DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The representative claim 1 recites:
A method for determining a temperature of a storage device for thermal management of the storage device, comprising:
segmenting calculation of the temperature of the storage device into calculations from a lower temperature region, an upper temperature region, and a scaling region between the lower temperature region and the upper temperature region;
in the lower temperature region, determining a low temperature value from at least one sensor associated with at least one component of the storage device, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a most-accurate sensor which is more accurate than other sensors in the low temperature region;
in the upper temperature region, determining a highest temperature value of all sensors in order to protect the storage device from overheating; and
in the scaling region, determining a scaled intermediate temperature value scaled with respect to a point of entry temperature into the scaling region.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claims are considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitation that fall into/recite abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter that, when recited as such in a claim limitation, covers mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) and/or mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
Next, under Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitation in the claim is only: wherein the at least one sensor comprises a most-accurate sensor which is more accurate than other sensors in the low temperature region. This limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic sensors) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic sensors.
Finally, under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as noted above, the additional limitation recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic sensors). Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Bao et al. CN 115373938 A (hereinafter, Bao), ([0032]), and Rehmeyer et al. US 2022/0005523 (hereinafter, Rehmeyer), ([0017], [0022], Fig. 1)). Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12, and 14-19, add further details of the identified abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 3 and 13, recite addition element of “wherein the most-accurate sensor comprises a board sensor and the other sensors comprise a controller sensor and a memory sensor”. However, this limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic sensors) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic sensors. Further, the additional element is conventional in the art, as evidenced by the art of record (see, Bao, ([0027], [0032]), and Rehmeyer ([0017], [0022], Fig. 1). Therefore, claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
Independent claims 11 and 20, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 1.
Drawings
5. Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. CN 115373938 A (hereinafter, Bao), in view of Rehmeyer et al. US 2022/0005523 (hereinafter, Rehmeyer).
8. Regarding claim 1, Bao discloses a method for determining a temperature of a storage device for thermal management of the storage device ([0001]), comprising:
segmenting calculation of the temperature of the storage device into calculations from a lower temperature region, an upper temperature region, and a scaling region between the lower temperature region and the upper temperature region ([0065]-[0069], [0073]: the SSD temperature control strategy includes:… Composite temperature range Tn°-Tp°: 75% concurrent I/O at the SSD backend; Composite temperature range Tp°-Tm°: SSD back-end concurrent I/O is 43%; Composite temperature > Tm°: SSD back-end concurrent I/O is 10%); wherein composite temperature ranges Tn°-Tp°, > Tm°, and Tp°-Tm°, are interpreted as equivalent to a lower temperature region, an upper temperature region, and a scaling region, respectively,
in the lower temperature region, determining a low temperature value from at least one sensor associated with at least one component of the storage device in the low temperature region ([0067], [0073]: calculates a composite temperature based on the temperature values returned by each sensor in the SSD);
in the upper temperature region, determining a highest temperature [values] of all sensors in order to protect the storage device from overheating ([0002], [0027], [0032]: based on the temperature values returned by each sensor in the SSD and the maximum designed temperature values of the NAND and controller chips, a composite temperature is calculated according to the invention's calculation formula. The
software then adjusts the backend read/write speeds based on this composite temperature, thereby effectively cooling the SSD); Bao discloses determining a highest temperature values of all sensors in order to protect the storage device from overheating as shown above. Bao does not disclose determining a highest temperature value of all sensors. However, determining the highest temperature value of all sensors would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Bao as disclosed above, and
in the scaling region, determining a scaled intermediate temperature value scaled with respect to a point of entry temperature into the scaling region ([0068]).
Bao does not disclose:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises a most-accurate sensor which is more accurate than other sensors.
However, Rehmeyer discloses:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises a most-accurate sensor which is more accurate than other sensors ([0017], [0022]: one or more temperature sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) internal to all or a subset of the memory dies 200 of the memory system 100. Such internal temperature sensors are expected to provide more accurate indications of an individual memory device's 104 and/or an individual memory die's 200 internal temperature than provide by the temperature sensor 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao to use wherein the at least one sensor comprises a most-accurate sensor which is more accurate than other sensors as taught by Rehmeyer. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine temperature of the storage device accurately (Rehmeyer, [0017]).
9. Regarding claims 11 and 20, the claims are rejected with the same rationale as in claim 1.
10. Regarding claim 4, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the determining a low temperature value utilizes inputs from the sensor and at least one of the other sensors ([0057], [0067]).
Bao does not disclose:
most-accurate sensor.
However, Rehmeyer discloses:
most-accurate sensor ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao to use most-accurate sensor as taught by Rehmeyer. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine temperature of the storage device accurately (Rehmeyer, [0017]).
11. Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 4.
12. Regarding claim 5, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the highest temperature value is reported for temperatures outside of a normal temperature operating range of the storage device ([0002], [0032]). See also Rehmeyer ([0019]).
13. Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 5.
14. Regarding claim 6, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses the normal temperature operating range of the storage device, and the point of entry into the scaling region is at an operating temperature ([0065]-[0070]: the SSD temperature control strategy includes:… Composite temperature range Tp°-Tm°: SSD back-end concurrent I/O is 43%; Composite temperature > Tm°: SSD back-end concurrent I/O is 10%…, the Tp and Tm are specifically configured by the technician as needed). Further, Rehmeyer discloses compare (i) a temperature measurement generated by the temperature sensor 108 and/or by one or more temperature sensors internal to the memory die(s) 200 to (ii) a threshold temperature value (e.g., 85° C.). .., the threshold temperature value can indicate a temperature threshold above... Stated another way, the threshold temperature value can indicate a temperature threshold below (and/or at) which there is little concern that data retention issues will arise due to the temperatures of the memory devices 104 (see, [0019]-[0020]). Bao in view of Rehmeyer does not disclose wherein the normal temperature operating is less than 77° C., and the point of entry into the scaling region is at an operating temperature of 70° C. However, setting normal temperature operating is less than 77° C., and the point of entry into the scaling region is at an operating temperature of 70° C would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching of Bao in view of Rehmeyer as explained above.
15. Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 6.
16. Regarding claim 7, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the scaled intermediate temperature value matches the low temperature value at the point of entry temperature into the scaling region and matches the high temperature value at a point of exit temperature from the scaling region ([0067]-[0070]).
17. Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 7.
18. Regarding claim 8, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the scaled intermediate temperature value is scaled based on a scaling factor determining how far in temperature that an instant temperature for the scaled intermediate temperature value is from the lower region ([0067]-[0070]).
19. Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 8.
20. Regarding claim 9, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 7, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the scaled intermediate temperature value is scaled based on a scaling factor determining how far in temperature that an instant temperature for the scaled intermediate temperature value is from the upper region ([0067]-[0070]).
21. Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 9.
22. Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao, in view of Rehmeyer, in further view of Egan US 2023/0110664 (hereinafter, Egan).
23. Regarding claim 2, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the low temperature value, the highest temperature value, and the scaled intermediate temperature value comprise temperatures, each providing a comparison to a maximum operating temperature of the component whose temperature is sensed ([0027], [0032]).
Bao in view of Rehmeyer does not disclose:
normalized temperatures, each providing a comparison to a maximum operating temperature of the component whose temperature is sensed.
However, Egan discloses:
normalized temperatures, each providing a comparison to a maximum operating temperature of the component whose temperature is sensed ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view of Rehmeyer to use normalized temperatures, each providing a comparison to a maximum operating temperature of the component whose temperature is sensed as taught by Egan. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine a respective relative composite temperature value for components of the storage device (Egan, [0033]).
24. Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 2.
25. Regarding claim 3, Bao in view of Rehmeyer in view of Egan disclose the method of claim 2, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses wherein the sensor comprises a board sensor and the other sensors comprise and a memory sensor ([0027]). Further, Egan also discloses a controller sensor and a memory sensor ([0033]).
Bao in view of Egan does not disclose:
most-accurate sensor.
However, Rehmeyer discloses:
most-accurate sensor ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view of Egan to use most-accurate sensor as taught by Rehmeyer. The motivation for doing so would have been in order to determine temperature of the storage device accurately (Rehmeyer, [0017]).
26. Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected with the same rationale as in claim 3.
27. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao, in view of Rehmeyer, in further view of Driker et al. US 2018/0091017 (hereinafter, Driker).
28. Regarding claim 10, Bao in view of Rehmeyer disclose the method of claim 1, as disclosed above.
Bao further discloses low temperature value as disclosed above. Rehmeyer disclose most accurate sensor as disclosed above.
Bao in view of Rehmeyer does not disclose:
wherein the low temperature value is accurate to +/−1° C.
However, Driker discloses:
wherein the low temperature value is accurate to +/−1° C ([0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bao in view of Rehmeyer to use wherein the low temperature value is accurate to +/−1° C as taught by Driker. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply the accuracy measuring methodology of a temperature sensor system as known in the art and as taught by Driker in a temperature management system such as that of Bao and Rehmeyer, thereby making it particularly suitable for measurement of very small temperature changes, which would be beneficial to the temperature management system of Bao and Rehmeyer (Driker, [0034]).
Conclusion
29. Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, and/or paragraphs, and/or pages in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/Eyob Hagos/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857