DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 28, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Prins et al. (US 20210044779 A1) hereinafter Prins, further in view of LORAINE JEREMY (GB 2461556 A), hereinafter, JEREMY.
Regarding claim 1, Prins discloses a device, comprising:
at least one wireless communication interface configured to establish (i) a first link with a first remote device comprising a head mounted display (HMD) and (ii) a second link with a second remote device, ([0157] “FIG. 2 illustrates the data communication between the VR device 100 and a plurality of remote communication devices 160-166. In the example of FIG. 2, the VR device 100 is shown to be connected to a head mounted display 110 worn by the local user 5. […], [0162] [0163] “the VR device 100 may directly transmit such different communication data to each of the remote communication devices 160, 162. This is shown in FIG. 4, where the VR device 100 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ in a message 132 to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ in a message 134 to the remote communication device 162);
and one or more processors ([0129] “320 first processor”, [0130] “330 second processor”, FIG. 14) configured to:
generate image data for presentation by the HMD; and control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface, to transmit the image data using the first link to the first remote device for the presentation of the image data by the HMD, ([0160] “In the example of FIG. 2, the server 140 may be configured to differently generate the communication data 150-156 for each of the remote communication devices 160-166 to signal whether a particular remote communication device is associated with a remote user which is addressed by the local user 5 within the VR environment. [0157], [0161] FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”).
However, Prins does not disclose according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or the first remote device; and (ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link.
In the same field of endeavor, JEREMY discloses, according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or the first remote device; and (ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document) “an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver circuit including a temperature control system, wherein said UWB transceiver circuit is able to be in radio data communication with a second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, […]” the temperature control system comprising: a sensor to sense a temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit; a system to determine whether said temperature exceeds a threshold temperature; […], […] a system to determine, in response to said temperature exceeding said threshold temperature, an upper data throughput limit for said radio data communication; and a system to control one of said UWB transceiver circuit and said second, remote UWB transceiver circuit to bring a throughput of said radio data communication below said upper data throughput limit, to control said temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) to include the UWB transceiver circuit, disclosed by JEREMY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control temperature of the UWB transceiver circuit while establishing communication the second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, JEREMY, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Prins as modified by JEREMY further discloses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface according to application data of one or more applications that transmit or receive data packets for communication over the at least one of the first link or the second link, the application data comprising at least the image data, ([0157], [0161] “FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0043], [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”), [0162] (FIG. 3)The server 140 may then differently generate the communication data 150, 152 for each of the remote communication devices 160, 162 […], the server 140 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ to the remote communication device 162”).
Regarding claim 8, Prins discloses a method, comprising:
establishing, by at least one wireless communication interface, (i) a first link with a first remote device comprising a head mounted display (HMD) and (ii) a second link with a second remote device ([0157] “FIG. 2 illustrates the data communication between the VR device 100 and a plurality of remote communication devices 160-166. In the example of FIG. 2, the VR device 100 is shown to be connected to a head mounted display 110 worn by the local user 5. […], [0162] [0163] “the VR device 100 may directly transmit such different communication data to each of the remote communication devices 160, 162. This is shown in FIG. 4, where the VR device 100 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ in a message 132 to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ in a message 134 to the remote communication device 162”);
generating, by one or more processors ([0129] “320 first processor”, [0130] “330 second processor”, FIG. 14), image data for presentation by the HMD; and
controlling, by the one or more processors, operation of the at least one wireless communication interface, to transmit the image data using the first link to the first remote device for the presentation of the image data by the HMD, ([0160] “In the example of FIG. 2, the server 140 may be configured to differently generate the communication data 150-156 for each of the remote communication devices 160-166 to signal whether a particular remote communication device is associated with a remote user which is addressed by the local user 5 within the VR environment, [0157], [0161] FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”),
However, Prins does not disclose, according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or the first remote device; and (ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link.
In the same field of endeavor, JEREMY discloses, according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or the first remote device; and (ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document) “an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver circuit including a temperature control system, wherein said UWB transceiver circuit is able to be in radio data communication with a second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, […]” the temperature control system comprising: a sensor to sense a temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit; a system to determine whether said temperature exceeds a threshold temperature; […], […] a system to determine, in response to said temperature exceeding said threshold temperature, an upper data throughput limit for said radio data communication; and a system to control one of said UWB transceiver circuit and said second, remote UWB transceiver circuit to bring a throughput of said radio data communication below said upper data throughput limit, to control said temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) to include the UWB transceiver circuit, disclosed by JEREMY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control temperature of the UWB transceiver circuit while establishing communication the second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, JEREMY, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document).
Regarding claim 9, as applied claim 8 above, Prins as modified by JEREMY further discloses, further comprising controlling, by the one or more processors, operation of the at least one wireless communication interface according to application data of one or more applications that transmit or receive data packets for communication over the at least one of the first link or the second link, the application data comprising at least the image data, ([0157], [0161] “FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0043], [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”), [0162] (FIG. 3)The server 140 may then differently generate the communication data 150, 152 for each of the remote communication devices 160, 162 […], the server 140 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ to the remote communication device 162”).
