DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 12, recites "stopping the first battery module or the second battery module." It does not mention what is being stopped regarding the first battery module or the second battery module. The examiner interprets the phrase as "stopping charging and discharging of the first battery module or the second battery module."
Claim 13, lines 2-3, recites "cooling the cooling control module by starting the battery pack" instead of "cooling the battery pack module by starting the cooling control module."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, line 15, recites the limitation "”the second battery pack". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets “the second battery pack” as “the second battery module.”
Claims 10-13 are rejected by way of their dependency from claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi et al. (US 20180093581 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shira, in view of Ni (CN 105471005 A, published 2016-04-06, translated copy is attached).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shira discloses a lithium battery system (Fig. 2 and ¶’s [19-20]: Power supply device S. Positive active material of first and second energy storage element comprising lithium iron phosphate) comprising:
a battery pack comprising a first battery module (Fig. 2 and ¶’s [27-28, 31]: first battery 50A comprising secondary batteries 53A) and a second battery module (second battery 50B comprising secondary batteries 53B), wherein the first battery module and the second battery module have different battery characteristics (¶0055: two batteries 50A and 50B have different actual capacities); and
a battery management module electrically connected to the battery pack (Fig. 2 and ¶0026: vehicle electronic control unit (ECU) 70 connected to first and second batteries 50A and 50B), and configured to control an operating condition of the battery pack according to a first battery characteristic of the first battery module and a second battery characteristic of the second battery module (¶’s [54-55]: ECU manages the batteries 50A and 50B, which have different capacities, to reduce the voltage difference between them).
Shira does not disclose a cooling control module electrically connected to the battery management module and the battery pack, and configured to cool the battery pack according to an instruction of the battery management module.
Ni discloses a cooling control module electrically connected to the battery management module and the battery pack (Fig. 3: thermal operation module 5 connected to battery pack through equalization module 4 and mode selection module 3), and configured to cool the battery pack according to an instruction of the battery management module (¶0019: thermal operation unit 44 controls the thermal operation module to cool each battery in the battery pack).
Both Shira and Ni disclose systems for managing the charge of battery packs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the thermal operation module of Ni into the system of Shira to prevent batteries from overheating and extend the lifetime of the batteries (Ni - ¶0006).
Regarding claim 2, Shira in view of Ni discloses the lithium battery system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor (Shira - Fig. 2: 55) electrically connected to the battery management module and the cooling control module (Ni - Fig. 2: 5), wherein the sensor is configured to detect environmental parameters of the battery pack (Shira - Fig. 2 and ¶’s [28-31]: temperature sensor 55 in each of battery 50A and 50B measures temperature of battery).
Regarding claim 3, Shira in view of Ni discloses the lithium battery system of claim 2, wherein the battery management module controls charging and discharging to the battery pack or starting and stopping of the cooling control module according to the environmental parameters (Ni - ¶’s [19, 59]: thermal operation unit 44 controls the thermal operation module to heat or cool each battery in the battery pack to be within a temperature range).
Regarding claim 4, Shira in view of Ni discloses the lithium battery system of claim 2, wherein the environmental parameters comprise at least one of an ambient temperature (Ni - ¶0011: temperature information of battery, see [0016] of instant application “ambient temperature of the battery pack”) and an ambient air pressure (alternative claim language used).
Regarding claim 5, Shira discloses the lithium battery system of claim 1, wherein the battery characteristics comprise at least one of energy density, operating temperature range, service life, and discharge capacity (¶0055: battery capacity).
Regarding claim 6, Shira discloses the lithium battery system of claim 1, wherein the first battery module comprises one of a lithium cobalt oxide battery, a lithium manganate battery, a lithium titanate battery, a lithium iron phosphate battery (¶0057: batteries 50A and 50B each configured with a single lithium ion secondary battery 53A and 53B respectively), and a ternary lithium battery (alternative claim language used).
Regarding claim 7, Shira discloses the lithium battery system of claim 1, wherein the second battery module comprises at least one of a lithium cobalt oxide battery, a lithium manganate battery, a lithium titanate battery, a lithium iron phosphate battery (¶0057), and a ternary lithium battery (alternative claim language used).
Regarding claim 8, Shira in view of Ni discloses the lithium battery system of claim 1, wherein the battery pack further comprises a temperature conduction device connected to the first battery module and the second battery module, and the temperature conduction device is configured to balance a first temperature of the first battery module and a second temperature of the second battery module (Ni - ¶’s [9, 14, 34, 51, 59]: heat is automatically and quickly balanced for each battery in the battery pack).
Claims 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shira in view of Dudar (US 20200247252 A1).
Regarding independent claim 9, Shira discloses a charge-discharge method of a lithium battery system (Fig. 2 and ¶’s [19-20]: Power supply device S. Positive active material of first and second energy storage element comprising lithium iron phosphate), wherein the battery system comprises a battery pack (Fig. 2 and ¶’s [27-28, 31]: first and second batteries 50A and 50B), and a battery management module (¶0026: vehicle electronic control unit (ECU) 70), the battery pack comprises a first battery module and a second battery module (Fig. 2: 50A and 50B), and a first minimum operating temperature of the first battery module is lower than a second minimum operating temperature of the second battery module, the charge-discharge method comprises:
detecting an ambient temperature, and obtaining a temperature of the battery pack according to the ambient temperature (Fig. 2 and ¶’s [28-31]: temperature sensor 55 in each of battery 50A and 50B measures temperature of battery).
