DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed 21 July 2026 has been received and considered for examination. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 21-25 are presently pending and being examined herein.
4. All rejections and objections from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
5. New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments, as detailed below.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the first line, “on a steam sanitizer” should read –on a steam sterilizer--, for consistent wording throughout the claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-16, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zwingenberger et al (US 8168132 B2) in view of Kim (KR 101308610 B1, references herein made to English Machine Translation).
9. Regarding claim 1, Zwingenberger discloses a steam boost system (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23) for a steam sterilizer (system for sterilizing using saturated steam and drying such instruments using superheated steam, col 2 lines 15-32, FIG. 11) comprising:
a steam sterilizer (system for sterilizing using saturated steam and drying such instruments using superheated steam…cassette sterilizer or autoclave, col 2 lines 15-32);
a source of steam (steam generator 142, col 7 lines 58-67) operatively communicating a steam from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (saturated steam directed via a first inlet port 160 into the chamber 12…or to the second inlet port 14 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23, FIG. 11); and
a boost container (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23, FIG. 11) operatively communicating with steam communicating from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (selectively direct steam from the steam generator 142 to the second inlet port 14 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23), the boost container being operable to sense a temperature of the steam communicating from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (Superheated steam heater 144 may also be connected to a temperature sensor 152, such as a thermocouple, which can be used as another control input, col 8 lines 1-10; FIG. 11, temperature sensor 152 located with steam source), the boost container including heating elements (Superheated steam heater 144 may be any suitable heater such as a tubular or cartridge heater, col 8 lines 1-10) configured to directly contact the steam flowing from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (FIG. 11, col 8 lines 11-23) and adjust a temperature of the steam by heating the steam to a dry vapor superheated steam (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142, col 8 lines 11-23) and communicating the dry vapor superheated steam to the steam sterilizer (instruments in sterilizer chamber may then be dried using superheated steam, col 9 lines 40-51).
Although Zwingenberger suggests that the superheated steam boost heater may be any suitable heater such as a tubular heater (col 8 lines 1-10, FIG. 11, heater 144 depicted with coil and electrical leads) downstream from a boiler that generates the saturated steam (col 7 lines 58-67, steam generator 142, FIG. 11), Zwingenberger does not specifically teach electric resistance tubular heating elements having an elongate U-shape that are configured to directly contact and adjust a temperature of the steam flowing from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer by electrically heating the steam.
Kim teaches a similar steam superheater for a steam boiler (Abstract) with greater definition for the heating chamber (FIG. 3) in that it has between its inlet 11 and outlet 12 (par 0029) heating coils 16 of the electric heater unit 15 (pars 0029 and 0031-0032) that electrically heat by contacting introduced saturated steam (par 0036). The electric heating elements preferably have an elongate U-shape so that the positive and negative terminals protrude to the outside of the heating chamber to simplify the power supply structure (par 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the heating elements in the steam boost container of Zwingenberger to be electric resistance tubular heating elements having an elongate U-shape as taught by Kim, because these U-shaped electric resistance tubular heating elements would predictably provide the same electric heating capability to heat the steam while enabling simplified electrical connection outside the container, the modification involving simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
10. Regarding claim 2, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, and Zwingenberger further teaches wherein the steam sterilizer is an autoclave steam sterilizer (apparatus 10 is scalable and could be adapted for…larger steam sterilization systems such as large medical autoclaves, col 9 lines 36-39).
11. Regarding claim 3, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, and Zwingenberger further teaches wherein the apparatus 10 may be integrated into a range of steam sterilization systems/washers/disinfector systems such as those used in the medical and dental industries and the like (col 7 lines 37-46 and col 9 lines 36-39). The limitation wherein the steam sterilizer is a sterilizing apparatus of food processing equipment describes an intended use of the apparatus, which imparts no patentable weight as a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that the apparatus of Zwingenberger as modified would be capable of carrying out the intended use of sterilizing food processing equipment such as food cutting or mixing implements that can fit within the “larger steam sterilization systems” by sterilizing in the same manner as for the instruments taught by Zwingenberger (col 9 lines 36-39).
12. Regarding claim 4, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, and Zwingenberger further teaches wherein the boost container is a separate component from the steam sterilizer and is retrofit to the steam communicating from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (apparatus for drying using superheated steam in a steam sterilization system for the sterilization of the instruments using saturated steam…connected to the at least one inlet port for distributing superheated steam from the steam generation means, col 2 lines 45-57).
13. Regarding claim 5, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, wherein the boost container includes an interior volume communicating with the steam communicating from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer (steam directed through superheated steam heater 144, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-23 and FIG. 11; Kim FIG. 3), the boost container being operable to adjust a temperature of the steam in the interior volume of the boost container to the dry vapor superheated steam (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 11-23).
