DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“coffee reservoir located at the bottom” in claim 1;
“ground coffee that is placed in the coffee brewing basket of said cold brew coffee brewing machine is enclosed within a flow-through coffee package that is removable from said cold brew coffee brewing machine” in claim 2
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations “said removable flow-through package” and “said perked cold coffee brewing machine” are insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the removable flow-through package is the flow-through coffee package. It is unclear what the perked cold coffee brewing machine is.
The limitation “said centrifugal coffee beverage extractor adapted to apply a spinning force to said rotatable coffee slurry container to cause said container to rotate and retained coffee beverage remaining in the mixture of ground coffee and water within said flow-through package to be centrifugally extracted therefrom” is indefinite. it is unclear how the extractor can apply a spinning force to rotate the container, since the extractor is the container based on the claim limitation.
Regarding claims 12-17, the claims are rejected due to their dependency on an indefinite claim as shown above.
Claims 2 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation in this claim relates to the ground coffee, which is an external device that associates with the cold brew coffee brewing system. The ground coffee is not a part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the structure and the function of the ground coffee do not further limit the claimed invention.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burrows (US 2022/0354296).
Regarding claim 1, Burrows teaches a cold brew coffee brewing system (beverage brewing system 100) including a cold brew coffee brewing machine having a top (the top of beverage brewing system 100), a bottom (the bottom of beverage brewing system 100) and a coffee reservoir (accumulation reservoir 164) located at the bottom, said cold brew coffee brewing machine comprising:
a coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) in which ground coffee is placed (brew vessel 102 is capable to contain ground coffee), said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) receiving a supply of water to be mixed with the ground coffee within said coffee brewing basket in order to create a coffee beverage (brew vessel 102 is capable to receive water to be mixed with ground coffee), said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) having a coffee beverage outlet (outlet; see the annotation fig.9) through which the coffee beverage flows from said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) into said coffee reservoir (accumulation reservoir 164);
a chiller (refrigerating unit 202) adapted to chill the coffee beverage that flows from said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) into said coffee reservoir (refrigerating unit 202 is capable to chill the coffee beverage);
a pump (pump 504) to pump the coffee beverage within said coffee reservoir to said chiller by which the coffee beverage is chilled (see fig.4, pump 504 is capable to pump coffee beverage to refrigerating unit 202); and
tubing (tubing; see the annotation of fig.4) extending from said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) to said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) so that the coffee beverage chilled by said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) is pumped by said pump (pump 504) and circulated through said tubing to be returned to said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) to percolate through the ground coffee therewithin (Burrows teaches a circulation path comprising filter 128, which is capable to percolate the ground coffee.).
Regarding claim 2, Burrows teaches the ground coffee that is placed in the coffee brewing basket of said cold brew coffee brewing machine is enclosed within a flow-through coffee package that is removable from said cold brew coffee brewing machine [Examiner’s note: The ground coffee is not a part of the claimed invention. Therefore the limitation does not further limit the claimed invention. The ground coffee is removable form the cold brew coffee brewing machine of Burrows.]
Regarding claim 3, Burrows teaches said cold brew coffee brewing machine also comprises a stand (base 108) by which to suspend said coffee brewing basket above said coffee reservoir (See figures).
Regarding claim 4, Burrows teaches said cold brew coffee brewing machine also comprises a strainer (filter 128) located within said coffee reservoir (accumulation reservoir 164) so that the coffee beverage that is pumped from said coffee reservoir (accumulation reservoir 164) to said chiller flows through said strainer (filter 128).
Regarding claim 5, Burrows teaches the coffee beverage outlet (outlet) of the coffee brewing basket of said cold brew coffee brewing machine is a funnel (see fig.9).
Regarding claim 6, Burrows teaches a coffee flow control valve (P1; see the annotation of fig.4) located within said tubing to control the flow of the chilled coffee beverage that is pumped by said pump (pump 504) from said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) and returned to said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) by way of said tubing.
Regarding claim 7, Burrows teaches the tubing of said cold brew coffee brewing machine through which the chilled coffee beverage is pumped runs upwardly from said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) so as to lie above said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) at which said tubing turns downwardly towards said coffee brewing basket so as to lie in spaced alignment therewith (See figures, Burrows teaches a pump and a circulation path that capable to pump coffee beverage upwardly from refrigerating unit 202 above brew vessel 102.).
Regarding claim 8, Burrows teaches said coffee brewing basket has a perforated top so that the chilled coffee beverage that is pumped by said pump from said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) and through said downwardly turned tubing flows into said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) by way of the perforated top thereof (See figure, Burrows teaches a pump and a circulation path that capable to pump from refrigerating unit 202 flows into brew vessel 102 by way of the perforated top.)
Regarding claim 9, Burrows teaches the tubing of said cold brew coffee brewing machine lies in a U-shaped coffee circulation path between said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) and the perforated top of said coffee brewing basket (brew vessel 102) (see fig.4, the tubing defines a U-shaped coffee circulation path between said chiller and the perforated top of said coffee brewing basket.)
Regarding claim 10, Burrows teaches said U-shaped coffee circulation path runs from said chiller (refrigerating unit 202) in a first direction so as to extend upwardly through the top of said cold brew coffee brewing machine and then in an opposite direction so as to extend downwardly through the top of said perked cold coffee brewing machine so as to lie in spaced axial alignment with the perforated top of said coffee brewing basket (see fig.4, the tubing defines a U-shaped coffee circulation path. A portion of the circulation path extends upwardly through the top of said cold brew coffee brewing machine and a portion of the circulation path extend downwardly lie in spaced axial alignment with the perforated top of said coffee brewing basket.)
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761