DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections under 35 USC 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed 04/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, specifically regarding wherein Doi does not disclose the use of different models for calculating the center of mass position and speed for different support phases. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su (US 20180004208 A1) as Su teaches “determining, through a model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the single support phase based on the center-of-mass height and a first preset parameter; determining, through a model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the double support phase based on the double support phase duration and a second preset parameter; and wherein a motion equation included in the model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model is different from a motion equation included in model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su (US 20180004208 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses a motion control method (see at least [0028] and Fig. 1, “a method for controlling a gait of a biped robot”), comprising:
acquiring gait parameters of a two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph [0029], wherein "Step S11, selecting gait controlling parameters of the biped robot in a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase");
inputting the gait parameters to a preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph [0030], wherein “Step S12, obtaining, according to the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the mid-step phase, first numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts and second numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends”; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition (that is, the zero moment point ZMP is always located within the steady area). However, the present disclosure is not limited to the linear inverted pendulum model, and other models can be employed to calculate the movement trajectory of the center of mass");
determining gait trajectory parameters of the two-legged robot based on the gait parameters through the preset gait planning model, wherein the gait trajectory parameters comprise a center-of-mass state corresponding to a double support phase and a center-of-mass state corresponding to a single support phase, and the center-of-mass state comprises a center-of-mass position and a center-of-mass movement speed (at least as in paragraph [0031], wherein “Step S13, setting a first constraint condition that the center of mass is required to satisfy when the step starting phase ends by using the first numerical values, and setting a second constraint condition that the center of mass is required to satisfy when the step ending phase starts by using the second numerical values”; at least as in paragraph [0032], wherein “Step S14, calculating the movement trajectories of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase on the basis of the first constraint condition and the second constraint condition, respectively”; at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein "By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values X.sub.d(0), {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0), {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0), Y.sub.d(0), {dot over (Y)}.sub.d(0) and Ÿ.sub.d(0) respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values X.sub.s(0), {dot over (X)}.sub.s(0), {umlaut over (X)}.sub.s(0), Y.sub.s(0), {dot over (Y)}.sub.s(0) and Ÿ.sub.s(0) respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase"; at least as in paragraph [0002], wherein “One complete gait of biped robots comprises a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph [0042], wherein " The mid-step phase is the phase of the smooth periodic walking of the biped robot. A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2), and the whole mid-step phase has a plurality of one-leg-supporting periods and two-leg-supporting periods that appear periodically”); and
controlling the two-legged robot to move according to the gait trajectory parameters (at least as in paragraph 0033, wherein “Step S15, controlling a walking of the biped robot, so that when the biped robot is walking, the movement trajectory of the center of mass satisfies each of the movement trajectories of the center of mass in the step starting phase, the mid-step phase and the step ending phase, to realize a steady walking of the biped robot”),
wherein the gait parameters comprise a center-of-mass height and a double support phase duration (at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the gait controlling parameters comprise three parameters of position, speed and acceleration . . . Further, each parameter of the gait controlling parameters comprises three direction components of a forward direction, a lateral direction and a vertical direction when the biped robot is walking”; at least as in paragraph 0043, wherein the method “obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts as first numerical values, and obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends as second numerical values . . . If the walking stability is to be kept throughout the whole mid-step phase, it is set that the height of the center of mass of the biped robot is not changed, that is, the position of the center of mass in the z-axis direction is not changed, and the speed and the acceleration are both equal to 0, so the movement trajectory in the Z-axis direction can be known in advance”; see also paragraph 0035; furthermore, at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2)”; therefore, the position, speed, and acceleration of the center of gravity in the z-axis and the duration of the two-leg-supporting period is determined),