Regarding claim 15, Prins discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions when executed by one or more processors ([0129] “320 first processor”, [0130] “330 second processor”, FIG. 14) of a device, cause the one or more processors to:
generate image data for presentation by a head mounted display (HMD), ([0157] “FIG. 2 illustrates the data communication between the VR device 100 and a plurality of remote communication devices 160-166. In the example of FIG. 2, the VR device 100 is shown to be connected to a head mounted display 110 worn by the local user 5. […], [0162] [0163] “the VR device 100 may directly transmit such different communication data to each of the remote communication devices 160, 162. This is shown in FIG. 4, where the VR device 100 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ in a message 132 to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ in a message 134 to the remote communication device 162”),
control operation of at least one wireless communication interface, the at least one wireless communication interface operating (i) a first link with a first remote device that comprises the HMD to transmit the image data using the first link to the first remote device and (ii) a second link with a second remote device, ([0160] In the example of FIG. 2, the server 140 may be configured to differently generate the communication data 150-156 for each of the remote communication devices 160-166 to signal whether a particular remote communication device is associated with a remote user which is addressed by the local user 5 within the VR environment, [0157], [0161] FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”),
However, Prins does not disclose the control performed according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or first remote device; and(ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link.
In the same field of endeavor, JEREMY discloses, the control performed according to:(i) temperature data of at least one of the device or first remote device; and(ii) at least one of (a) power data of at least one of the first device or the second device or (b) at least one of capacity or throughput of at least one of the first link or the second link, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document) “an ultrawideband (UWB) transceiver circuit including a temperature control system, wherein said UWB transceiver circuit is able to be in radio data communication with a second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, […]” the temperature control system comprising: a sensor to sense a temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit; a system to determine whether said temperature exceeds a threshold temperature; […], […] a system to determine, in response to said temperature exceeding said threshold temperature, an upper data throughput limit for said radio data communication; and a system to control one of said UWB transceiver circuit and said second, remote UWB transceiver circuit to bring a throughput of said radio data communication below said upper data throughput limit, to control said temperature of said UWB transceiver circuit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) to include the UWB transceiver circuit, disclosed by JEREMY. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to control temperature of the UWB transceiver circuit while establishing communication the second, remote UWB transceiver circuit, JEREMY, (see pages 20-21 of 35, of the attached document).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 15 above, Prins as modified by JEREMY further discloses further comprising instructions to cause the one or more processors to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface according to application data of one or more applications that transmit or receive data packets for communication over the at least one of the first link or the second link, the application data comprising at least the image data, ([0157], [0161] “FIG. 2 further shows the camera 120 being connected to, and providing the video data 122 to the VR device 100, with the VR device 100 subsequently forwarding the video data 122, or a processed version of said video data 122, to the server 140 for further communication to the remote communication devices 160-166. [0043], [0029] […] In this respect, it is noted that the video may be modified before or after transmittal by image and/or video processing, e.g., to replace a HMD worn by the local user in the recorded video by synthesized images of his/her eyes, […]”), [0162] (FIG. 3)The server 140 may then differently generate the communication data 150, 152 for each of the remote communication devices 160, 162 […], the server 140 is shown to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_A’ to the remote communication device 160, and to transmit ‘COMM_DATA_B’ to the remote communication device 162”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 16, 19, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Prins et al. (US 20210044779 A1) hereinafter Prins, further in view of LORAINE JEREMY (GB 2461556 A), hereinafter, JEREMY, and further, in view of KANG et al. (WO 2021045249 A1), hereinafter KANG.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: determining a thermal state of at least one of the device or the first remote device, according to the temperature data and the at least one of capacity or throughput of the at least one of the first link or the second link; and determining an adjustment to operation of the at least one wireless communication interface responsive to evaluating a mitigation criteria according to the thermal state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: determining a thermal state of at least one of the device or the first remote device, according to the temperature data and the at least one of capacity or throughput of the at least one of the first link or the second link; and determining an adjustment to operation of the at least one wireless communication interface responsive to evaluating a mitigation criteria according to the thermal state, ([see Page 14, par. 8] “[…] as a result of the determination in step S502, if the measured temperature is equal to or higher than a preset temperature, the modem 270 may calculate a data throughput for each preset operating state (S504) […] ([Page 3, par. 1] the plurality of the first antenna modules of, when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to control the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface, ([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput, ([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state, ([see Page 3, par. 1] “when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 8, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein controlling the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface comprises: determining a thermal state of at least one of the device or the first remote device, according to the temperature data and the at least one of capacity or throughput of the at least one of the first link or the second link; and determining an adjustment to operation of the at least one wireless communication interface responsive to evaluating a mitigation criteria according to the thermal state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein controlling the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface comprises: determining a thermal state of at least one of the device or the first remote device, according to the temperature data and the at least one of capacity or throughput of the at least one of the first link or the second link; and determining an adjustment to operation of the at least one wireless communication interface responsive to evaluating a mitigation criteria according to the thermal state, ([see Page 14, par. 8] “[…] as a result of the determination in step S502, if the measured temperature is equal to or higher than a preset temperature, the modem 270 may calculate a data throughput for each preset operating state (S504) […] ([Page 3, par. 1] the plurality of the first antenna modules of, when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 8, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose further comprising controlling, by the one or more processors, operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses further comprising controlling, by the one or more processors, operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface, ([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput, ([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature
for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 8, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein controlling the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface comprises: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein controlling the operation
of the at least one wireless communication interface comprises: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state, ([see Page 3, par. 1] “when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 15, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the reduction of resource usage corresponds to a reduction of at least one of power usage or throughput, ([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 15, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose further comprising instructions to cause the one or more processors to control the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses further comprising instructions to cause the one or more processors to control the operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface,([see Page 17, par. 13] “When the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station among the plurality of first antenna modules reaches a preset temperature, each of the preset wireless communication operation states for thermal mitigation The number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced and the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station is reduced according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs […] An electronic device comprising a control unit that performs at least one of switching of an antenna module used for communication”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 15, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose further comprising instructions to cause the one or more processors to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data, and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses further comprising instructions to cause the one or more processors to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data, and (ii) the at least one of (a) the power data or (b) the at least one of capacity or throughput; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state, ([see Page 3, par. 1] “when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 1 above, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the power data; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state.
