DETAILED ACTION
Status
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on November 18, 2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 2, 4 and 5 are canceled. Claims 1, 3 and 6-16 are pending review in this action. The previous objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the filed Replacement Drawings.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on December 1, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the newly added limitation: “wherein the polyolefin-based resin layer and the metal layer are covered only by the polymer resin film layer and do not contact the reinforcing layer”.
This limitation does not appear to be supported by the specification. Specifically, in addition to being covered by the polymer resin film layer (261), the polyolefin-based resin layer (21c) is also covered by metal layer (21b) and the other polyolefin-based resin layer (22c). Similarly, in addition to being covered by the polymer resin film layer (261), the metal layer (21b/22b) is also covered by protective layer (21a/22a) and polyolefin-based resin layer (21c/22c) (see instant figures 5-7).
In addition, the specification does not appear to explicitly or implicitly teach that the metal layer (21b/22b) does not contact the reinforcing layer (262). The text of the specification is silent on this issue. Applicant appears to rely on the figures, however even the figures do not appear to support such an assertion – specifically, it appears that the corner of each metal layer (21b/22b) is in fact in contact with a corner of the reinforcing layer (262) (see instant figures 5-8).
Claim 1 further recites the newly added limitation: “the reinforcing layer surrounds the polymer resin layer while contacting only the protective layer”.
This limitation does not appear to be supported by the specification. Specifically, in addition to contacting the protective layer (21a/22a), the reinforcing layer (262) contacts at least the polymer resin layer (261) and the sealant disposed on the electrode terminal (241) (see paragraphs [0057, 0060, 0062] and figures 5-8).
Claim Interpretation
A review of the instant figures and specification appears to suggest that the amendments, which have triggered the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) above, were intended to be directed to the following instantly described features of the case for a secondary battery.
The polyolefin-based resin layer (21c/22c) is covered by the polymer resin layer (261) and does not contact the reinforcing layer (262).
The reinforcing layer (262) surrounds the polymer resin layer (261) and contacts the protective layer (21a/22a), but does not contact the polyolefin-based resin layer (21c/22c).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the following rejections are provided to address the instant claims in view of the above features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0028417, hereinafter Yim.
Regarding claim 1, Yim teaches a battery case (200). The battery case (200) accommodates an electrode assembly (100) of a secondary battery (paragraph [0057] and figure 6).
The battery case (200) comprises a lower case (220) and an upper case (210). The upper case (210) is disposed on an upper side of the lower case (220) (paragraph [0057] and figure 5).
The lower case (220) and the upper case (210) are fused at a sealing part (230) to seal the case (200) (paragraph [0059] and figure 5).
The sealing part (230) comprises a first sealing part, in which an electrode terminal (110) connected to the electrode assembly (100) exists (figure 6). The sealing part (230) comprises a second sealing part, which is a remaining area except for the first sealing part (figure 6).
The edge of the first sealing part is laminated with a polyolefin-based resin layer (213), a metal layer (212) and a protective layer (211) (paragraphs [0034-0036] and figure 5).
The battery case (200) comprises a polymer resin layer (241) formed on an edge of the first sealing part and a reinforcing layer (242) surrounding the polymer resin layer (241) (paragraphs [0047, 0050, 0054] and figure 3).
The polyolefin-based resin layer (213) and the metal layer (212) are covered by the polymer resin layer (241) and do not contact the reinforcing layer (242) (figure 3).
The reinforcing layer (242) surrounds the polymer resin layer (241) and contacts the protective layer (211), but does not contact the polyolefin-based resin layer (213) and the metal layer (212) (figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yim teaches that the first sealing part comprises a sealing part existing in a portion where the electrode terminal (110) protrudes and a sealing part which is a remaining area except for the portion where the electrode terminal (110) protrudes. The edges of all sealing parts are not exposed to the outside by the reinforcing layer (242) (figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Yim teaches that the reinforcing layer (242) is a single layer (figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Yim teaches a secondary battery comprising an electrode assembly (100) (paragraph [0064] and figure 6). The electrode assembly (100) comprises a positive electrode, a negative electrode and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (paragraph [0005]).
The secondary battery further comprises the battery case (200) according to claim 1 for accommodating the electrode assembly (100) (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Yim teaches a battery module comprising the secondary battery of claim 14 (paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 16, Yim teaches a device comprising the battery module as a power source (paragraph [0003]).
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0219847, hereinafter Hong.