the center-of-mass state comprises a forward center-of-mass position and a forward center-of-mass movement speed (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass”; at least as in paragraph 0043, wherein “the method is to obtain the following information of the biped robot: when the mid-step phase starts, the position X.sub.d(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0) in the x-axis direction . . . of the coordinate system of the center of mass; and when the mid-step phase ends, the position X.sub.s(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.s(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.s(0) in the x-axis direction . . . of the coordinate system of the center of mass”); and
wherein determining gait trajectory parameters of the two-legged robot based on the gait parameters through the preset gait planning model comprises:
inputting the center-of-mass height and the double support phase duration to the preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph 0044, wherein “The characteristic of the inverted pendulum model is that the height of the center of mass remains unchanged, and the bottom end of the swinging rod does not provide moment of force. That is, in the mid-step phase, the height of the center of mass of the biped robot in the vertical direction is not changed and is a predetermined value Hz”; at least as in paragraph 0055, wherein “Because in the mid-step phase the calculating of the movement trajectory of the center of mass is performed by using the linear inverted pendulum model, in the mid-step phase the height of the center of mass is required to be maintained unchanged, that is, equal to the height Hz of the center of mass at the ending time moment in the step starting phase”; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2) . . . in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition”; at least as in paragraph 0044, wherein “In order to improve the stability of the walking movement of the biped robot, the method simplifies the robot in the two-leg-supporting periods as a virtual linear inverted pendulum model . . . the model takes the ZMP of the movement of the robot as a virtual supporting point and the center of mass 51 of the robot as the mass point of the linear inverted pendulum model, the supporting foot 52 and the supporting foot 53 are the two supporting feet of the robot in the two-leg-supporting periods, and the ZMP is the virtual supporting point of the inverted pendulum and is located between the two supporting feet”);
determining, through a model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the single support phase based on the center-of-mass height and a first preset parameter (at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein “The equations of movement of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction in the one-leg-supporting period are” Formulas (3) and (4); at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase… can solve second numerical values X.sub.s(0)… respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0044, “That is, in the mid-step phase, the height of the center of mass of the biped robot in the vertical direction is not changed and is a predetermined value Hz”; at least as in paragraph 0048, wherein Formulas (3) and (4) uses Height Hz to determine the trajectory; at least as in paragraph 0034, “On the basis of that shown in FIG. 1, in Step S11 the gait controlling parameters comprise three parameters of position, speed and acceleration, or the gait controlling parameters comprise two parameters of position and speed. Further, each parameter of the gait controlling parameters comprises three direction components of a forward direction, a lateral direction and a vertical direction when the biped robot is walking”); and
determining, through a model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the double support phase based on the double support phase duration and a second preset parameter (at least as in paragraph 0046, wherein “the equations of movement of the center of mass in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction in the two-leg-supporting period are:” Formulas (1) and (2); at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values X.sub.d(0)… respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period . . . and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0051, “The step starting phase is the transition phase between the static standing state when the two feet of the robot are parallel and close and the mid-step gait that has a steady periodicity. The duration of this phase is set as T.sub.1.”; at least as in paragraph 0055-0056, wherein “the first constraint condition that the center of mass of the robot is required to satisfy in the z-axis direction at the ending time moment in the step starting phase” is defined by Formula (6), and further wherein “Hz is the height of the center of mass at the ending time moment (that is, when t is equal to T.sub.1) in the step starting phase”; at least as in paragraph 0043, “As for the scenes in which the height of the center of mass changes in the mid-step phase, it is required to acquire the heights of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts and when the mid-step phase ends (that is, the special numerical values in the z-axis direction)”; at least as in paragraph 0002, “One complete gait of biped robots comprises a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0046, wherein Formulas (1) and (2) of the “movement of the center of mass in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction in the two-leg-supporting period” require Hz linked from the step starting phase; therefore, the movement of the center of mass in the two-leg supporting period are based on the duration of two leg supporting period of the step starting phase); and
wherein a motion equation included in the model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model is different from a motion equation included in model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph 0046-0048, wherein the two leg supporting period uses formulas (1) and (2) while the one leg supporting period uses formulas (3) and (4)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 20180004208 A1) in view of Doi (US 20120277910 A1), and further in view of Yoshiike et al. (US 20110301756 A1, hereinafter Yoshiike).
