DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed one 01/20/26 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The examiner does not necessarily agree with the applicant’s 01/20/26 arguments about Sudow’s lack of a “curved survey path,” in view of broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Nonetheless, the examiner has made a rejection that incorporates a new secondary reference that explicitly teaches the amended limitation of, “wherein the second curved survey path is adjacent to the first curved survey path.”
Furthermore, upon performing the update search, it would appear that the concept of curved survey paths is well-known and well-established in the art, with multiple references teaching the concept. Some of these references are also cited below as pertinent prior art.
Drawings
As stated in a previous action, in view of the applicant’s 07/10/25 Specification amendments, the drawings of 12/21/22 are accepted.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101, for the reasons stated in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 13-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudow (US PgPub 20180164097) in view of Moldoveanu et al (WO 2008144492A2) and Lu et al (US PgPub 20150078124).
With respect to claim 1, Sudow discloses:
A method (figures 1-3 and 6)
obtaining a first plurality of surveying data inputs from one or more sensors of a towed sensing apparatus (figure 6, reference 696; paragraph 0052 states, “In one type of marine survey, each receiver, such as the receiver 696 … comprises a pair of sensors …”), the towed sensing apparatus being towed behind a vessel in a body of water (figure 1A, reference 102; figure 6, reference 602), wherein the first plurality of surveying data inputs are obtained during a first subsurface deployment of the towed sensing apparatus along a first curved survey path and are indicative of a seafloor measurement (figures 1C and 6; paragraph 0024 states, “The dashed line from the stern of the marine survey vessel 118 indicates a path 120 of travel of the marine survey vessel 118 along a turn of radius r 122. As illustrated, in some instances, the towed objects 102 can bend along the turn.”; paragraph 0002 states, “High-resolution images of a subterranean formation are helpful for quantitative interpretation and improved reservoir monitoring … Receivers may be located on or near the seafloor, on one or more streamers towed by the marine survey vessel, or on one or more streamers towed by another vessel.”; paragraph 0052 states, “The streamers 602 and the marine survey vessel 618 can include sensing electronics and data-processing facilities that allow marine survey receiver readings to be correlated with absolute positions on the sea surface and the absolute three-dimensional positions with respect to a three-dimensional coordinate system … the marine survey receiver positions correlated with overlying surface positions, such as a surface position 698 correlated with the position of marine survey receiver 696. The marine survey vessel 618 can also tow one or more marine survey sources 692 that produce signals as the marine surface vessel 618 and streamers 602 move across the sea surface 683.” Please note that this section discloses that the signals are sent and received as the streamers are moved across the sea surface. This would suggest survey activity regardless of whether the path is straight line or turn, as long as the streamers are moving across the sea surface.)
obtaining a second plurality of surveying data inputs from the one or more sensors of the towed sensing apparatus, the towed sensing apparatus being towed behind the vessel in the body of water, wherein the second plurality of surveying data inputs are obtained along a second curved survey path (Paragraph 0023 states, “A marine survey vessel 118 can tow a plurality of towed objects … such as streamers.” Paragraph 0018 states, “The first streamer section 108-1 is illustrated as including a first towed object telemetry unit … The second streamer section 108-2 is illustrated as including a second towed object telemetry unit.” The abstract states, “coupled to a towed object during rolls of the towed object in two or more different headings.” Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), there are multiple possible interpretations for the claimed second plurality of surveying data inputs. They can be viewed to come from different towed objects, or different sections of one towed object, or from different headings. Please also note paragraph 0052.)
