otice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claims 2-4, 6, and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration. Applicant made the election of Group II, directed to a lid for an information display, without traverse, in the response dated 03/11/2015. The new submit claim 21 is directed to a sub-compartment structure belong to the previously non-elected invention Group I.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed features must be shown, without entering any new matter: the lid is in a closed configuration covering the opening and/or wherein the information display is visible.
Claims 1, 9-14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sbordoni (20130048457), or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sbordoni in view of Rodriguez (11672314).
The embodiment of the device comprises a rollerboard suitcase 11 having an internal frame 13 that creates the structure of the device, case sidewalls 12 forming rectangular upstanding portion and two opposed faces that close off the open ends of the rectangular portion, and further a set of roller wheels 14 for wheeling the case with a heavy load of luggage articles therein. One of the opposing faces may be hinged from a sidewall and further securable about its perimeter utilizing an appropriate securing means along a line of connection 18. Side handles 17 and an extendable upper hand 16 form user grips for lifting, rolling and otherwise handling the device. Along the faces 12 may further comprise one or more pockets having securable openings 15. The features and design of the case sidewalls and faces are readily recognizable to one skilled in the art of luggage or suitcase devices. The present invention provides a luggage article having such features, wherein the sidewalls and faces are formed of transparent, flexible material that is both rugged and adapted to accept a color or pattern thereon during manufacturing. The frame 13 provides the backing structure for the device, while the flexible material provides a means to condense or expand the size of the suitcase depending on content and stowage requirements. The transparency further provides a means to visually inspect the luggage contents from the exterior of the case without opening.
Sbordoni teaches a storage bag for sports equipment comprising a lid (cited as one of the upper face) configured to be movable, in use, to cover and uncover an opening to a main compartment (the lower face portion) , wherein the lid comprises a compartment (pockets with zippers 15) for housing an information display, and wherein the storage bag is adapted to be attached to a trolley (16+13+14).
In the alternative, Rodriguez teaches that it is known in the art to provide a tablet.
A tablet/magazine pocket (175) is preferably present behind the mobile device pocket (185) and battery pocket (180), and may also be equipped with a conduit (190) for the passage of a charging cable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a tablet in the pocket as taught by Rodriguez to provide the desired personal device during travel.
Regarding claims 9-12, note that the information display cited as an intended use, and each of the pocket in Sbordoni is capable of storing a “white board” as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, ntoe the specification defines the retaining means can comprises ”a pocket” and the pocket in Sbordoni comprises the claimed retaining means.
Regarding claim 14, note the pocket comprises a transparent cover as claimed.
Regarding claim 25, note the information display is visible when the lid is in an open configuration, wherein the opening is uncovered due to the transparent material.
Claims 1, 9-14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nascarella (20110259693),
Embodiments of luggage system 100, which includes compactable travel bag 102, may include one or more sealable internal storage compartment(s) 104 configured to store travel items 101 during travel.
..[0027] To allow user access to internal storage compartment 104, pressure-tight barrier 105 is equipped with least one re-sealable access opening 108, as shown. Each re-sealable access opening 108 includes a mechanism for repeatedly forming a pressure-tight seal 109 along the length of the opening.
..Viewable storage compartment 130 comprises at least one "transparent" portion 144 incorporated within the wall construction of the compartment, and at least one closable access opening 142 to provide reclosable access to the interior of viewable storage compartment 130. "Transparent" portion 144 can be designed to allow viewing of the interior of viewable compartment from outside viewable storage compartment 130, even when closable access opening 142 is in a closed position.
Nascarella teaches a storage bag for sports equipment comprising a lid (108) configured to be movable, in use, to cover and uncover an opening to a main compartment, wherein the lid comprises a compartment (pockets with 114) for housing an information display, and wherein the storage bag is adapted to be attached to a trolley (133+132).
Regarding claims 9-12, note that the information display cited as an intended use, and each of the pocket in Nascarella is capable of storing a “white board” as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, note the specification defines the retaining means can comprises ”a pocket” and the pocket in Nascarella comprises the claimed retaining means.
Regarding claim 14, note the pocket comprises a transparent cover as claimed.
Regarding claim 25, note the content of the pocket can be seen even when the lid is in an open configuration as claimed.
Claims 1, 9-14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolter et al. (20040149600) or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolter in view of Rekuc (5743363).
The exemplary pocket 126 is comprised of transparent 20-gauge double polished clear vinyl. It is suitable for storing and allowing easy access to and visibility of stored articles, such as notes, printed directions, and other relatively flat articles.
