Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102.)
Regarding claim 10, Mehrabani disclose a system comprising:
“a network node device configured to use a first frequency spectrum” (figure 1, [para 0012] The wireless communication system 100 further includes …a plurality of communication systems 106.
[para 0015] The plurality of communication systems 106 may be communicatively coupled to the first communication device 102 via the plurality of different type of wireless networks 110. Each of the plurality of communication systems 106 may be configured to communicate with the first communication device 102 in a plurality of different range of frequencies, such as 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, or sub 6 GHz bands …… communication systems 106 may include …..one or more wireless access points (e.g. a 2.4 GHz based wireless access point and a 5 GHz multiple input multiple output) MIMO capable wireless access point), …. a Wi-Fi only device, a Bluetooth only device, a Zigbee only device, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) communication system, a cellular communication system, such as a 2G, 3G, 4G, or 5G NR-enabled communication system…..);
“a first user equipment configured to use a second frequency spectrum” (see Fig. 1, 3 & 4, para: ([0012] The wireless communication system 100 further includes a plurality of second communication devices 104A to 104N
[0014] plurality of second communication devices 104A to 104N (such as the second communication device 104B) may include, but is not limited to a 5G wireless access point, a multiprotocol wireless range extender device, an evolved-universal terrestrial radio access-new radio (NR) dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, a NR-enabled relay node, a NR-enabled repeater device ….
[0022] …. the first communication device 102 may be further configured to provide the mmWave RF signal of the specified frequency to the plurality of second communication devices 104A to 104N in a parallel transmission. In an implementation, the specified frequency of the mmWave RF signal is in the range of 10 gigahertz (GHz) to 300 GHz….); and
“A second user equipment communicatively coupled to the network node device and the first user equipment” (([0012] first communication device 102, which may be a central communication device, [0014] the second communication device 104A may be configured to communicate with the first communication device 102, [0015] the plurality of communication systems 106 may be configured to communicate with the first communication device 102 …)),” the second user equipment configured to synchronize to timing used by the network node device on the first frequency spectrum based on one or more signals received from the first user equipment device via the second frequency spectrum” (see Fig. 4, para: 0013, 0020-0022, 0034, 0044, first signal w/r first spectrum associated with a second signal w/r to a second spectrum are utilized for purpose of aligning/synchronizing timing/phase based on multiple signals received from second device via second signal spectrum.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20220330187 A1, hereinafter ‘CHENG’).
Regarding claim 1, Mehrabani disclose An electronic device comprising:
a receiver (FIG. 2, element 212);
a transmitter (FIG 2 element 216); and
processing circuitry coupled to the receiver and the transmitter (FIG.2); the processing circuitry configured to
receive a first signal from a base station having a frequency in a first frequency spectrum at the receiver (see para: 0018-19, 0041, At 404 ….The receiver circuitry 212 may be configured to obtain the plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals corresponding to different communication protocols via the plurality of different type of wireless networks 110; para 0042),
and
provide, based on the first signal, an indication (see Fig. 3 & 4, para: 0015, 0019-0022, 408, 410, 412), conversion/translation of RF signals associated with a second signal w/r to a second spectrum.).
MEHRABANI does not explicitly disclose provide an indication of the scheduling data to a translator device, separate from the electronic device, .
In an analogous art, CHENG teaches provide an indication of the scheduling data to a translator device, separate from the electronic device (
[0079] A satellite, which implements a transparent payload. A transparent payload may perform radio frequency filtering, frequency conversion, and amplification. Hence, a waveform signal repeated by the payload is unchanged except for frequency translation......
Fig. 5A, Actions 507-508, Msg4
[0194] Action 507: The UE may apply an adjusted TA as N.sub.TA+(N.sub.TA,UE-specific+N.sub.TA,common+N.sub.TA,offset) for Msg3 transmission. If a Msg3 has sufficient payload size, the UE may report the UE-calculated TA N.sub.TA,UE-specific or UE-acquired location in the Msg3;
[0199] Action 508: The NW may know the absolute TA, i.e., the UE-gNB RTT as the sum of the UE's TA value (e.g., total TA) and a scheduling offset (e.g., K_mac) provided in an NTN configuration, after receiving the TA report.
Fig. 5A further discloses gNB transmits Msg4 based on Msg3 from UE.
See also Fig. 7,
[0279] FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating a process 70 .....Msg3 with a MsgA as well as to replace a Msg2 and a Msg4 with a MsgB.
[0298] Action 706: The NW may send a MsgB carrying the 12-bit TAC in a RAR based on the MsgA reception.....),
(Fig. 5A, Actions 505-506,
[0189] Action 505: The NW may send Msg2 carrying the 12-bit TAC in a RAR based on the Msg1 reception.
