DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/10/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 and 16 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 3-6, 11-15 and 19 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 is/are pending and is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 11/10/2025, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Aoshima argues suppressing hydrolysis and deterioration which hinders environmental degradation. Suppressing hydrolysis and decreasing deterioration are not properties one skilled in the art would investigate or look to for solving the recognized problems associated with the environmental consequences and harm of synthetic fishing line. This alleged basis of improving hydrolysis and degradation properties does not lead to creating lines or nets that are degradable using the present composition.
In response, the claims are directed to a composition of a product. Degradability is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Nevertheless, the primary reference Buchanan teaches that its product enhances biodegradability [abstract]. Aoshima teaches a biomass-resource-derived polyester resin that is also biodegradable [0029, 0113].
Aoshima provided four motivations to use raw materials of the polyester is obtained from biomass resources: (1) suppressing hydrolysis which will otherwise be accelerated by impurities contained therein; (2) decreasing deterioration in mechanical properties such as tensile elongation; (3) contributing greatly to the resolution of environmental problems and depletion problems of fossil fuel resources; and (4) being available at a very low cost [0033]. Even if motivation (1) is not needed for synthetic fishing line, as applicant suggests, decreasing deterioration in mechanical properties such as tensile elongation is desirable for synthetic fishing line; contributing to environmental protection and lowering the cost of the product are also desirable.
Applicant did not address the Specification (Abstract) objection.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Currently, the abstract has a paragraph having 159 words, which exceeds the upper limit of 150 words in length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a degradable polymer free of blended aliphatic aromatic polyester that breaks down in an exposed environment”. This is not supported by the originally filed specification. The originally filed specification recites a degradable composition comprising degradable polymers and additives that minimize the environmental impact [bridging paragraph of page 1 and page 2, specification]. This suggests that the polyester breaks down; and the degradable polymer is not free of polyester that breaks down. Nowhere in the specification discloses a degradable polymer free of blended aliphatic aromatic polyester that breaks down in an exposed environment.
Claims 2, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected likewise as depending on claim 1.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17-18 recite the limitation "the degradation process" and “degradation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchanan et al. (US 5,446,079), and alternatively in view of Aoshima et al (US 20090171037 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the recited “for fishing lines or fishing nets” represents a statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nevertheless, Buchanan discloses a product for fishing lines and fishing nets use [col. 16 lines 28-29].
Buchanan disclose blends of cellulose esters (including cellulose acetate, cellulose acetate propionate, and cellulose acetate butyrate) and aliphatic-aromatic copolyesters which are biodegradable and can be used to make fishing lines, wherein the hydrophobic agent such as glyceryl monostearate made from soybean oil can be added (abstract, claims 1, 7-9, col. 3 lines 20, 42-44, 60-62, col.8 lines 13-19, Example 7, Tables XII and XIII, col. 11 lines 37-47 and col. 21 lines 2-4, col. 34 lines 23-29, col. 35 lines 36-47).
The examiner submits that the cellulose ester reads on the claimed cellulosic polymer.
Buchanan teaches the preparation of the polyester using 1,4-butanediol as a monomer [col.11 lines 67-68], which read on the claimed additive including polyol sources.
The recited “wherein the degradable composition is free of degradable polymers and additives not produced from renewable materials” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(1). The products obtained through the claimed process are degradable polymers and additives. Since Buchanan teaches the same degradable polymers and additives, the recited limitation does not gain patentable weight.
Alternatively, in the same field of endeavor, Aoshima teaches a biomass-resource-derived polyester used for fishing lines and fish nets [0245] comprising as a main repeating unit thereof a dicarboxylic acid unit and a diol unit, wherein at least one of the dicarboxylic acid and diol used as raw materials of the polyester is obtained from biomass resources [0015] for the benefits of suppressing hydrolysis which will otherwise be accelerated by impurities contained therein, decreasing deterioration in mechanical properties such as tensile elongation, contributing greatly to the resolution of environmental problems and depletion problems of fossil fuel resources, and lowering the cost of the raw material [0033]. The diols include 1,4-butanediol [0078] which is prepared from biomass-resource [0322-0323].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use biomass-resource-derived 1,4-butanediol to make Buchanan’s aliphatic-aromatic polyester for the aforementioned benefits.
Polyhydroxyalkanoate is only optional in Buchannan’s teaching [col.13 lines 58-60]. Therefore, the recited “wherein the degradable composition does not comprise polyhydroxyalkanoate” is met.
Regarding claim 2, the recited “wherein the degradable polymer comprises components from …” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(1). The product obtained through the claimed process is the degradable polymer. The same product could be achieved through a different process, for example by synthesis. Since Buchanan teaches the same product, the claim is unpatentable. Nonetheless, the limitations of claim 2 can be found in Buchanan et al. at claims 7-9, where it discloses the cellulose or cellulose monoacetate.
Regarding claims 7-9, the recited “wherein the additive comprises components from …” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(1). The product obtained through the claimed process is the additive. The same product could be achieved through a different process, for example by synthesis. Since Buchanan teaches the same product, the claim is unpatentable. Nonetheless, the limitations of claims 7-9 can be found in Buchanan et al. at col. 11, lines 37-47 and col. 21, lines 2-4, where it discloses the hydrophobic agent such as glyceryl monostearate made from soybean oil.
Regarding claim 10, the recited limitations are product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(1). The products obtained through the claimed processes are the degradable polymers the additives. The same products could be achieved through a different process, for example by synthesis. Since Buchanan teaches the same products, the claim is unpatentable. Nonetheless, the limitations of claim 10 can be found in Buchanan et al. at col. 11, lines 46-47, where it discloses the glyceryl monostearate.
Regarding claims 16-17, the recited degradation process is an inherent property based on the substantially same components as claimed. Nonetheless, the limitations of claims 16 and 17 can be found in Buchanan et al. at col. 18, lines 60-65, where it discloses the biodegradation caused by microbial population.
Regarding claim 18, the recited degradation is an inherent property based on the substantially same components as claimed.
Regarding claim 20, the recited “manufactured using …” is a product-by-process limitation. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(1). The product obtained through the claimed process is the degradable composition. The same product could be achieved through a different process, for example by synthesis. Since Buchanan teaches the same product, the claim is unpatentable. Nonetheless, the limitations of claim 20 can be found in Buchanan et al. at col. 19, line 30, where it discloses the extrusion.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762