DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to the objection to Claim 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments to the claims.
The objection to Claim 13 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of Claims 9 & 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments to the claims.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) of Claims 9 & 11 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-12, filed April 15, 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 & 103 of Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halderman (US 2024/0115120) in view of Utsumi et al. (hereinafter "Utsumi") (U.S. 5,888,194).
Regarding Claim 1, Halderman discloses an endoscopic illuminator (Fig. 7B, 750; [0053]) comprising:
a first illumination element (Fig. 7B, a substantially central 702 and 114; [0053]) adapted for coupling a first illumination light (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from the central 702; [0053]) into a light input (Fig. 7B, 104; [0053]) of an endoscope (Fig. 1, 106; [0027]) for illuminating a central area of a field of view of the endoscope (Figs. 4A & 7B, as light input angle impacts the intensity in a radial direction of light output and the light emitted from the central 702 has a light input angle of substantially 0°, the light emitted from the central 702 will illuminate a central area of a field of view; [0039] & [0053]); and
a second illumination element (Fig. 7B, a substantially angled 704 and 116; [0053]) adapted for coupling second illumination light (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from the angled 704; [0053]) to the light input for illuminating a peripheral area of the field of view (Figs. 4B-4E & 7B, as the light input angle impacts the intensity in the radial direction of the light output and the light emitted from the angled 704 has a light input angle of not 0°, the light emitted from the angled 704 will illuminate a peripheral area of a field of view; [0039] & [0053]), arranged relative to the first illumination element such that the second illumination light enters the light input at a substantially different angle from the first illumination light (see Fig. 7B), and having an illumination level adjustable separately from that of the first illumination element ([0052]).
Halderman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light input of the endoscope comprising a cylindrical portion and an outwardly tapered end portion; wherein the first illumination light is coupled into the outwardly tapered end portion; wherein the second illumination light is coupled into the outwardly tapered end portion; and wherein the outwardly tapered end portion is tapered such that the outwardly tapered end portion has a cross sectional area that is larger than a cross sectional area of the cylindrical portion.
However, Utsumi teaches an endoscopic illuminator (Fig. 1, 8; Col. 2, Lines 17-19) comprising:
a light input of an endoscope (Fig. 2, a light guide assembly comprising 3 and 4; Col. 2, Lines 25-27 & Lines 42-44), the light input comprising an outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 42-44) having a proximal end (Fig. 2, 4a; Col. 2, Lines 49-52) and a distal end (Fig. 2, 4b; Col. 3, Lines 27-30) and a cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, 3; Col. 2, Lines 25-27);
an illumination element (Fig. 2, 2; Col. 2, Lines 41-43) adapted to couple illumination light into the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion of the light guide input (Col. 2, Lines 50-67); and
wherein the outwardly tapered end portion is tapered such that the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion has a cross sectional area (Fig. 2, D1; Col. 3, Lines 40-43) that is larger than both a cross sectional area of the distal end of the outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, D2; Col. 3, Lines 44-46) and a cross sectional area of the cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, D0; Col. 3, Lines 47-49).
The advantage of the distally-tapering tapered end portion of the light input is to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light guide input (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the light input as disclosed by Halderman, to include the distally-tapering tapered end portion taught by Utsumi, to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light guide input (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Regarding Claim 2, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 1. Halderman further discloses wherein the first and second illumination elements each comprise a light source (Fig. 7B, 702/704; [0053]) and a light directing element arranged for directing light from the light source to the light input at their respective different angles (Fig. 7B, 114/116; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 3, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 2. Halderman further discloses wherein the light directing elements are lenses ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 4, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 2. Halderman further discloses wherein at least one of the light directing elements comprises a parabolic or elliptical mirror ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 5, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 2. Halderman further discloses wherein the light directing elements of the first and second illumination elements are arranged for collecting light from their respective light source and directing a converging field of light into the light input centered around the first or second angle, respectively ([0053]).
Regarding Claim 6, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 1. Halderman further discloses wherein the first and second illumination elements are adapted to couple light into the light input of the endoscope, wherein the light input of the endoscope is selected from a group consisting of: an input of a light post of the endoscope, a light port of the endoscope, an input of a light cable of the endoscope (Fig. 7B, 104 is an optical fiber; [0053]), and an input of a light pipe of the endoscope.
Regarding Claim 7, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 1. Halderman further discloses a controller (Fig. 1, 124; [0052]) coupled to the first and second illumination elements ([0052]) and operable to automatically adjust the illumination levels of the first and second illumination elements to improve the evenness of illumination over the field of view of the endoscope ([0049] & [0052]).
