DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is office action is in response to applicant’s amendment/response of 18 December 2025.
Claims 14-15 have been newly added.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 14-15 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Wang et al. (US 20230382552 A1) in view of Gans (EP 1637452 B1), in view of Ryu Jung Hwan (KR 20150061079 A, cited in IDS filed 12/21/2022), in view of Igarashi H (JP 2006099988 A), in view of Okabe et al. (US 20220344687 A1), and further in view of Joos et al. (US 20160118679 A1).
a. Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses An aircraft (Fig. 1, 10) comprising:
a fuselage that extends in a front-rear direction of the aircraft; (Fig. 1, 20)
main wings that extend from sides of the fuselage, respectively; (Fig. 1, 22)
a nacelle located at each of the main wings; (Fig. 1, 44)
a fuel cell system located at a rear portion of the fuselage relative to the main wings, (Fig. 1, 100, and [0025] “The aircraft 10 further includes a power system having a fuel cell assembly 100. The fuel cell assembly 100 is positioned within the fuselage 20 of the aircraft 10, within the wings 22 of the aircraft 10, within a propulsor (e.g., first or second aircraft 10 engines 44, 46) of the aircraft 10, or a combination thereof.”, and see at least [0026]).
wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of air into the fuel cell system ([0061] “The controller 124 may further make control decisions for the fuel cell assembly 100 based on the received data. For example, the controller 124 is further in operable communication with the fuel source 102 and the air source 104,” and [0065] “the controller 124 is operably coupled to, e.g., the fuel source 102 and the air source 104. In such a manner, the controller 124 may be configured to control a fuel flow and/or an air flow in response to, e.g., the data sensed by the one or more sensors.”)
Wang et al. fails to explicitly disclose the fuel system being configured to generate electrical energy for driving the nacelle; and a controller the fuel cell configured to transmit the electrical energy from the fuel cell system to the nacelle,
Gans teaches a fuel cell system located at a rear portion of the fuselage relative to the main wings, (Fig. 3, and [0043] “The primary energy generators are the fuel cell modules 1, 9, 10, which together with the control unit 5 form a fuel cell system.”) the fuel cell system being configured to generate electrical energy for driving the nacelle; ([0042] “the electric nacelle defrosting 8 and the starter generator 3 of the engine or the individual engines or engine systems, are supplied primarily with the power supply system according to the invention. In this case, energy is provided to the electrical on-board power supply system 15 via the electrical energy distribution system 2, which is connected to the fuel cell modules 1, 9, 10 via supply lines 14.”, and [0043] “The primary energy generators are the fuel cell modules 1, 9, 10, which together with the control unit 5 form a fuel cell system. In addition, additional electrical energy can be output to the electrical energy distribution system 2 by means of starter generators 3 of the engines during the flight mission.”) and a controller configured to transmit the electrical energy from the fuel cell system to the nacelle, ([0042] “The electric aircraft systems, such as the electric cabin air conditioning 6, the electric wing defrosting 7, the electric nacelle defrosting 8 and the starter generator 3 of the engine or the individual engines or engine systems, are supplied primarily with the power supply system according to the invention. In this case, energy is provided to the electrical on-board power supply system 15 via the electrical energy distribution system 2, which is connected to the fuel cell modules 1, 9, 10 via supply lines 14.”, and [0043] “The primary energy generators are the fuel cell modules 1, 9, 10, which together with the control unit 5 form a fuel cell system. In addition, additional electrical energy can be output to the electrical energy distribution system 2 by means of starter generators 3 of the engines during the flight mission.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the controller of Wang et al. to incorporate transmitting electrical energy to the nacelle as taught by Gans for the purpose of allowing the aircraft to operate.
Wang et al. in combination with Gans fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of air into the fuel cell system based on an outside air condition of the aircraft.