Regarding claim 5, Su further discloses the motion control method according to claim 1, wherein determining gait trajectory parameters of the two-legged robot based on the gait parameters through the preset gait planning model comprises:
inputting the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0043-0044, wherein the method “obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts as first numerical values, and obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends as second numerical values . . . from the calculation results of the linear inverted pendulum model,” more specifically, the speed in the x-axis and y-axis direction of the coordinate system of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts and ends; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2)”; see at least Formulas (1)-(4));
determining, through a model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model, a forward movement speed and a lateral movement speed of the two-legged robot in the single support phase termination state based on the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein Formulas (3) and (4) are used to calculate the “movement of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction in the one-leg-supporting period”; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass”; at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”);
determining, through a model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model, the first motion step length of the two-legged robot based on the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, and the forward (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition”; at least as in paragraph 0044, wherein “the method simplifies the robot in the two-leg-supporting periods as a virtual linear inverted pendulum model”; at least as in paragraph 0063-0067, wherein the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction during the step starting phase can be determined by utilizing Formulas (8) and (9), which includes “the position, speed and acceleration of the center of mass of the biped robot in the x-axis direction at the starting time moment in the step starting phase … the position, speed and acceleration of the center of mass of the biped robot in the x-axis direction at the ending time moment in the step starting phase … position X.sub.d(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0) of the center of mass in the x-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period”); and
determining the center-of-mass height as the center-of-mass height of the two-legged robot in the vertical direction (at least as in paragraph 0053, wherein the method calculates “a height Hz of the center of mass in the vertical direction of the biped robot”).
However, Su does not explicitly teach wherein “average speed”.
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 20180004208 A1) in view of Yoshiike et al. (US 20110301756 A1, hereinafter Yoshiike), and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20220379470 A1, hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the above combination of Su and Yoshiike, Su further discloses the motion control method according to claim 5, further comprising:
acquiring an actual forward movement speed and an actual lateral movement speed of the two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values . . . corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”);
determining a second motion step length of the two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph 0038, wherein “in each of the walking gaits of the biped robot, with the projection on the ground of the ankle joint of the supporting leg of the biped robot as the origin of coordinate, with the horizontal advancing direction as the X-axis, and with the lateral direction of the walking as the Y-axis, the planar rectangular coordinate system (XOY) of the biped robot itself is constructed”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”; therefore, the distance between the two ankle joints in the x-axis may be determined); and
controlling the two-legged robot to move based on the second motion step length (at least as in paragraph 0033, wherein “Step S15, controlling a walking of the biped robot, so that when the biped robot is walking, the movement trajectory of the center of mass satisfies each of the movement trajectories of the center of mass in the step starting phase, the mid-step phase and the step ending phase, to realize a steady walking of the biped robot”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”).
However, Su does not specifically disclose “determining whether the actual forward movement speed of the two-legged robot is equal to the forward average speed, and determining whether the actual lateral movement speed is equal to the lateral average speed … in response to determining at least one of that the actual forward movement speed is unequal to the forward average speed and that the actual lateral movement speed is unequal to the lateral average speed.”
