DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Due to Applicant’s Amendments, the previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Due to Applicant’s Amendments, the previous 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
However, Applicant’s Amendments have necessitated the rejection below.
Claims 1-5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In each of claims 1, 11 and 16, there is no written description for “a given elevated temperature above room temperature.” Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-21 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans (WO 2018094101 A1).
In regards to claim(s) 16, Evans discloses a lithium-ion battery (title) that allows for reversable lithiation and delithiation reactions without structural degradation ([0027]), comprising: cathode materials having a cathode surface ([0021]); and an ionic liquid electrolyte (title) with one or more functional additives ([0029]-[0031]); wherein the cathode materials are cycled ([0011]-[0018]) in the electrolyte at a given elevated temperature above room temperature (see Fig. 3, at 60°C), the functional additives are decomposed (“Such electrolyte additives are expected to be "sacrificial,"”; [0029]), and products of the decomposed functional additives form a thermally stable filmcathode-electrolyte interface (CEI)” – [0030]; “This data suggests the immediate formation of a much more stable interface which is hypothesized to perform better under high rate and high temperature conditions.” –[0029]). While Evans does not explicitly disclose the term “in situ,” since Evans discloses the CEI with a separate CEI coating step, Evans necessarily discloses the in situ formation of the CEI.
In regards to claim(s) 17, Evans discloses NMC622 or NMC811 ([0053]).
In regards to claim(s) 18, Evans discloses pyrrolidinium ([0044]).
In regards to claim(s) 19, Evans discloses lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (LiDFOB) ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans.
In regards to claim(s) 21, Evans discloses between 0.5% and 5% which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 2% and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed range from the broader prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the entire range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see bottom of p. 9, filed 18 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 USC 103 over Lee, Fauteux and Badding have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Evans, see above.
In regards to the 112(a) rejection, Examiner notes that the specification states “High temperature operations as it is referred to throughout the disclosure means to operate at or about 100° C.” Examiner comments that there is nothing in the prior art that would direct one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a 100°C first charging cycle on Evans’ battery. Examiner discovers Laramie (US 20230112241 A1) which discloses high temperature first charging cycles at 45°C performed on high voltage Li-containing cells (title; Fig.5; Example 2; [0104]-[0105]). However, Laramie is directed towards all types of electrolyte ([0077]-[0092]). Yim (WO 2020101173 A1) discloses an ex situ method of adding a CEI layer to Ni-rich NCM positive electrode material (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752