DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has canceled claim 3 and added new claims 7 and 8. The pending claims are claims 1, 2, 4-8.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki et al., US 20140199590.
Regarding claim 1, Tamaki et al., teaches a lithium-ion battery (abstract), comprising: a positive electrode including a positive electrode mixture material (0007-0010) containing positive electrode active material particles (abstract; 0009) and a conductive material (abstract; 0008-0010); a negative electrode (0011; 0069) including a negative electrode mixture material (0072-0073); and an electrolyte (0011; 0069; 0074-0075), wherein: the positive electrode active material particles of the positive electrode mixture material include primary particles (0038), a first particle aggregate of the primary particles (0038) cohered into a hollow mass with a hollow portion (abstract; 0013-0017) having a diameter of less than 1 um (0.25 um) (0017), and a second particle aggregate of the primary particles cohered into a hollow mass with a hollow portion having a diameter of 1 um or greater (1 um to 25 um) (0038), each of the first particle aggregate (0008) and the second particle aggregate (0009) includes a shell (abstract; 0008-0009; 0038) and the hollow portion is formed in the shell (abstract; 0008-0010); when referring to the primary particles (0038) and the first particle aggregate as first particles (0038), a percentage of a total volume of the first particles with respect to a total volume of the positive electrode active material particles is 5% or greater and 70% or less (25% to 90%) (0013); the positive electrode mixture material has a void percentage of 30% or greater and 50% or less (Fig. 1-2, 7-10).
Tamaki et al., does not teach the conductive material has an aspect ratio of 1:10 or greater.
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 2, Tamaki et al., teaches wherein the percentage of the volume of the first particles is 20% or greater and 50% or less (3% to 30%) (0014; 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Tamaki et al., does not teach wherein the aspect ratio of the conductive material is 1:30 or greater.
However, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Regarding claim 5, Tamaki et al., teaches wherein a content percentage of the conductive material with respect to weight of positive electrode mixture material is 3 wt% or greater and 30 wt% or less (0014; 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 6, Tamaki et al., teaches wherein the conductive material (0050; 0071; 0077) has an average diameter of 1 nm or greater and 100 nm or less (0.1 um) (0057).
Regarding claim 7, Tamaki et al., teaches, wherein the shell (abstract) of the second particle aggregate includes a through hole (abstract) that extends through the shell (abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Tamaki et al., teaches wherein the shell (abstract) of the first particle aggregate does not include a through hole that extends through the shell (0038) (“the secondary particle 32 has the through hole 36 penetrating from the outside to the hollow part 34.”) (0038; 0068; 0088).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okamura, US 2010/0209763.
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727