DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10761889 (hereinafter ‘889). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘889 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. For example, claims 1, 11, 12, and 13 of the ‘889 patent anticipates claim 1 of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11567801 (hereinafter ‘801). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘801 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application. For example, claims 1, 2, and 3 of the ‘801 patent anticipates claim 1 of the instant application, claim 7 of the ‘801 patent anticipates claim 14 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain (US 2013/0007753).
With respect to claim 14, Jain discloses: A method for scaling an instance group of a computing platform (Abstract), the method comprising:
determining a job dependency tree for a plurality of related jobs ([0032], [0093] where the directed acyclic graph corresponds to Applicant’s “job dependency tree”),
determining runtime data for each of the jobs in the dependency tree ([0093], “task execution times” correspond to Applicant’s “runtime data”); and
scaling up or down the instance group based on the determined runtime data ([0093], “autoscaling decisions”, [0094] scales in or out resources or virtual machines).
With respect to claim 15, Jain discloses: generating the dependency tree for the plurality of related jobs based on data sets that depend on each other such that a data set output from one job serves as an input data set for one or more other jobs ([0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain (US 2013/0007753) in view of Saballus et al. (US 2018/0121235).
With respect to claim 16, Jain does not specifically disclose: determining runtime data for each of the jobs in the dependency tree by determining an accumulated runtime length for all jobs in the dependency tree for a job.
However, Saballus discloses: determining runtime data for each of the jobs in the dependency tree by determining an accumulated runtime length for all jobs in the dependency tree for a job ([0017], [0047], under the broadest reasonable interpretation “accumulated runtime length” merely gathers the runtime lengths for all jobs. Similarly, Saballas is “accumulating” the runtime of all the tasks and comparing their runtimes to each other as a sorting criteria).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Saballus to improve execution control in real time systems by considering time limits for executing a specific task ([0007], [0009], Saballus).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain (US 2013/0007753) in view of Boss et al. (US 2013/0311988).
With respect to claim 17, Jain does not specifically disclose: determining whether to scale up or down the instance group by using historical data from prior jobs wherein the historical data comprises one or more of: a data set size used in a prior related job and a code version for a prior related job; and scaling the instance group up or down based on the determination.
However, Boss discloses: determining whether to scale up or down the instance group by using historical data from prior jobs wherein the historical data comprises one or more of: a data set size used in a prior related job and a code version for a prior related job; and scaling the instance group up or down based on the determination ([0057], where workload requests correspond to Applicant’s “jobs”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Boss to ensure workloads are being migrated in geographically dispersed cloud environments in a time efficient manner and processed in an optimal fashion.
With respect to claim 18, Boss discloses: comparing a planned data set size to be used for a job with the data set size used in a prior related job (id.).
Examiner’s Note
No prior art found for claims 1-13, 19, and 20. However, they are rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting.
Conclusion
.
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195