DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 12/03/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 with respect to claim(s) 25 regarding wherein the slot format is configured in an order of zero or more downlink symbols, one or more flexible symbols and zero or more uplink symbols, and the one or more flexible symbols are identified based on X and Y. The Examiner respectfully disagree, Kwak teach, “a DCI (Downlink Control Information) message that indicates at least the slot format related information, from which the UE can derive (e.g., via processor(s) 410) at least which symbols in a slot are DL, UL, or other symbols, wherein the other symbols can be flexible symbols that can be employed”, see para. 70. The examiner respectfully disagrees since in the applicant’s claim 25 there is no defined flexible symbols, in fact the Applicant defines that flexible symbols is “wherein the flexible symbol means a symbol whose purpose can be re-designated to downlink (DL), uplink (UL) or flexible according to the slot configuration information of the PDCCH” (applicant’s specification para. 6). Therefore, giving broadest reasonable interpretation (see MPEP 2111) to the claim language in particular to the applicant’s “flexible symbols” definition that these symbols are what it is left over to re-arrange or defined according to the communication configuration needed, but the important consideration is those are determined based on the initially configured as X (number of downlink symbols) and Y (number of uplink symbols) previously identified by the UE from the configuration message received. Furthermore Kwak clearly exposes this concept of identifying the number of DL and UL symbols disclosing the actual standard: “In an example such as shown in FIG. 7 wherein each symbol can be one of the 4 possible transmission directions (DL, UL, BL, or SL) and a slot consists of 14 symbols (e.g., OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols or OFDM-based symbols)”, see para. 73. The examiner interprets the standard applied to a scenario that applies to the concept claimed based on Kwak disclosure: For example Kwak is defining a possible configuration that in a slot of 14 symbols, the first 3 symbols being identified as DOWLINK and the next 3 symbols are identified as UPLINK, then the UE derive from the configuration that out of 14 possible at least symbols 6 are clearly identified and the resting 8 symbols can be employed or reassigned despite configured or not, but this number of symbols (the rest out of the total, not including the assigned as DL and UL) will always depend on the initial configuration of Downlink and Uplink symbols already selected by this structure, that means the maximum of 14 symbols minus (X plus Y) symbols, since X and Y are both included, equals the possible flexible symbols, which it is well disclosed by Kwak; therefore one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would clearly understand, that Kwak teach this concept of flexible symbols identified based on X and Y.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26, 29-34 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190349904) in view of Qualcomm “View on group common PDCCH”; 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1#88, February 13th - 18th, 2017; R1-1702626, hereafter “Qualcomm”.
Regarding claim 33 Kwak disclose a method for use by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signal including a slot format configuration related to a slot format para. 74, “a BS (e.g., gNB) can select (e.g., via processor(s) 510) a limited number of slot formats (e.g., from the K possible slot formats or some predefined subset thereof) for potential use within that cell and can configure that set of slot formats or a set of combinations for slot formats for the group of UEs via higher layer signaling, for example, via system information or RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling”,
wherein the slot format configuration provides a number X of downlink symbols and a number Y of uplink symbols para. 70, “a DCI (Downlink Control Information) message that indicates at least the slot format related information, from which the UE can derive (e.g., via processor(s) 410) at least which symbols in a slot are DL, UL, or other symbols, wherein the other symbols can be flexible symbols that can be employed”, and
wherein the slot format is configured in an order of zero or more downlink symbols one or more flexible symbols and zero or more uplink symbols, and the one or more flexible symbols are identified based on X and Y para. 70, “a DCI (Downlink Control Information) message that indicates at least the slot format related information, from which the UE can derive (e.g., via processor(s) 410) at least which symbols in a slot are DL, UL, or other symbols, wherein the other symbols can be flexible symbols that can be employed”, see para. 70. In claim 25 there is no defined flexible symbols, in fact the Applicant defines that flexible symbols is “wherein the flexible symbol means a symbol whose purpose can be re-designated to downlink (DL), uplink (UL) or flexible according to the slot configuration information of the PDCCH” (applicant’s specification para. 6). Furthermore Kwak clearly exposes this concept of identifying the number of DL and UL symbols by disclosing the actual standard: “In an example such as shown in FIG. 7 wherein each symbol can be one of the 4 possible transmission directions (DL, UL, BL, or SL) and a slot consists of 14 symbols (e.g., OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing) symbols or OFDM-based symbols)”, see para. 73. The examiner interprets the standard scenario that still applies to the concept claimed based on Kwak disclosure: For example Kwak is defining a possible configuration that in a slot of 14 symbols, the first 3 symbols being identified as as DOWLINK and the next 3 symbols are identified as UPLINK, then the UE derive from the configuration that out of 14 possible at least symbols 6 are clearly identified and the resting 8 symbols can be employed or reassigned despite configured or not, but this number of symbols (the rest out of the total, not including the assigned as DL and UL) will always depend on the initial configuration of Downlink and Uplink symbols already selected by this structure, that means the maximum of 14 symbols minus (X plus Y) symbols, since X and Y are both included, equals the possible flexible symbols, which it is well disclosed by Kwak;
monitoring a group common physical downlink control channel (GC-PDCCH) including a slot format information para. 110, “for slot(s) that the UE is configured to monitor for the common control channel (e.g., group common PDCCH)”, Kwak also notes that “the slot format indication (SFI) carried in the group common PDCCH”.
