DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-12,19-25 w/o traverse in the reply filed on 18AUG2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
distribution system and creating a flow of emulsion in claim 1, which is interpreted as a distributor that flows emulsion to at least one demulsification system from a plurality of sources of crude oil. Par. [0025].
Claim Objections
Claim 1 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “providing a crude oil emulsion to distribution system” should be corrected to - - providing a crude oil emulsion to a distribution system - -.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,19,21 are objected to because of the following informalities: Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). See MPEP 6083.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12,19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the length of a reaction chamber”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 7 sets forth the limitation “the at least first and second electrodes”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 7-8 sets forth the limitation “the dielectric breakdown voltage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the constituents are at least water and oil”. “at least” in this context does not make sense as there is no range (e.g. at least one). It is unclear what else is included in “at least”. Thus the claim scope cannot be ascertained.
Claim 7 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the particular characteristics of the emulsion”. It is unclear what does and does not constitute “the particular characteristics of the emulsion” and thus the claim scope is unclear.
Claim 19 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the dielectric breakdown voltage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the at least one plasma reactor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the length of a reaction chamber”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 line(s) 8-9 sets forth the limitation “the dielectric breakdown voltage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 line(s) 12 sets forth the limitation “the particular characteristics of the supplied crude oil emulsion”. It is unclear what does and does not constitute “the particular characteristics of the supplied crude oil emulsion” and thus the claim scope is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAHMOUDI (US 20140360880) in view of WIEMER (US 3137344).
Regarding claims 19-20, MAHMOUDI teaches systems and methods for unipolar separation of emulsions and other mixtures (title, Figs.) including a method of producing plasma (e.g. corona discharge of a gas will provide a plasma; par. [0020]) enhanced treatment fluids for oil recovery (par. [0003]), comprising:
providing a plasma reactor (e.g. Fig. 13 #1300) with a first electrode (e.g. Fig. 13 #1318) and second electrode (e.g. Fig. 13 #1314) exposed in a reaction chamber (Fig. 13 #1320) defining an inter-electrode discharge gap therebetween (see “corona cone”; Fig. 13);
introducing an oil emulsion (Fig. 13) and a carrier gas (e.g. air; Fig. 13; par. [0020]) into the reaction chamber;
energizing the electrodes at or in excess of the dielectric breakdown voltage of the carrier gas (par. [0048]) to generate plasma in the reaction chamber to generate plasma enhanced treatment fluids (e.g. separated oil; Fig. 13); and,
removing the plasma enhanced treatment fluids from the reaction chamber (collecting; par. [0016]).
MAHMOUDI does not teach supplying the treatment fluids to a secondary oil recovery process. However, WIEMER teaches minimizing loss of driving fluids in secondary recovery (title, Figs.) where a plurality of wells (e.g. Fig. 1 #6) produce fluids (e.g. mixed oil-water of which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as an emulsion), which are passed to a separation and distribution system (Fig. 1 #33). From there, the treated and separated fluids (water, gas) are passed to other injection wells, from which fluids are further treated (C3/L4-29).
WIEMER teaches such secondary recovery techniques increasing the amount of oil recovered from a producing field (C1/L9-15).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of MAHMOUDI with the secondary oil recovery process of WIEMER in order to increasing the amount of oil recovered. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of oil separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12,21-25 have allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. The prior art neither teaches, suggests, nor makes obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a method for demulsification of an emulsion comprising the combination of the claimed steps.
FINDIKOGLU (US 20150291456) discloses an electric field induced separation of components in an emulsion (title, Figs.) including a method for demulsification of an emulsion (abstract), comprising:
providing a crude oil emulsion (abstract) and creating a flow of emulsion to a demulsification system (e.g. Fig. 4A,B) including at least one reactor with a plurality of spaced electrode pairs (Fig. 4B #14) exposed along the length of a reaction chamber (Fig. 4 A #12), each pair defining an inter-electrode discharge gap therebetween;
introducing a predetermined volume of emulsion flow along the length of the reaction chamber (Fig. 4);
energizing the electrodes at or in excess of the dielectric breakdown voltage (par. [0006]); and
removing any separated constituents from the reaction chamber (via e.g. Fig. 4A #24,26).
WAGNER (US 6113765) discloses methods for enhanced resolution of hydrocarbon continuous emulsions or dispersions with conductivity modifiers (title, Figs.) including a method for demulsification (separation) of an emulsion (abstract), comprising:
providing a crude oil (C4/L29-32) emulsion via a distributor (fig. 4 #28) to a demulsification system including a reactor (Fig. 4 #10) with spaced electrode pairs (Fig. 4 #30,32) exposed along the length of a reaction chamber, defining an inter-electrode discharge gap therebetween;
energizing the electrodes (C8/L25-28); and
removing any separated constituents from the reaction chamber (Fig. 5).
WINTERMUTE (US 2849395) discloses a method and apparatus for electrical separation of emulsions including a plurality of spaced electrode pairs.
CARSWELL (US 3074870) discloses a method and apparatus for electrically separating the phases of a water-in-oil emulsion including a plurality of pointed electrodes.
STAACK (US 20230121041) discloses a foaming system for efficient plasma processing of heavy hydrocarbon.
SUBLETTE (US 4581120) discloses method and apparatus for separating oilfield emulsions.
Telephonic Inquiries
/Liam Royce/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777