2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
CLAIM OBJECTION
5. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Interpreting the claims in light of the specification, examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record. The prior art does not expressly teach or render obvious the invention as recited in the claim 10. Claim 11 is also objected since claim 11 depends on claim 10.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 16 & 23 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419 foreign app KR 2021-0148193).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al discloses an electronic device comprising: a first section and a second section connected by a hinge assembly (Fig. 8 & 10A-B: Laptop screen section and Keyboard section connected by hinge-750); and a mmWave antenna integrated module (AiM) module disposed in the hinge assembly (Fig. 10A: Hinge 750 with antenna-310 & Para. 81 & Para. 41 & 70: Antenna is a mmWave antenna).
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al discloses the electronic device is a laptop, the first section contains a display and the second section is a base of the laptop (Fig. 8 & 1B: Laptop).
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al discloses the AiM module is stationary within the hinge assembly (Fig. 6 & 10A: Integrated antenna module stationary within the hinge).
Regarding claim 8, Lim et al discloses an electronic device comprising: a first section and a second section connected by a hinge assembly (Fig. 8 & 10A-B: Laptop screen section and Keyboard section connected by hinge-750); and a mmWave antenna integrated module (AiM) module at least one of magnetically or rotationally coupled to one of the first section or the second section (Fig. 10A: Hinge 750 with antenna-310 rotationally connected multiple section of the device & Para. 81 & Para. 41 & 70: Antenna is a mmWave antenna).
Regarding claim 16, Lim et al discloses an electronic device comprising: a first section and a second section connected by a hinge assembly (Fig. 8 & 10A-B: Laptop screen section and Keyboard section connected by hinge-750), and a shielded mmWave antenna integrated module (AiM) module coupled to one of the first section or the second section (Fig. 10A: Hinge 750 with antenna-310 rotationally connected multiple section of the device & Para. 81 & Para. 41 & 70: Antenna is a mmWave antenna).
Regarding claim 23, Lim et al discloses the electronic device comprises a cavity that forms a speaker box, the speaker box comprises a common speaker box area and vertically- adjacent speaker box portions that each extend laterally from the common speaker box area, and a flexible printed circuit (FPC) electrically connected to the AiM module is disposed between the vertically-adjacent speaker box portions (Para. 28-30: Speaker in the laptop device within the circuitry & Para. 22: sound output module).
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Yoo et al (Pub No. 2020/0183465).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al discloses the hinge assembly comprises: a rotational hinge portion attached to the first section and including a cylindrical portion (Fig. 7 & 10A: cylindrical portion with hinge), configured to rotate with rotation of the first section (Fig. 5-7), a hinge mandrel attached to the second section, and a static hinge portion attached to the hinge mandrel and to which the AiM module is attached (Fig. 10B-10C & Para. 71).
Lim et al is silent regarding the static hinge portion configured to pass through the cylindrical portion of the rotational hinge portion and remain stationary with rotation of the first section.
Yoo discloses the static hinge portion configured to pass through the cylindrical portion of the rotational hinge portion and remain stationary with rotation of the first section (Fig. 4-5 & Para. 35 & 28: hinge pass through the cylindrical portion and remain stationary).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use cylindrical hinge to secure antenna in the hinge for shielding antenna properly in the device.
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al discloses the static hinge portion is modular and contains a first section attached to the hinge mandrel and a second section to which the AiM module is attached, the first section detachable from the second section (Fig. 7 & 10A: Multiple section attaching the hinge & Para. 80-81).
Regarding claim 6, Lim et al discloses the hinge assembly further comprises cable clamps that clamp to the static hinge portion, the cable clamps configured to retain cables directly coupled to the AiM module such that the cables remain stationary with rotation of the first section (Fig. 7 & 10A: Multiple section attaching the hinge & Para. 80-81 & 68: cable connection with antenna).
Regarding claim 7, Lim et al discloses the cables extend parallel and adjacent to the rotational hinge portion, and the rotational hinge portion, the static hinge portion, the AiM module, and the cables are retained within a case (Fig. 6-7 Para. 80-81 & 68: cable connection with antenna).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Feng et al (Pub No. 2019/0380084).
Regarding claim 9, Lim et al is silent regarding the AiM module is rotationally coupled to one of the first section or the second section, and the AiM module is rotated in response to detection by the electronic device that a mmWave transmission is unable to be received from a base station that is in communication with the electronic device.
Feng et al discloses the AiM module is rotationally coupled to one of the first section or the second section, and the AiM module is rotated in response to detection by the electronic device that a mmWave transmission is unable to be received from a base station that is in communication with the electronic device (Para. 50: Base station unable to communicate & Para. 28 & 73: Transceiver rotate to adjust azimuth).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use adjust the transceiver to generate better communication angle with the base station.
Claims 12 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Chiu (Pat No. 11721893).
