cross-coupled multiphase inductor comprises four inductors.
Jang et al., hereinafter referred to as “Jang,” teaches a cross-coupled multi-phase and or the power converter (Fig. 10), wherein the at least one pair of adjacent windings NA1 and NA2, and NA2 and NA4 are two pairs of adjacent windings (winding pairs NA1 and NA2, and NA2 and NA4; and winding pairs NB1 and NB2, and NB3 and NB4) and wherein the cross-coupled multiphase inductor comprises four inductors (para. [0047]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two pairs adjacent windings as taught by Jang to the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor and or the power converter of Kinzler to provide increased functionality.
Claims 14, 16, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzler as applied to claim 12, 15 and 19 above, in view of Lu et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2022/0006376 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Kinzler teaches the power converter of claim 12. Kinzler does not expressly teach the power converter is a buck converter.
Lu et al., hereinafter referred to as “Lu,” teaches a power converter (FIG. 3), wherein the power converter is a buck converter (para. [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the buck converter as taught by Lu to the power converter of Kinzler to provide the desired output voltage to meet design requirements.
With respect to claims 16 and 22, Kinzler teaches power converter of claim 15 and the method of claim 19, respectively. Kinzler does not expressly teach phase shifting a power converter having the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor 90° apart (0°, 90°, 180°,270°).
Lu teaches a power converter and a method (FIG. 3) comprising phase shifting a power converter having the cross-coupled multi-phase inductor 90° apart (0°, 90°, 180°,270°) (para. [0063]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the phase shifting as taught by Lu to the power converter of Kinzler to provide smooth and consistent power delivery.
With respect to claim 24, Kinzler in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 22, wherein said phase shifting is performed at defined duty cycle to reduce an inductor ripple compared to another inductor ripple of a corresponding single phase power converter (Lu, paras. [0063 and [0084]).
With respect to claim 25, Kinzler in view of Lu teaches the method of claim 22, wherein said phase shifting is performed at defined duty cycle to reduce an inductor ripple compared to another inductor ripple of a conventionally wound multi-phase power converter (Lu, paras. [0063 and [0084]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837