DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Although the same art was used, new citations and explanations have been given to account for the amended claim limitations.
Nonetheless, the examiner would like to address one of the applicant’s key arguments.
In considering Maheshwari, the applicant makes the following similar arguments:
this general service monitoring does not teach comparing quality, governance, availability and security scores against predetermined minimum thresholds specifically to determine where additional measurements are needed for subsurface reservoir exploration
this is in the context of general service monitoring, not determining locations for additional subsurface reservoir measurements. In contrast, the current application describes a specific technical approach for identifying opportunities to improve data maturity through assessment, including identifying geographic locations where additional measurements can be performed, and using stakeholder engagement to inspect and address low quality, governance, availability, and security scores
it does not disclose comparing quality, governance, availability and security scores against predetermined minimum thresholds to identify locations needing additional measurements
The examiner notes that the above interpretations are generally not claimed. For example, independent claims 1 and 7 do mention assessing quality, governance, availability, and security of the estimates. However, they do not mention anything about quality, governance, availability and security scores. Some of the dependent claims mention scores, but they do not disclose comparing such a score to a predetermined minimum threshold. Nor do they disclose determining where additional measurements are needed for subsurface reservoir exploration or identifying locations needing additional measurements.
The examiner reminds the applicant that broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is given to claimed elements. The applicant appears to be applying an overly narrow interpretation based on unclaimed elements.
Also, the examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments appeared to be centered around Maheshwari. However, Maheshwari was modified by Short, which discloses much of the drilling/subsurface reservoir exploration field of use context lacking from Maheshwari. The applicant’s arguments appear to have overlooked the teachings of Short and what would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the combination of Maheshwari and Short.
The rejection is maintained.
Drawings
The drawing and specification amendments of 09/02/25 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 7, as amended, disclose, “determining geographic locations or data types where additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir can to be performed to improve data maturity.” (emphasis mine). This is a minor grammatical informality. It will be construed that the claim should state, “determining geographic locations or data types where additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir can be performed to improve data maturity.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 112
The applicant’s 09/02/25 amendments have overcome the previous 112 rejection.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
The applicant’s 09/02/25 amendments have overcome the previous 101 rejection.
The amended limitation of, “performing exploration activities comprising drilling wells, performing seismic surveys, or implementing enhanced oil recovery technologies to provide additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir at the determined geographic locations or of the determined data types” effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)) under step 2A, prong two of the 101 eligibility analysis.
Therefore, claims 1-12 are not directed to a judicial exception and now qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maheshwari et al (US PgPub 20160104076) in view of Short et al (US PgPub 20180298746).
With respect to claim 1, Maheshwari et al discloses:
generating estimates and measurements of properties (figure 10AF, reference 10110 discloses “receive and store machine data”; figure 77, reference 7201 discloses receiving data; paragraph 0478 discloses receiving data from sensors, which suggests generating estimates and measurements of properties)
cataloging data types of the estimates and measurements of properties (paragraph 0478 states, “The types of machines or entities from which block 10110 may receive machine data are wide and varied and may include computers of all kinds, network devices, storage devices, virtual machines, servers, embedded processors, intelligent machines, intelligent appliances, sensors, telemetry, and any other kind or category of data generating device as may be discussed within this document or appreciated by one of skill in the art.”)
developing key performance indicators for each data type (figure 47A, reference 4751 states, “Identify one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard.”; Maheshwari discloses many teachings of key performance indicators throughout its disclosure, including in paragraphs 0231, 0240, 0267, 0282, 0289, and 0294)
developing rules for each data type (paragraph 0059 discloses “an example of a GUI of a service monitoring system for specifying multiple rules …”; paragraph 0560 states, “A service definition can include multiple sets of filter criteria corresponding to different rules.”)
updating a database storing the estimates and measurements of properties (paragraph 0235 states, “Implementations of the present disclosure can determine the relationships between the entities and services based on changes … and can update … to reflect any adjustments made …”; paragraph 0474 states, “A service monitoring system of some embodiments may include the capability to practice methods to automatically update information …”)
assessing estimates and measurements of properties based on the rules for each data type (paragraph 0728 states, “The KPI value may be indicative of a performance assessment for the service …”; paragraph 0735 states, “performance of a service can be assessed using a KPI’s values that may change over time.”)
With respect to claim 1, Maheshwari et al differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
A method for hydrocarbon exploration of a subsurface reservoir based on assessing the maturity of data on the subsurface reservoir
generating estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir including well, seismic, core, logs, tops, reports, reservoir, and geospatial data
cataloging data types of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir based on data proponent, data users, data sources and data format
determining data types of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir, wherein the data types include well data, sub-surface data, surface geology data, geophysical data, and geospatial data
developing quality, governance, availability, and security rules for each data type
updating a database storing the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir
assessing quality, governance, availability, and security of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir based on the rules for each data type
determining geographic locations or data types where additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir can be performed to improve data maturity
performing exploration activities comprising drilling wells, performing seismic surveys, or implementing enhanced oil recovery techniques to provide additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir at the determined geographic locations or of the determined data types
With respect to claim 1, Short et al discloses:
A method for hydrocarbon exploration of a subsurface reservoir based on assessing the maturity of data on the subsurface reservoir (paragraphs 0002-0004 state, “A resource field can be an accumulation, pool or group of pools of one or more resources (e.g., oil, gas, oil and gas) in a subsurface environment … Field planning can occur over one or more phases, which can include an exploration phase that aims to identify and assess and environment …” The claims do not define “maturity,” but the fact that the data is used over a period of time for assessment purposes will be construed to anticipate “maturity.”)
