Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 11/03/25 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections Withdrawn
Objection to Figures 1A, 1B, and 1.
Objection to Claim 19.
Objection to Claim 27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues neither 3GPP nor Kim disclose the amended limitation that requires a registration request which includes both an initial registration and path switching capability info [Remarks pg. 12-18]. Examiner concedes Applicant’s argument with respect to 3GPP and has removed that reference from the below rejection. Additionally, upon further searching, Examiner found Salkintzis (US 20250294493 A1), which unlike Applicant’s amended limitations, separates the initial registration and path switching messages [par. 0079, 100]. However, original reference Kim clearly indicates a request for registration to the AMF, where the UE transmits “at least one of” (i.e., both) initial registration and N3GPP path switching [par. 0149, 176, fig. 4B no. 5a]. Consequently, since Kim discloses the amended limitations as claimed, the claims remain rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of copending Application No. 18/085548 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, claim 16 of the instant application is similar to claim 1 of the reference application, but from the opposite perspective (i.e., UE vs. network interface device). A similar analysis can be performed for the other independent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230319757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a communications method [fig. 3A-C, 4A-D, 5A-D], the method comprising:
operating a network interface device [fig. 3A no. 310, 320] to receive a first message from a first User Equipment (UE) [fig. 3A no. 10], said first message including an initial registration request message that includes a message type indicator indicating an initial registration request message type and path switching capability information indicating whether the first UE supports path switching of Multi-Access Protocol Data Unit (MA PDU) sessions between non-3GPP (N3GPP) access paths (Registration request includes path switching indication, as well as initial registration, where access path switching is between different types of non-3GPP access using N3IWF and TNGF (i.e., between non-3GPP) [par. 0107-108, 0135, 138-139, fig. 3A no. 2, 4A no. 2, 3a, par. 0149, 176, fig. 4B no. 5a]);
operating the network interface device, in response to receiving the first message, to make an initial Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) selection to select a first AMF to serve as a hosting AMF for the first UE [fig. 3A no. 3, fig. 4A no. 20, 120]; and
operating the network interface device to communicate the initial registration request message to the first AMF [fig. 3A no. 4, fig. 4A no. 2, 3a].
Regarding claim 9, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Kim further discloses a communications system [fig. 1-2, 6-15] comprising: a network interface device [fig. 8 no. 310, fig. 9 no. 320] including: a first receiver [fig. 8 no. 311, fig. 9 no. 321]; a first transmitter [fig. 8 no. 311, fig. 9 no. 321]; and a first processor [fig. 8 no. 312, fig. 9 no. 322].
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Kim discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the first AMF to determine if the hosting AMF can support a level of path switching capability the first UE supports as indicated by the path switching capability information included in said initial registration request message [fig. 3A no. 6, par. 0111-113].
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses further comprising: said first AMF including: a second processor (More components, including at least one (i.e., second) processor [fig. 8, par. 0212, 214]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said initial registration request message is included in said first message as part of a payload of said first message, the content of said initial registration message not being fully accessible to the network interface device but being accessible to one or more AMFs to which the initial registration message is communicated (The message passes thru the Source Access Network (i.e., network interface device) but is not communicated to it (i.e., “not fully accessible”) [par. 0149, 176, fig. 4A no. 20, 310, fig. 4B no. 5a]); and
wherein said network interface device does not consider the path switching capability of the first UE when making the initial AMF selection (The AMF, not the network interface device, makes this determination [fig. 3A no. 6, par. 0111-113]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 9 respectively, and further in view of Li (US 20220322202 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kim discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Kim discloses wherein the path switching capability information included in the initial registration request message indicates that the first UE supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between non-3GPP access paths [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D]; wherein the first AMF does not support path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D]; wherein operating the first AMF to determine if the hosting AMF can support a level of path switching capability the first UE supports as indicated by the path switching capability information included in said initial registration request message includes determining that the first AMF can not support the level of path switching capability the first UE supports [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D], as discussed above, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: operating the first AMF to select a second AMF which can support the level of path switching capability the first UE supports to serve as the host for the first UE. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Li.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: operating the first AMF to select a second AMF which can support the level of path switching capability the first UE supports to serve as the host for the first UE [par. 0180, fig. 24].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of relocating the AMF for particular reasons (e.g., not supported) [Li par. 0180].