Xie discloses a robot balance control method to regulate the motion status of the humanoid robot so as to correct the planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot in real time so that the corrected planned trajectory matches the real motion condition of the humanoid robot and reduces the disturbance of the environment at which the robot is located on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and the body motions of the humanoid robot is ensured to achieve the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws by adjusting the joint operation states so as to improve the operation safety of the robot. Xie specifically teaches “determining whether the actual forward movement speed of the two-legged robot is equal to the forward [desired] speed, and determining whether the actual lateral movement speed is consistent with the lateral [desired] speed (at least as in paragraph 0030, wherein the robot balance control method includes “S210: obtaining a motion status and a planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot at a current moment”; at least as in paragraph 0032, wherein “the motion status may include … the current actual poses and actual speeds of the humanoid robot at the sole, the centroid, and the waist, and the actual velocity and the actual angular velocity of the humanoid robot at each joint (including each joint of the robot and each virtual joint for describing the pose of the waist of the robot)”; at least as in paragraph 0031, wherein “the positive direction of the X-axis in the created Cartesian coordinate system generally represents the forward direction of the humanoid robot”; at least as in paragraph [0061], wherein “S231: for each balance demanding part among the sole, the centroid, and the waist, obtaining a pose difference by performing subtraction operation on a desired pose of the balance demanding part and the actual pose of the balance demanding part and obtaining a speed difference by performing subtraction operation on a desired speed of the balance demanding part and the actual speed of the balance demanding part”) …
in response to determining at least one of that the actual forward movement speed is unequal to the forward [desired] speed and that the actual lateral movement speed is unequal to the lateral [desired] speed (at least as in paragraph 0065 and 0063, wherein “after determining the pose difference and speed difference of the sole, the centroid or the waist at the current moment, the robot controller 10 will select the difference parameter(s) involved in the motion control function from the determined pose difference and speed difference according to the currently selected motion control function”).”
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Xie's teaching of determining a speed difference and difference parameters and Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, since Xie teaches wherein the control method improves the operation safety of the robot by correcting a planned robot motion trajectory in real-time, reducing environmental interference on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and ensuring that the body motion of the humanoid robot achieves the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws and Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Regarding claim 7, in view of the above combination of Su, Yoshiike, and Xie, Su further discloses the motion control method according to claim 6, wherein determining a second motion step length of the two-legged robot comprises:
acquiring a forward center-of-mass position and a forward movement speed of the two-legged robot at current time (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values . . . corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”);
inputting the forward center-of-mass position and the forward movement speed of the two-legged robot at the current time, the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition,” and further wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2), and the whole mid-step phase has a plurality of one-leg-supporting periods and two-leg-supporting periods that appear periodically”); and
determining, through the preset gait planning model, the second motion step length of the two-legged robot based on the forward center-of-mass position and the forward movement speed of the two-legged robot at the current time, the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0038, wherein “in each of the walking gaits of the biped robot, with the projection on the ground of the ankle joint of the supporting leg of the biped robot as the origin of coordinate, with the horizontal advancing direction as the X-axis, and with the lateral direction of the walking as the Y-axis, the planar rectangular coordinate system (XOY) of the biped robot itself is constructed”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”; at least as in paragraph 0067 and 0072, wherein the method obtains the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction that varies with the time t by calculating).
However, Su does not specifically disclose “average speed.”
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, since Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 20180004208 A1) in view of Xie et al. (US 20220379470 A1, hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 14, Su discloses a two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph 0028, “a biped robot”), comprising:
a two-legged robot body (at least as in paragraph 0037, “a nine-link model of a biped robot”), a lower limb assembly (at least as in paragraph 0037, wherein “a single ankle joint has two degrees of freedom of front-and-back swinging and left-and-right swinging, a single knee joint has one degree of freedom of front-and-back swinging, and a hip joint has three degrees of freedom of left-and-right swinging, front-and-back swinging and rotation”) and a controller (at least as in paragraph 0010 and 0111, “a device for controlling a gait of a biped robot”), the lower limb assembly and
acquire gait parameters of the two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph [0029], wherein "Step S11, selecting gait controlling parameters of the biped robot in a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase");
input the gait parameters to a preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition (that is, the zero moment point ZMP is always located within the steady area). However, the present disclosure is not limited to the linear inverted pendulum model, and other models can be employed to calculate the movement trajectory of the center of mass");