generating estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir including well, seismic, core, logs, tops, reports, reservoir, and geospatial data (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply. For example, Short discloses estimates and measurements (paragraph 0045) of properties of the subsurface reservoir (paragraph 0002) including well (abstract), seismic (paragraph 0046), core (paragraph 0246), logs (paragraph 0246), tops (figure 18; paragraph 0247), reports (paragraph 0189), reservoir (paragraph 0045), and geospatial data (paragraphs 0045 and 0247).)
cataloging data types of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir based on data proponent, data users, data sources and data format (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply. Paragraph 0121 of Short states, “A system may utilize one or more servers, one or more client devices, etc. and may maintain one or more databases, data files, etc …” Cataloging data types based on general data concepts, such as data proponents, data users, data sources, and data format are obvious in view of the database and storage teachings of Short.)
determining data types of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir, wherein the data types include well data, sub-surface data, surface geology data, geophysical data, and geospatial data (obvious in view of the database and data processing principles of Short, when viewed through the context of the vast and diverse drilling and wellbore data presented by Short.)
developing quality, governance, availability, and security rules for each data type (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply. Please note that Short considers quality (paragraph 0216), governance (paragraph 0167 discloses management services), availability (paragraph 0216), and security (paragraph 0170). As discussed above, Maheshwari discloses developing rules for a variety of contexts.)
updating a database storing the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply.)
assessing quality, governance, availability, and security of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir based on the rules for each data type (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply. Please note that Short considers quality (paragraph 0216), governance (paragraph 0167 discloses management services), availability (paragraph 0216), and security (paragraph 0170). As discussed above, Maheshwari discloses developing rules for a variety of contexts.)
determining geographic locations or data types where additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir can be performed to improve data maturity (paragraph 0079 states, “a sensor or sensor may be at an offset wellsite where the wellsite system 200 and the offset wellsite are in a common field (e.g., oil and/or gas field).”; paragraph 0100 state, “Knowledge of depth can help inform an operator as to a well’s actual location …”; paragraph 0143 states, “a well trajectory may take into consideration various ‘basis of design’ (BOD) constraints, such as general surface location …”; paragraph 0168 states, “location circuity may employ one or more types of locating techniques.”; paragraph 0247 state, “the framework 1870 may access information associated with the drilling modules 1840 pertaining to wells, well trajectory, wellhead location …”; Short teaches the importance of geographic location in the context of its broad analysis. The claimed limitation is obvious in view of Short’s broad teachings. Please note that the claims are also broad; they do not describe what constitutes “improve data maturity.”)
performing exploration activities comprising drilling wells, performing seismic surveys, or implementing enhanced oil recovery techniques to provide additional estimates and measurements of field properties of the subsurface reservoir at the determined geographic locations or of the determined data types (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses a general technique and interface that can be applied to a wide variety of data contexts. Short discloses a specific data interface context in which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the principles of Maheshwari would be obvious to apply. Short specifically discloses exploration (see paragraphs 0004, 0129, and 0138). Short also discloses seismic survey (paragraph 0136). Short also discloses drilling throughout its disclosure.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Short et al into the invention of Maheshwari et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of providing versatile adaptive thresholding technology to a rig operations information system.
Independent claim 7 represents a broader version of independent claim 1 and is rejected for similar reasons.
With respect to claims 2 and 8, Maheshwari et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising incorporating estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir into the database and performing quality assurance / quality control review of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir (obvious in view of combination; paragraph 0308 of Short discloses quality control)
With respect to claims 3 and 9, Maheshwari et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein assessing the quality, governance, availability, and security of the estimates and measurements of properties of the subsurface reservoir comprises assigning a first score representing the quality, a second score representing the governance, a third score representing the availability, and a fourth score representing the security for single data type (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari et al discloses both individual scores (paragraph 0248) and aggregate scores (paragraph 0282). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the scoring principles of Maheshwari et al and the context of Short.)
With respect to claims 4 and 10, Maheshwari et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising averaging all rules for one data type to provide a score for that data type (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses applying statistical functions, such as average, to its data (see, for example, paragraphs 0241, 0580, 0587, 0595, and 0627). The claimed limitation is mathematically obvious.)
With respect to claims 5 and 11, Maheshwari et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising averaging all data types belonging to an organization to provide a score for that organization (obvious in view of combination; Maheshwari discloses applying statistical functions, such as average, to its data (see, for example, paragraphs 0241, 0580, 0587, 0595, and 0627). The claimed limitation is mathematically obvious.)
With respect to claims 6 and 12, Maheshwari et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein developing quality, governance, availability, and security rules for each data type comprises identifying at least one master repository for each data type (obvious in view of combination; paragraph 1355 states, “The KPI values derived over time may be stored to build a valuable repository of current and historical performance information for the service …” Storing data in a repository would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dupuy et al (US PgPub 20150276978) discloses a system, method and computer program product for determining placement of perforation intervals using facies, fluid boundaries, geobodies, and dynamic fluid properties.
Berard et al (US PgPub 20160370499) discloses determining geomechanics completion quality.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 01/09/26
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857