obtaining a plurality of heading measurements (abstract states, “Roll data can be acquired from a magnetometer and an accelerometer of a towed object telemetry unit coupled to a towed object during rolls of the towed object in two or more different headings … Turn data can be acquired from the magnetometer and the accelerometer during a turn of the towed object from a first heading to a second heading.”), each heading measurement of the plurality of heading measurements indicative of an angular direction of the towed sensing apparatus (paragraph 0024 discloses “turn of radius r 122,” which suggests angular direction for the turns; also paragraph 0019 discloses angular rate sensor), wherein the plurality of heading measurements are measured during at least the first subsurface deployment of the towed sensing apparatus (figure 1C; paragraphs 0016-0024)
correlating the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs with the plurality of heading measurements (figure 2; calibration using extracted parameters suggests correlating data inputs with heading measurements; paragraph 0013 states, “A multi-dimensional calibration of the compass can be performed to render high quality heading values … The compass can be placed in different orientations to generate and record calibration telemetry data that corresponds to the different orientations. The calibration telemetry data can be compared to an expected telemetry field shape.”; paragraphs 0026-0027 state, “The controller 166 can be configured to further calibrate the first magnetometer 114-1 based on the first turn data and to further calibrate the second magnetometer 114-2 based on the second turn data. The controller 166 can be configured to receive first straight tow data from the first towed object telemetry unit 111-1 and second straight tow data from the second towed object telemetry unit 111-2 as a result of the towed object 102 being towed without turning for a period of time. The controller 166 can be configured to further calibrate the first magnetometer 114-1 based on the first turn data and the first straight tow data. The controller 166 can be configured to further calibrate the second magnetometer 114-2 based on the second turn data and the second straight two data.”)
With respect to claim 1, Sudow differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second curved survey path is adjacent to the first curved survey path
generating a composite image of an area of seafloor along at least one of the first or second curved survey path, based on aligning the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs to a common reference based on the correlated heading measurements
With respect to claim 1, Moldoveanu et al discloses:
wherein the second curved survey path is adjacent to the first curved survey path (figure 11; abstract states, “the method includes towing a seismic spread including a source multiple streamers on a generally curved advancing path, the streamers being actively steered. The source is fired and data is acquired on the curve. In other aspects, the method is performed with only a single vessel or the generally curved advancing path is a sincurve advancing path.” Please note that the examiner could not find support for this amended limitation in the applicant’s specification. The examiner did not issue a 112(a) rejection because the examiner considered the applicant’s figure 6, which shows a sincurve advancing path, to provide support for the limitation, where one concave portion of the sin curve could be construed to be a first curved survey path and the following convex portion of the curve could be construed to be the adjacent second curved path. However, as seen here and in the below pertinent prior art section, such a sincurve advancing path is well known in the art.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Moldoveanu et al into the invention of Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of acquiring wide and/or rich azimuth data of higher quality, in a cost-efficient manner.
With respect to claim 1, Lu et al discloses:
generating a composite image of an area of seafloor along at least one of the first or second curved survey path, based on aligning the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs to a common reference based on the correlated heading measurements (figure 9A, reference 911 states, “Stacking common image gathers to composite a stacked image with improved image quality.” Lu et al also discloses composite images in paragraphs 0065 and 0072. Aligning the various data of Sudow, such as by stacking common image gathers (or other common imaging data points), to composite an image, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the image compositing principles of Lu et al. Please note that Lu et al paragraph 0042 also discloses curved paths by stating, “As would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art with the benefit of this disclosure, any wide azimuth array configuration may be suitable for data acquisition, including configurations where the seismic sensor array is towed along a curved path …”)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al into the invention of Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of improved image quality.
Independent claim 15 represents the system claim version of method claim 1. It is rejected for similar reasons as those given with respect to claim 1 above. System claim 15 is distinguished from claim 1, in that it also claims some generic computer components that Sudow also teaches.
