DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over JP6663543 in view of Yang (CN206732386).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, JP6663543 teaches a laser processor (title, abstract) comprising: a machining head having an optical path of a laser beam (Figs 1-10, processing head 35, 0013, 0043) and comprising: a pressing member (piston 8, springs 27a, 27b, 0047, 0055); and a stopper surface (Figs 8-10, surface of housing 4 that annular member 13b rest against); and a cartridge (cartridge 2, protective window 7, 0021) configured to be inserted in the machining head (35) and configured to be pressed along the optical path toward the stopper surface by the pressing member when the cartridge is in the machining head (0055), the cartridge comprising: an optical component (0036, protective widow 7 is made of transparent glass) configured to be positioned in the optical path when the cartridge is in the machining head, the optical component having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface along the optical path (top and bottom surfaces of protective window 7); a housing member (Figs 6, 8-10, holder 3, 0047) having an upper surface and a lower surface configured to contact the first surface of the optical element (Fig 6, inner upper surface of holder 3 in contact with bottom surface of window 7), the lower surface being (bottom surface of holder 3 in contact with piston 8, 0056, 0058) configured to contact the pressing member; configured to contact the second surface of the optical component (Fig 6, inner top surface of holder 3 in contact with top surface of window 7) and the stopper surface (0058).
JP6663543 discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element; and a second member configured to contact the second surface of the optical component, an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member.
However, Yang discloses the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface (Figs 1-3, locking ring 150, 0038 with upper inside surface in contact with side / bottom surface of lens 120, 0038) along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element (lens 120, 0038); and a second member (mounting seat 110, 0038) configured to contact the second surface of the optical component (top inside surface of 110 in contact with upper surface of lens 120), an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member (Fig 3, top surface of lock ring 150 in contact with mounting seat 110) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the laser processor of JP6663543 having an optical component and housing member silent to the recited first and second housing member with the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element; and a second member configured to contact the second surface of the optical component, an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member of Yang for the purpose of providing a known two-part housing member that allows the optical component to be easily installed or removed and facilitates cleaning and replacement of the lens (0039).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 3 and 4, the modified laser processor of JP6663543 in view of the first and second housing member of Yang fully discloses “the pressing member is configured to press the first member toward the stopper surface such that the first member presses the first surface of the optical component toward the stopper surface, and the pressing member is configured to press the optical component to the second member via the first member such that the second surface of the optical component presses the second member to the stopper surface;
the pressing member is configured to press the first surface of the optical component toward the stopper surface via the first member; and the pressing member is configured to press the second member to the stopper surface via the second surface of the optical component;
the pressing member is configured to press the cartridge to the stopper surface such that the cartridge is secured to the machining head and the optical component is secured to the first member and the second member between the first member and the second member” because the pressing member (piston 8, springs 27a, 27b, 0047, 0055) of JP6663543 would compress the first member, lens and second member of Yang together against the stopper surface (surface of housing 4 that annular member 13b rest against) in the insertion position (0055).
With respect to the limitations of claims 5, 6, 7 and 8, JP6663543 in view of Yang discloses one of the first member and the second member includes a housing (Yang, Figs 1-3, mounting seat 110, 0038) that accommodates at least part of the optical component, and another one of the first member and the second member includes a pressing ring (Yang, locking ring 150, 0038) that contacts the optical component;
at least part of the pressing ring includes a cantilever portion (Yang, Fig 3, cantilevered base of locking ring 150 resting on mounting seat 110) supported by the housing;
a volume of the housing is greater than a volume of the pressing ring (Yang, Fig 3, mounting seat 110, locking ring 150).
JP6663543 in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention except for a density of the housing is less than a density of the pressing ring; a minimum inner diameter of a section of the housing facing a side surface of the optical component is greater than a minimum inner diameter of a section of the pressing ring facing the side surface of the optical component. However, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have a density of the housing is less than a density of the pressing ring; a minimum inner diameter of a section of the housing facing a side surface of the optical component is greater than a minimum inner diameter of a section of the pressing ring facing the side surface of the optical component, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable part density and dimensional ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
With respect to the limitations of claim 9, JP6663543 in view of Yang disclose the cartridge further comprises a first sealing member (Yang, Fig 3, axial sealing ring 170, 0040) disposed between the optical component (120) and the housing (110), a second sealing member (Yang, second sealing ring 140, 0044) disposed on an upper surface of the pressing ring, and a third sealing member (Yang, first sealing ring 130, 0044) disposed on a lower surface of the housing.
With respect to the limitations of claim 11, JP6663543 teaches a laser processing system comprising: a workpiece support configured to support a workpiece (Fig 1, base 31, processing material W, 0013) to be processed by a laser beam; a drive device (X, Y, Z axis servo motor, 0014-0015; column 33); a controller configured to control (numerical control device 41, 0013) the drive device; and a laser processor comprising: a machining head (Figs 1-10, processing head 35, 0013, 0043) configured to radiate the laser beam toward the workpiece and configured to be moved by the drive device relative to the workpiece support; a laser source (laser oscillator 37, 0013); an optical transmission member (transmission fiber cable 39, 0013) configured to transmit the laser beam from the laser source to the machining head; the machining head having an optical path of the laser beam and comprising: a pressing member (piston 8, springs 27a, 27b, 0047, 0055); and a stopper surface (Figs 8-10, surface of housing 4 that annular member 13b rest against); and a cartridge (cartridge 2, protective window 7, 0021) configured to be inserted in the machining head (35) and configured to be pressed by the pressing member when the cartridge is in the machining head (0035), the cartridge comprising: an optical component (0036, protective widow 7 is made of transparent glass) disposed on the optical path when the cartridge is in the machining head, the optical component having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface along the optical path (top and bottom surfaces of protective window 7); a housing member (Figs 6, 8-10, holder 3, 0047) having an upper surface and a lower surface configured to contact the first surface of the optical element (Fig 6, inner upper surface of holder 3 in contact with bottom surface of window 7), the lower surface being (bottom surface of holder 3 in contact with piston 8, 0056, 0058) configured to contact the pressing member; configured to contact the second surface of the optical component (Fig 6, inner top surface of holder 3 in contact with top surface of window 7) and the stopper surface (0058).
