DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagnanelli (US Pub. 20190238152).
5. As to claim 1, Pagnanelli discloses a method (abstract) comprising:
detecting, using control circuitry, noise in one or more of samples of a first signal ([0103]-[0104]) that corresponds to a phase current of a multiphase system ([0011]-[0013] phase detection);
determining, based on the noise, to apply a digital noise filter ([0104] digital filter); and
applying the digital noise filter by: generating a reconstructed signal based on two other signals corresponding to respective phase currents of the multiphase system; and outputting the reconstructed signal to replace the one or more samples ([0099]-[0100] signal reconstruction and [0026]-[0028] output).
6. As to claims 2 and 9, Pagnanelli discloses wherein generating the reconstructed signal comprises combining the two other signals to generate a combined signal ([0099]-[0100]).
7. As to claims 6, 13, and 19, Pagnanelli discloses wherein detecting the noise comprises: determining a mean based on N samples of the first signal; and comparing the one or more samples to the mean ([0029] mean value).
8. As to claims 8 and 15, the claims are rejected for similar reasons as to claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3-5, 7, 10-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims recite at least wherein: the first signal, a second signal, and a third signal correspond to the respective phase currents of a three-phase system; and generating the reconstructed signal comprises: summing the second signal and the third signal to generate a reference signal; and changing a sign of the reference signal to result in the reconstructed signal;
wherein detecting the noise comprises: identifying an oldest sample in stored sorted data comprising N samples of the first signal; replacing the oldest sample with a new sample; reordering the sorted data to form updated sorted data; and identifying a median value among the updated sorted data;
wherein detecting the noise comprises: determining a median value based on the first signal; determining an upper band and a lower band based on the median value; and detecting the noise by determining whether the one or more samples are within a band defined by the upper band and the lower band.
The prior art of record teaches the claimed limitations of the independent claims but does not teach or suggest at least least wherein: the first signal, a second signal, and a third signal correspond to the respective phase currents of a three-phase system; and generating the reconstructed signal comprises: summing the second signal and the third signal to generate a reference signal; and changing a sign of the reference signal to result in the reconstructed signal;
wherein detecting the noise comprises: identifying an oldest sample in stored sorted data comprising N samples of the first signal; replacing the oldest sample with a new sample; reordering the sorted data to form updated sorted data; and identifying a median value among the updated sorted data;
wherein detecting the noise comprises: determining a median value based on the first signal; determining an upper band and a lower band based on the median value; and detecting the noise by determining whether the one or more samples are within a band defined by the upper band and the lower band.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pat. 5924980 – related to an adaptive filtering method and apparatus for reducing the level of an undesired noise component in an acquired physiological signal having a desired signal component. The acquired physiological signal is applied to one input of the adaptive filter, and a synthetic reference signal that is modeled so as to exhibit a correlation with the desired signal component is applied to another input of the adaptive filter. Thereafter, in a feedback manner, the adaptive filter iteratively adjusts the modeled synthetic reference signal so as to progressively generate a more accurate approximation of the desired signal component in the adaptive filter, which approximation becomes a reconstruction of the acquired physiological signal wherein the level of the undesired noise component is reduced.
US Pat. 6445801 – related to using the Wiener frequency filtering to suppress noise in noisy sound signals (u(t)). This method includes a preliminary step in which the sound signals (u(t)) to be noise-suppressed are digitized by sampling and subdivided into frames. The method then includes a first series of steps including the creation of a noise model on N frames, the estimating of the spectral density of the noise and of the energy of the noise model and the computing of a coefficient that reflects the statistical dispersion of the noise. It also includes a second series of steps including the computation of the spectral density of the signals to be noise-suppressed fore each frame. The coefficients of the Wiener filter are modified for each successively processed frame, by the parameters determined at the end of the two series of steps, so as to introduce an energy compensation and an adaptive overestimation of the noise.
US Pat. 8891711 – related to de-noise filtering of signals. A signal may be identified and a noise level corresponding to noise associated with the signal may be determined. The noise level may be determined by isolating the noise from the signal and generating a metric indicative of the noise level. A threshold noise level may be identified. A cutoff frequency may be determined based at least in part on the noise level and the threshold noise level, and, optionally, based on one or more characteristics associated with a low pass filter. The signal may be low pass filtered based at least in part on the cutoff frequency to generate a filtered signal. Additional signals may be identified and filtered in accordance with respective corresponding cutoff frequencies such that noise levels associated with the additional filtered signals and the filtered signal may be substantially the same and at or below the threshold noise level.
US Pub. 20220190857 – related to determining a noise-robust acquisition configuration for a sensor or communication system are disclosed. An exemplary method comprises a noise scan with: obtaining a sensor receive signal from the sensor system; determining a digital receive signal from the sensor receive signal by A/D conversion of the sensor receive signal at a predefined noise scan frequency; determining a plurality of decimated digital receive signals by integer decimation of the digital receive signal using two or more decimation rates that differ from each other, wherein each of the two or more decimation rates is associated with a respective candidate acquisition configuration; determining one or more noise measures for multiple of the candidate acquisition configurations using one or more of the plurality of decimated digital receive signals; and using the one or more noise measures, determining the acquisition configuration for operation of the sensor system from the candidate acquisition configurations.
/MICHAEL D. YAARY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151