Ryu Jung Hwan teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a flow rate of air into the fuel cell system based on an outside air condition of the aircraft. ([0006] “the air supply device is driven by receiving power from a high voltage battery and is provided with an air blower for supplying air in the atmosphere to the fuel cell stack.”, [0045] “the controller 50 may supply air to the fuel cell stack 1 through the air blower 10 when the fuel cell stack 1 is outputted according to the driving of the fuel cell vehicle. The blade of the air blower 10 can be rotated forward by applying the forward rotation control signal to the air blower 10.”, and [0049] “the controller 50 analyzes the sensing signal provided from the air flow sensor 30 to process the air blower 10 as the ram air is introduced between the blade gaps of the air blower 10 due to the running wind of the vehicle. The reverse rotation control signal corresponding to the flow rate of the air flowing forward and flowing from the inlet side to the outlet side may be applied to the air blower 10”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the controller of Wang et al. in view of Gans to incorporate flow rate control as taught by Ryu Jung Hwan for the purpose of providing optimal air supply for efficient energy generation in the fuel cell.
Wang et al. in combination with Gans and Ryu Jung Hwan fails to explicitly disclose the outside air condition including an altitude of the aircraft, a temperature of outside air, or a speed of the aircraft, and wherein the controller is configured
Igarashi H teaches the outside air condition including an altitude of the aircraft, a temperature of outside air, or a speed of the aircraft, and wherein the controller is configured ([0015] and [0016] “the controller 49 rotates the compressor 21 according to the detected values of the outside air temperature sensor 41, the atmospheric pressure sensor 42, and the rotation speed sensor 44 so as to satisfy the target air flow rate even when the outside air environment around the fuel cell system changes”). Examiner Notes: the Examiner interprets “compensate” in the context of this claim to mean further controlling “the flow rate of air based on the temperature of outside air”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans and Ryu Jung Hwan to incorporate controlling the air flow rate in response to a determined outside air condition such as temperature as taught by Igarashi H for the purpose of maintaining efficient power generation by allowing the pressure control variable to be calculated and corrected even during atmospheric-pressure changes.
Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, and Igarashi H fails to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control the flow rate of air based on the altitude of the aircraft
Okabe et al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the flow rate of air based on the altitude of the aircraft ([0140] “at high altitude, it is necessary to increase the flow rate of the air by increasing the rotational speed of the air compressor so that air can be compressed to a desired pressure within the air compressor operating range.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, and Igarashi H to incorporate controlling the air flow rate in response to a determined outside air condition such as altitude as taught by Okabe et al. “so that air can be compressed to a desired pressure within the air compressor operating range.” ([0140], Okabe et al.)
However, Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, and Okabe et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the fuel cell system comprises: a fuel cell stack, an air recirculation loop defined between an inlet end and a discharge end of the fuel cell stack, and a recirculation blower configured to generate airflow through the air recirculation loop, and wherein the controller is configured to control a driving amount of the recirculation blower according to an oxygen concentration at the discharge end of the fuel cell stack.