[0191] Action 506: The UE may adjust the TA by the value of N.sub.TA+(N.sub.TA,UE-specific+N.sub.TA,common+N.sub.TA,offset), where N.sub.TA is carried from the 12-bit TAC in a RAR.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of timing adjustment for scheduling downlink/uplink transmission via a satellite relay between a user equipment and a gNB or base station of CHENG to the system of frequency conversion of MEHRABANI in order to take the advantage of a method for timing alignment for wireless communication (CHENG: Fig. 2, [0003, 0064]).
Regarding claim 7, Mehrabani disclose wherein the first frequency spectrum comprises frequencies between 0.41 gigahertz (GHz) and 7.125 GHz, (see para: 0015, first communication system utilize freq. 0 to 6GHz) and wherein the second frequency spectrum comprises frequencies between 24 gigahertz and 52.6 GHz (see para: 0022, second communication system utilize freq. up to 60 (GHz.))
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20220330187 A1, hereinafter ‘CHENG’) and further in view of MUECK et al (USPGPUB 20210014656.)
Regarding claim 2, Mehrabani is not clear on teaching wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive a third signal from the translator device corresponding to a communication from the base station at the receiver after transmitting the indication
of the time shift to the translator device at the transmitter; however, in analogous art, MUECK (483) teaches configured to receive a third signal from the translator device corresponding to a communication from the base station at the receiver (see para: 0278, 0279, 0655) after transmitting the indication of the time shift to the translator device at the transmitter (see para: 0653-0655, third signal associated with the third device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized the combined teachings of Mehrabani and MUECK to implement receive a third signal from the translator device corresponding to a communication from the base station at the receiver after transmitting the indication of the time shift to the translator at the transmitter for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 3, Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the first signal comprises an indication of a slot count a first device sends an alert message corresponding to when the base station is configured to downlink data via the first frequency spectrum.
MUECK (483) disclose wherein the first signal comprises an indication of a slot count a first device sends an alert message (see para: 0252-0253, first alert message indicates one or more time slots) corresponding to when the base station is configured to downlink data via the first frequency spectrum (see para: 0280 & 0644, first device is to communicate/downlink to the send RAT via First spectrum.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized a first signal including an indication of a slot count a first device sends an alert message corresponding to when the base station is configured to downlink data via the first frequency spectrum as taught by MUECK with the teachings of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 4, Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the time shift based on the indication of the slot count and receive the downlink data from the base station via the second frequency spectrum based on the time shift. However, in analogous art, MUECK disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the time shift based on the indication of the slot count (see para: 0253, one or more time slots), and receive the downlink data from the base station via the second frequency spectrum based on the time shift (see para: 0033, 0034, 0038, downlink data from access point via second frequency based on phase down-conversion.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the time shift based on the indication of the slot count and receive the downlink data from the base station via the second frequency spectrum based on the time shift as taught by MUECK with the teachings of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 5, Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate one or more fourth signals configured to align a frequency of the translator device to the second frequency in the second frequency spectrum, and transmit the one or more fourth signals to the translator device at the transmitter, in analogous art, MUECK (483) disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate one or more fourth signals configured to align a frequency of the translator device (see Fig. 9, 17-18, 21, para: 0280-0283, 0403, 0692, 0706) to the second frequency in the second frequency spectrum, and transmit the one or more fourth signals to the translator device at the transmitter (see Fig. 9 & 21, para: 0644-0646, 0707.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate one or more fourth signals configured to align a frequency of the translator device) to the second frequency in the second frequency spectrum, and transmit the one or more fourth signals to the translator device at the transmitter as taught by MUECK with the teachings of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 6, Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive one or more fifth signals at the receiver from the base station and align the receiver to the second frequency based on the one or more fifth signals; however, MUECK (483) disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to
receive one or more fifth signals at the receiver from the base station (see Fig. 9 & 21, 707), and align the receiver to the second frequency based on the one or more fifth signals (see para: 0644-0646, 0707.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive one or more fifth signals at the receiver from the base station and align the receiver to the second frequency based on the one or more fifth signals taught by MUECK with the teachings of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
6. Claim(s) 8, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of Cheng et al. (US 20220330187 A1, hereinafter ‘CHENG’) and further in view of Park et al (USPGPUB 20200351818.)
Regarding claim 8, although Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the first signal comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift, in analogous art, Park teaches a first message comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift (see para: 0265, 0278.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the first signal comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift as taught by Park with the
teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 9, although Mehrabani fail to teach wherein the first signal comprises a Physical Downlink Control Channel message, in analogous art, Park further teaches wherein the first signal comprises a Physical Downlink Control Channel message (see para: 0247, 0248, 0250.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the first signal comprises a Physical Downlink Control Channel message as taught by Park with the teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of Park et al (USPGPUB 20200351818.)