For example, with respect to claim 15, Sudow discloses:
A system (figures 4-5)
at least one processor (figure 5, reference 568; paragraph 0045)
a memory storing instructions which when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to: (figure 5, reference 570; paragraph 0045)
(the remaining limitations mirror their corresponding limitations in claim 1, other than the verbs being in present participle form for claim 1 and base form for claim 15)
With respect to claims 2 and 16, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs are obtained based on towing the towed sensing apparatus along the first and second curved survey path in a single continuous pass (figure 1C shows a single turn on a single continuous pass; paragraph 0024 states, “The dashed line from the stern of the marine survey vessel 118 indicates a path 120 of travel …”; paragraph 0034 states, “The roll of the towed object in any particular heading can include a single roll in a single direction, or multiple rolls in one or more directions.”)
With respect to claims 3 and 17, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein correlating the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs with the plurality of heading measurements comprises: correlating each surveying data input of the plurality of surveying data inputs with a corresponding heading measurement of the plurality of heading measurements (This limitation is obvious in view of the method of Sudow figure 2, as described in paragraphs 0028-0033. Paragraphs 0028-0029 state, “The graph of raw data 229-1 represents a typical time series input to block 228. The raw telemetry data 231-1 is shown as ellipses … At block 230, the method can include calibrating the compass.” Since time series data is being input, it would be obvious to perform the calibration on the time series inputs based on the corresponding heading measurements. This limitation would be mathematically obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, given the teachings of Sudow.)
With respect to claims 4 and 18, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein correlating each surveying data input (figure 2) with a corresponding heading measurement comprises:
identifying a specific heading measurement of the plurality of heading measurements as being associated with a same point in time as a respective surveying data input of the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs; or generating an interpolated heading measurement for the respective surveying data input based on interpolating between a first heading measurement of the plurality of heading measurements that is temporally adjacent to and obtained prior to the respective surveying data input and a second heading measurement of the plurality of heading measurements that is temporally adjacent to and obtained subsequent to the respective surveying data input (obvious in view of Sudow figure 2; paragraphs 0028-0030; Receiving a typical time series input and then processing that time series input as a result of the heading data suggests heading measurement being associated with a same point in time as a respective surveying data input. Data interpolation would also be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of Sudow paragraph 0030, which states, “the method can include generating a three dimensional (3D) dataset to stabilize the estimation of gain and bias on the magnetometer.” The time series data also suggests temporal alignment.)
With respect to claims 5 and 19, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein the plurality of heading measurements is obtained using a gyroscopic sensor array coupled to the towed sensing apparatus (paragraph 0012 states, “A towed object can include a towed object telemetry unit having a magnetometer, an accelerometer, and/or a gyroscope …”; see also paragraph 0019)
With respect to claims 8 and 21, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein the composite image is a mosaic image of the area of seafloor along one of the first or second curved survey path (The composite images disclosed by Lu et al can be broadly interpreted to be mosaic images. Figures 3-8 of Lu et al show examples.)
With respect to claim 13, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
wherein generating the composite image of the area of seafloor comprises: correlating the first subset of surveying data inputs with the plurality of heading measurements and correlating the second subset of surveying data inputs with the plurality of heading measurements, wherein the first subset and the second subset are associated with a same correlated heading measurements (obvious in view of combination; As discussed above, Sudow discloses correlating data with heading measurements. Lu et al discloses generating composite images.)
generating the composite image of the area of seafloor based on aligning the first subset of surveying data inputs and the second subset of surveying data inputs using the same correlated heading measurements (obvious in view of combination; As discussed above, Sudow discloses correlating data with heading measurements. Lu et al discloses generating composite images.)
With respect to claim 14, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
each of the first and second the curved survey paths are associated with a first distal end and a second distal end opposite from the first distal end, the first distal end and the second distal end defining a longitudinal axis of the respective curved survey path (obvious in view of figure 1C of Sudow and also in combination, in view of teachings of Moldoveanu et al; although the axes aren’t clearly drawn into the figure, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to visualize them based on what is shown)
a displacement of the respective curved survey path from the longitudinal axis varies along a length of the longitudinal axis from the first distal end to the second distal end (obvious in view of figure 1C of Sudow and also in combination, in view of teachings of Moldoveanu et al; although the axes aren’t clearly drawn into the figure, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to visualize them based on what is shown)
Claim(s) 6-7, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudow (US PgPub 20180164097) in view of Lu et al (US PgPub 20150078124), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, 13-19, and 21 above, and further in view of Lebo et al (US PgPub 20210371067).
