DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 10/02/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-6 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous 35 USC 103 set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 07/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-2 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0200948) in view of Teranishi (Pub. No. JP 2020061381).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo teaches a secondary battery (see [0023]) comprising: a positive electrode (see [0084]); a negative electrode (see [0023]) including a negative electrode active material (see [0023]) and a negative electrode binder (see [0073]); and an electrolytic solution (see [0084]), wherein the negative electrode active material (see [0023]) includes a silicon-containing material (nano silicon material, see [0073]), based on an analysis of the negative electrode active material (see [0023]) by Raman spectroscopy (Fig. 3, see [0096]), a first absorption peak (Fig. 3, only one peak visible) is non-detectable within a range of Raman shift (Fig. 3, [0030]) that is greater than or equal to 1200 wavenumbers and less than or equal to 1700 wavenumbers (Fig. 3, no visible peak in the range of 1200 to 1700 wavenumbers), and a second absorption peak (peak at 470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) is detectable within a range of the Raman shift (Fig. 3, [0030]) that is greater than or equal to 400 wavenumbers and less than or equal to 530 wavenumbers (470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]), the second absorption peak (peak at 470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) has a half-width (98 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) that is greater than or equal to 30 wavenumbers (98 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]), wherein the negative electrode (see [0023]) further includes a negative electrode conductor (conductive additive, see [0073]), but fails to explicitly teach the negative electrode conductor includes a fibrous carbon material, and the negative electrode binder includes a polycarboxylic acid metal salt, the polycarboxylic acid metal salt includes a polycarboxylic acid alkali metal salt, a polycarboxylic acid alkaline earth metal salt, or both, and the polycarboxylic acid metal salt has a neutralization rate that is greater than or equal to 10 percent and less than or equal to 90 percent.
However, Kondo further teaches wherein the negative electrode conductor (conductive additive, see [0073]) includes a fibrous carbon material (vapor grown carbon fiber, see [0081] where the conductive additive is vapor grown carbon fiber).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kondo such that conductive additive is a fibrous carbon material as the negative electrode conductive additive as Kondo teaches it is known in the art to use vapor grown carbon fiber (see [0081]) as the negative electrode conductor (see [0073]).
Teranishi teaches a negative electrode binder (see [19]) including a polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]), the polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]) includes a polycarboxylic acid alkali metal salt (replaced with alkali metal, see [37]), a polycarboxylic acid alkaline earth metal salt (replaced with alkaline earth metal, see [37]), or both, and the polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]) has a neutralization rate (hydrogen atoms replaced with lithium ions, see [32]) that is greater than or equal to 10 percent and less than or equal to 90 percent (10 to 50%, see [32]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kondo to substitute the negative electrode binder as taught by Kondo for the negative electrode binder as taught by Teranishi as an art effective equivalent for binding the active materials to each other and to the current collector (see [19] of Teranishi) and increasing binding force between the active material and polymer compound (see [30] of Teranishi).
Regarding claim 2, Kondo in view of Teranishi teaches wherein the polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35] of Teranishi, see modification of Kondo above) includes at least one of a polyacrylic acid metal salt, a polyalginic acid metal salt, a polymethacrylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35] of Teranishi, see modification of Kondo above), or a polymaleic acid metal salt.
Regarding claim 5, Kondo in view of Teranishi teaches wherein the secondary battery (see [0023]) comprises a lithium-ion secondary battery (see [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Kondo teaches negative electrode (see [0023]) for a secondary battery (see [0023]), the negative electrode (see [0023]) comprising: a negative electrode active material (see [0023]); and a negative electrode binder (see [0073]), wherein the negative electrode active material (see [0023]) includes a silicon-containing material (nano silicon material, see [0073]), based on an analysis of the negative electrode active material (see [0023]) by Raman spectroscopy (Fig. 3, see [0096]), a first absorption peak (Fig. 3, only one peak visible) is non-detectable within a range of Raman shift (Fig. 3, [0030]) that is greater than or equal to 1200 wavenumbers and less than or equal to 1700 wavenumbers (Fig. 3, no visible peak in the range of 1200 to 1700 wavenumbers), and a second absorption peak (peak at 470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) is detectable within a range of the Raman shift (Fig. 3, [0030]) that is greater than or equal to 400 wavenumbers and less than or equal to 530 wavenumbers (470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]), the second absorption peak (peak at 470 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) has a half-width (98 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]) that is greater than or equal to 30 wavenumbers (98 cm-1, Fig. 3, [0096]), wherein the negative electrode (see [0023]) further includes a negative electrode conductor (conductive additive, see [0073]), but fails to explicitly teach the negative electrode conductor includes a fibrous carbon material, and the negative electrode binder includes a polycarboxylic acid metal salt, the polycarboxylic acid metal salt includes a polycarboxylic acid alkali metal salt, a polycarboxylic acid alkaline earth metal salt, or both, and the polycarboxylic acid metal salt has a neutralization rate that is greater than or equal to 10 percent and less than or equal to 90 percent.
However, Kondo further teaches wherein the negative electrode conductor (conductive additive, see [0073]) includes a fibrous carbon material (vapor grown carbon fiber, see [0081] where the conductive additive is vapor grown carbon fiber).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kondo such that conductive additive is a fibrous carbon material as the negative electrode conductive additive as Kondo teaches it is known in the art to use vapor grown carbon fiber (see [0081]) as the negative electrode conductor (see [0073]).
Teranishi teaches a negative electrode binder (see [19]) including a polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]), the polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]) includes a polycarboxylic acid alkali metal salt (replaced with alkali metal, see [37]), a polycarboxylic acid alkaline earth metal salt (replaced with alkaline earth metal, see [37]), or both, and the polycarboxylic acid metal salt (poly(meth) acrylic acid salt, see [35]) has a neutralization rate (hydrogen atoms replaced with lithium ions, see [32]) that is greater than or equal to 10 percent and less than or equal to 90 percent (10 to 50%, see [32]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kondo to substitute the negative electrode binder as taught by Kondo for the negative electrode binder as taught by Teranishi as an art effective equivalent for binding the active materials to each other and to the current collector (see [19] of Teranishi) and increasing binding force between the active material and polymer compound (see [30] of Teranishi).
3. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0200948) in view of Teranishi (Pub. No. JP 2020061381) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No. EP 4366018).
Regarding claim 4, Kondo in view of Teranishi fails to teach wherein the fibrous carbon material includes a single-wall carbon nanotube.
However, Park teaches single-wall carbon nanotubes (see [0088]) as a negative electrode conductor (conductive agent, [0086]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kondo in view of Teranishi to substitute the negative electrode conductor and therefore the fibrous carbon material as taught by Kondo in view of Teranishi for the negative electrode conductor as taught by Park as an art effective equivalent for increasing durability, reducing resistance and achieving excellent life characteristics (see [0088] of Park).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Kondo in view of Teranishi fails to teach the enhanced battery characteristics resulting from use of fibrous carbon material in combination with other claimed features, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Further, Kondo in view of Teranishi teaches all the claimed features and Kondo teaches it is known in the art to use a fibrous carbon material as a conductive additive in the form of vapor grown carbon fiber, see rejection of claim 1 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723