DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The claim objections, 112 and 101 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 12-2-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the argument that independent claim 1 was amended to incorporate all of the features of original dependent claim 6, which was found to be allowable in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 2025-04-09; please note that the amendment filed 7-2-2025 removed limitations; thereby, the claim no longer had allowable subject matter. Shrivastava’s building locations and layout of step 806 can be equated to a structure boundary, a number of structures and/or building count.
Regarding the arguments directed to claim 10, please note that claim 9 was dependent to claim 6, which was already objected. Shrivastava’s unverified determination of fig. 8a and 8b reads on the claimed limitation.
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 17-18 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava 20230209322 in view of Horelik 20190320310
As to claim 1, Shrivastava discloses a method for determining a confidence level of a civic address associated with an enhanced 911 call (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, at a node [124], a request by a public safety answer point (PSAP) [150] for a civic address corresponding to user equipment (UE) initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 3; par. 0041, 0054, 0092);
receiving from the UE, at the node, a geodetic location corresponding to the UE initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 11; par. 0044, 0061, 0101);
utilizing the geodetic location corresponding to the UE, retrieving a parcel information [806];
based on a first portion [802 or 804] of the parcel information and a comparison [808] of a second portion [802 or 804] of the parcel information to the geodetic location, determining a confidence level of the civic address (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0129-0134); wherein the second portion of parcel information comprises a structure boundary for each structure located within the parcel [map data: building locations and layout implied to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations] (see par. 0129-0134, 0140), and wherein the first portion of parcel information comprises one or more of: use information, a number of structures, a building count, or a total address count (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0122, 0129-0134); and
upon the confidence level of the civic address satisfying a configurable threshold, providing the civic address to the PSAP (see par. 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specify retrieving a parcel information from a database. In an analogous art, Horelik discloses retrieving a parcel information from a database, including a second portion of the parcel information comprising a boundary [geofence] of the geodetic location (see par. 0154, 0238). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of easy retrieval of data.
As to claim 2, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising converting the geodetic location corresponding to the UE into the civic address (see par. 0132).
As to claim 3, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the parcel information comprises one or more of: parcel address, zoning information, land use and vacancy information, structure details, and geographic information (see par. 0061).
As to claim 10, Shrivastava discloses a method for determining a confidence level of a civic address associated with an enhanced 911 call (see abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, at a node [124], a request by a public safety answer point (PSAP) [150] for a civic address corresponding to user equipment (UE) initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 3; par. 0041, 0054, 0092);
receiving from the UE, at the node, a geodetic location corresponding to the UE initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 11; par. 0044, 0061, 0101);
utilizing the geodetic location corresponding to the UE, retrieving a parcel information from a database [806] (see par. 0132, 0134);
based on a first portion [802 or 804] of the parcel information and a comparison [808] of a second portion of the parcel information to the geodetic location [802 or 804] of the parcel information to the geodetic location, determining a confidence level of the civic address (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0129-0134); wherein the second portion of parcel information comprises a structure boundary for each structure located within the parcel [map data: building locations and layout implied to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations] (see par. 0129-0134, 0140), and when the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold is considered unverified (see par. 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specify retrieving a parcel information from a database. In an analogous art, Horelik discloses retrieving a parcel information from a database, including a second portion of the parcel information comprising a boundary [geofence] of the geodetic location (see par. 0154, 0238). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of easy retrieval of data. Shrivastava does not specify what happens after the address is unverified. However, it is within the general skill of one of the ordinary skills in the art to choose what to do when the confidence level is not reach, such as not providing the civic address to the PSAP when the output is too wrong, such as a different city. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that when the confidence level is not reached, not providing the data for the simple purpose of avoiding giving wrong information.
As to claim 17, Shrivastava discloses a system determining a confidence level of a civic address associated with an enhanced 911 call (see abstract), the method comprising:
a user equipment (UE) [105]; and a node [212] configured to
receiving, at a node [124], a request by a public safety answer point (PSAP) [150] for a civic address corresponding to user equipment (UE) initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 3; par. 0041, 0054, 0092);
receiving from the UE, at the node, a geodetic location corresponding to the UE initiating a call for emergency services (see fig. 3, step 11; par. 0044, 0061, 0101);
utilizing the geodetic location corresponding to the UE, retrieving a parcel information [806];
based on a first portion [802 or 804] of the parcel information and a comparison [808] of a second portion [802 or 804] of the parcel information to the geodetic location, determining a confidence level of the civic address (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0129-0134); wherein the second portion of parcel information comprises a structure boundary for each structure located within the parcel [map data: building locations and layout implied to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations] (see par. 0129-0134, 0140), and wherein the first portion of parcel information comprises one or more of: use information, a number of structures, a building count, or a total address count (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0122, 0129-0134).
Shrivastava does not specify retrieving a parcel information from a database. In an analogous art, Horelik discloses retrieving a parcel information from a database, including a second portion of the parcel information comprising a boundary [geofence] of the geodetic location (see par. 0154, 0238). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of easy retrieval of data.
As to claim 18, Shrivastava discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the confidence level of the civic address satisfies a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the civic address has one structure and one address and the geodetic location is within the structure boundary and the civic address is provided to the PSAP (see par. 0134, 0140).