In the same field of endeavor, KANG discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to control operation of the at least one wireless communication interface by: selecting, from a data structure associating a plurality of mitigation states with values of data, a particular mitigation state of the plurality of mitigation states according to (i) the temperature data and (ii) the power data; and reducing resource usage of the at least one wireless communication interface according to the selected mitigation state, ([see Page 3, par. 1] “when the temperature of the first antenna module performing wireless communication with the base station reaches a preset temperature, data for each of different wireless communication operation states preset for thermal mitigation Calculate data throughputs, reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station, and reduce the number of antennas activated for wireless communication with the base station according to any one wireless communication operation state selected based on the calculated data throughputs. It characterized in that it comprises a control unit that performs at least one of the switching of the antenna module to be used”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the calculated data throughputs, disclosed by KANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a proper level of temperature for the respective interface, KANG, ([see Page 3, par. 1], [see Page 14, par. 8]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prins et al. (US 20210044779 A1), hereinafter Prins, further in view of LORAINE JEREMY (GB 2461556 A), hereinafter, JEREMY, and further in view of VENKATARAMAN et al. (CN 108353075 B), hereinafter VENKATARAMAN.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1, Prins as modified by JEREMY does not disclose wherein the second remote device comprises a network access point.
In the same field of endeavor, VENKATARAMAN discloses wherein the second remote device comprises a network access point, ([see Page 8, par. 3 of the translated document] “[…] the second network communication device is configured as a wireless access point (e.g., router establishing Ad-hoc local area network) operation.”; [see Page 2, par. 4 of the translated document] “[…] a system is adapted to display information from a plurality of remote computing devices on the display. […]”; [see Page 2, par. 6 of the translated document] “(3) a second network communication device, which is configured to be wirelessly connected to the wireless access point of one or more remote computing device; […] The system is further configured for mirroring at least a portion of a first display for a first remote computing device on a display based at least in part on a first set of information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY, to include the wireless access point, disclosed by VENKATARAMAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so remote devices may access network resources, VENKATARAMAN, ([see Page 8, par. 3 of the translated document], [see Page 2, par. 4 of the translated document], [see Page 2, par. 6 of the translated document]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Prins et al. (US 20210044779 A1) hereinafter Prins, further in view of LORAINE JEREMY (GB 2461556 A), hereinafter, JEREMY, further in view of KANG et al. (WO 2021045249 A1), hereinafter KANG, and further in view of VENKATARAMAN et al. (CN 108353075 B), hereinafter VENKATARAMAN.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, Prins as modified by JEREMY and KANG does not disclose wherein the second remote device comprises a network access point.
In the same field of endeavor, VENKATARAMAN discloses wherein the second remote device comprises a network access point, ([see Page 8, par. 3 of the translated document] “[…] the second network communication device is configured as a wireless access point (e.g., router establishing Ad-hoc local area network) operation.”; [see Page 2, par. 4 of the translated document] “[…] a system is adapted to display information from a plurality of remote computing devices on the display. […]”; [see Page 2, par. 6 of the translated document] “(3) a second network communication device, which is configured to be wirelessly connected to the wireless access point of one or more remote computing device; […] The system is further configured for mirroring at least a portion of a first display for a first remote computing device on a display based at least in part on a first set of information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the server 140, disclosed by Prins ([0157], [0161]) as modified by JEREMY and KANG, to include the wireless access point, disclosed by VENKATARAMAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so remote devices may access network resources, VENKATARAMAN, ([see Page 8, par. 3 of the translated document], [see Page 2, par. 4 of the translated document], [see Page 2, par. 6 of the translated document]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 15, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642