Regarding claim 12, Lim et al discloses the AiM module is magnetically coupled to one of the first section or the second section via a magnetic conductor (Para. 39: Antenna generate electromagnetic wave).
Lim et al is silent regarding a dongle contains a plurality of AiM modules disposed at an angle to each other, a printed circuit board (PCB) on which the AiM modules are disposed and to which the AiM modules are electrically connected via a flexible printed circuit (FPC), the magnetic conductor on which the PCB is disposed and a case configured to retain the AiM modules. the PCB and the magnetic conductor.
Chiu discloses the AiM module is magnetically coupled to one of the first section or the second section via a magnetic conductor (Col. 2 Line 12-30: antenna module magnetically coupled) and a dongle contains a plurality of AiM modules disposed at an angle to each other (Col. 2 Line 12-30: antenna with dock dongle), a printed circuit board (PCB) on which the AiM modules are disposed and to which the AiM modules are electrically connected via a flexible printed circuit (FPC), the magnetic conductor on which the PCB is disposed and a case configured to retain the AiM modules. the PCB and the magnetic conductor (Col. 3 Line 60-67 & Col 5 Line 7-39: Circuit with antenna having magnetic conductor).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use antenna configuration system in a device to secure antenna system efficient way for generation higher quality signal by the device while using minimum space for the antenna.
Regarding claim 15, Lim et al discloses the AiM modules are arranged to cover an angle of about 2000 (Fig. 9 & 10C: cover an angle can be about 2000).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419), in view of Chiu (Pat No. 11721893) and further in view of Saban et al (Pub No. 2011/0130163).
Regarding claim 13, Lim et al discloses the AiM modules are driven via a single intermediate frequency (IF) (Para. 65: Intermediate frequency integrated circuit).
Lim et al is silent regarding the AiM modules are driven via a single intermediate frequency (IF) interface through a Double Pole Double Throw (DPDT) switch that is configured to switch the IF interface to one of the AIMs based on Power On (PON) signals of the AiM modules, the DPDT switch configured to turn on and connect to one of the AiM modules and enable the IF interface, power and reference signals for the one of the AiM modules.
Saban et al discloses the AiM modules are driven via a single intermediate frequency (IF) interface through a Double Pole Double Throw (DPDT) switch that is configured to switch the IF interface to one of the AIMs based on Power On (PON) signals of the AiM modules,
the DPDT switch configured to turn on and connect to one of the AiM modules and enable the IF interface power and reference signals for the one of the AiM modules (Fig. 7 & Para. 54: Double Pole Double Throw switch & Para. 36: IF signals with antenna switch$4).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use antenna configuration system using a switch in a device to secure antenna system efficient way for generation higher quality signal.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419), in view of Chiu (Pat No. 11721893), in view of Saban et al (Pub No. 2011/0130163) and further in view of Liu (Pub No. 2021/0149347).
Regarding claim 14, Lim et al discloses IF signals to the AiM modules from the electronic device (Para. 65: Intermediate frequency integrated circuit).
Lim et al is silent regarding the dongle further contains pogo pins and radio frequency (RF) connectors, the pogo pins configured to supply power, reference signals, power enable, the RF connectors including RF pogo pins each surrounded by a ground shield.
Liu discloses the dongle further contains pogo pins and radio frequency (RF) connectors, the pogo pins configured to supply power, reference signals, power enable, the RF connectors including RF pogo pins each surrounded by a ground shield (Para. 55: RF with pogo pin & Para. 67: power battery connection & Abstract).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use antenna system in a device for RF data communication.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Han et al (Pub No. 2022/0338380).
Regarding claim 17, Lim et al discloses the AiM module is encircled by a substantially rectangular metal fence configured to provide radio frequency (RF) shielding for the AiM module (Para. 61 & 67: Shielding-316), the AiM module is disposed on and electrically connected to a flexible printed circuit (FPC) on which the metal fence is disposed (Para. 68-70: Metal member on the antenna circuit), the FPC is disposed on a metal stiffener to which the AiM module and FPC are attached (Para. 68 & 40: Antenna with flexible circuit).
Lim is silent regarding the metal stiffener, the FPC, and the metal fence configured to spread heat of the AiM module.
Han et al discloses the metal stiffener, the FPC, and the metal fence configured to spread heat of the AiM module (Para. 11: heat dissipation by distributing heat throughout the electronic device through a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) connecting folding areas of the electronic device and heat conduction members arranged between the FPCB and a display).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use heat dissipation system on a electronic device to adjust and control heat in the device to prevent the device from thermal damage.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Shen et al (Pub No. 2008/0287076).