14. Regarding claim 7, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, wherein the electric resistance tubular heating elements transfer heat to the steam to produce the dry vapor superheated steam (Saturated steam is heated by a plurality of heating coils provided inside the heating chamber…and changed into superheated steam, Kim par 0036).
15. Regarding claim 8, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 7, wherein the electric resistance tubular heating elements have exterior surfaces inside the boost container (Kim FIG. 3; electric heating coils 16 located inside the heating chamber, Kim par 0029) that come into direct contact with the steam inside the boost container and produce the dry vapor superheated steam from the steam that contacts the exterior surfaces inside the boost container (Saturated steam is heated by a plurality of heating coils provided inside the heating chamber…and changed into superheated steam, Kim par 0036).
16. Regarding claim 9, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 8, further comprising: the boost container directly communicating with the steam sterilizer (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 and then injected via a second inlet port 14, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10 and FIG. 11), the boost container directly communicating the dry vapor superheated steam from inside the boost container to the steam sterilizer (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142 and then injected via a second inlet port 14, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10).
17. Regarding claim 10, Zwingenberger discloses a steam boost system (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23) on a steam sanitizer (system for sterilizing using saturated steam and drying such instruments using superheated steam, col 2 lines 15-32, FIG. 11) comprising:
a boost container (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23 and FIG. 11) having an internal volume (steam directed through superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23 and FIG. 11);
an inlet nozzle on the boost container (FIG. 11, inlet side of superheater 144), the inlet nozzle communicating with a supply of steam and communicating the supply of steam to the interior volume of the boost container (directional valve 162 to selectively direct steam from the steam generator 142 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23);
heating elements (superheated steam heater 144 may be any suitable heater such as a tubular or cartridge heater, col 8 lines 1-10) extending within the interior volume of the boost container (FIG. 11, steam directed through superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23), the heating elements directly contacting the supply of steam in the interior volume of the boost container to heat the supply of steam in the interior volume of the boost container (FIG. 11, col 8 lines 11-23) and produce a dry vapor superheated steam in the interior volume (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142, col 8 lines 11-23); and
an outlet nozzle on the boost container (FIG. 11, outlet side of superheater 144), the outlet nozzle communicating with a steam sterilizer and communicating the dry vapor superheated steam in the interior volume of the boost container to the steam sterilizer (direct steam…to a second inlet port 14 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23).
Although Zwingenberger suggests that the superheated steam boost heater may be any suitable heater such as a tubular heater (col 8 lines 1-10, FIG. 11, heater 144 depicted with coil and electrical leads) downstream from a boiler that generates the saturated steam (col 7 lines 58-67, steam generator 142, FIG. 11), Zwingenberger does not specifically teach electric resistance heating elements having an elongate, bent configuration that are configured to directly contact and adjust a temperature of the steam flowing from the source of steam to the steam sterilizer by electrically heating the steam.
Kim teaches a similar steam superheater for a steam boiler (Abstract) with greater definition for the heating chamber (FIG. 3) in that it has between its inlet 11 and outlet 12 (par 0029) heating coils 16 of the electric heater unit 15 (pars 0029 and 0031-0032) that electrically heat by contacting introduced saturated steam (par 0036). The electric heating elements preferably have an elongate U-shape so that the positive and negative terminals protrude to the outside of the heating chamber to simplify the power supply structure (par 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the heating elements in the steam boost container of Zwingenberger to be electric resistance tubular heating elements having an elongate bent configuration as taught by Kim, because these U-shaped electric resistance tubular heating elements would predictably provide the same electric heating capability to heat the steam while enabling simplified electrical connection outside the container, the modification involving simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
18. Regarding claim 11, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 10, and Zwingenberger further teaches wherein the steam sterilizer is an autoclave steam sterilizer (apparatus 10 is scalable and could be adapted for…larger steam sterilization systems such as large medical autoclaves, col 9 lines 36-39).
19. Regarding claim 12, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 10, and Zwingenberger further teaches wherein the apparatus 10 may be integrated into a range of steam sterilization systems/washers/disinfector systems such as those used in the medical and dental industries and the like (col 7 lines 37-46 and col 9 lines 36-39). The limitation wherein the steam sterilizer is a sterilizing apparatus of food processing equipment describes an intended use of the apparatus, which imparts no patentable weight as a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114(II). Examiner notes that the apparatus of Zwingenberger as modified would be capable of carrying out the intended use of sterilizing food processing equipment such as food cutting or mixing implements that can fit within the “larger steam sterilization systems” by sterilizing in the same manner as for the instruments taught by Zwingenberger (col 9 lines 36-39).
