Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 11/03/25 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections Withdrawn
Objections to Figures 1A, 1B, and 1.
Objection to Claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues neither 3GPP nor Kim disclose the amended limitation that requires a registration request which includes both an initial registration and path switching capability info [Remarks pg. 13-14]. Examiner concedes Applicant’s argument with respect to 3GPP and has removed that reference from the below rejection. Additionally, upon further searching, Examiner found Salkintzis (US 20250294493 A1), which unlike Applicant’s amended limitations, separates the initial registration and path switching messages [par. 0079, 100]. However, original reference Kim clearly indicates a request for registration to the AMF, where the UE transmits “at least one of” (i.e., both) initial registration and N3GPP path switching [par. 0149, 176, fig. 4B no. 5a]. Consequently, since Kim discloses the amended limitations as claimed, the claims remain rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of copending Application No. 18/085539 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, claim 1 of the instant application is similar to claim 16 of the reference application, but from the opposite perspective (i.e., network interface device vs. UE). A similar analysis can be performed for the other independent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 9-15 and 16-25, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kim (US 20230319757 A1) in view of Lu.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a communications method [fig. 3A-C, 4A-D, 5A-D], the method comprising:
operating a network interface device [fig. 3A no. 310, 320] to receive a first message from a first User Equipment (UE) [fig. 3A no. 10], said first message including an initial registration request message that includes a message type indicator indicating an initial registration request message type and path switching capability information indicating whether the first UE supports path switching of Multi-Access Protocol Data Unit (MA PDU) sessions between non-3GPP (N3GPP) access paths (Registration request includes path switching indication, where access path switching is between different types of non-3GPP access using N3IWF and TNGF (i.e., between non-3GPP) [par. 0107-108, 0135, 138-139, fig. 3A no. 2, 4A no. 2, 3a, par. 0149, 176, fig. 4B no. 5a]); and
operating the network interface device to send a registration accept message to the first UE in response to the initial registration request message, said registration accept message … selected to support first UE communications sessions and including AMF path switching capability information indicating the path switching support capability of the identified AMF [fig. 4D no. 10].
Although Kim discloses MA PDU sessions, as discussed above, Kim does not explicitly disclose including the globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) of an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) identifying an AMF. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Lu.
In the same field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
including the globally unique AMF identifier (GUAMI) of an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) identifying an AMF [pg. 7 no. 8, fig. 3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing AMF relocation [Lu pg. 3 “Detailed Description” par. 1].
Regarding claim 9, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Kim further discloses a communications system [fig. 1-2, 6-15] comprising: a network interface device [fig. 8 no. 310, fig. 9 no. 320] including: a first receiver [fig. 8 no. 311, fig. 9 no. 321]; a first transmitter [fig. 8 no. 311, fig. 9 no. 321]; and a first processor [fig. 8 no. 312, fig. 9 no. 322].
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF does not support path switching of Multi-Access Protocol Data Unit ((MA PDU) sessions between non-3GPP (N3GPP) access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the identified AMF to receive an initiate MA PDU session establishment message from the first UE [fig. 4A no. 3a].
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a second receiver (More components, including at least one (i.e., second) receiver [fig. 8, par. 0212, 214]); and a second processor (More components, including at least one (i.e., second) processor [fig. 8, par. 0212, 214]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the identified AMF to select a session management function session management function (SMF) which supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths to be used to support first UE communications [fig. 4A no. 3b].
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the identified AMF to send a create session management (SM) context request to the selected SMF to create SM context for the first UE at the selected SMF [fig. 4A no. 3c].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein sending the create SM content request is sent by the selected SMF as part of establishing an MA PDU session for the first UE in response to the initiate MA PDU session establishment message received from the first UE [fig. 4A no. 3a-c].
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating another network interface device to communicate with the UE via a MA PDU path established in response to the initiate MA PDU session establishment message [fig. 4A no. 3d (N3IWF), 4B no. 6d (TNGF)].
Regarding claims 16 and 26, they are substantially similar to claims 1 and 9 respectively, except are from the perspective of the UE, and are rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Kim further discloses a first UE device [fig. 6 no. 10] comprising, a wireless transmitter [fig. 6 no. 11], a wireless receiver [fig. 6 no. 11], and a processor [fig. 6 no. 12].
Regarding claims 17 and 27, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said initial registration request message includes path switching capability information indicating whether the first UE device supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths (Registration request includes path switching indication, where access path switching is between different types of non-3GPP access using N3IWF and TNGF (i.e., between non-3GPP) [par. 0107-108, 0135, 138-139, fig. 3A no. 2, 4A no. 2, 3a]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a 3GPP Next Generation-Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) device, e.g., a gNB base station [fig. 4A no. 20].
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a non- 3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) [fig. 4A no. 310].
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said first network interface device is a Trusted Network Gateway Function (TNGF) [fig. 4B no. 320].
Regarding claim 21, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said AMF path switching capability information is communicated via a mandatory field [fig. 4D no. 10, where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “Path Switching Support Indicator” is a “mandatory” field].
Regarding claim 22, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF does not support path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 23 and 28, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the path switching capability information in the registration accept message indicates that the identified AMF supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths [par. 0145-146, 179, 198].
Regarding claims 24 and 29, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein said initial registration request message includes path switching capability information indicating whether the first UE device supports path switching of MA PDU sessions between N3GPP access paths (Registration request includes path switching indication, where access path switching is between different types of non-3GPP access using N3IWF and TNGF (i.e., between non-3GPP) [par. 0107-108, 0135, 138-139, fig. 3A no. 2, 4A no. 2, 3a]).
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Kim and Lu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Kim further discloses further comprising:
operating the first UE device to participate in a first MA PDU session, said participating including communications via a first path, said first path including a first N3GPP access device [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D];
operating the first UE device to perform a path switch of the first MA PDU session from the first path to a second path, said second path including a second N3GPP access device [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D]; and
operating the first UE device to continue participating in the first MA PDU session, said continuing participating in the first MA PDU session including communications via the second path [fig. 4A-D, 5A-D].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465