Joos et al. teaches wherein the fuel cell system comprises: (Figure 1) a fuel cell stack, (Figure 1, 12) an air recirculation loop defined between an inlet end and a discharge end of the fuel cell stack, and (Figure 1, and [0019] “FCPM 10 as described above may be configured to receive air from the cabin into the blower inlet line 18 while the air outlet line 20 is separated from low pressure air at altitude, for example by a pressure regulator. In this case, the blower 14 can be used to provide a flow of air through the fuel cell stack and flow in the recirculation line 22 from the air outlet line 20 to the air inlet 16 at altitude as if the FCPM 10 were operating on the ground.”) a recirculation blower configured to generate airflow through the air recirculation loop, and ([0019] “the blower 14 can be used to provide a flow of air through the fuel cell stack and flow in the recirculation line 22 from the air outlet line 20 to the air inlet 16 at altitude as if the FCPM 10 were operating on the ground”) wherein the controller is configured to control a driving amount of the recirculation blower according to an oxygen concentration at the discharge end of the fuel cell stack. ([0020] “Varying the flow rate in the recirculation line 22 varies the oxygen concentration in air exhausted from the FCPM 10 through the air outlet line 20. Air in the air outlet line 20 has a reduced oxygen concentration due to the reaction of oxygen with hydrogen in the fuel cell stack 12. When some of this air is recirculated to the air inlet 16, preferably without increasing the total mass flow rate of air through the fuel cell stack 12, additional oxygen is consumed. The concentration of oxygen in the air outlet line 20 is reduced….”, and [0022] “one or more of the valves 24, 26 or blower 14 are connected to a controller 30. The controller 30 may be programmed to vary the flow in the recirculation line 22 in a pre-determined manner based on a stored formula or table giving the valve movements or blower speed predicted to provide exhaust air below a maximum oxygen concentration under a range of operating conditions…the controller 30 is connected to an oxygen concentration sensor 28 to allow for a feedback or other control loop. Flow in the recirculation line 22 is increased if oxygen concentration is above a threshold or range and decreased if oxygen concentration is below a threshold or range.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, and Okabe et al. to incorporate recirculation loop associate with oxygen concentration as taught by Joos et al. for the purpose of allowing the controller to maintain a proper oxygen concentration within the fuel cell system.
b. Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 1
Igarashi H teaches wherein the fuel cell system comprises an inlet blower configured to cause the outside air to be introduced into the fuel cell system, and wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a rate of rotation of the inlet blower based on the altitude of the aircraft of the outside air condition; and ([0016] “The functions of these parts will be described in detail in the pressure control process described later. Further, the controller 49 rotates the compressor 21 according to the detected values of the outside air temperature sensor 41”) based on the temperature of the outside air being higher than a set temperature or the speed of the aircraft being less than a set speed, increase the rate of rotation of the inlet blower to thereby increase the flow rate of air into the fuel cell system. ([0031] “the atmospheric pressure is reduced or the outside air temperature is increased with respect to the reference state, the air density of the outside air is reduced, so that the rotation speed of the compressor is increased. Therefore, when the atmospheric pressure decreases or the outside air temperature increases with respect to the reference state, the reference state operation conversion unit 61 uses the detected values of the atmospheric pressure and the air temperature at the compressor inlet to calculate the compressor rotation speed detection value. It is desirable to perform conversion operations that decrease. As a result, the above influence can be eliminated without performing a complicated calculation. Conversely, when the atmospheric pressure increases or the outside air temperature decreases with respect to the reference state, the air density of the outside air increases, so the rotation speed of the compressor decreases. Therefore, when the atmospheric pressure increases or the outside air temperature decreases with respect to the reference state, the reference state operation conversion unit 61 uses the detected values of the atmospheric pressure and the air temperature at the compressor inlet to calculate the detected value of the compressor rotation speed.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate temperature dependent control of a compressor/blower’s rate of rotation as taught by Igarashi H for the purpose maintaining the flow rate of air under varying air density.
c. Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 1
Igarashi H teaches wherein the fuel cell system comprises an inlet blower configured to cause the outside air to be introduced into the fuel cell system, and wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a rate of rotation of the inlet blower based on the altitude of the aircraft of the outside air condition; and ([0016] “The functions of these parts will be described in detail in the pressure control process described later. Further, the controller 49 rotates the compressor 21 according to the detected values of the outside air temperature sensor 41”)
based on the temperature of the outside air being lower than a set temperature or the speed of the aircraft being greater than a set speed, decrease the rate of rotation of the inlet blower. ([0031] “the atmospheric pressure is reduced or the outside air temperature is increased with respect to the reference state, the air density of the outside air is reduced, so that the rotation speed of the compressor is increased. Therefore, when the atmospheric pressure decreases or the outside air temperature increases with respect to the reference state, the reference state operation conversion unit 61 uses the detected values of the atmospheric pressure and the air temperature at the compressor inlet to calculate the compressor rotation speed detection value. It is desirable to perform conversion operations that decrease. As a result, the above influence can be eliminated without performing a complicated calculation. Conversely, when the atmospheric pressure increases or the outside air temperature decreases with respect to the reference state, the air density of the outside air increases, so the rotation speed of the compressor decreases. Therefore, when the atmospheric pressure increases or the outside air temperature decreases with respect to the reference state, the reference state operation conversion unit 61 uses the detected values of the atmospheric pressure and the air temperature at the compressor inlet to calculate the detected value of the compressor rotation speed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate temperature dependent control of a compressor/blower’s rate of rotation as taught by Igarashi H for the purpose maintaining the flow rate of air under varying air density.
d. Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 1
Joos et al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to: obtain the oxygen concentration measured at the discharge end of the fuel cell stack; and drive the recirculation blower based on the oxygen concentration being higher than a set value. ([0022] “the controller 30 is connected to an oxygen concentration sensor 28 to allow for a feedback or other control loop. Flow in the recirculation line 22 is increased if oxygen concentration is above a threshold or range and decreased if oxygen concentration is below a threshold or range… the controller 30 may be programmed with a maximum exhaust air oxygen concentration, for example 10%, or a desired exhaust air oxygen concentration range, for example between 9% and 11%. If a higher oxygen concentration is measured in the exhaust gas, then one of the controllable devices is modulated to increase the recirculation rate until the desired exhaust gas oxygen concentration is reached…”, and etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate the teachings of Joos et al. for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
e. Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 1
Joos et al. teaches wherein the air recirculation loop defines an air recirculation path between the inlet end and the discharge end of the fuel cell stack, and wherein the recirculation blower is located at the air recirculation path. (Figure 1, ([0019] “the blower 14 can be used to provide a flow of air through the fuel cell stack and flow in the recirculation line 22 from the air outlet line 20 to the air inlet 16 at altitude as if the FCPM 10 were operating on the ground”, and [0022] “the controller 30 is connected to an oxygen concentration sensor 28 to allow for a feedback or other control loop. Flow in the recirculation line 22 is increased if oxygen concentration is above a threshold or range and decreased if oxygen concentration is below a threshold or range… the controller 30 may be programmed with a maximum exhaust air oxygen concentration, for example 10%, or a desired exhaust air oxygen concentration range, for example between 9% and 11%. If a higher oxygen concentration is measured in the exhaust gas, then one of the controllable devices is modulated to increase the recirculation rate until the desired exhaust gas oxygen concentration is reached…”, and etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate the teachings of Joos et al. for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Wang et al. (US 20230382552 A1) in view of Gans (EP 1637452 B1), in view of Ryu Jung Hwan (KR 20150061079 A), in view of Igarashi H (JP 2006099988 A), in view of Okabe et al. (US 20220344687 A1), in view of Joos et al. (US 20160118679 A1), and further in view of Bevirt J (WO 2021257567 A1).
a. Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwang, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 1,
Wang et al. discloses wherein the fuel cell system (Fig. 1, 100) comprises: an inlet portion that is fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack and configured to receive outside air; ([0035] “The first fuel cell stack 156 depicted includes a housing 180 having an outlet side 182 and a side 184 that is opposite to the outlet side 182, a fuel and air inlet side 186 and a side 188 that is opposite to the fuel and air inlet side 186.” And [0032] “The air source 104 may be any suitable source of air for the fuel cell modules 108. For example, in certain exemplary aspects, the air source 104 may be an ambient air source (e.g., from a ram air inlet), may be a high temperature air source from, e.g., one or more engines of the aircraft 10 (e.g., aircraft engines 44, 46), may be an internal aircraft air source 104 from, e.g., a cabin of the aircraft 10, etc., [0033] “Each fuel cell module 108 of the plurality of fuel cell modules 108 is configured as a fuel cell stack.”, and [0101] “wherein the plurality of fuel cell modules comprises a first fuel cell module, wherein the first fuel cell module comprises an air inlet, wherein first fuel cell module is fluidly coupled to the air source through a connection assembly formed in part by the air inlet”)
a hydrogen storage tank (Fig. 2, 102, [0031] “the fuel source 102 may be a hydrogen fuel source (such as hydrogen fuel store in a gaseous or liquid state)”) that is fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack. (Fig. 2, [0048] “The fuel delivery circuit 110 includes a fuel line 114, or rather a plurality of fuel lines 114, extending from the fuel source 102 to each of the plurality of fuel cell modules 108”)
Ryu Jung Hwang teaches an inlet blower located adjacent to the inlet portion; ([0039] “the air blower 10 forms a stream of air from the inlet to the outlet side in the forward rotation (solid arrow direction in the drawing), and the stream of air from the outlet side inlet side in the reverse rotation (dotted arrow direction in the drawing).”)
Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwang, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. fails to explicitly disclose a compressor located downstream relative to the inlet blower and configured to compress the air received through the inlet portion;
Bevirt J teaches a compressor located downstream relative to the inlet blower and configured to compress the air received through the inlet portion; (Fig. 15, 501-503, and [0067] “fuel cell system powered VTOL aircraft comprising the steps of inletting air, routing the inletted air through an inlet air fan, further routing the inletted air to a series of one or more compressors and also to routing some of the inletted air to a plurality of thermal system pathways, compressing the inletted air in one or more compressors, routing the compressed air to a fuel cell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the airflow system of Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate a compressor downstream from the inlet air fan/blower as taught by Bevirt J for the purpose of compressing the air to provide an optimal air pressure to the fuel cell.
b. Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwang, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. discloses The aircraft of claim 14,
Wang et al. discloses wherein the fuel cell system (Fig. 1, 100) comprises: an inlet portion that is fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack and configured to receive outside air; ([0035] “The first fuel cell stack 156 depicted includes a housing 180 having an outlet side 182 and a side 184 that is opposite to the outlet side 182, a fuel and air inlet side 186 and a side 188 that is opposite to the fuel and air inlet side 186.” And [0032] “The air source 104 may be any suitable source of air for the fuel cell modules 108. For example, in certain exemplary aspects, the air source 104 may be an ambient air source (e.g., from a ram air inlet), may be a high temperature air source from, e.g., one or more engines of the aircraft 10 (e.g., aircraft engines 44, 46), may be an internal aircraft air source 104 from, e.g., a cabin of the aircraft 10, etc., [0033] “Each fuel cell module 108 of the plurality of fuel cell modules 108 is configured as a fuel cell stack.”, and [0101] “wherein the plurality of fuel cell modules comprises a first fuel cell module, wherein the first fuel cell module comprises an air inlet, wherein first fuel cell module is fluidly coupled to the air source through a connection assembly formed in part by the air inlet”)
Ryu Jung Hwang teaches an inlet blower located adjacent to the inlet portion ([0039] “the air blower 10 forms a stream of air from the inlet to the outlet side in the forward rotation (solid arrow direction in the drawing), and the stream of air from the outlet side inlet side in the reverse rotation (dotted arrow direction in the drawing).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate temperature dependent control of a compressor/blower’s rate of rotation as taught by Igarashi H for the purpose maintaining the flow rate of air under varying air density.