Regarding claim 14, Mehrabani disclose wherein the second device is configured to receive a signal from the first device having a first frequency in the first frequency spectrum (see para: 0018-19, 0029-0033, 0041, 0042), and transmit an indication of the time shift to a translator device using a signal having a second frequency in the second frequency spectrum (see Fig. 3 & 4, para: 0015, 0019-0022, 408, 410, 412). Mehrabani fail to teach receiving an initialization and determine a time shift based on the initialization signal. However, in a similar endeavor, Park disclose wherein the second device is configured to receive an initialization signal from the first device having a first frequency in the first frequency spectrum (see para: para: 0061-0064, 0067-0068, 0070, second cell/SCell designed to receive RRC connection setup/re-establish initialization indication), determine a time shift based on the initialization signal (para: 0061-0064, 0067-0068, , shift/change based on RRC connection/initial) and transmit an indication of the time shift to a translator device using a signal having a second frequency in the second frequency spectrum (see para: 0020-0021, 0027-0029, convert w/r to RRC connection setup/initialization communication.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the second device is configured to receive an initialization signal from the first device having a first frequency in the first frequency spectrum determine a time shift based on the initialization signal, and transmit an indication of the time shift to a translator device using a signal having a second frequency in the second frequency spectrum as taught by Park with the
teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 15, Mehrabani fail to further disclose wherein the initialization signal comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift. In analogous art, Park disclose initialization signal comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift (see para: 0052, 0061, 0068-0071, 0090, RRC setup/initial include DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized initialization signal comprises a Downlink Control Indication that defines the time shift as taught by Park with the teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
7. Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of GUO (USPGPUB 2023/0344561.)
Regarding claim 11, Mehrabani fail to disclose wherein the second device is configured to determine a minimum time duration between downlink data that the second device is configured to process, transmit an indication of the minimum time duration to the first device using the first frequency spectrum, receive an indication of a selected time duration from the first device, the selected time duration being no less than the minimum time duration and defining a downlink timing to be used by the first device, transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the intermediary device via the second frequency spectrum, wherein the one or more signals comprises the indication of the selected time duration, and transmit an acknowledgment signal to the first device based on the selected time duration.
However, in analogous art, GUO disclose wherein the second device is configured to determine a minimum time duration between downlink data that the second device is configured to process (see para: 0135, 0136 ),
transmit an indication of the minimum time duration to the first device using the first frequency spectrum (see para: 0135, 0136, UE device receives via initial frequency/BWP minimum time duration), receive an indication of a selected time duration from the first device (see para: 0130-0137), the selected time duration being no less than the minimum time duration and defining a downlink timing to be used by the first device (see para 0133-0137), transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the intermediary device via the second frequency spectrum (see para: see para: 0134-0140), wherein the one or more signals comprises the indication of the selected time duration (see para: 0134-0140, 0174), and transmit an acknowledgment signal to the first device based on the selected time duration (see para: para: 0188, ACK signal communicated to device based on desired time duration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the second device is configured to determine a minimum time duration between downlink data that the second device is configured to process, transmit an indication of the minimum time duration to the first device using the first frequency spectrum, receive an indication of a selected time duration from the first device, the selected time duration being no less than the minimum time duration and defining a downlink timing to be used by the first device, transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the intermediary device via the
second frequency spectrum, wherein the one or more signals comprises the indication of the selected time duration, and transmit an acknowledgment signal to the first device based on the selected time duration as taught by GUO with the teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Regarding claim 12, Mehrabani fail to disclose wherein the first device is configured to receive the indication of the minimum time duration from the second device, select a time duration based on one or more parameters of the first frequency spectrum and the minimum time duration, transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the second device, receive the acknowledgement signal from the second device, and transmit an input signal having a first frequency of the first frequency spectrum. However, in a similar endeavor, GUO disclose wherein the first device is configured to receive the indication of the minimum time duration from the second device (see para: 0136, DCI carries indication for communicating minimum time duration with UE device), select a time duration based on one or more parameters of the first frequency spectrum and the minimum time duration (see para: 0134-0141), transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the second device (see para: 0135-016, 0210), receive the acknowledgement signal from the second device (see para: 0185 & 0188), and transmit an input signal having a first frequency of the first frequency spectrum (see para: 0134-0138.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the first device is configured to receive the indication of the minimum time duration from the second device, select a time duration based on one or more parameters of the first frequency spectrum and the minimum time duration, transmit the indication of the selected time duration to the second device, receive the acknowledgement signal from the second device, and transmit an input signal having a first frequency of the first frequency spectrum as taught by GUO with the teaching of Mehrabani for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mehrabani (USPGPUB 2021/0409102) in view of in view of GUO (USPGPUB 2018/0343653) in view of in view of as applied to claims 1, 7 and 10 and further in view GUO (USPGPUB 2023/0344561.): hereafter: (GUO_561)
Regarding claim 13, Mehrabani and GUO fail to disclose wherein the intermediary device is configured to receive the indication of the selected time duration from the second device via the second frequency spectrum, receive the input signal from the first device via the first frequency spectrum based on the selected time duration, generate an output signal having a second frequency of the second frequency
spectrum based on the input signal, and transmit the output signal to the second device via the second frequency spectrum.