With respect to claim 6, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 5 (as applied to claim 5 above)
With respect to claim 6, Sudow, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the gyroscopic sensor array comprises one or more of a fiber optic gyroscope (FOG) or a ring laser gyroscope (RLG)
With respect to claim 6, Lebo et al discloses:
wherein the gyroscopic sensor array comprises one or more of a fiber optic gyroscope (FOG) or a ring laser gyroscope (RLG) (paragraph 0092 states, “Navigation of the underwater vehicle 100 may utilize one or more navigation sensors, including, without limitation, inertial sensors (including attitude and heading reference system (AHRS), inertial navigation system (INS) … Ring Laser Gyroscopes (RLG), accelerometers, pressure sensors, GPS …”; Please note that Sudow teaches accelerometers (paragraph 0012 states, “an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope …”). This disclosure demonstrates that a ring laser gyroscope is known to be used as an equivalent replacement for other navigation sensors, such as accelerometers.)
With respect to claim 6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lebo et al into the invention of modified Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of offering a user flexibility in choosing between different navigation sensing tradeoffs, such cost, accuracy, and susceptibility to external factors.
Claim 20 represents the system claim version of method claim 6. It is rejected for similar reasons.
With respect to claim 7, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
With respect to claim 7, Sudow, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of heading measurements is obtained using an Attitude and Heading Reference System (AHRS) coupled to the towed sensing apparatus
With respect to claim 7, Lebo et al discloses:
wherein the plurality of heading measurements is obtained using an Attitude and Heading Reference System (AHRS) coupled to the towed sensing apparatus (paragraph 0092 states, “Navigation of the underwater vehicle 100 may utilize one or more navigation sensors, including, without limitation, inertial sensors (including attitude and heading reference system (AHRS), inertial navigation system (INS) … Ring Laser Gyroscopes (RLG), accelerometers, pressure sensors, GPS …”; Please note that Sudow teaches accelerometers (paragraph 0012 states, “an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope …”). This disclosure demonstrates that AHRS is known to be used as an equivalent replacement for other navigation sensors, such as accelerometers.)
With respect to claim 7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lebo et al into the invention of modified Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of offering a user flexibility in choosing between different navigation sensing tradeoffs, such as cost, accuracy, and susceptibility to external factors.
With respect to claim 12, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
With respect to claim 12, Sudow, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs includes a first subset of surveying data inputs obtained using a first sensor type and a second subset of surveying data inputs obtained using a second sensor type
With respect to claim 12, Lebo et al discloses:
wherein the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs includes a first subset of surveying data inputs obtained using a first sensor type and a second subset of surveying data inputs obtained using a second sensor type (paragraph 0092 states, “Navigation of the underwater vehicle 100 may utilize one or more navigation sensors, including, without limitation, inertial sensors (including attitude and heading reference system (AHRS), inertial navigation system (INS) … Ring Laser Gyroscopes (RLG), accelerometers, pressure sensors, GPS …”; Please note that Sudow teaches accelerometers (paragraph 0012 states, “an accelerometer and/or a gyroscope …”). This disclosure demonstrates that many different sensors can be used. The claimed limitation is obvious in view of the combination. Sudow teaches the plurality of surveying data inputs. Lebo et al teaches the flexibility of using different types of sensors, and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a first sensor type for a first subset of data and a second sensor type for a second subset of data.)
With respect to claim 12, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lebo et al into the invention of modified Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of offering a user flexibility in choosing between different navigation sensing tradeoffs, such cost, accuracy, and susceptibility to external factors.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudow (US PgPub 20180164097) in view of Lu et al (US PgPub 20150078124), as applied to claims 1-5, 8, 13-19, and 21 above, and further in view of Patterson et al (US PgPub 20050270905).