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches a battery case (120). The battery case (120) accommodates an electrode assembly (110) of a secondary battery (100) (paragraph [0019] and figure 1).
The battery case (120) comprises a lower case (122) and an upper case (121). The upper case (121) is disposed on an upper side of the lower case (122) (paragraph [0030] and figure 2).
The lower case (122) and the upper case (121) are fused at a sealing part (124 and 126) to seal the case (120) (paragraphs [0032, 0049] and figure 4).
The sealing part (124 and 126) comprises a first sealing part, in which an electrode terminal (114) connected to the electrode assembly (110) exists (figure 4). The sealing part (124 and 126) comprises a second sealing part, which is a remaining area except for the first sealing part (figure 4).
The edge of the first sealing part is laminated with a polyolefin-based resin layer (120c), a metal layer (120a) and a protective layer (120b) (paragraphs [0025-0029] and figures 2 and 3).
The battery case (120) comprises a polymer resin layer (142) formed on an edge of the first sealing part and a reinforcing layer (141) surrounding the polymer resin layer (142) (paragraphs [0021, 0041-0044] and figure 3).
The polyolefin-based resin layer (120c) and the metal layer (120a) are covered by the polymer resin layer (142) and do not contact the reinforcing layer (141) (figure 3).
The reinforcing layer (141) surrounds the polymer resin layer (142) and contacts the protective layer (120b), but does not contact the polyolefin-based resin layer (120c) and the metal layer (120a) (figure 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hong teaches that the polymer resin layer (142) is a silicone-based adhesive (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, Hong teaches that the reinforcing layer (141) is an epoxy resin (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 10, the instant claim is proviso upon the limitation "rubber-based resin", which is not required by claim 9; therefore the limitations of claim 10 do not come into force.
Regarding claim 12, Hong teaches that the reinforcing layer (141) is a single layer (figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches that the polymer resin layer (142) is a silicone-based adhesive and the reinforcing layer (141) is an epoxy resin (paragraphs [0042, 0043]).
Silicone and epoxy have different vitrification temperatures.
Regarding claim 14, Hong teaches a secondary battery (100) comprising an electrode assembly (110) (paragraph [0020] and figure 1). The electrode assembly (110) comprises a positive electrode (111), a negative electrode (112) and a separator (113) interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (paragraph [0022]).
The secondary battery further comprises the battery case (120) according to claim 1 for accommodating the electrode assembly (110) (paragraph [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0028417, hereinafter Yim as applied to claim 1 and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0197642, hereinafter Boday.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Yim teaches that the polymer resin layer (241) may be a resin used for conformal coating (paragraphs [0048, 0050]).
Yim fails to teach a specific resin.
It is well known in the art that resins used for a conformal coating include silicones and epoxies – see, e.g. Boday (paragraph [0011]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select silicone resin or an epoxy resin for the material of the polymer resin layer (241) without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results.
Silicone resin and epoxy resin are both thermosetting resins.
Regarding claim 11, Yim teaches that the reinforcing layer (242) may be nylon (paragraphs [0034, 0060]).
Yim teaches that the polymer resin layer (241) may be a resin used for a conformal coating (paragraphs [0048, 0050]).
Yim fails to teach a specific resin.
It is well known in the art that resins used for conformal coating include silicones and epoxies – see, e.g. Boday (paragraph [0011]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a silicone resin or an epoxy resin for the material of the polymer resin layer (241) without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results.
Nylon and epoxy resin/silicone resin have different vitrification temperatures.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0219847, hereinafter Hong.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Hong teaches that the combined thickness of the polymer resin layer (142) and the reinforcing layer (141) is 50 µm or less (paragraph [0044]). The two are shown to have approximately equal thicknesses in the area of the stepped part (128) (figure 3). It is thus understood that each of the polymer resin layer (142) and the reinforcing layer (141) has a thickness of 25 µm or less.
Hong’s optimum range overlaps the instant application's optimum ranges of 10 µm to 300 µm and 10 µm to 800 µm. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0219847, hereinafter Hong as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0028417, hereinafter Yim.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Hong teaches a secondary battery cell (100) (paragraph [0003]).
Hong fails to teach a battery module.
It is well-known in the art to assemble a plurality of battery cells into a battery module for the purpose of powering various electronic devices – see, e.g. Yim (paragraph [0019]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to assemble a plurality of Hong’s battery cells into a battery module for the purpose of powering an electronic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented Yim reference and the newly provided Hong reference have been found to address the amended claims as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724