As to claim 21, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first portion of parcel information comprises one or more of: use information, a number of structures, a building count, or a total address count (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0061, 0129-0134).
As to claims 22 and 25, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold when county, city, street, and postal code are unreliable or inconsistent (see par. 0134). Shrivastava does not specify missing information. However, it is obvious that missing information [such as market where parcel information is not available] is unreliable and within the general skill of one of the ordinary skills in the art to choose what to do when the confidence level is not reach, such as not providing the civic address to the PSAP when the output is too wrong, such as a different city. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that when the confidence level is not reached, not providing the data for the simple purpose of avoiding giving wrong information.
As to claim 23, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold when an uncertainty that is provided by the UE with the geodetic location is greater than a predetermined threshold (see par. 0134).
As to claim 24, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold when a distance error [uncertainty] is less than a predetermined threshold (see par. 0061, 0140).
As to claim 26, Shrivastava discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the parcel information comprises one or more of: parcel address, zoning information, land use and vacancy information, structure details, and geographic information (see fig. 8A, 8B; par. 0129-0134).
As to claim 27, Shrivastava discloses the system of claim 17, wherein when the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold, the AP civic location may be considered unverified (see par. 0061, 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specify what happens after the address is unverified. However, it is within the general skill of one of the ordinary skills in the art to choose what to do when the confidence level is not reach, such as not providing the civic address to the PSAP when the output is too wrong, such as a different city. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that when the confidence level is not reached, not providing the data for the simple purpose of avoiding giving wrong information.
As to claim 28, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the confidence level of the civic address satisfies a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the civic address has one structure and one address and the geodetic location is within the structure and the civic address is provided to the PSAP (see par. 0127, 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specifically disclose a structure boundary; however, discloses verifying if a house or building with a geodetic location (see par. 0140) which requires a structure boundary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that a boundary is required to validate the house or building; thereby, making sure that is the correct address.
As to claim 29, Shrivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the confidence level of the civic address satisfies a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the civic address has more than one structure [map data: building locations and layout implied to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations] (see par. 0129-0134, 0140) or the parcel contains more than one address or the geodetic location is not within the structure boundary but is within the parcel and the civic address is provided to the PSAP (see par. 0134, 0140).
Claim(s) 7-8, 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastava 20230209322 in view of Horelik 20190320310 in view of Barros Chapiewski 20170353833.
As to claim 7-8, Shrivastava discloses the method wherein the confidence level of the civic address satisfies the configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the civic address has one structure and one address and the geodetic location is within the structure boundary [map data: building locations and layout] (see par. 0129-0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not explicitly specify a boundary; however, it is pretty much implied in Shirivastava to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations. In an analogous art, Horelik discloses inside a boundary [geofence] of the geodetic location (see par. 0154, 0238). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of converting the location to a street address and building locations. In another analogous art, de Barros Chapiewski discloses inside/outside parcel boundary (see par. 0112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine to use the boundary of the property in the Shrivastava modified system for the simple purpose of determining the correct address.
As to claim 16, Shrivastava discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the geodetic location is not within the parcel boundary (see par. 0127, 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specifically disclose a structure boundary; however, discloses verifying if a house or building with a geodetic location (see par. 0140) which requires a structure boundary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that a boundary is required to validate the house or building; thereby, making sure that is the correct address. The previous references do not explicitly recite parcel boundary, although it is pretty much implied in Shirivastava to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations. In another analogous art, de Barros Chapiewski discloses parcel boundary (see par. 0112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine to use the boundary of the property in the Shrivastava modified system for the simple purpose of making sure that first responders get to the right address.
As to claim 19, Shrivastava discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the confidence level of the civic address satisfies a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the civic address has more than one structure or the parcel contains more than one address or the geodetic location is not within the structure but is within the parcel boundary and the civic address is provided to the PSAP (see par. 0127, 0134, 0140). Shrivastava does not specifically disclose a structure boundary; however, discloses verifying if a house or building with a geodetic location (see par. 0140) which requires a structure boundary. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that a boundary is required to validate the house or building; thereby, making sure that is the correct address. The previous references do not explicitly recite parcel boundary, although it is pretty much implied in Shirivastava to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations. In another analogous art, de Barros Chapiewski discloses parcel boundary (see par. 0112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine to use the boundary of the property in the Shrivastava modified system for the simple purpose of making sure that first responders get to the right address.
As to claim 20, Shrivastava discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the confidence level of the civic address does not satisfy a configurable threshold if the first portion of parcel information indicates the geodetic location is not within the parcel (see par. 0127, 0134, 0140). The previous references do not explicitly recite parcel boundary, although it is pretty much implied in Shirivastava to use a boundary in step 806 to convert the location to a street address and building locations. In another analogous art, de Barros Chapiewski discloses parcel boundary (see par. 0112). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine to use the boundary of the property in the Shrivastava modified system for the simple purpose of making sure that first responders get to the right address. Shrivastava does not specify what happens after the address is unverified. However, it is within the general skill of one of the ordinary skills in the art to choose what to do when the confidence level is not reach, such as not providing the civic address to the PSAP when the output is too wrong, such as a different city. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that when the confidence level is not reached, not providing the data for the simple purpose of avoiding giving wrong information.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647