Shira does not teach a cooling control module and wherein
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second minimum operating temperature of the second battery module and greater than the first minimum operating temperature of the first battery module, controlling the first battery module to charge and discharge; or
if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than the second minimum operating temperature of the second battery module, controlling the second battery pack to charge and discharge; or
if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than a first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module.
Dudar discloses a cooling control module (Fig. 4 and ¶0082: thermoelectric cooler 402), and configured to cool the battery pack according to an instruction of the battery management module (¶0082: If temperature of battery 150 is greater than an upper energy storage device temperature threshold, the controller 212, activates cooler 406 to decrease temperature of the battery).
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second minimum operating temperature of the second battery module and greater than the first minimum operating temperature of the first battery module, controlling the first battery module to charge and discharge (alternative claim language used); or
if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than the second minimum operating temperature of the second battery module, controlling the second battery pack to charge and discharge (alternative claim language used); or
if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than a first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module (¶0082).
Both Shira and Dudar disclose systems for managing the charge of battery packs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the thermal operation module of Dudar into the system of Shira to maintain the batteries at optimal operating temperature (¶0082).
Regarding claim 12, Shira discloses the charge-discharge method of claim 9.
Shira as modified by Dudar further discloses wherein if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than the maximum operating temperature of the first battery module,
after cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module, the charge-discharge method further comprises:
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, controlling the second battery module or the first battery module to drive the cooling control module (Dudar, ¶0082: If temperature of battery 150 is greater than an upper energy storage device temperature threshold, the controller 212, activates cooler 406 to decrease temperature of the battery”. The examiner interprets that there is overshoot just when the temperature becomes lower than the threshold condition, there is an instant in time where the cooling module is continued to be powered before it turns off because the temperature condition of the battery is met).
Regarding claim 13, Shira as modified discloses the charge-discharge method of claim 9, wherein if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module comprises driving the cooling control module by an external power supply (Dudar, ¶’s [82, 2, 25-26, 68]: “The on/off relay is activated by the controller during normal operation of the ultracapacitor assembly and deactivated by the controller when … temperature sensors detect an over-temperature condition.” The examiner interprets that the alternator 20 in ¶0024 and Fig. 2 serves as an external power supply with driving the cooling module).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shira in view of Dudar, and further in view of Wilk et al. (US 20040150926 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wilk.
Regarding claim 10, Shira in view of Dudar discloses the charge-discharge method of claim 9, wherein if the temperature of the battery pack is greater than the maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, after cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module, wherein Dudar further discloses the charge-discharge method comprises,
if the temperature of the battery pack exceeds a second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module (¶0082: upper energy storage device temperature threshold), and controlling the first battery module or the second battery module to drive the cooling control module (¶0082); or
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, stopping the first battery module or the second battery module, and controlling the second battery module or the first battery module to drive the cooling control module (alternative claim language used).
Shira as modified does not disclose the charge-discharge method further comprises:
if the temperature of the battery pack exceeds a second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, stopping charging and discharging to the second battery module or the first battery module.
Wilk discloses if the temperature of the battery pack exceeds a second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, stopping charging and discharging to the second battery module or the first battery module (abstract: “The on/off relay is activated by the controller during normal operation of the ultracapacitor assembly and deactivated by the controller when … temperature sensors detect an over-temperature condition”).
Shira and Wilk both discloses systems for charging batteries and monitoring battery temperatures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the deactivation of the ultracapacitor assembly when over-temperature is detected in the system of Wilk into the system of Shira in view of Dudar to prevent degradation and reduction of useful life of the energy storage (¶0005).
Regarding claim 11, Shira in view of Dudar discloses the charge-discharge method of claim 9.
Shira in view of Dudar does not disclose after cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module, the charge-discharge method further comprises:
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, controlling the second battery module and the first battery module to drive the cooling control module.
Wilk discloses after cooling the battery pack by starting the cooling control module, the charge-discharge method further comprises:
if the temperature of the battery pack is lower than the second maximum operating temperature of the second battery module or the first maximum operating temperature of the first battery module, controlling the second battery module and the first battery module to drive the cooling control module (abstract: “The on/off relay is activated by the controller during normal operation of the ultracapacitor assembly and deactivated by the controller when … temperature sensors detect an over-temperature condition.” The examiner interprets normal operation as the ultracapacitor is activated when no over-temperature condition is detected or no longer detected. Since Wilk discloses a hybrid vehicle, the examiner interprets that the vehicle battery or ultracapacitor is involved with driving the cooling module (¶’s [3-4])).
Shira and Wilk both discloses systems for charging batteries and monitoring battery temperatures. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the activation of the ultracapacitor assembly when over-temperature is not detected in the system of Wilk into the system of Shira as modified by Dudar to ensure the safe use of the energy storage without incurring degradation and reduction of useful life of the energy storage (¶0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takizawa et al. (US 20170093186 A1) discloses charging of two energy storage units with different characteristics (¶0079).
Jin et al. (US 20150194713 A1) discloses an overheat prevention energy storage system.
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 December 4, 2025
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859