Wolter teaches a storage bag for sports equipment comprising a lid configured to be movable, in use, to cover and uncover an opening to a main compartment, wherein the lid comprises a compartment (126) for housing an information display, and wherein the storage bag is adapted to be attached to a trolley note that the trolley is an intended use and does not impart any structure over the bag in Wolter.
In the alternative, Rekuc teaches that it is known in the art to provide a trolley (13+14+15+11 fig. 1) for a duffle bag. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a trolley of Rekuc in Wolter to enable one to wheel the bag easily.
Regarding claims 9-12, note that the information display cited as an intended use, and each of the pocket in Wolter is capable of storing a “white board” as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, note the specification defines the retaining means can comprises ”a pocket” and the pocket in Wolter comprises the claimed retaining means.
Regarding claim 14, note the pocket comprises a transparent cover as claimed.
Claims 1, 9-14, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lippert (6321912).
(4) Hingedly connected to top surface 54 of rear wall 50 on an elongated piano-type hinge 55 (FIG. 4) is a support or cover 80. As shown in FIG. 1, cover 80 is dimensioned to fit over interior 70 of compartment 18, thus defining a closed position. An open position is established by the rotation of cover 80 on hinge 55 in a direction away from compartment 18. Cover 80 is secured to compartment 18 by a zipper assembly 56 having metal or plastic teeth 57 running along edge 19 of compartment 18, complementary teeth 58 running along edge 81 of cover 80, and a movable closure pull 17. It will be recognized by those with ordinary skill in the art, that alternative assemblies for fastening cover 80 to compartment 18 may be used without departing from the spirit and scope of the present invention. For example, a latching mechanism or a hook and loop fastener may be substituted for zipper assembly 56…
(5) Interior surface 82 of cover 80 may include a jacket 35 (FIGS. 2 and 4) permitting the placement of papers between interior surface 82 of cover 80 and jacket 35.
(6) Exterior surface 36 of jacket 35 may be equipped with a business card holder 37 and a series of pen or pencil holders 38. Additionally, jacket 37 may be segregated into an additional compartment 39 by zipper assembly 33.
Lippert teaches a storage bag (10) comprising a lid (80) configured to be movable, in use, to cover and uncover an opening to a main compartment, wherein the lid comprises a compartment (35 or 37 or 39) for housing an information display, and wherein the storage bag is adapted to be attached to a trolley.
Regarding claims 9-12, note that the information display cited as an intended use, and each of the pocket in Lippert is capable of storing a “white board” as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, note the specification defines the retaining means can comprises ”a pocket” and the pocket in Lippert comprises the claimed retaining means.
Regarding claim 14, note the transparent window at 37 with business card being the information display.
Regarding claim 22, note the fasteners at 90, 100 and 106/96 and 90 or 100 wrap around part of the trolley (at handle)
Regarding claim 23, note the back layer being the outside surface of the lid with stabilizing fasteners 90, 100 and 106/96 and 90 configured to releasably secure the back layer to the trolley. With respect to “the lid is at least partially open the back layer and the information display are inclined with respect to a horizontal” note that adjustable strap at 120 allowing the lid to be inclined with respect to a horizontal opening of the body.
Claims 1, 9-14, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabor (20180339660).
Tabor teaches a storage bag (120) comprising a lid (150) configured to be movable, in use, to cover and uncover an opening to a main compartment, wherein the lid comprises a compartment (152/166/156, 158) for housing an information display, and wherein the storage bag is adapted to be attached to a trolley.
Regarding claims 9-12, note that the information display cited as an intended use, and each of the pocket in Tabor is capable of storing a “white board” as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, note the specification defines the retaining means can comprises ”a pocket” and the pocket in Tabor comprises the claimed retaining means.
Regarding claim 14, note the teaching that pockets 164/166 are visible.
Regarding claim 22, note the fasteners at 190/192 that can wrap around part of the trolley. Also handle 167 can wrap around a cart
Regarding claim 23, note the back layer being the outside surface of the lid with stabilizing fasteners 190/192/167, configured to releasably secure the back layer to the trolley. With respect to “the lid is at least partially open the back layer and the information display are inclined with respect to a horizontal” note that adjustable strap at 118 allowing the lid to be inclined with respect to a horizontal opening of the body as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TRI M. MAI
Examiner
Art Unit 3733
/TRI M MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733