JP6663543 discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element; and a second member configured to contact the second surface of the optical component, an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member.
However, Yang discloses the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface (Figs 1-3, locking ring 150, 0038 with upper inside surface in contact with side / bottom surface of lens 120, 0038) along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element (lens 120, 0038); and a second member (mounting seat 110, 0038) configured to contact the second surface of the optical component (top inside surface of 110 in contact with upper surface of lens 120), an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member (Fig 3, top surface of lock ring 150 in contact with mounting seat 110) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the laser processor of JP6663543 having an optical component and housing member silent to the recited first and second housing member with the housing member is a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical element; and a second member configured to contact the second surface of the optical component, an uppermost surface of the first member contacting the second member of Yang for the purpose of providing a known two-part housing member that allows the optical component to be easily installed or removed and facilitates cleaning and replacement of the lens (0039).
With respect to the limitations of claim 12, JP6663543 in view of Yang discloses teaches the controller (JP6663543, numerical control device 41, 0013) is configured to control operation of the pressing member to cause the pressing member to press the cartridge so as to make the cartridge secured to the machining head (JP6663543, 0053-0055) and make the optical component secured to the first member and the second member (Yang, mounting seat 110, locking ring 150).
With respect to the limitations of claims 13, 14 and 15, JP6663543 in view of Yang discloses a method for mounting a cartridge (JP6663543, Figs 1-8, cartridge 2, protective window 7, 0021) on a laser processor having a machining head (JP6663543, Figs 1-10, processing head 35, 0013, 0043), comprising: providing the cartridge which includes a first member, a second member, and an optical component which has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and which is provided between the first member and the second member such that the first surface and a second surface face the first member and the second member (Yang, Figs 1-3, mounting seat 110, lens 120, locking ring 150, 0038), respectively; inserting the cartridge in the machining head having an optical path of a laser beam such that the optical component is positioned in the optical path; the first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite the upper surface (Yang, Figs 1-3, locking ring 150, 0038 with upper inside surface in contact with side / bottom surface of lens 120, 0038) along the optical path; and pressing, using a pressing member (P6663543, piston 8, springs 27a, 27b, 0047, 0055), the first member toward a stopper surface (P6663543, Figs 8-10, surface of housing 4 that annular member 13b rest against) of the machining head so that the first member presses the first surface of the optical component toward the stopper surface and so that the second surface of the optical component presses the second member to the stopper surface (JP6663543, 0052-0055); during the pressing, the lower surface of the first member contacts the pressing member (P6663543, bottom surface of holder 3 in contact with piston 8, 0056, 0058), and an uppermost surface of the upper surface of the first member contacts the second member (Yang, Fig 3, top surface of lock ring 150 in contact with mounting seat 110);
the pressing comprises compressing a first sealing member (Yang, Fig 3, axial sealing ring 170, 0040) disposed between a housing (110) and the optical component (120), one of the first member and the second member including a housing (Yang, Figs 1-3, mounting seat 110, 0038) that accommodates at least part of the optical component, compressing a second sealing member (Yang, second sealing ring 140, 0044) disposed between a pressing ring (Yang, locking ring 150, 0038) and the stopper surface or the pressing member, another one of the first member and the second member including the pressing ring (Yang, locking ring 150, 0038) that contacts the optical component, and compressing a third sealing member (Yang, first sealing ring 130, 0044) disposed between the housing and the pressing member or the stopper surface;
before the pressing, a gap exists between the first member and the second member, and the gap is eliminated by the pressing (JP6663543, 0052-0055).
Claims 16-20 are also rejected because they are dependent upon claims 1, 11 and 13.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over JP6663543 in view of Yang (CN206732386) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ren (CN210413109). An English machine translation of Ren (CN210413109) is include with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, JP6663543 in view of Yang (CN206732386) discloses the housing member having a first member, second member and optical component between the first and second members. JP6663543 in view of Yang (CN206732386) discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the first member and the second member has a depression that receives a distal end portion of a temperature sensor, and the distal end portion of the temperature sensor faces the optical component. However, Ren discloses at least one of the first member and the second member (Figs 2-4, lens holding mechanism 101, frame 102, 0029) has a depression that receives a distal end portion of a temperature sensor (Fig 8, thermal resistor 301, 0037, 0038), and the distal end portion of the temperature sensor (301) faces the optical component (lens 104, 0037, 0038) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the laser processor of JP6663543 in view of Yang having an optical component and first and second housing members silent to the recited depression with at least one of the first member and the second member has a depression that receives a distal end portion of a temperature sensor, and the distal end portion of the temperature sensor faces the optical component of Ren for the purpose of providing a known depression configuration that allows for real-time temperature measurement of the lens (0014), thereby improving the overall safety and reliability of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 11, 13 and 14 have been amended.
Claims 16-20 are new.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued on pages 10-14 about claims 1, 11 and 13 that JP6663543 in view of Yang (CN206732386) fails to discloses the amended claim limitations of claim and similarly recited in claims 11 and 13 directed to “a first member having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface along the optical path, the first member being configured to contact the first surface of the optical component, the lower surface of the first member being configured to contact the pressing member; and a second member configured to contact the second surface of the optical component and the stopper surface, an uppermost surface of the upper surface of the first member contacting the second member”, the examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 11 and 13 as set forth in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 2/11/2026