determine gait trajectory parameters of the two-legged robot based on the gait parameters through the preset gait planning model, wherein the gait trajectory parameters comprise a center-of-mass state corresponding to a double support phase and a center-of-mass state corresponding to a single support phase, and the center-of-mass state comprises a center- of-mass position and a center-of-mass movement speed (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein "By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values X.sub.d(0), {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0), {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0), Y.sub.d(0), {dot over (Y)}.sub.d(0) and Ÿ.sub.d(0) respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values X.sub.s(0), {dot over (X)}.sub.s(0), {umlaut over (X)}.sub.s(0), Y.sub.s(0), {dot over (Y)}.sub.s(0) and Ÿ.sub.s(0) respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase"; at least as in paragraph [0002], wherein “One complete gait of biped robots comprises a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph [0042], wherein " The mid-step phase is the phase of the smooth periodic walking of the biped robot. A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2), and the whole mid-step phase has a plurality of one-leg-supporting periods and two-leg-supporting periods that appear periodically”); and
control the lower limb assembly of the two-legged robot to move according to the gait trajectory parameters (at least as in paragraph 0033, wherein “Step S15, controlling a walking of the biped robot, so that when the biped robot is walking, the movement trajectory of the center of mass satisfies each of the movement trajectories of the center of mass in the step starting phase, the mid-step phase and the step ending phase, to realize a steady walking of the biped robot”),
wherein the gait parameters comprise a center-of-mass height and a double support phase duration (at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the gait controlling parameters comprise three parameters of position, speed and acceleration . . . Further, each parameter of the gait controlling parameters comprises three direction components of a forward direction, a lateral direction and a vertical direction when the biped robot is walking”; at least as in paragraph 0043, wherein the method “obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts as first numerical values, and obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends as second numerical values . . . If the walking stability is to be kept throughout the whole mid-step phase, it is set that the height of the center of mass of the biped robot is not changed, that is, the position of the center of mass in the z-axis direction is not changed, and the speed and the acceleration are both equal to 0, so the movement trajectory in the Z-axis direction can be known in advance”; see also paragraph 0035; furthermore, at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2)”; therefore, the position, speed, and acceleration of the center of gravity in the z-axis and the duration of the two-leg-supporting period is determined), and
the center-of-mass state comprises a forward center-of-mass position and a forward center-of-mass movement speed (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass”; at least as in paragraph 0043, wherein “the method is to obtain the following information of the biped robot: when the mid-step phase starts, the position X.sub.d(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0) in the x-axis direction . . . of the coordinate system of the center of mass; and when the mid-step phase ends, the position X.sub.s(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.s(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.s(0) in the x-axis direction . . . of the coordinate system of the center of mass”);
input the center-of-mass height and the double support phase duration to the preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the gait controlling parameters comprise three parameters of position, speed and acceleration . . . Further, each parameter of the gait controlling parameters comprises three direction components of a forward direction, a lateral direction and a vertical direction when the biped robot is walking”; at least as in paragraph 0043, wherein the method “obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts as first numerical values, and obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends as second numerical values”; at least as in paragraph 0044, wherein “the height of the center of mass of the biped robot in the vertical direction is not changed and is a predetermined value Hz”; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2)”);
determine, through a model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the single support phase based on the center-of- mass height and a first preset parameter (at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein “The equations of movement of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction in the one-leg-supporting period are” Formulas (3) and (4); at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase… can solve second numerical values X.sub.s(0)… respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0044, “That is, in the mid-step phase, the height of the center of mass of the biped robot in the vertical direction is not changed and is a predetermined value Hz”; at least as in paragraph 0048, wherein Formulas (3) and (4) uses Height Hz to determine the trajectory; at least as in paragraph 0034, “On the basis of that shown in FIG. 1, in Step S11 the gait controlling parameters comprise three parameters of position, speed and acceleration, or the gait controlling parameters comprise two parameters of position and speed. Further, each parameter of the gait controlling parameters comprises three direction components of a forward direction, a lateral direction and a vertical direction when the biped robot is walking”); and