In a similar endeavor, GUO_561 disclose wherein the intermediary device is configured to receive the indication of the selected time duration from the second device via the second frequency spectrum (see abstract, para: 0005-0010, 0046, 0049, indication w/r to time duration via frequency spectrum/FR1/FR2),
receive the input signal from the first device via the first frequency spectrum based on the selected time duration (see para: 0056, 0078, 0095, communication via FR1/FR2 w/r time duration via multiple Indications)
generate an output signal having a second frequency of the second frequency spectrum based on the input signal (see para: 0049, 0123, multiple input/output signaling w/r to FR2,)
and transmit the output signal to the second device via the second frequency spectrum (see para: 0049, 0123, multiple input/output signaling w/r to FR2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date to have utilized wherein the intermediary device is configured to receive the indication of the selected time duration from the second device via the second frequency spectrum, receive the input signal from the first device via the first frequency spectrum based on the selected time duration, generate an output signal having a second frequency of the second frequency spectrum based on the input signal, and transmit the output signal to the second device via the second frequency spectrum
as taught by GUO_561 with the combined teachings of Mehrabani and GUO for the purpose of further managing access to RF resources in a shared wireless system.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 16-20 contain allowable subject matter.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although the cited prior art teaches radio access technology along with spectrum translation, the prior art fail to teach a single limitation in combination with all the limitations of the claim.
Therefore, the prior art fail to teach generating an indication of a time shift based on the indication of the slot scheduling, the indication of the time shift corresponding to when a multi-radio access technology (RAT) translator is to expect to receive downlink communications from the communication network.
The dependent claims depend on independent claim 16, therefore, the dependent claims 17-20 contain allowable subject matter as well.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on September 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Also, arguments submitted are moot in view of the new ground rejection. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, the Applicant argues in substance that:
The applicant argues that However, Mehrabani is silent as to "a second user equipment communicatively coupled to the network node device and the first user equipment, the second user equipment configured to synchronize to timing used by the network node device on the first frequency spectrum based on one or more signals received from the first user equipment via the second frequency spectrum," as set forth in amended claim 10 .
In response. Examiner respectively disagrees. Applicant is reminded that claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Mehrabani disclose a network node device configured to use a first frequency spectrum” (figure 1, [para 0012] The wireless communication system 100 further includes …a plurality of communication systems 106. [para 0015] The plurality of communication systems 106 may be communicatively coupled to the first communication device 102 via the plurality of different type of wireless networks 110. Also, Mehrabani disclose a first user equipment configured to use a second frequency spectrum” (see Fig. 1, 3 & 4, para: ([0012] The wireless communication system 100 further includes a plurality of second communication devices 104A to 104N; [0014] plurality of second communication devices 104A to 104N (such as the second communication device 104B) may include, but is not limited to a 5G wireless access point, a multiprotocol wireless range extender device, an evolved-universal terrestrial radio access-new radio (NR) dual connectivity (EN-DC) device, a NR-enabled relay node, a NR-enabled repeater device. Furthermore, Mehrabani disclose “A second user equipment communicatively coupled to the network node device and the first user equipment” (([0012] first communication device 102, which may be a central communication device, [0014] the second communication device 104A may be configured to communicate with the first communication device 102, [0015] the plurality of communication systems 106 may be configured to communicate with the first communication device 102 …)); And disclose that the second user equipment configured to synchronize to timing used by the network node device on the first frequency spectrum based on one or more signals received from the first user equipment device via the second frequency spectrum” (see Fig. 4, para: 0013, 0020-0022, 0034, 0044, first signal w/r first spectrum associated with a second signal w/r to a second spectrum are utilized for purpose of aligning/synchronizing timing/phase based on multiple signals received from second device via second signal spectrum). Thus, Mehrabani meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Regarding the argument of claim 1, the argument are moot in view if the new ground rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475