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Kim and Li disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Li further discloses further comprising:
operating the first AMF to send the initial registration request message path switching capability information indicating that the first UE supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths to the second AMF [par. 0181, fig. 24].
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Kim and Li disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim and Li further disclose further comprising:
operating the second AMF [Li, as discussed above] to receive the initial registration request message corresponding to the first UE [Kim, as discussed above]; and
operating the second AMF [Li, as discussed above] to send a registration accept message to the network interface device indicating that the second AMF accepts the initial registration request made by the first UE [Kim fig. 3B no. 10].
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses further comprising: said second AMF including: a second receiver [fig. 35F no. 120]: a third transmitter [fig. 35F no. 120]: and a third processor [fig. 35F no. 118].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Kim and Li disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim and Li further disclose further comprising:
operating the second AMF [Li, as discussed above] to select a Session Management Function (SMF) which supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths to be used to support first UE communications [Kim fig. 3B no. 7-8, fig. 4A no. 3c].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Li as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lu (WO 2021093182 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Li disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Kim and Li disclose further comprising: operating the network interface device to send a registration accept message to the first UE [Kim fig. 4D no. 10] … of the second AMF and information indicating that the AMF supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths; and operating the second AMF to receive an initiate MA PDU session establishment message from the first UE, as discussed above, Kim and Li do not explicitly disclose including the globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI). However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lu.
In the same field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
including the globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) [pg. 7 no. 8, fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Li with Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing AMF relocation [Lu pg. 3 “Detailed Description” par. 1].
Claims 16-25 and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lu.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a method of operating a first user equipment (UE) device [fig. 3A-C, 4A-D, 5A-D], the method comprising:
operating the first UE device [fig. 3A no. 10] to send to a first network interface device [fig. 3A no. 310, 320], a first message, said first message including an initial registration request message that includes a message type indicator indicating an initial registration request message type and path switching capability information indicating whether the first UE device supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths (Registration request includes path switching indication, as well as initial registration, where access path switching is between different types of non-3GPP access using N3IWF and TNGF (i.e., between non-3GPP) [par. 0107-108, 0135, 138-139, fig. 3A no. 2, 4A no. 2, 3a, par. 149, 176, fig. 4B no. 5a]); and
operating the first UE device to receive a registration accept message from the first network interface device, said registration accept message [fig. 3B no. 11, fig. 4D no. 10, fig. 5C no. 10].
Although Kim discloses MA PDU sessions, as discussed above, Kim does not explicitly disclose said registration accept message including a GUAMI of an AMF identifying an AMF selected to support first UE device communications sessions. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lu.
In the same field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
including a GUAMI of an AMF identifying an AMF selected to support first UE device communications sessions [pg. 7 no. 8, fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing AMF relocation [Lu pg. 7 no. 8, fig. 3].
Regarding claim 26, it is substantially similar to claim 16, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Kim further discloses a first user equipment (UE) device [fig. 6 no. 10] comprising: a wireless transmitter [fig. 6 no. 11]; a wireless receiver [fig. 6 no. 11]; and a processor [fig. 6 no. 12].
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a 3GPP Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) device [fig. 4A no. 20].
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a non 3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) [fig. 4A no. 310].
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a Trusted Network Gateway Function (TNGF) [fig. 4B no. 320].
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said registration accept message includes AMF path switching capability information indicating the path switching support capability of the identified AMF [fig. 4D no. 10].
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said AMF path switching capability information is communicated via a mandatory field of said registration accept message [fig. 4D no. 10, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “Path Switching Support Indicator” is a “mandatory” field].
Regarding claim 22, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF does not support path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 23 and 29, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 24 and 30, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the first UE device to participate in a first MA PDU session, said participating in a first MA PDU session including communications via a first path, said first path including a first N3GPP access device [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D];
operating the first UE device to perform a path switch of the first MA PDU session from the first path to a second path, said second path including a second N3GPP access device [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D]; and
operating the first UE device to continue participating in the first MA PDU session, said continuing participating in the first MA PDU session including communications via the second path [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D].
Regarding claim 25, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said identified AMF supports the path switching between the first and second paths [fig. 4A no. 3b, fig. 5B no. 5b].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465