determine, through a model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model, the forward center-of-mass position and the forward center-of-mass movement speed of the two-legged robot in the double support phase based on the double support phase duration and a second preset parameter (at least as in paragraph 0046, wherein “the equations of movement of the center of mass in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction in the two-leg-supporting period are:” Formulas (1) and (2); at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values X.sub.d(0)… respectively corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period . . . and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0051, “The step starting phase is the transition phase between the static standing state when the two feet of the robot are parallel and close and the mid-step gait that has a steady periodicity. The duration of this phase is set as T.sub.1.”; at least as in paragraph 0055-0056, wherein “the first constraint condition that the center of mass of the robot is required to satisfy in the z-axis direction at the ending time moment in the step starting phase” is defined by Formula (6), and further wherein “Hz is the height of the center of mass at the ending time moment (that is, when t is equal to T.sub.1) in the step starting phase”; at least as in paragraph 0043, “As for the scenes in which the height of the center of mass changes in the mid-step phase, it is required to acquire the heights of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts and when the mid-step phase ends (that is, the special numerical values in the z-axis direction)”; at least as in paragraph 0002, “One complete gait of biped robots comprises a step starting phase, a mid-step phase and a step ending phase”; at least as in paragraph 0046, wherein Formulas (1) and (2) of the “movement of the center of mass in the X-axis direction and the Y-axis direction in the two-leg-supporting period” require Hz linked from the step starting phase; therefore, the movement of the center of mass in the two-leg supporting period are based on the duration of two leg supporting period of the step starting phase); and
wherein a motion equation included in the model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model is different from a motion equation included in model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model (at least as in paragraph 0046-0048, wherein the two leg supporting period uses formulas (1) and (2) while the one leg supporting period uses formulas (3) and (4)).
However, Su does not explicitly disclose “the controller being arranged on the two-legged robot body.”
Xie discloses a robot balance control method to regulate the motion status of the humanoid robot so as to correct the planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot in real time so that the corrected planned trajectory matches the real motion condition of the humanoid robot and reduces the disturbance of the environment at which the robot is located on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and the body motions of the humanoid robot is ensured to achieve the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws by adjusting the joint operation states so as to improve the operation safety of the robot. Xie specifically teaches “the controller being arranged on the two-legged robot body” (at least as in paragraph 0019, wherein “the robot controller 10 may be integrated with the humanoid robot”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Xie's teaching of the robot controller of the humanoid robot, since Xie teaches wherein the controller improves the operation safety of the robot by correcting a planned robot motion trajectory in real-time, reducing environmental interference on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and ensuring that the body motion of the humanoid robot achieves the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 20180004208 A1) in view of Xie et al. (US 20220379470 A1, hereinafter Xie), and further in view of Yoshiike et al. (US 20110301756 A1, hereinafter Yoshiike).
Regarding claim 18, in view of the above combination of Su, Doi, and Xie, Su further discloses the two-legged robot according to claim 14, wherein the controller is further configured to:
input the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0043-0044, wherein the method “obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts as first numerical values, and obtains the numerical values of each of the gait controlling parameters of the center of mass when the mid-step phase ends as second numerical values . . . from the calculation results of the linear inverted pendulum model,” more specifically, the speed in the x-axis and y-axis direction of the coordinate system of the center of mass when the mid-step phase starts and ends; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2)”; see at least Formulas (1)-(4));
determine, through a model corresponding to the single support phase in the preset gait planning model, a forward movement speed and a lateral movement speed of the two-legged robot in the single support phase termination state based on the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0047, wherein Formulas (3) and (4) are used to calculate the “movement of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction in the one-leg-supporting period”; at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass”; at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”, and further wherein to solve the first and second numerical values of the gait controlling parameters at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period require the duration of both supporting periods; additionally, at least as in paragraph 0077, “the embodiment of the present disclosure sets that the position, speed and acceleration at the initial time moment in the step ending phase are the same as the position, speed and acceleration of the center of mass at the ending time moment (that is, when the one-leg-supporting period starts) in the mid-step phase”);
determine, through a model corresponding to the double support phase in the preset gait planning model, the first motion step length of the two-legged robot based on the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, and the forward (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition”; at least as in paragraph 0044, wherein “the method simplifies the robot in the two-leg-supporting periods as a virtual linear inverted pendulum model”; at least as in paragraph 0063-0067, wherein the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction during the step starting phase can be determined by utilizing Formulas (8) and (9), which includes “the position, speed and acceleration of the center of mass of the biped robot in the x-axis direction at the starting time moment in the step starting phase … the position, speed and acceleration of the center of mass of the biped robot in the x-axis direction at the ending time moment in the step starting phase … position X.sub.d(0), speed {dot over (X)}.sub.d(0) and acceleration {umlaut over (X)}.sub.d(0) of the center of mass in the x-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period”); and
determine the center-of-mass height as the center-of-mass height of the two-legged robot in the vertical direction (at least as in paragraph 0053, wherein “the method … calculate a height Hz of the center of mass in the vertical direction of the biped robot when the step starting phase ends”).