20. Regarding claim 14, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 10, wherein the electric resistance heating elements are electric resistance tubular heating elements (Kim par 0031 and FIG. 3) that transfer heat to the supply of steam in the interior volume of the boost container producing the dry vapor superheated steam (electric heater unit 15 having coils 16 that heat saturated steam to produce superheated steam, Kim pars 0033-0034; superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 11-23).
21. Regarding claim 15, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 14, wherein the electric resistance tubular heating elements have exterior surfaces inside the boost container that come into direct contact with the supply of steam inside the boost container (Kim FIG. 3, u-shaped heating elements 16) and produce the dry vapor superheated steam that contacts the exterior surfaces of the electric resistance tubular heating elements from the supply of steam inside the boost container (electric heater unit 15 having coils 16 that heat saturated steam to produce superheated steam, Kim pars 0033-0034; superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 11-23).
22. Regarding claim 16, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 15, further comprising: the boost container directly communicating with the steam sterilizer (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 and then injected via a second inlet port 14, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10 and FIG. 11), the boost container directly communicating the dry vapor superheated steam from inside the boost container to the steam sterilizer (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142 and then injected via a second inlet port 14, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10).
23. Regarding claim 21, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, the steam boost system of claim 1 further comprising:
a first temperature sensor and a second temperature sensor (Superheated steam heater 144 may be connected to a temperature sensor 150 and temperature sensor 152 which can be used as control inputs, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10)
a temperature control system operatively connected to the first temperature sensor,
the second temperature sensor, and the electric resistance tubular heating elements (temperature and pressure sensors 166 may be provided in the steam sterilization system in order to monitor and control the steam generation means 16, Zwingenberger col 9 lines 24-35), the temperature control system being designed to maintain a desired temperature (temperature of the steam is controlled so that at no time does any part of the usable volume of the cassette 202 exceed 138 °C, Zwingenberger col 9 lines 24-35) by adjusting a heat output of the heating elements (superheated steam heater 144 connected to sensor as control input, col 8 lines 1-23).
As Zwingenberger appears to teach the first and second temperatures as being positioned within the steam boost container and saturated steam boiler, respectively (FIG. 11, sensors 150 and 152), the combination does not specifically teach the first sensor as coupled to an inlet of the boost container and the second sensor as coupled to an outlet of the boost container.
Kim further teaches a pair of thermometers installed at the steam inlet pipe and the steam outlet pipe (Abstract, par 0037) which enables the controller to control the electric heater unit according to the temperature of the saturated steam flowing into the heating chamber and the temperature of the superheated steam discharged from the heating chamber (par 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position of temperature sensors of Zwingenberger to place a first temperature sensor coupled to an inlet of the boost container and a second temperature sensor coupled to an outlet of the boost container as taught by Kim, because positioning temperature sensors at the inlet and outlet would predictably enable control of the electric tubular heating elements based on inlet saturated steam temperature and desired outlet superheated steam temperature with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
24. Regarding claim 22, Zwingenberger discloses a steam boost system (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23) for a steam sterilizer (system for sterilizing using saturated steam and drying such instruments using superheated steam, col 2 lines 15-32, FIG. 11) comprising:
a boost container (superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23 and FIG. 11) comprising:
an internal volume (steam directed through superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 1-23 and FIG. 11);
an inlet nozzle (FIG. 11, inlet side of superheater 144) communicating a supply of steam to the interior volume (directional valve 162 to selectively direct steam from the steam generator 142 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23); and
an outlet nozzle (FIG. 11, outlet side of superheater 144) communicating dry vapor superheated steam from the interior volume to a steam sterilizer (direct steam…to a second inlet port 14 via the superheated steam heater 144, col 8 lines 11-23);
heating elements (superheated steam heater 144 may be any suitable heater such as a tubular or cartridge heater, col 8 lines 1-10) configured to directly contact and heat the supply of steam in the interior volume of the boost container (FIG. 11, col 8 lines 11-23) to produce the dry vapor superheated steam (superheated steam is generated by the superheated steam heater 144 by further heating of the saturated steam generated by the steam generator 142, col 8 lines 11-23);
a first temperature sensor (temperature sensor 152, such as a thermocouple, which can be used as another control input, col 8 lines 1-10) configured to sense a temperature of steam entering the interior volume through the inlet nozzle (FIG. 11, temperature sensor 152 located on saturated steam generator volume);
a second temperature sensor (temperature sensor 150, for example a thermocouple, which can be used as a control input, col 8 lines 1-10) configured to sense a temperature of steam exiting the interior volume through the outlet nozzle (FIG. 11, temperature sensor 150 located on superheated steam heater volume);
a pressure sensor in communication with the interior volume of the boost container and configured to sense a pressure of steam in the interior volume of the boost container (FIG. 11, pressure sensor 166 may be provided in the steam sterilization system in order to monitor and control the steam generation means, col 9 lines 24-35);
and a control system configured to:
receive data from the first temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor, and the pressure sensor (various additional temperature and pressure sensors 166 may be provided in the steam sterilization system in order to monitor and control the steam generation means, col 9 lines 24-35); and
in response to the data received, generally monitor and control the steam generation means (col 9 lines 24-35).