Joos et al. et al. …the recirculation blower. ([0020] “Varying the flow rate in the recirculation line 22 varies the oxygen concentration in air exhausted from the FCPM 10 through the air outlet line 20. Air in the air outlet line 20 has a reduced oxygen concentration due to the reaction of oxygen with hydrogen in the fuel cell stack 12. When some of this air is recirculated to the air inlet 16, preferably without increasing the total mass flow rate of air through the fuel cell stack 12, additional oxygen is consumed. The concentration of oxygen in the air outlet line 20 is reduced….”, and [0022] “one or more of the valves 24, 26 or blower 14 are connected to a controller 30. The controller 30 may be programmed to vary the flow in the recirculation line 22 in a pre-determined manner based on a stored formula or table giving the valve movements or blower speed predicted to provide exhaust air below a maximum oxygen concentration under a range of operating conditions…the controller 30 is connected to an oxygen concentration sensor 28 to allow for a feedback or other control loop. Flow in the recirculation line 22 is increased if oxygen concentration is above a threshold or range and decreased if oxygen concentration is below a threshold or range.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the air flow rate control of Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate the teachings of Joos et al. for the same reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
However, Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwang, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of blowers, in particular, an inlet blower
Bevirt J teaches a plurality of blowers, in particular, an inlet blower located adjacent to the inlet portion and provided separately from the (Fig. 15, 501-503, and [0067] “fuel cell system powered VTOL aircraft comprising the steps of inletting air, routing the inletted air through an inlet air fan, further routing the inletted air to a series of one or more compressors and also to routing some of the inletted air to a plurality of thermal system pathways, compressing the inletted air in one or more compressors, routing the compressed air to a fuel cell”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the airflow system of Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., and Joos et al. to incorporate one or more compressors downstream from the inlet air fan/blower as taught by Bevirt J for the purpose of compressing the air to provide an optimal air pressure to the fuel cell.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Wang et al. (US 20230382552 A1) in view of Gans (EP 1637452 B1), in view of Ryu Jung Hwan (KR 20150061079 A), in view of Igarashi H (JP 2006099988 A), in view of Okabe et al. (US 20220344687 A1), in view of Joos et al. (US 20160118679 A1), in view of Bevirt J (WO 2021257567 A1), and further in view of Alt et al. (US 20210229821 A1).
a. Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., Joos et al., and Bevirt J discloses The aircraft of claim 2,
However, Wang et al. in combination with Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et, Joos et al., and Bevirt J fails to explicitly disclose further comprising: a battery located at each of the main wings and configured to store electrical energy, wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the electrical energy stored in the battery to the nacelle.
Alt et al. teaches further comprising: a battery located at each of the main wings and configured to store electrical energy, (Fig. 1, 14A, and [0014] “Aircraft 2 may include a plurality of electrical energy storage systems, such as ESS 14A and ESS 14B (collectively, “ESSs 14”). The ESSs 14 may be configured to store electrical energy for use by one or more components of aircraft 2, such as electric motors 12.”) wherein the controller is further configured to transmit the electrical energy stored in the battery to the nacelle. ([0014] “Aircraft 2 may include a plurality of electrical energy storage systems, such as ESS 14A and ESS 14B (collectively, “ESSs 14”). The ESSs 14 may be configured to store electrical energy for use by one or more components of aircraft 2, such as electric motors 12. Each of ESSs 14 may be connected to a respective electrical bus of a plurality of electrical busses. For instance, ESS 14A may be connected to, and configured to supply electrical energy to, a first electrical bus. Similarly, ESS 14B may be connected to, and configured to supply electrical energy to, a second electrical bus.”, and [0018] “ESSs 14, as shown in FIG. 2, may each include a respective converter of converters 28A and 28B (collectively, “converters 28”), a respective controller of controllers 30A and 30B (collectively, “controllers 30”), a respective thermal management system (TMS) of TMS 32A and 32B (collectively, “TMSs 32”), and a respective battery stack of battery stacks 34A and 34B (collectively, “battery stacks 34”).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the energy system of Wang et al. in view of Gans, Ryu Jung Hwan, Igarashi H, Okabe et al., Joos et al. and Bevirt J to incorporate electrical storage located at the wings as taught by Alt et al. for the purpose of storing and providing electrical energy to the nacelle to operate the vehicle.
Conclusion
/MISA H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666