Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 26, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the dispersants of Aotani are not HNBRs but amide-modified HNBRs, which are "completely different" (p. 6). However, the modifications of Aotani affect fewer than 1% of the nitrile groups (Aotani Table 1). The material must therefore still be considered to be HNBR.
Applicant contends that the dispersants of Aotani are included at values outside the range of amended claim 1 (p. 6). However, while Aotani give examples at 0.12 parts by weight, the teachings of Aotani are not limited to these examples. As indicated in the rejection, Aotani allows for dispersant contents at values that overlap the claimed range (Aotani [0169]).
Applicant contends that the rejection improperly relies on Aotani [0169] to teach the range of dispersant content, since that paragraph refers to a Copolymer I with a carbamoyl group and not HNBR (pp. 6-7). However, Aotani explicitly indicates that the HNBR dispersant is the copolymer in Table 1. In addition, the modified HNBR of Aotani does include a small number of carbamoyl groups (i.e. the substituted amide groups).
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aotani (US 2023/0250342 A1) in view of Li et al. ("Past and Present of LiFePO4: From Fundamental Research to Industrial Applications," Synergy 5(1), pp. 3-6, January 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Aotani discloses a positive electrode slurry composition (Aotani Examples 3-10 and 3-11) comprising a positive electrode active material (NMC), an HNBR dispersant (Dispersants 9 and 10), a binder (PVDF), a conductive material (8S MWCNTs), and a solvent (NMP) (Aotani [0295]-[0297] and Table 4). The dispersants have molecular weights of 50,000 and 20,000 g/mol, respectively (Aotani Table 1), each of which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Aotani does not teach that the positive electrode active material comprises lithium iron phosphate. Li teaches that lithium iron phosphate is cheaper, safer, and more durable than NMC cathode materials (Li first paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to replace the NMC of Aotani with the lithium iron phosphate of Li in order to improve safety, durability, and cost.
Aotani teaches that the dispersant (i.e. Copolymer I) content of the active material layer should be 0.05-5 mass % (Aotani [0169]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any dispersant content within the range of modified Aotani, including values within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, modified Aotani teaches the use of LiFePO4 (Li first paragraph), which is Chemical Formula 1 for a=b=x=0, each of which falls within the ranges of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, the slurry has a solid content of 75 wt% (Aotani [0025]), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, the conductive material is 0.3 wt% of the solids in the slurry (Aotani Table 4), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, the binder is 1.5 wt% of the solids in the slurry (Aotani Table 4), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aotani in view of LI as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2017/0365858 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Aotani does not disclose a slurry viscosity. Yun teaches that the appropriate viscosity for a positive electrode material slurry comprising an active material, conductive agent, binder, and solvent (Yun Abstract) is 15,000-30,000 cp at room temperature to prevent loss of the material during coating or excessive thickness (Yun [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a viscosity of 15,000-30,000 cp, which falls within the range of the instant claim, to prevent loss of the material during coating or excessive thickness.
Yun does not teach that viscosity is measured at 10-2 rpm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select an appropriate rate, including 10-2 rpm, when performing the measurement. Alternatively, viscosity depends on shear rate, and shear rate at a given rotation rate depends on paddle/stirrer geometry. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select an appropriate paddle geometry to give the desired shear rate at any rotation rate, including 10-2 rpm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722