Although Zwingenberger suggests that the superheated steam boost heater may be any suitable heater such as a tubular heater (col 8 lines 1-10, FIG. 11, heater 144 depicted with coil and leads) downstream from a boiler that generates the saturated steam (col 7 lines 58-67, steam generator 142, FIG. 11), Zwingenberger does not specifically teach electric resistance heating elements with an electric current control device in operative communication with the electric resistance heating elements configured to supply electric current to the electric resistance heating elements.
Kim teaches a similar steam superheater for a steam boiler (Abstract) with greater definition for the heating chamber (FIG. 3) in that it has between its inlet 11 and outlet 12 (par 0029) heating coils 16 of the electric heater unit 15 (pars 0029 and 0031-0032) that electrically heat by contacting introduced saturated steam (par 0036). The electric heating elements preferably have an elongate U-shape so that the positive and negative terminals protrude to the outside of the heating chamber to simplify the power supply structure (par 0031). Kim further teaches a control panel with functionality to control the degree of heating by the electric heater unit by taking into account the temperature measured by the thermometer and the internal pressure of the heating chamber (pars 0029 and 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the heating elements in the steam boost container of Zwingenberger to be electric resistance heating elements controlled by an electric current control device linked with the control system as taught by Kim, because these electric resistance heating elements would predictably provide controllable electric heating duty to superheat the steam to a controllable temperature while enabling simplified electrical connection outside the container, the modification involving simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
As Zwingenberger appears to teach the first and second temperatures as being positioned within the steam boost container and saturated steam boiler, respectively (FIG. 11, sensors 150 and 152), the combination does not specifically teach the first sensor as coupled to the inlet nozzle of the boost container and the second sensor as coupled to the outlet nozzle of the boost container.
Kim further teaches a pair of thermometers installed at the steam inlet pipe and the steam outlet pipe (Abstract, par 0037) which enables the controller to control the electric heater unit according to the temperature of the saturated steam flowing into the heating chamber and the temperature of the superheated steam discharged from the heating chamber (par 0037).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the position of temperature sensors of Zwingenberger to place a first temperature sensor coupled to an inlet of the boost container and a second temperature sensor coupled to an outlet of the boost container as taught by Kim, because positioning temperature sensors at the inlet and outlet would predictably enable control of the electric tubular heating elements based on inlet saturated steam temperature and desired outlet superheated steam temperature with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
25. Regarding claim 23, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, wherein the electric resistance tubular heating elements extend from an input end of the boost container, through an interior volume of the boost container, and to an output end of the boost container (Kim FIG. 3, heating elements 16).
26. Regarding claim 24, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 1, wherein the electric resistance tubular heating elements extend from an input end of the boost container to an output end of the boost container (Kim FIG. 3, heating elements 16).
27. Regarding claim 25, Zwingenberger as modified by Kim teaches the steam boost system of claim 22, wherein the control system is further configured to receive:
temperature data related to a first temperature of the steam entering the boost container (temperature sensor 152, such as a thermocouple, which can be used as another control input, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10; thermometer installed on the steam inlet pipe, Kim par 0029 and FIG. 2) and a second temperature of the dry vapor superheated steam (temperature sensor 150, for example a thermocouple, which can be used as a control input, Zwingenberger col 8 lines 1-10; thermometer installed on the steam outlet pipe, Kim par 0029 and FIG. 2); and
pressure data related to a pressure of the steam passing through the boost container (Zwingenberger FIG. 11, pressure sensor 166 provided in the steam sterilization system in order to monitor and control the steam generation means, Zwingenberger col 9 lines 24-35).
Response to Arguments
28. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-16 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes that the steam boost system of Kim (KR 101308610 B1, references made to English Machine Translation), though relied upon as a teaching reference for certain components, teaches the structural limitations of the independent claims (pars 0029-0038) except for the limitations specifying “a steam sterilizer”, the system of Kim being employed in an analogous endeavor of heating saturated steam into dry vapor superheated steam (par 0034) but for downstream use as a residential or industrial utility (Abstract); this lends to the conclusion of obviousness, as the steam sterilizer of Zwingenberger, having a vaguely defined steam superheater of its own, could readily be adapted by a person having ordinary skill in the art to receive superheated steam from the superheater structured as taught by Kim.
Conclusion
29. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Masuda et al (US 20140301723 A1) teaches an analogous superheated steam generator device (Abstract) having totally tubular electric heaters extending the length of the container (FIG. 3, heaters 11 are electric heaters, par 0018).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758