Regarding claim 18, Lim et al discloses an antenna module contains the AiM module and one of an analog circuit or a digital circuit configured to provide an identifier, the identifier being a unique impedance for the analog circuit and a digital identification for the digital circuit (Para. 22 & 38: Identification module),
Lim et al is silent regarding the electronic device comprises: a modem coupled to a signal path via an alternating current (AC) coupler and configured to communicate radio frequency (RF) signals with the antenna module via the signal path, and a feedback circuit coupled to the signal path via a direct current (DC) coupler and configured to receive the identifier via the signal path.
Shen et al discloses the electronic device comprises: a modem coupled to a signal path via an alternating current (AC) coupler and configured to communicate radio frequency (RF) signals with the antenna module via the signal path (Para. 30: modem with RF circuit), and a feedback circuit coupled to the signal path via a direct current (DC) coupler and configured to receive the identifier via the signal path (Para. 53: RF feedback for DC/DC circuit).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use antenna control and feedback system to adjust antenna system for a robust wireless transmission system.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419), in view of Shen et al (Pub No. 2008/0287076) and further in view of Guan et al (Pub No. 2022/0295449).
Regarding claim 19, Lim et al is silent regarding the feedback circuit is configured to detect the identifier, and in response to no identifier being detected or a non-valid identifier being detected, the electronic device is configured to disable the signal path such that the modem is unable communicate the RF signals with the antenna module.
Guan et al teaches the feedback circuit is configured to detect the identifier, and in response to no identifier being detected or a non-valid identifier being detected, the electronic device is configured to disable the signal path such that the modem is unable communicate the RF signals with the antenna module (Fig. 6: security verification & Para. 56: feedback to the UE & Para. 69-70: Identity verification fails[Wingdings font/0xE0] disable communication).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use identity verification system in the wireless device to ensure secure data communication between devices.
Regarding claim 20, Lim et al is silent regarding in response to no identifier being detected or a non-valid identifier being detected, the electronic device is further configured to provide a user notification that depends on which of no identifier is detected and the non-valid identifier is detected.
Guan et al teaches in response to no identifier being detected or a non-valid identifier being detected, the electronic device is further configured to provide a user notification that depends on which of no identifier is detected and the non-valid identifier is detected (Para. 49 & 63 & 68: message notification and ACK/NACK feedback & Para. 69: Identity verification fails[Wingdings font/0xE0] disable communication).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use identity verification system in the wireless device to ensure secure data communication between devices.
Claim 21-22 & 24 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (Pub No. US 2024/0322419) and further in view of Ramasamy et al (Pat No. 11211646).
Regarding claim 21, Lim et al discloses the electronic device is a laptop, the laptop comprises a C-cover and a D-cover that contain merged horizontal slot antennas in a metal portion of a chassis (Fig. 8: Laptop with C & D cover & Fig. 7 & 10A: slot antennas in a metal portion of a chassis).
Lim et al is silent regarding the C-cover containing C-portions of the merged horizontal slot antennas and the D-cover containing D- portions of the merged horizontal slot antennas,
the merged horizontal slot antennas are continuous and lack a gap therebetween. and resistor-capacitor discrete components are disposed in the C-portions and metal shorting is disposed between the D-portions.
Ramasamy discloses the C-cover containing C-portions of the merged horizontal slot antennas and the D-cover containing D- portions of the merged horizontal slot antennas,
the merged horizontal slot antennas are continuous and lack a gap therebetween. and resistor-capacitor discrete components are disposed in the C-portions and metal shorting is disposed between the D-portions (Col 24 Line 15-40: merged horizontal slot antennas with gap & Para. 27 Line 1-30: Capacitor and other elements at the antenna connection).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use efficient antenna design in a mobile device robust wireless transmission system.
Regarding claim 22, Lim et al discloses the electronic device is a laptop, the laptop comprises merged vertical slot antennas in a metal portion of a chassis, the merged vertical slot antennas are continuous and lack a gap therebetween and vertical slot antennas (Fig. 7 & 10A: vertical slot antennas & Para. 76: chassis, the merged vertical slot antennas with gap)
Lim is silent regarding a total horizontal length of the merged vertical slot antennas forms a half wavelength shorting stub.
Ramasamy discloses a total horizontal length of the merged vertical slot antennas forms a half wavelength shorting stub (Col. 30. Line 50-65: half wavelength & Fig. 3C).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use efficient antenna design in a mobile device robust wireless transmission system.
Regarding claim 24, Lim et al discloses the electronic device is a laptop, a driver that is configured to provide sound for the speaker box is adjacent to the common speaker box area, (Para. 28-30: Speaker in the laptop device within the circuitry & Para. 22: sound output module) and the laptop comprises a C-cox er and a D-cover between which the speaker box is disposed (Fig. 1 & 2: Laptop with speakers in the laptop having C & D cover).
Lim is silent regarding the speaker box is formed from plastic. However, examiner taking official notice that speaker box can be plastic.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use plastic speaker box within a laptop device to make the device light weighted.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648