However, Su does not explicitly teach wherein “average speed”.
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Regarding claim 19, in view of the above combination of Su, Xie, and Yoshiike, Su further discloses the two-legged robot according to claim 18, wherein the controller is further configured to:
acquire an actual forward movement speed and an actual lateral movement speed of the two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”);
determine a second motion step length of the two-legged robot (at least as in paragraph 0038, wherein “in each of the walking gaits of the biped robot, with the projection on the ground of the ankle joint of the supporting leg of the biped robot as the origin of coordinate, with the horizontal advancing direction as the X-axis, and with the lateral direction of the walking as the Y-axis, the planar rectangular coordinate system (XOY) of the biped robot itself is constructed”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”); and
control the two-legged robot to move based on the second motion step length (at least as in paragraph 0033, wherein “Step S15, controlling a walking of the biped robot, so that when the biped robot is walking, the movement trajectory of the center of mass satisfies each of the movement trajectories of the center of mass in the step starting phase, the mid-step phase and the step ending phase, to realize a steady walking of the biped robot”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”).
However, Su does not specifically disclose “determine whether the actual forward movement speed of the two-legged robot is equal to the forward average speed, and determining whether the actual lateral movement speed is equal to the lateral average speed … in response to determining at least one of that the actual forward movement speed is unequal to the forward average speed and that the actual lateral movement speed is unequal to the lateral average speed.”
Xie discloses a robot balance control method to regulate the motion status of the humanoid robot so as to correct the planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot in real time so that the corrected planned trajectory matches the real motion condition of the humanoid robot and reduces the disturbance of the environment at which the robot is located on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and the body motions of the humanoid robot is ensured to achieve the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws by adjusting the joint operation states so as to improve the operation safety of the robot. Xie specifically teaches “determine whether the actual forward movement speed of the two-legged robot is equal to the forward [desired] speed, and determine whether the actual lateral movement speed is consistent with the lateral [desired] speed (at least as in paragraph 0030, wherein the robot balance control method includes “S210: obtaining a motion status and a planned motion trajectory of the humanoid robot at a current moment”; at least as in paragraph 0032, wherein “the motion status may include … the current actual poses and actual speeds of the humanoid robot at the sole, the centroid, and the waist, and the actual velocity and the actual angular velocity of the humanoid robot at each joint (including each joint of the robot and each virtual joint for describing the pose of the waist of the robot)”; at least as in paragraph 0031, wherein “the positive direction of the X-axis in the created Cartesian coordinate system generally represents the forward direction of the humanoid robot”; at least as in paragraph [0061], wherein “S231: for each balance demanding part among the sole, the centroid, and the waist, obtaining a pose difference by performing subtraction operation on a desired pose of the balance demanding part and the actual pose of the balance demanding part and obtaining a speed difference by performing subtraction operation on a desired speed of the balance demanding part and the actual speed of the balance demanding part”) …
in response to determining at least one of that the actual forward movement speed is unequal to the forward [desired] speed and that the actual lateral movement speed is unequal to the lateral [desired] speed (at least as in paragraph 0065 and 0063, wherein “after determining the pose difference and speed difference of the sole, the centroid or the waist at the current moment, the robot controller 10 will select the difference parameter(s) involved in the motion control function from the determined pose difference and speed difference according to the currently selected motion control function”).”