Regarding Claim 8, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 7. Halderman further discloses wherein illumination at the edges of the endoscopic field of view is automatically decreased relative to illumination at the center of the field of view when the endoscope images along a lumen, and wherein illumination at the edges of the endoscopic field of view is automatically increased relative to illumination at the center of the field of view when the endoscope images a flat or convex scene (Figs. 1 & 7B, as 124 automatically adjusts the intensities of 702/704 based on topology measurements of a target, 704 would automatically adjust when the topology of the target was a lumen and would automatically adjust when the topology of the target was not a lumen; [0052]).
Regarding Claim 9, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 7. Halderman further discloses wherein an optical axis of the illumination element providing illumination to the central area of the endoscopic field of view is oriented at a slight angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the light input into which the illumination is coupled (see Fig. 7B).
Regarding Claim 10, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 1. Halderman further discloses at least one additional illumination element (Fig. 7B, a substantially angled 702; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 11, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 1. Halderman further discloses wherein at least two of the illumination elements provide illumination to the peripheral area of the field of view of the endoscope (Figs. 4B-4E & 7B, as the light input angle impacts the intensity in the radial direction of the light output and the light emitted from the angled 702 has a light input angle of not 0°, the light emitted from the angled 702 will illuminate a peripheral area of a field of view along with the angled 704; [0039] & [0053]).
Regarding Claim 12, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic illuminator of Claim 10. Halderman further discloses wherein the illumination elements are LEDs ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 13, Halderman discloses a method of providing illumination for an endoscope ([0068]), comprising:
coupling a first illumination light (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from a central 702; [0053]) into a proximal end (Fig. 7B, 110; [0049]) of a light guiding element (Fig. 7B, 104; [0053]) for an endoscope (Fig. 1, 106; [0027]), wherein the coupled illumination light is centered along a first angle relative to the light guiding element (see Fig. 7B);
illuminating a central area of a field of view of the endoscope from a distal end of the light guiding element with the first illumination light ([0039] & [0053]);
while coupling the first illumination light, coupling second illumination light (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from the angled 704; [0053]) into the light guiding element centered along a second angle substantially different from the first angle (see Fig. 7B);
illuminating a peripheral area of the field of view with the second illumination light ([0039] & [0053]); and
adjusting an illumination level of the second illumination light relative to that of the first illumination light to improve evenness of illumination in the field of view ([0052]).
Halderman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light guiding element comprises a proximal outwardly tapered end and a more distal cylindrical portion; and wherein the first illumination light and the second illumination light are coupled into the proximal outwardly tapered end of the light guiding element.
However, Utsumi teaches an endoscopic illuminator (Fig. 1, 8; Col. 2, Lines 17-19) comprising:
a light guiding element of an endoscope (Fig. 2, a light guide assembly comprising 3 and 4; Col. 2, Lines 25-27 & Lines 42-44), the light guiding element comprising a proximal outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 42-44) having a proximal end (Fig. 2, 4a; Col. 2, Lines 49-52) and a distal end (Fig. 2, 4b; Col. 3, Lines 27-30) and a distal cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, 3; Col. 2, Lines 25-27);
an illumination element (Fig. 2, 2; Col. 2, Lines 41-43) adapted to couple illumination light into the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion of the light guiding element (Col. 2, Lines 50-67); and
wherein the outwardly tapered end portion is tapered such that the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion has a cross sectional area (Fig. 2, D1; Col. 3, Lines 40-43) that is larger than both a cross sectional area of the distal end of the outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, D2; Col. 3, Lines 44-46) and a cross sectional area of the cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, D0; Col. 3, Lines 47-49).
The advantage of the distally-tapering tapered end portion of the light guiding element is to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light guiding element (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the light guiding element as disclosed by Halderman, to include the distally-tapering tapered end portion taught by Utsumi, to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light guiding element (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Regarding Claim 14, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the method of Claim 13. Halderman further discloses detecting a first illumination level in the central area of the field of view and detecting a second illumination level in the peripheral area of the field of view ([0052]); and
based on the first and second illumination levels, automatically adjusting the illumination level of the first or second illumination light ([0052]).