With respect to claim 10, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
With respect to claim 10, Sudow, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs are a plurality of side-scan sonar measurements obtained from a side-scan sonar array coupled to the towed sensing apparatus
With respect to claim 10, Patterson et al discloses:
wherein the first and second plurality of surveying data inputs are a plurality of side-scan sonar measurements obtained from a side-scan sonar array coupled to the towed sensing apparatus (figure 3; paragraph 0006 states, “Side scan sonar proved its capabilities during the 1960’s and 1970’s as an indispensable tool to locate wreck, mines, lost nuclear weapons, and downed submarines and aircraft … With increased resolving power, common to modern systems, sidescan sonar has been used to map and classify … in turbid, low visibility environments.” The claimed limitation is obvious in view of the combination of the combination. Sudow teaches the plurality of surveying data inputs. Patterson et al not only teaches side-scan sonar but also establishes that it is an extremely well-known decades-old technology.)
With respect to claim 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Patterson et al into the invention of modified Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of making high-resolution, geo-referenced images of the seafloor, even in turbid, low visibility environments.
With respect to claim 11, Sudow, as modified, discloses:
The method of claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
the towed sensing apparatus includes a plurality of different sensors (figure 6; paragraph 0052 states, “In one type of marine survey … comprises a pair of sensors …”)
With respect to claim 11, Sudow, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
and the plurality of different sensors includes one or more of a side-scan sonar array, a transverse gradiometer array, a seismic sensor array, a sub-bottom profiler array, a water velocity sensor array, or an Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler (ADCP) array
With respect to claim 11, Patterson et al discloses:
and the plurality of different sensors includes one or more of a side-scan sonar array, a transverse gradiometer array, a seismic sensor array, a sub-bottom profiler array, a water velocity sensor array, or an Acoustic Doppler Current Profiler (ADCP) array (paragraph 0004 states, “Sidescan sonar is an acoustic imaging technology … As sound waves propagate away from the sidescan transducers …”)
With respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Patterson et al into the invention of modified Sudow. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of making high-resolution, geo-referenced images of the seafloor, even in turbid, low visibility environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moldoveanu et al (AU2013205494A1) discloses methods for efficiently acquiring wide-azimuth towed streamer seismic data.
Siliqi (WO2018015813A1) discloses coil-shooting and straight-line-recording system and method for seismic data acquisition.
Moldoveanu et al (WO2009092069A1) discloses methods for efficiently acquiring wide-azimuth towed streamer seismic data.
Hill et al (US PgPub 20090122640) discloses acquiring azimuth rich seismic data in the marine environment using a regular sparse pattern of continuously curved sail lines.
Long et al (US PgPub 20210190985) discloses marine survey data acquisition at a tow line.
Moldoveanu et al (US PgPub 20080285381) discloses methods for efficiently acquiring wide-azimuth towed streamer seismic data.
Long (US Pat 11493651) discloses cross-line source separation based on cross-line streamer separation.
Moldoveanu et al (US PgPub 20070165486) discloses methods and systems for efficiently acquiring towed streamer seismic surveys.
Vassallo, M.; Eggenberger, K.; van Manen, D.; Ozbek, A.; and Watterson, P. – “Broadband and beyond with marine towed streamers”; Special Section: Offshore and Onshore Broadband Seismology; The Leading Edge; pages 1356-1365; November 2013. (Please note page 1357, column 2, paragraph 3, which states, “The technique can be employed with all types of surveys, from linear sail-line acquisition geometries including narrow-azimuth (NAZ) and wide-azimuth (WAZ) to curved sail-line acquisition geometries …” This section establishes obvious equivalent replacement between linear sail-line acquisition geometries and curved sail-line acquisition geometries.
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 02/06/26