Kwak do not specifically disclose, when a set of symbols on which the UE is configured by a higher layer to receive a downlink signal is within the one or more flexible symbols configured by the RRC signal, selectively performing a reception of the downlink signal based on. However, Qualcomm teach, “Slot format related information, Information from which the UE can derive at least which symbols in a slot that are ‘DL’, ‘UL’ (for Rel-15), and ‘other’, respectively”, see section 1, Agreement, Qualcomm further teach, 1) whether the GC-PDCCH is detected by the UE and 2) whether the slot format information indicates the set of symbols as downlink, if the GC-PDCCH is detected by the UE, section 1, Agreement, “When monitoring for a PDCCH, the UE should be able to process a detected PDCCH irrespective of whether the ‘group common PDCCH’ is received or not”.
Kwak and Qualcomm are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission configuration and parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qualcomm in the system of Kwak to be able to dynamically configure and modify the control signaling to allow the user equipments to process and detect the presence of specific configuration to its PDCCH. The motivation for doing so would have been add flexibility to the uplink/downlink configuration on the network for one or more user terminals.
Regarding claim 34 Kwak disclose, wherein the reception of the downlink signal is canceled on the set of symbols when the GC-PDCCH is not detected by the UE para. 76, “when the UE does not detect (e.g., via processor(s) 410 and transceiver circuitry 420) the group common PDCCH (e.g., whether it is or is not generated by processor(s) 510 and transmitted by communication circuitry 520) for a slot, or the group common PDCCH signaling is not present in higher layers, the UE can assume a particular (e.g., default) slot format, which can either be pre-determined (e.g., in a specification) or can be configured by higher layer (e.g., via system information or RRC generated by processor(s) 510”.
Regarding claim 37 Kwak disclose, wherein the downlink signal includes a periodic downlink signal. However, Kwak teach, para. 76, “In some aspects, the group common PDCCH (e.g., generated by processor(s) 510) can be transmitted (e.g., by communication circuitry 520) periodically in the time domain”.
Regarding claim 38 Kwak do not specifically disclose, wherein the downlink signal includes a channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS). However, Qualcomm teach “This is to provide blanking capability for periodic DL/UL control signaling such as CSI-RS”, section 3.
Kwak and Qualcomm are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission configuration and parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qualcomm in the system of Kwak to be able to dynamically configure and modify the control signaling to allow the user equipment to analyze the channel. The motivation for doing so would have been to help the UE measure the radio channel's quality.
Regarding claim 39 Kwak disclose, wherein the higher layer includes a RRC layer para. 75, “that cell and can configure that set of slot formats or a set of combinations for slot formats for the group of UEs (e.g., some or all UEs in a cell) via higher layer signaling (e.g., generated by processor(s) 510, transmitted via communication circuitry 520, received via transceiver circuitry 420, and processed by processor(s) 410), for example, via system information or RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling”.
Regarding claim 40 Kwak disclose, wherein the RRC signal including slot format configuration is a cell-specific signal or a user-specific signal para. 114, “which can be based on distributed Tx that applies a frequency domain cell-specific cyclic shifts to the REGs or to the starting REG-bundle”.
Claim 25 recites an apparatus comprising a processor read as: “processors 410” see para. 63, corresponding to the method of claim 33 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 33.
Regarding claims 26,29-32, the limitations of claim 26,29-32, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 34,37-40.
Claim(s) 27-28 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190349904) in view of Qualcomm “View on group common PDCCH”; 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1#88, February 13th - 18th, 2017; R1-1702626, hereafter “Qualcomm”, further in view Nogami et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180220400).
Regarding claim 35 Kwak and Qualcomm do not disclose, wherein the reception of the downlink signal is canceled on the set of symbols when the slot format information indicates the set of symbols as flexible or uplink, if the GC-PDCCH is detected by the UE. Howerver, Nogami teach, “If the UE 102 detects the group-common PDCCH in slot i, and the UE 102 has received prior to slot i a PDCCH which schedules either PDSCH reception, CSI-RS reception, PUSCH transmission or SRS transmission in slot i, the UE 102 may drop the PDSCH reception”, see para. 318.
Kwak, Qualcomm and Nogami are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission configuration and parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nogami in the system of Kwak and Qualcomm to be able to dynamically configure and modify the control signaling to allow the user equipments to process and detect the presence of specific configuration to its PDCCH. The motivation for doing so would have been add flexibility to the uplink/downlink configuration on the network for one or more user terminals.
Regarding claim 36 Kwak and Qualcomm do not disclose, wherein the reception of the downlink signal is performed on the set of symbols when the slot format information indicates the set of symbols as downlink, if the GC-PDCCH is detected by the UE. Howerver, Nogami teach, “If the UE 102 detects the group-common PDCCH in slot i, and the UE 102 has received prior to slot i a PDCCH which schedules either PDSCH reception, CSI-RS reception, PUSCH transmission or SRS transmission in slot I”, para. 318, the scheduling is being selected according to the prior configuration and the transmission/reception of the signal is associated with the type of resources configurated.
Kwak, Qualcomm and Nogami are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission configuration and parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nogami in the system of Kwak and Qualcomm to be able to dynamically configure and modify the control signaling to allow the user equipments to process and detect the presence of specific configuration to its PDCCH. The motivation for doing so would have been add flexibility to the uplink/downlink configuration on the network for one or more user terminals.
Regarding claims 27-28 the limitations of claims 27-28, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 35-36, respectively.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471