Regarding Claim 15, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the method of Claim 13. Halderman further discloses wherein coupling the first illumination light into the proximal end of the light guiding element comprises directing the first illumination light at the light guide element with a first lens directed along the first angle (Fig. 7B, 114; [0053]); and
wherein coupling the second illumination light into the proximal end of the light guiding element comprises directing the second illumination light at the light guide element with a second lens directed along the second angle (Fig. 7B, 116; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 16, Halderman discloses an endoscopic imaging system (Fig. 1, 100; [0027]) comprising:
an endoscope (Fig. 1, 106; [0027]) comprising a shaft (see Fig. 1), a light guide (Fig. 1, 104; [0053]) extending along at least a portion of the shaft to a distal end of the shaft (see Fig. 1), and a light input (Fig. 7B, 110; [0049]);
a light source (Fig. 7B, 750; [0053]) comprising:
a first illumination element (Fig. 7B, a substantially central 702 and 114; [0053]) providing first illumination light into the light input (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from the central 702; [0053]), which is emitted by the light guide to illuminate a central area of a field of view of the endoscope (Figs. 4A & 7B, as light input angle impacts the intensity in a radial direction of light output and the light emitted from the central 702 has a light input angle of substantially 0°, the light emitted from the central 702 will illuminate a central area of a field of view; [0039] & [0053]); and
a second illumination element (Fig. 7B, a substantially angled 704 and 116; [0053]) providing second illumination to the light input (Fig. 7B, a light emitted from the angled 704; [0053]) and arranged relative to the first illumination element such that the second illumination enters the light input at a substantially different angle from the first illumination (see Fig. 7B), which is emitted by the light guide to illuminate a peripheral area of the field of view (Figs. 4B-4E & 7B, as the light input angle impacts the intensity in the radial direction of the light output and the light emitted from the angled 704 has a light input angle of not 0°, the light emitted from the angled 704 will illuminate a peripheral area of a field of view; [0039] & [0053]), the second illumination element having an illumination level adjustable separately from that of the first illumination element ([0052]);
a controller (Fig. 1, 124; [0052]) coupled to the first and second illumination elements ([0052]) and operable to adjust at least one of the first and second illumination elements to improve an evenness of illumination over an endoscopic field of view ([0049] & [0052]).
Halderman fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light input comprises a more distal cylindrical portion and a more proximal outwardly tapered end portion, and wherein the outwardly tapered end portion is tapered such that the outwardly tapered end portion has a cross section that is larger than a cross section of the cylindrical portion.
However, Utsumi teaches an endoscopic illuminator (Fig. 1, 8; Col. 2, Lines 17-19) comprising:
a light input of an endoscope (Fig. 2, a light guide assembly comprising 3 and 4; Col. 2, Lines 25-27 & Lines 42-44), the light input comprising a more proximal outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 42-44) having a proximal end (Fig. 2, 4a; Col. 2, Lines 49-52) and a distal end (Fig. 2, 4b; Col. 3, Lines 27-30) and a more distal cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, 3; Col. 2, Lines 25-27);
an illumination element (Fig. 2, 2; Col. 2, Lines 41-43) adapted to couple illumination light into the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion of the light input (Col. 2, Lines 50-67); and
wherein the outwardly tapered end portion is tapered such that the proximal end of the outwardly tapered end portion has a cross sectional area (Fig. 2, D1; Col. 3, Lines 40-43) that is larger than both a cross sectional area of the distal end of the outwardly tapered end portion (Fig. 2, D2; Col. 3, Lines 44-46) and a cross sectional area of the cylindrical portion (Fig. 2, D0; Col. 3, Lines 47-49).
The advantage of the distally-tapering tapered end portion of the light input is to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light input (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the light input as disclosed by Halderman, to include the distally-tapering tapered end portion taught by Utsumi, to guide light with low-loss and increasing density toward the cylindrical portion of the light input (Utsumi; Col. 3, Lines 14-17).
Regarding Claim 17, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic imaging system of Claim 16. Halderman further discloses wherein the first and second illumination elements each comprise a light source (Fig. 7B, 702/704; [0053]) and a light directing element arranged for directing the illumination from the light source to the light input at their respective different angles (Fig. 7B, 114/116; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 18, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic imaging system of Claim 17. Halderman further discloses wherein the light directing elements are lenses ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 19, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic imaging system of Claim 17. Halderman further discloses wherein at least one of the light directing elements comprises a parabolic or elliptical mirror ([0028]).
Regarding Claim 20, Halderman, as previously modified by Utsumi, teaches the endoscopic imaging system of Claim 17. Halderman further discloses wherein the controller is operable to automatically adjust at least one of the illumination elements based on a first illumination level detected in the central area of the field of view ([0052]) and a second illumination level detected in the peripheral area of the field of view ([0052]).
Conclusion
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795