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Xie's teaching of determining a speed difference and difference parameters and Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, since Xie teaches wherein the control method improves the operation safety of the robot by correcting a planned robot motion trajectory in real-time, reducing environmental interference on the motion balance of the humanoid robot, and ensuring that the body motion of the humanoid robot achieves the desired motion balance effect while conforming to the robot motion laws and Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Regarding claim 20, in view of the above combination of Su, Xie, and Yoshiike, Su further discloses the two-legged robot according to claim 19, wherein the controller is further configured to:
acquire a forward center-of-mass position and a forward movement speed of the two- legged robot at current time (at least as in paragraph 0049, wherein “By using the above Formulas (1) to (4), the method can solve the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period in the mid-step phase, and can solve first numerical values . . . corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the two-leg-supporting period and can solve second numerical values … corresponding to each of the gait controlling parameters, namely position, speed and acceleration, at the starting time moment in the one-leg-supporting period and then uses the acquired first numerical values and the second numerical values for the controlling of the movement trajectory of the center of mass in the step starting phase and the step ending phase”);
input the forward center-of-mass position and the forward movement speed of the two-legged robot at the current time, the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0042, wherein “The present embodiment, in both the one-leg-supporting periods and the two-leg-supporting periods, employs a linear inverted pendulum model to control the trajectory of the center of mass, to ensure that the walking of the robot satisfies the stability condition,” and further wherein “A complete single step consists of a one-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.1) and a two-leg-supporting period (the duration is set as T.sub.2), and the whole mid-step phase has a plurality of one-leg-supporting periods and two-leg-supporting periods that appear periodically”); and
determine, through the preset gait planning model, the second motion step length of the two-legged robot based on the forward center-of-mass position and the forward movement speed of the two-legged robot at the current time, the single support phase duration, the double support phase duration, the forward (at least as in paragraph 0038, wherein “in each of the walking gaits of the biped robot, with the projection on the ground of the ankle joint of the supporting leg of the biped robot as the origin of coordinate, with the horizontal advancing direction as the X-axis, and with the lateral direction of the walking as the Y-axis, the planar rectangular coordinate system (XOY) of the biped robot itself is constructed”; at least as in paragraph 0095, wherein the process may obtain “the spatial positions where the center of mass and the ankle joint locate at each of the time moments”; at least as in paragraph 0067 and 0072, wherein the method obtains the trajectory of the center of mass in the x-axis direction and the y-axis direction that varies with the time t by calculating).
However, Su does not specifically disclose “average speed.”
Yoshiike discloses a control device for a legged mobile robot configured to determine, while the robot is in motion, a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to satisfy a plurality of kinds of requisite conditions and use a leg motion parameter and a floor reaction force element parameter to generate a desired gait. Yoshiike specifically teaches “average speed” (at least as in paragraph 0168, “In the case where the gait generation system 100 is about to generate a desired gait, request parameters representing basic requests regarding a motion mode of the robot 1 are input to the gait generation system 100 by radio communication or the like from a controlling device, a server or the like (not shown) outside of the robot 1”; at least as in paragraph 0169, “The request parameters include parameters (for example, average moving speed, moving direction, or moving route of the robot 1) as basic guidelines for determining the type of motion (walking, running, or the like) of the robot 1, a desired landing position/posture of the free leg foot 22 (desired position/posture upon landing of the free leg foot 22), and a desired landing time thereof”; at least as in paragraph 0172, “The gait generation system 100 uses the input request parameters and floor shape information to generate a desired gait in accordance with a prescribed algorithm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Su, to include Yoshiike's teaching of request parameters including average moving speed, since Yoshiike teaches wherein the control device improves the ability to satisfy various kinds of kinetic or dynamic requisite conditions.
Conclusion
/RICARDO I VISCARRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656